Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:sv 85 will get hit again with introduction of DD on 103 and new service 117.
Expect 103 loading to increase next year once SAP has more workers and operations running full time. Even SIA is moving there from Changi.
can expect that since SAP Phase 2 is completing soon
Originally posted by SBS2652G:can expect that since SAP Phase 2 is completing soon
Hi mr SBS2652G, passenger load for sbs 103 and sbs 117 sure increase. Whereas I foresee the side effect is that sbs 85 and sbs 102 load get pushed up due to SAP although it does not ply there. Sengkang west is the cumulative effect. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:sv 85 will get hit again with introduction of DD on 103 and new service 117.
Expect 103 loading to increase next year once SAP has more workers and operations running full time. Even SIA is moving there from Changi.
I dun think 85 will be hit too hard though.. instead it may even still increase in load with new flats opening in SKW. It has even more DD's than 39 now even though it has a shorter route. Barring any jams at Lentor, 85 is still a faster and more direct route to/from Yishun and SKW / Prataland.
Instead I think 965 may be hit more - Punggol folks currently dont take 85 to Yishun (too windy in CPV/SK), rather they change bus to 965 for a more direct route. With 117, it is a more direct route to Yishun than 83x965 for example.
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:I dun think 85 will be hit too hard though.. instead it may even still increase in load with new flats opening in SKW. It has even more DD's than 39 now even though it has a shorter route. Barring any jams at Lentor, 85 is still a faster and more direct route to/from Yishun and SKW / Prataland.
Instead I think 965 may be hit more - Punggol folks currently dont take 85 to Yishun (too windy in CPV/SK), rather they change bus to 965 for a more direct route. With 117, it is a more direct route to Yishun than 83x965 for example.
Agree and disagree.
85 - Load between Sengkang East Rd and Jalan Kayu has dropped with 102 introduction. Load between Sengkang West and Yishun will remain constant, the increase in occupancy in new flats will be offset with 103 also going to Yishun.
965 - I agree, for sure loading will get hit with 117
103 - Loading will increase bet Jalan Kayu and YCK Road w/ new flats. Likewise loading will increase between Jalan Kayu - SAP - Yishun as well. Exciting times for 103.
102 - Loading has still not picked up much for DDs (though still better than 116
)
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:I dun think 85 will be hit too hard though.. instead it may even still increase in load with new flats opening in SKW. It has even more DD's than 39 now even though it has a shorter route. Barring any jams at Lentor, 85 is still a faster and more direct route to/from Yishun and SKW / Prataland.
Hi mr antidennislance, yes agree. Sbs 85 loading will continue to increase, albeit slowly. For sengkang west residents, they will continue to take sbs 85 to khatib/yishun. Take note sbs 103 serves only a small portion of sengkang west people along sengkang west ave before hitting Jalan Kayu. Some are put off by the huge winding along west camp road which sbs 103 serves. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Agree and disagree.
85 - Load between Sengkang East Rd and Jalan Kayu has dropped with 102 introduction. Load between Sengkang West and Yishun will remain constant, the increase in occupancy in new flats will be offset with 103 also going to Yishun.
965 - I agree, for sure loading will get hit with 117
103 - Loading will increase bet Jalan Kayu and YCK Road w/ new flats. Likewise loading will increase between Jalan Kayu - SAP - Yishun as well. Exciting times for 103.
102 - Loading has still not picked up much for DDs (though still better than 116
)
Hi mr busanalyser, sbs 103 does not serve much of sengkang west. People stil take sbs 85 which is just downstairs. Sbs 85 is also more direct to yishun by expressway. Sbs 103 is extremely time wasting due to serving seletar aerospace park. Sbs 85 and 103 serve different segments of people. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:Hello, excuse me, how does 117 even afect 965 loading? 117 omly serve Pgl West leh…. Then how about Punggol East? Not afected mah…. Punggol East commuters would still have to rely on 85 or 83, transfer 965. It is still faster than taking 3/50/62/83/85 to Interchange then 117, I tell you honestly. 965 will still have high demand bet Sengkang and Yishum la dey.
Hi mr sbs6750E, sbs 117 introduction will definitely impact SMRT 965 slightly. It will also boost up sbs 3/50/62/83/85 as some Punggol east residents living in middle may take these buses to switch over to take sbs 117 at bus interchange. Because they are just 2 or 3 stops away from interchange. It will be less of a hassle than to take sbs 83/136 to punggol road then walk across the bridge to take smrt 965. Why? Changing to sbs 117 is much more simpler and slightly faster. For those living near Riveria LRT, it may still be comparable to take sbs 85 directly to yishun. Take me who lives in Punggol east aa an example. Even for me who is hardcore on direct sbs 85, I may now also be tempted to take 3/83/85 few stops only (1 direct Punggol central road) to interchange to take sbs 117. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:Hello, excuse me, how does 117 even afect 965 loading? 117 omly serve Pgl West leh…. Then how about Punggol East? Not afected mah…. Punggol East commuters would still have to rely on 85 or 83, transfer 965. It is still faster than taking 3/50/62/83/85 to Interchange then 117, I tell you honestly. 965 will still have high demand bet Sengkang and Yishum la dey.
In addition to what dupdup said, there are few who also take NEL and alight at Sengkang to take 965 to Yishun. Few of them will go to Punggol and take 117 instead. 965 is not that reliable since it loops at Sengkang, compared to 117 that will originate from Punggol. Moreover, 965 has only 3 DDs, whereas 117 has high likelihood to be majority fleet DD.
For Punggol east residents also, easy to take LRT/bus to interchange and change to 117. No need to cross the overhead bridge along Punggol Road. Also have more options to go Punggol interchange than Punggol road.
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:Hi mr Dupdup 77, I doubt anyone is willing to take 117 from Interchange to Khatib/yishun (19+ stops), compared to 965. Some more 965 BCs like to run very fast.
Hi mr sbs6750E, I understand where you are coming from. But people are very sensitive and realistic human beings.
Imagine if the guy stays in Punggol central Blk 264 (Punggol west), will he take sbs 117 downstairs his house which is very direct to khatib as it goes straight out to TPE and turn right? Or do you think he will take sbs 43/117/118 one stop to interchange then take sbs 82/136 a few stops to Punggol rd then walk across the bridge to take smrt 965? Of course he will take the direct sbs 117 and not the 3 buses method transfer to smrt 965. The number of stops for sbs 117 is being offset by the inconvenience of transfer plus triple waiting time.
Imagine if the guy stays in Punggol central Blk 649 (Punggol east), will he take the quite direct sbs 85 or will he take 3/83/85 to Punggol mrt to transfer to sbs 117? Sbs 85 used to be one of his fastest options besides taking sbs 83 to Punggol road to transfer to smrt 965 which is comparable. Now he has another option to get to bus interchange to transfer to sbs 117 which is much simpler and slightly faster. Take note it is very convenient to transfer at Punggol bus interchange for punggol east residents than to transfer at Punggol road and walking across the bridge.
There is also no need to worry about dropping ridership for 83/85. On the contrary, sbs 83/85 will receive a direct boost just because LTA made sbs 117/118 only go to punggol west side. I foresee many along punggol central/east will take sbs 3/83/85 a few stops away to interchange to transfer to both sbs 117/118 which are expected to be immensely popular especially sbs 118. Note that there has been a spike in ridership for sbs 3/83/85 ever since Blk 622 hdb flats were occupied since few years back. We just wait a few weeks and see. Cheers. Thanks.
LOL..117..BSEP...BSEP Frequency...major turn off
302: Converted 2 AP rigid slots (AP05, AP06) back to bendy slot..wondered why they downgraded in the first place...currently random habits running on these 2 slots, sometimes 8023S and 8024P, dun put these 2 MANs as perm first..
Originally posted by TIB429E:LOL..117..BSEP...BSEP Frequency...major turn off
Hi mr TIB429E, what is the frequency to and fro like? 15 min per bus? Let us know. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr TIB429E, what is the frequency to and fro like? 15 min per bus? Let us know. Cheers. Thanks.
Nono..it's not the value tbh..
But personally, somehow, whenever a new BSEP svc is introduce, the FEEL of waiting for 1 bus can be "very long"...
Originally posted by TIB429E:Nono..it's not the value tbh..
But personally, somehow, whenever a new BSEP svc is introduce, the FEEL of waiting for 1 bus can be "very long"...
860 and 983... lol
arnd 15 min on average
Originally posted by TIB429E:LOL..117..BSEP...BSEP Frequency...major turn off
Not that 965 has a great frequency. Especially the looping makes the bus quite late at times.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Nono..it's not the value tbh..
For a new trunk service, 15 mins is reasonable. Based on the runtime, loading, the frequency can be adjusted. Advantage is 117 will have majority DD fleet, unlike 965 that has majority rigids (only 3 DDs).
117 is the first and the last SBST svc to Sembawang till mid next year..And also the first time Go Ahead in Sembawang.
Originally posted by carbikebus:117 is the first and the last SBST svc to Sembawang till mid next year..And also the first time Go Ahead in Sembawang.
SBST will also be the first operator to have all its trunk services served with HC/DD buses in YIS/SBW.
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:SBST will also be the first operator to have all its trunk services served with HC/DD buses in YIS/SBW.
SBST is the king of public bus service in Singapore mah..Its like apple and lychee.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:For a new trunk service, 15 mins is reasonable. Based on the runtime, loading, the frequency can be adjusted. Advantage is 117 will have majority DD fleet, unlike 965 that has majority rigids (only 3 DDs).
Hahas but that 15mins can be long, especially if u missed it. Plus, I guess sv117 won't be getting majority DD fleet so fast bah? Like just started svc, plus you have 103 duplicating it on some parts.
IMO, passengers at Yishun will choose 965 because it goes by expressway.
Some examples of why I got that "BSEP = Long waiting time" feeling :
Sv102 and other buses - 2/3 of other svces bus have arrive is equal to 1 sv102 bus
Sv904 and Sv913/964 - 2 913/964 is about 1 sv904 bus arrival
But some service like 860/983 really got the "normal frequency" feeling..hahas. But last time, sv860 also abit long.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Not that 965 has a great frequency. Especially the looping makes the bus quite late at times.
Hahas I can agree to that. But at least the loading is there for sometimes already..thus explained the frequency.
But BSEP svc..although I rode them a few months later, the frequency seems to show that it's still similar to day1.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Hahas but that 15mins can be long, especially if u missed it. Plus, I guess sv117 won't be getting majority DD fleet so fast bah? Like just started svc, plus you have 103 duplicating it on some parts.
IMO, passengers at Yishun will choose 965 because it goes by expressway.
Some examples of why I got that "BSEP = Long waiting time" feeling :
Sv102 and other buses - 2/3 of other svces bus have arrive is equal to 1 sv102 bus
Sv904 and Sv913/964 - 2 913/964 is about 1 sv904 bus arrivalBut some service like 860/983 really got the "normal frequency" feeling..hahas. But last time, sv860 also abit long.
Hi mr TIB429E, not confirmed yet to be 15 min. Don't be so pessimistic. Passengers at yishun of course will continue to take smrt 965 if going to sengkang. If going to Punggol, they will take sbs 117. So your statement of passengers at yishun will choose 965 because it goes by expressway is not clear. Note smrt 965 goes sengkang while sbs 117 goes Punggol. Clearly the catchment of people is different. Cheers. Thanks.