At least it must be agreed that nearly all pax from NBR on 2 would take the bus to at least Geylang. Those from Bugis mostly would only alight starting from Eunos area. The distance already justifies for DDs. Thus I hope for full DDs becoz I think freq boost is not that viable.
Originally posted by Acx1688:If LTA introduce rubbish duplication, a lot of pple in this forum incldg me will scream n sme will write in n rant(me included)
Hi mr Acx1688, with the upcoming waterway point mall at punggol central in 3rd quarter 2015, traffic is expected to increase immensely since it will be 2nd largest in northeast after NEX. Thus i expect them to be sensible enough to connect more housing estates with this new bus service. And of course, i hope it also goes to orchard road which is the most famous shopping district in singapore. We are all born to have hopes, no matter how slim the hopes are. Cheers.
Originally posted by MoltenFalcon:Do you think this svc is the punggol service for next round of new services?
I don't know... I see that Punggol west and waterway have lot of new development coming.. So sooner or later bus service is needed there... Also Sengkang west is getting developed in a big way and sooner or later, you need a service there as well..
Other area is Buangkok Dr and Upper Serangoon view. These are areas that are not connected well with buses in NEL and need a bus by end of 2014. Apart from that as dd77 said, it's been long since LTA has not introduced a long route like Sv 50, and would be good to get one.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr Acx1688, with the upcoming waterway point mall at punggol central in 3rd quarter 2015, traffic is expected to increase immensely since it will be 2nd largest in northeast after NEX. Thus i expect them to be sensible enough to connect more housing estates with this new bus service. And of course, i hope it also goes to orchard road which is the most famous shopping district in singapore. We are all born to have hopes, no matter how slim the hopes are. Cheers.
Going all the way to Orchard is too long, but something to St. Michael's is more viable.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr moltenfalcon, anytime from this coming monday onwards, there should be announcements pretty soon. But pray do not go to jalan kayu, yio chu kang rd and ang mo kio ave 3, 6, 1, 8. This seems to copy a little bit of sbs 85, sbs 50, sbs 136. What we hope for is some surprise la. Give us something like orchard or st michael area which punggol does not have right now! If it goes orchard, i can assure you that it sure gets good loadings. Hope for the surprise that will shake up the whole of public transport in punggol. Hope la. Better dont be a feeder to those hougang/kovan/serangoon or i will faint. Let's hope quietly. Cheers.
Agreed bro, i share the same mentality. I'm just basing my suspicion on seeing TRG BSEP buses along the YCK road stretch. Do you think heading down through YCK to the central area of singapore from punggol is a viable route?
Originally posted by MoltenFalcon:Agreed bro, i share the same mentality. I'm just basing my suspicion on seeing TRG BSEP buses along the YCK road stretch. Do you think heading down through YCK to the central area of singapore from punggol is a viable route?
A bit duplicate leh...
Coz u alr have 70 and 136 to do the job.
Better to be express while passing by borders of Sengkang and Hougang. In fact can embark onto KPE from Tampines Rd.
Originally posted by MoltenFalcon:Agreed bro, i share the same mentality. I'm just basing my suspicion on seeing TRG BSEP buses along the YCK road stretch. Do you think heading down through YCK to the central area of singapore from punggol is a viable route?
Hi mr moltenfalcon, this is my dream.
Punggol int
Punggol place
Sentul crescent
Sumang link
Punggol way
TPE
Jln kayu (express)
Sengkang west ave (express)
Sengkang west rd (express)
Yio chu kang road
Boundary rd
Ang mo kio ave 1 (express)
Lor chuan
Braddell rd
Thomson rd
Newton rd
Scotts rd
Orchard rd (loop)
And vice versa back to punggol int
- connects sentul crescent and punggol way (serves as mini direct feeder) to punggol mrt
- use TPE skip connection to avoid sengkang and hougang where there are already too many connections from punggol
- reduce all duplications with other punggol services except certain parts of jln kayu and yio chu kang rd.
- link thomson/newton/scotts/orchard to punggol
- basically an 1 hour journey from punggol to orchard (around 2 hrs due to loop back)
- loop service saves up space which is otherwise needed at a terminal or interchange.
Nowadays 115 freq better than 113.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr moltenfalcon, this is my dream.
Punggol int
Punggol place
Sentul crescent
Sumang link
Punggol way
TPE
Jln kayu (express)
Yio chu kang road
Boundary rd
Lor chuan
Braddell rd
Thomson rd
Newton rd
Scotts rd
Orchard rd (loop)
- connects sentul crescent and punggol way (serves as mini direct feeder) to punggol mrt
- use TPE skip connection to avoid sengkang and hougang where there are already too many connections from punggol
- reduce all duplications with other punggol services except certain parts of jln kayu and yio chu kang rd.
- basically an 1 hour journey from punggol to orchard (around 2 hrs due to loop back)
- loop service saves up space which is otherwise needed at a terminal or interchange.
Lor Chuan.. Bad idea.. U can never ply DDs there.. And demand low.. This route will take +1 hour and very long winding to get to Orchard. From Thomson to Orchard, major duplication with other services like 162, 167.
Hope this is not the route.
I though like the way Punggol west is covered and whatever the route is, it should do Nibong/Sumang area before leaving Punggol as trunk service is required for residents there.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Lor Chuan.. Bad idea.. U can never ply DDs there.. And demand low.. This route will take +1 hour and very long winding to get to Orchard. From Thomson to Orchard, major duplication with other services like 162, 167.
Hope this is not the route.
I though like the way Punggol west is covered and whatever the route is, it should do Nibong/Sumang area before leaving Punggol as trunk service is required for residents there.
Hi mr bus analyzer, trunk service is normally 1 hr+. Of course Thomson to orchard duplication with other services is very normal. But the origin is different place. Cannot expect every single bus service to go different ways to orchard. (Sbs 7, smrt 77, smrt 106 all take the same holland road to go to orchard).
The above roads have already taken care of residents living nearby Nibong and sumang. (See sumang link for residents near Nibong lrt and Punggol way for residents near sumang lrt). The other part of sumang link is not yet opened to traffic.
The route is smooth for people to get out from this side of island to central Singapore. Punggol way to TPE is smooth. Of course, must go through yio Chu Kang road instead of CTE. It helps bring some residents from Punggol central to connect to lor chuan circle line MRT in 25 to 30 mins. Not that bad an idea. Whole journey to orchard will take an hour which is equivalent to a LRT plus MRT plus change at dhoby ghaut NE line to orchard.
Furthermore, it did not duplicate any of the current bus services from Punggol. In any way, it is just a dream! Happy dreaming for now! Cheers!
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr moltenfalcon, this is my dream.
Punggol int
Punggol place
Sentul crescent
Sumang link
Punggol way
TPE
Jln kayu (express)
Yio chu kang road
Boundary rd
Lor chuan
Braddell rd
Thomson rd
Newton rd
Scotts rd
Orchard rd (loop)
Hmmm, here are my views
Firstly, a bus/LRT/walk to Punggol MRT, then a ride to Orchard is faster than your proposed route. Sector between Punggol to S'goon is quite redundant since you got MRT. Even if no MRT, 43 is still quite direct. IMO, to have a chance of it being viable, we could tweak it a bit.
Punggol Way
SK East Rd/Way/Dr
Upp S'goon Rd (express for most stops)
Braddell Rd
Yeah, it duplicates with 136, hence the express sector.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Hmmm, here are my views
Firstly, a bus/LRT/walk to Punggol MRT, then a ride to Orchard is faster than your proposed route. Sector between Punggol to S'goon is quite redundant since you got MRT. Even if no MRT, 43 is still quite direct. IMO, to have a chance of it being viable, we could tweak it a bit.
Punggol Way
SK East Rd/Way/Dr
Braddell Rd
Hi mr ButiAmAToilet, of course mrt is always definitely faster. Thus there is currently no bus service from Punggol to the central of Singapore. This is definitely due to the location of Punggol, being situated at one end.
The purpose is to have an alternative route to make it bypass sengkang and hougang to make it slightly faster. Because to come out from Punggol, there are only few ways. Most of it will duplicate current services. Best is to avoid upper serangoon rd.
So it seems most want it faster. Then good change to TPE -> CTE -> braddell road -> continue to orchard as per previous. In this way, journey time will reduce to 40 min x 2 when looping back. Cheers.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Hmmm, here are my views
Punggol Way
SK East Rd/Way/Dr
Braddell Rd
43e? Why do you need this?
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr bus analyzer, trunk service is normally 1 hr+. Of course Thomson to orchard duplication with other services is very normal. But the origin is different place. Cannot expect every single bus service to go different ways to orchard. (Sbs 7, smrt 77, smrt 106 all take the same holland road to go to orchard).
The above roads have already taken care of residents living nearby Nibong and sumang. (See sumang link for residents near Nibong lrt and Punggol way for residents near sumang lrt). The other part of sumang link is not yet opened to traffic.
The route is smooth for people to get out from this side of island to central Singapore. Punggol way to TPE is smooth. Of course, must go through yio Chu Kang road instead of CTE. It helps bring some residents from Punggol central to connect to lor chuan circle line MRT in 25 to 30 mins. Not that bad an idea. Whole journey to orchard will take an hour which is equivalent to a LRT plus MRT plus change at dhoby ghaut NE line to orchard.
Furthermore, it did not duplicate any of the current bus services from Punggol. In any way, it is just a dream! Happy dreaming for now! Cheers!
Let's see what route LTA proposes in the end.. But I dislike your route suggestion where someone going to Orchard has to go via Lor Chuan, Bradell, Thomson, Newton... Such a fishing long route and pointless with the heavy duplication and will find poor loading.
if it got to go to Orchard, better it takes cte after AMK Ave 1 and comes out at Bendemeer continuing on Sv 65 route to Orchard.. Again such a long route cannot be loop service. It has to terminate either at New Bridge or Bukit Merah.
-wrong thread-
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Let's see what route LTA proposes in the end.. But I dislike your route suggestion where someone going to Orchard has to go via Lor Chuan, Bradell, Thomson, Newton... Such a fishing long route and pointless with the heavy duplication and will find poor loading.
if it got to go to Orchard, better it takes cte after AMK Ave 1 and comes out at Bendemeer continuing on Sv 65 route to Orchard.. Again such a long route cannot be loop service. It has to terminate either at New Bridge or Bukit Merah.
Hi mr bus analyser, in my latest threads, i have already revised from TPE -> CTE -> braddell -> thomson -> newton -> scotts -> orchard which is already shortened. Anyway they will never allow a service to go on CTE for so long then come out in bendemeer. Take note the duplication of thomson-> newton-> scotts is one of the ways to go into orchard and it is certainly a necessitated duplication. Furthermore, by going onto TPE-> CTE-> braddell, it also helps to serve direct punggol to novena area whereby there are numerous office crowds. It does not mean most need go only from punggol to orchard. Currently there is no direct linkage at all to novena and newton area. So why not? I have used CTE and skipped yio chu kang, lor chuan area, saving an additional 25 min. So double deck is also feasible right now. Now even if 1 travel from punggol int to orchard, a 45 min ride is definitely equal to bus/lrt/walk to punggol mrt switch to red line at dhoby ghaut mrt. This should make this service an attractive alternative to the mrt. So why not? Cheers.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Punggol service should be covering Punggol west.
Hougang service might cover Upper Serangoon view, Buangkok dr.
Training bus for hougang spotted at these locations:
Bus turns out from int towards HG ave 5
HG ave 3
Upp S'goon Rd
S'goon Ctrl
YCK Link
YCK Rd
Could it mean a service plying through kovan, serangoon before reaching somewhere further up?
On side note of the previous Enviro500MMC:
SMB5001A
- SFD76CLR5DGTL3324 (UK Chassis)
- 14680KG
SMB5002Y
- SFD76CLR5DGTL3345 (UK Chassis)
- 14800KG
SMB3501L
- SFD76CLR5EMTL3366
- 14680KG
SMB3502J
- SFD76CLR5EMTL3367
- 14680KG
SMB3503G
- SFD76CLR5EMTL3368
- 14680KG
SMB3504D
- SFD76CLR5EMTL3369
- 14820KG
SMB3505B
- SFD76CLR5EMTL3370
- 14820KG
Different Unladen Weight of SMRT E500MMC:
14680KG
- SMB5001A, SMB3501L, SMB3502J, SMB3503G
14760KG
- SMB3508T, SMB3509R, SMB3510K, SMB3511H, SMB3512E, SMB3513C, SMB3514A, SMB3515Y
14800KG
- SMB5002Y
14820KG
- SMB3504D, SMB3505B, SMB3506Z, SMB3507X
Hoping to see NEL bus service announcement this week.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Hoping to see NEL bus service announcement this week.
Hi mr busanalyser, it is very unlikely due to Singapore national day holidays. Should be announced from 12 to 15 August with the implementation 2 weeks later on 31 August. Now we can only quietly hope! Cheers.