Originally posted by sgbuses:When I was a schoolkid, the conductor would slam his fist/clipboard/etc against the bodywork as hard as he could and yell at passengers to move in. That is no longer acceptable in Singapore (except at Woodlands/JB checkpoints).
We might get to see that again in half a years' time. This might just solve the problem.
Yes, such a sad degradation of society where people expect to be treated nicely but yet do not realise that its reciprocal.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Well, nobody asked the operators to add more buses...
By all means, even if SMRT did not fleet add, the passengers are gonna wait for the next buses or so. Like it or not, it's liddat.
And if there's profit making, I don't see why the operators shouldn't "waste resources".
Are you gonna lecture people for not boarding? Well, usually when the queue stops boarding, those outside the queues will start to board. Eventually, the buses departed is also somewhat full.
*It's not to a pathetic state where the bus left Tamp int with 40 pax(all seated, no standees)
There is no profit to be made in operating buses, unless its under GCM. The financial records of both SBS and SMRT support this, bus business under the old model is simply not profitable.
And if anyone is looking forward to changes in the GCM, refer to my previous post regarding LTA and their financial responsibility in the GCM.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Well, nobody asked the operators to add more buses...
By all means, even if SMRT did not fleet add, the passengers are gonna wait for the next buses or so. Like it or not, it's liddat.
And if there's profit making, I don't see why the operators shouldn't "waste resources".
Are you gonna lecture people for not boarding? Well, usually when the queue stops boarding, those outside the queues will start to board. Eventually, the buses departed is also somewhat full.
*It's not to a pathetic state where the bus left Tamp int with 40 pax(all seated, no standees)
Wait for the next bus n the queue get longer n longer n longer? Then some ppl will say should add more buses. Maybe should remove all the seats on the SD that serve 969
sadly. SMRT refusal to get more DD mean that it can't deploy full fleet DD on 969 unlike sv 168/161. Maybe smrt should transfer 969 to SBST. Same go for sv190
Originally posted by SBS351M:I don't understand what is the issue with standing. People have been standing on buses in Singapore for a very long time, and then suddenly bus companies have to provide for pampered, lazy, self entitled people?
If people in the past can board and stand right at the front next to the radiator on an Olympian, or right next to the engine on a front engined bus, both of which are non-airconditioned, why can't people nowadays stand in the aisle of a low floor bus? Its not like there has been a massive and simultaneous genetic mutation that renders humans incapable of standing.
So suddenly, people are complaining that a certain bus company is buying too many SDs, when the real issue is people refusing to stand. And who is going to pay for any upsizing of buses? Nobody, because people complain about fare hikes. Don't expect LTA to stop buying SDs, because under the GCM, they will be the one bearing the costs, and I would expect them to cut down on unnecessary usage or overcapacity using whatever data they may obtain.
the problem is not about standing.
i still see pax standing all the way to the entrance doors but empty towards the rear. maybe the aisle is way too narrow, so it makes a issue whenever pax alights at bus stop. the A22s modified seat arrangement is a joke, remove 3 seats, but can at most fit in 2 standees; the rear seat had a grabpole right in the middle. the previous modification on the Tibs O405 is much better.
the number of rigids is too much, bear in mind 6.9m population white paper which is a estimate population in 2030. 800+ rigids against just over 200 DDs and a mere 41 bendies.
Originally posted by sgbuses:When I was a schoolkid, the conductor would slam his fist/clipboard/etc against the bodywork as hard as he could and yell at passengers to move in. That is no longer acceptable in Singapore (except at Woodlands/JB checkpoints).
We might get to see that again in half a years' time. This might just solve the problem.
the conductor will kena scolding from the SL. but it worth the try
Originally posted by lemon1974:Wait for the next bus n the queue get longer n longer n longer? Then some ppl will say should add more buses. Maybe should remove all the seats on the SD that serve 969
sadly. SMRT refusal to get more DD mean that it can't deploy full fleet DD on 969 unlike sv 168/161. Maybe smrt should transfer 969 to SBST. Same go for sv190
from what i see, the queue is long when the next bus is delayed due to the jam along TPE. on 969 in the evening weekday, a bendy is scheduled after a DD or even a DD after another. it is sometimes when you see a rigid appearing.
Reading some of the above convo, this is what I feel.
There is delay due to traffic conditions and this is understandable, but because of that 2 DDs leaving back to back from interchange does not make sense.
First one goes housefull, second one goes empty... and then there is a big lag again... rather I feel it is okay to delay by few minutes at interchange so that bus gets good load.. otherwise again you have same problem.
The bus can cover on its way the few minutes lag, otherwise it will always tail the housefull DD in front, and go back empty.
Originally posted by SMB145B:the conductor will kena scolding from the SL. but it worth the try
In Perth and Sydney, the "conductor" is usually a route supervisor and almost always a qualified driver himself. That is part of "rising from the ranks".
Complaints against the "conductor" is practically useless, because the same person also handles customer feedback at the depot.
The other type of "conductor" you may hear of in Australia are transit guards. They are usually armed and have powers to arrest.
It's a paradox you see.
People could afford to wait for the next bus coz 969 buses come so often. So the queue gets longer. LTA sees this and adds buses, causing people to be more convinced to wait.
Originally posted by lemon1974:Wait for the next bus n the queue get longer n longer n longer? Then some ppl will say should add more buses. Maybe should remove all the seats on the SD that serve 969
Yes the queue will get longer. No choice. At least, nobody sent to STOMP regards to the situation they have created.
BUT, every 969 buses that departs TMI, will have pax standing also, regardless of the type of buses. Not empty, not full, but average.
Those who wishes to get a seat, would usually join the queue. But those who wishes to board ASAP, would mostly queue outside.
Actually, come to think of it again, 969 do not need to have full fleet DD. Just deploy more buses on 969A, run it frequently..perhaps it could solve the issue alr. Most pax. will alight along Yishun.
Unlike 161/168, these 2 are "accumulating" pax along the way before reaching Wdl.
969 obsrvation tamp int tue or wed i forgot.
634: empty bendy leave int when i go
644: 5059J (78peop)
646: 3547E (29peop)
652: 5044B (43peop)
653: 5892U (16peop) bus just stand right behind wen 5044b pick peop. this bc i go mad with and call stupid. 3 lady run from 293 stop behind to take but he took bus and go see they come running. not good. he cud wait for 2min more.no bus behind waiting.
704: 3590D (109pop)
708: 347K rigid (48peop) but 15peop dun wan board as rigid
Originally posted by TIB429E:Yes the queue will get longer. No choice. At least, nobody sent to STOMP regards to the situation they have created.
BUT, every 969 buses that departs TMI, will have pax standing also, regardless of the type of buses. Not empty, not full, but average.
Those who wishes to get a seat, would usually join the queue. But those who wishes to board ASAP, would mostly queue outside.
Actually, come to think of it again, 969 do not need to have full fleet DD. Just deploy more buses on 969A, run it frequently..perhaps it could solve the issue alr. Most pax. will alight along Yishun.
Unlike 161/168, these 2 are "accumulating" pax along the way before reaching Wdl.
i live tamp. i kno. not all 969 go full now. coz of bunching at int itself. one bus get 100 peop.next bus get 20 peop. no good.some bc play cock.
The departure at WRI already created the bunching fyi..
Not that they are scheduled to depart together, but their intervals inbetween is less than 5mins.
Singaporeans mindset,They see DDs though its full they still find it relieve..
Originally posted by proudtobeme:969 obsrvation tamp int tue or wed i forgot.
634: empty bendy leave int when i go
644: 5059J (78peop)
646: 3547E (29peop)
652: 5044B (43peop)
653: 5892U (16peop) bus just stand right behind wen 5044b pick peop. this bc i go mad with and call stupid. 3 lady run from 293 stop behind to take but he took bus and go see they come running. not good. he cud wait for 2min more.no bus behind waiting.
704: 3590D (109pop)
708: 347K rigid (48peop) but 15peop dun wan board as rigid
bro, can you do a similar analysis for 291/293? I know you keep saying that these services have too many extra buses. Will be nice to see real data like you have shown for 969.
256+257 together have < buses than 257 alone
5 (256) + 8 (257) = 13... earlier 257 had 14 buses.
21 dec got DD debut
Svc 4 should get more rigids to DD upgrade. The 1740 bus is packed.
Originally posted by SBS2652G:21 dec got DD debut
For? 103?
Took SMB8030X 858 today...
Wdl Av9 :
A22 arr @ 3:55P
8030 arr @ 4:05P
KTPH :
8030 + A22 bunch up
CGA T3/1/2 :
8030 + A22 bunch up *T3 Long Queue, stretch to almost the end of the pavement*
Blk741 ChongPang :
8030 arr @ 6:16P
A22(#1) arr @ 6:17P
A22(#2) arr @ 6:18-19P
Notes :
- 8030X dep T2 with full house, BC keep emphasizing it's a long bus, to move in.
- A22 behind seems to be full, but not packed to the door.
- At CGA, 8030X and the front bus maintained 7-10mins apart.
Other observations...
- Sv85 seems to have higher demand now.
- Sv856 could go full fleet DD or 80% DD soon.
Sv103 will be upgraded to DDs around this Sunday
Originally posted by SMB3095S:Sv103 will be upgraded to DDs around this Sunday
next monday then new timesheet kick in.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Other observations...
sv 85 will get hit again with introduction of DD on 103 and new service 117.
Expect 103 loading to increase next year once SAP has more workers and operations running full time. Even SIA is moving there from Changi.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Other observations...
856 DDs are doing very well. Full upper deck. Should make full fleet DD and move the bendies to shorter routes. But that can happen only when more DDs come in.
Right now also need DDs for 979 and 983.