Originally posted by JurongWestresident:Well, we cannot totally replace Buses with Rail Transport. That's too expensive and so not feasible (I wonder why nowadays MRT stations are only 1km apart. shouldn't they be at least 2km apart to effectively separate the crowd and travel fast?)
anyway, let's discuss more on the new East Coast MRT Line (and many more Rail Transport developments) at Let's talk about our RAIL future. (at 'Singapore Trains' forum)
OT a bit
East branch of TEL gap between Tanjong Rhu, Katong Park and Amber Rd quite big...
Katong Park will be near Meyer Rd
Amber Rd near Amber Gardens(road)
M Parade os Parkway Parade bus stop
M Terrace near M Parade NPC
Siglap near Siglap Rd/E Coast Rd junction
Rest i have no idea...
Originally posted by dupdup77:All, LTA announced the new East coast mrt line, extended from Thomson line. With this announcement, we should know that bus services will always play a second fiddle to the MRT which is their main mode of public transport. With this being implemented in Yr 2024, buses along those territories will be made just sufficient to handle the load. We do not expect any major shake-up in the bus services around there. Neither will we expect any new services at those areas. Cheers.
The East Coast Line (previously known as Eastern Region Line) is not new in the first place. It was already announced in 2008 as an MRT line under planning. So there is no point in saying all this suddenly just because the line is finally announced, as if bus is not 'a second fiddle to the MRT' if ECL is not announced recently. And also, I would still expect new services in these areas to bring people to the new MRT stations.
I noticed something interesting about the new Bedok Int when I lepak at Bedok Mall earlier.
The Int is at level 2 instead of level 1, but the MRT link from Bedok MRT to Bedok Mall is at level B2 instead.
Anyway, I noticed that buses looks like they enter from east side (Near temp bus stop) and exit from west side (Near temp Int). This may cause some congestion issues at the stretch between the two entrance/exit. Buses that arrive from Nth Ave 1/Chai Chee could use Nth St 1 on their return trip first.
Originally posted by SBS5010P:79 freq on sundays and PHs sucks. Freq of 40 minutes max. Few days ago i was queueing up for Sv 51 to joyride then got one uncle queueing for Sv 79 asked me did Sv 79 just went off? I have been waiting here for 30 minutes. I said nope and i said uncle, why you never take 143/143M? He said he can only take 79 to his home in Teban? I said uncle, 79 is an industrial svc so Sundays u have to wait very long. When 79 finally came, he went up with a sigh. The amazing thing is those foreign workers waiting for 79 only queued up when 79 is arriving in 10 mins, which proves that they are smart enuf to queue for 79 when it is arriving.
That uncle was definitely not well informed.. If not 79, he could take 143/143M and if he lives closer to Penjuru can take 78 as well. You have monitor with bus timing at Jurong interchange. He should have checked. There are around 5 monitors in the interchange close to each boarding bay.
Originally posted by SBS5010P:79 freq on sundays and PHs sucks. Freq of 40 minutes max. Few days ago i was queueing up for Sv 51 to joyride then got one uncle queueing for Sv 79 asked me did Sv 79 just went off? I have been waiting here for 30 minutes. I said nope and i said uncle, why you never take 143/143M? He said he can only take 79 to his home in Teban? I said uncle, 79 is an industrial svc so Sundays u have to wait very long. When 79 finally came, he went up with a sigh. The amazing thing is those foreign workers waiting for 79 only queued up when 79 is arriving in 10 mins, which proves that they are smart enuf to queue for 79 when it is arriving.
Also bus services are not planned for foreign workers who live in dorms. If u see so many dorms are around a km away from nearest bus stop. I don't think PTOs or LTA cares about them. Sv 79 loading usually very poor on Sundays/PH. There is a reason why frequency is so low. You see weekdays. Peak hour bus every 08 mins or so now if not late.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busanalyser, I took photos on the first day but don't know how to insert into here for all to see.
bus stop 1a ---27, 34, 168, 858, 969
bus stop 1b ---3, 39, 88, 89, 89e, 109
This is the way they place on the number plates.
So, some from bus stop 1a and some from 1b will be implemented on 24 August. Cheers.
Idk how you'll view it, but I realised that those first few svcs which SBST announced are using the new bus stops from 24 Aug are the ones which are turning left or right at the next immediate junction.
I think they're trying to gauge the traffic flow on both sides during Peak Hours with the new bus stops. There's always a huge jam during Peak on the slip road up from TPE to Punggol Road. And the svcs which SBST said are going to use the bus stops first, are the same ones which are going to be stuck in the same jam before the opening of the bus stops anyway.
This is important, because the jam up the slip road can easily add at 5mins or more to the runtime of all the other svcs which have yet to use that bus stop and are not turning at the next immediate junction (ie. Sv 39, 109, 168, 858, 969) during Peak Hours. Sv 88 always get stuck there for more than 5 mins before turning left to the Blk 190C bus stop during Peak.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:39 should have been at 1a with 858 and 969, no!!?
It's actually wiser to split the bus svcs up between the 2 stops along the same stretch and mix those which are not turning at the next immediate junction (ie Sv 39, 109, 168, 858, 969) with those svcs which are turning at the next junction. (Sv 3, 27, 34, 88, 89, 89e).
Just think about the chaotic situation at one bus stop if all those svcs which are not turning are grouped together & have buses coming together at the same time. It will be super crazy and crowded if 2x Sv 969 buses + 2x Sv 858 MANs + 1x Sv 39 / 109 / 168 arrive at the same time at the same bus stop. And that's what usually will happen during Peak for those svcs.
Likewise for the other 5 svcs if they're grouped in the same bus stop. Will result in one bus stop being super filled with buses, while the buses calling at the other stop can't get through to their stop because that slip road LTA created is only that wide.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:I noticed something interesting about the new Bedok Int when I lepak at Bedok Mall earlier.
The Int is at level 2 instead of level 1, but the MRT link from Bedok MRT to Bedok Mall is at level B2 instead.
Anyway, I noticed that buses looks like they enter from east side (Near temp bus stop) and exit from west side (Near temp Int). This may cause some congestion issues at the stretch between the two entrance/exit. Buses that arrive from Nth Ave 1/Chai Chee could use Nth St 1 on their return trip first.
The link from MRT to Bedok Mall (Exit C) is mainly meant for people to go to Bedok Mall instead of the Bus Interchange. It is still recommended to use Exit B to the interchange (as Exit B will still bring you to Bedok Mall Level 1).
OT
Notice that there are many flats being constructed at old Keat Hong camp area...
Wont be surprised a new station will be built to alleviate crowding at CCK
Originally posted by Acx1688:OT
Notice that there are many flats being constructed at old Keat Hong camp area...
Doubt it, IIRC, tracks at that area is quite close to ground level.
About your earlier post on TEL.
M Terrace is probably CHIJ Katong/St Pat
Siglap is probably V Sch
Bayshore may be Chai Chee Sec there
Bedok South may be Temasek Sec there
Sungei Bedok may be Bedok Camp/Upp East Coast Terminal there
Right now, only service I can thought of TEL affecting is 531. The way TEL is set up hardly affect MP services at all.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Doubt it, IIRC, tracks at that area is quite close to ground level.
Siglap is probably V Sch
Right now, only service I can thought of TEL affecting is 531. The way TEL is set up hardly affect MP services at all.
Hi mr ButIAmAToilet, why you say M terrace and siglap are probably??? Those stations locations are already announced. Not probably anymore. Marina terrace station is next to the current marine parade NPC. Siglap station is near laguna park condo which is next to victoria school. Cheers.
Originally posted by Acx1688:OT a bit
East branch of TEL gap between Tanjong Rhu, Katong Park and Amber Rd quite big...
Katong Park will be near Meyer Rd
Amber Rd near Amber Gardens(road)
M Parade os Parkway Parade bus stop
M Terrace near M Parade NPC
Siglap near Siglap Rd/E Coast Rd junction
Rest i have no idea...
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:Doubt it, IIRC, tracks at that area is quite close to ground level.
Siglap is probably V Sch
Reply on East Coast Line at Let's talk about our RAIL future. thread.
Originally posted by Acx1688:OT
Reply on Jurong Region Line at Let's talk about our RAIL future. thread.
Originally posted by SBS5010P:But 87's HGDEP buses are now sleeping in HGDEP.. 87's using BNDEP's buses. 386 and the new hg service i dont think need so much space for 21 buses??
Watch out for the other services too...109 might be full BNDEP soon.
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:Reply on East Coast Line at Let's talk about our RAIL future. thread.
Reply on Jurong Region Line at Let's talk about our RAIL future. thread.
Whoops, didn't see that. I stand corrected.
I think Bayshore's location would be better if it is along Upp East Coast Rd
behold
882A ... wth?
882 frequency sucks
with about 2.43 buses in the route ...
Originally posted by SBS3004X:Watch out for the other services too...109 might be full BNDEP soon.
Now 87 under BNDEP full control maybe we can see 7777 or VSO on this svc soon..
Originally posted by SBS5010P:Now 87 under BNDEP full control maybe we can see 7777 or VSO on this svc soon..
For VSO can happen but as for 7777 r from BBDEP leh
LOL i tot 7777 from BNDEP oops.
Originally posted by Lsk138:For VSO can happen but as for 7777 r from BBDEP leh
yup, i am waiting for VSO to be on 87 haha
ok lah in sengkang not very hard to see VSO .. 86 also have VSO mar
Originally posted by SBS 9631X:It's actually wiser to split the bus svcs up between the 2 stops along the same stretch and mix those which are not turning at the next immediate junction (ie Sv 39, 109, 168, 858, 969) with those svcs which are turning at the next junction. (Sv 3, 27, 34, 88, 89, 89e).
Just think about the chaotic situation at one bus stop if all those svcs which are not turning are grouped together & have buses coming together at the same time. It will be super crazy and crowded if 2x Sv 969 buses + 2x Sv 858 MANs + 1x Sv 39 / 109 / 168 arrive at the same time at the same bus stop. And that's what usually will happen during Peak for those svcs.
Likewise for the other 5 svcs if they're grouped in the same bus stop. Will result in one bus stop being super filled with buses, while the buses calling at the other stop can't get through to their stop because that slip road LTA created is only that wide.
Agreed. All I am saying is 39 with 858 and 969 would have made more sense. It could be clubbed with 3 and 34.
Next stop could have had 27, 88, 89, 109, 168