Originally posted by Acx1688:Train fault at NEL AUG 21, would have ease suffering of commuters if 82/107 was merged...
Yes stupid LTA not making this change. It will be so good for people along Potong Pasir as well who can get direct service to Punggol road.
All, today I realized something. For the TPE bus stop towards changi side, LTA made sbs 3 and 34 stop at different stops (bus stop 1a and bus stop 1b).
For the TPE bus stop towards SLE side, LTA made sbs 3 and 34 stop at the same stop (bus stop 1a) which is furthest from the Punggol flyover. Think they foresee it will be easier for them to move out to turn right into Punggol. LTA made sbs 27, 88, 89, 89e stop at same stop (bus stop 1b) which is nearer the slip road towards sengkang. This makes it easier for those to turn into sengkang via Punggol rd.
The bus services on opposite sides do not all stop exactly same! Cheers.
Originally posted by dupdup77:All, today I realized something. For the TPE bus stop towards changi side, LTA made sbs 3 and 34 stop at different stops (bus stop 1a and bus stop 1b).
For the TPE bus stop towards SLE side, LTA made sbs 3 and 34 stop at the same stop (bus stop 1a) which is furthest from the Punggol flyover. Think they foresee it will be easier for them to move out to turn right into Punggol. LTA made sbs 27, 88, 89, 89e stop at same stop (bus stop 1b) which is nearer the slip road towards sengkang. This makes it easier for those to turn into sengkang via Punggol rd.
The bus services on opposite sides do not all stop exactly same! Cheers.
What about 858/969?
Originally posted by SBS2656X:Not feasible. LTA mentioned specifically to avoid introducing too many long-haul routes.
If 82/107 is merged, there will be half the buses available to ferry the people, and more prone to traffic conditions.
i feel the merger of 82 & 107 route is still not too long. Rather, LTA should focus on long routes that pass through several bottlenecks and then amend it to skip some bottlenecks to improve service.
if LTA wants to shorten long routes, then I rather they start cutting off those long loop services first and terminate from the existing loop point to a nearby Int or terminal. eg 36?
I have a question. If for example, 969, stops at 1a, does it turns straight into TPE, or go up the slip road, and down from the other side? It will be nice if someone illustrate out how they use the bus stop.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Train fault at NEL AUG 21, would have ease suffering of commuters if 82/107 was merged...
so how many buses need to be deployed on the merged sv82/107 to take the mrt pax?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:What about 858/969?
Hi mr busanalyser, for smrt 858, 969 towards changi direction, both services are at bus stop 1a which is nearesf flyover. For direction towards SLE, the numbers are still covered up by black stickers. So cannot see. Cheers.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:I have a question. If for example, 969, stops at 1a, does it turns straight into TPE, or go up the slip road, and down from the other side? It will be nice if someone illustrate out how they use the bus stop.
Hi mr ButIAmAToilet, it has to definitely go up and down the other side, no matter it stops at bus stop 1a or 1b. Once you go into the bus bay, you need to go up then down! Cheers.
Originally posted by ButIAmAToilet:I have a question. If for example, 969, stops at 1a, does it turns straight into TPE, or go up the slip road, and down from the other side? It will be nice if someone illustrate out how they use the bus stop.
Bus go onto 2 lane slip road,
Go into the seperated two lane bus bay(lane left/lane right),
Go to specific berth (lane left), finish loading/unloading, another bus service block it
So filter out(lane right) till end of bus bay,
Rejoins slip rd
Rejoins TPE
Originally posted by lemon1974:so how many buses need to be deployed on the merged sv82/107 to take the mrt pax?
The issue is NOT to carry the MRT pax, it is to provide an alternative from Punggol to Town which Punggol Estate is SORELY LACKING, 569 is PREMIUM NT TRUNK, PUNGGOL is the only far flung housing estate without a proper trunk bus route to town
Combine the fleet of 82/107, remove four citaros
If need be readjust fleet to demand
You saw the 9hr fiasco...
Open for discussions, anyone can continue or counter claim or voice against, just no name calling, TQ
Originally posted by Acx1688:The issue is NOT to carry the MRT pax, it is to provide an alternative from Punggol to Town which Punggol Estate is SORELY LACKING, 569 is PREMIUM NT TRUNK, PUNGGOL is the only far flung housing estate without a proper trunk bus route to town
Open for discussions, anyone can continue or counter claim or voice against, just no name calling, TQ
I think it makes logical sense. Too many Punggol services terminate very soon, forcing most people to take MRT. If you have 107 extended, imagine many Punggol road residents who go to Potong Pasir, Bendemeer, Kallang can conveniently take 107, rather than doing 163 --> MRT or doing 82 --> MRT
Plus 107 route to Shenton Way also quite fast... hence, will promote more people to use 107 which is not optimally used to its capacity today.
sv 101 might soon need a capacity upgrade from SD --> DD given the higher demand in Buangkok Link/Vale residents.
These areas should be connected to Buangkok MRT... the MRT station is so poorly utilized today with very bad links to closes HDB estates along Buangkok Link, HG st 91/51 and also Sengkang East/West ave.
Originally posted by Acx1688:The issue is NOT to carry the MRT pax, it is to provide an alternative from Punggol to Town which Punggol Estate is SORELY LACKING, 569 is PREMIUM NT TRUNK, PUNGGOL is the only far flung housing estate without a proper trunk bus route to town
Hi mr Acx1688, that is why previously I have proposed a route from Punggol via sentul crescent, Punggol way, TPE, CTE, braddell rd, Thomson rd, newton rd, Scotts rd to loop at orchard rd. This totally skips sengkang and hougang and connects to city centre which there is no connection right now. Cheers.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr Acx1688, that is why previously I have proposed a route from Punggol via sentul crescent, Punggol way, TPE, CTE, braddell rd, Thomson rd, newton rd, Scotts rd to loop at orchard rd. This totally skips sengkang and hougang and connects to city centre which there is no connection right now. Cheers.
You write in to LTA to feedback?!
Originally posted by Acx1688:You write in to LTA to feedback?!
Hi mr Acx1688, i only proposed in this forum. After they introduced sbs 386, i have this feeling that they will not implement long routes so i never write in. Cheers.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr Acx1688, i only proposed in this forum. After they introduced sbs 386, i have this feeling that they will not implement long routes so i never write in. Cheers.
Write lah, no harm, i regular contributor
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busanalyser, for smrt 858, 969 towards changi direction, both services are at bus stop 1a which is nearesf flyover. For direction towards SLE, the numbers are still covered up by black stickers. So cannot see. Cheers.
Hi mr busanalyser, I went down to see again. For direction towards SLE, 3, 34, 39, 109, 168, 858, 969 are all grouped together at bus stop 1a. So for turning into Punggol and those going straight, they make them easier by grouping them together at the stop furthest away from the flyover. Cheers.
Originally posted by carbikebus:So 1B what service stop there?A bit pekchek during peak hours that side..Sometimes i ride motorbike also very hard to weave in and out..I tried many time driving car during peaks and its like a war zone..Good luck!
By the way i did sent feedback to LTA about extending 107 to Sengkang and and ends at Harbourfront
107 can't ends at HarbourFront, Cos that Int parking lots is full (No space liao).
Originally posted by carbikebus:So 1B what service stop there?A bit pekchek during peak hours that side..Sometimes i ride motorbike also very hard to weave in and out..I tried many time driving car during peaks and its like a war zone..Good luck!
By the way i did sent feedback to LTA about extending 107 to Sengkang and and ends at Harbourfront
You should have told to merge 82 and 107... Punggol to Shenton way... No need harbourfront.
Hi mr carbikebus, this is it.
Towards changi direction,
bus stop 1a (nearest flyover)-27,34,168,858,969 (no problem)
bus stop 1b (furthest from flyover)-3,39,88,89,89e,109 (no problem)
Towards SLE direction,
bus stop 1a (furthest from flyover)-3,34,39,109,168,858,969 (all need turn right to Punggol or need move out to go straight, thus need to be furthest from flyover)
bus stop 1b (nearest flyover)-27,88,88,89e (all turn left to sengkang -no problem)
Woohoo! The day we have been waiting for 2 years is finally here! Finally the TPE bus stop is in operation with half of the bus services! Cheers!
Today also starts the makeover for bukit purmei residents
123 got extended, intro 123M & 131M and then tmr, we have to say bye2 to 275
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:You should have told to merge 82 and 107... Punggol to Shenton way... No need harbourfront.
LTA won't be touching anymore on Punggol until the new interchange and integrated hub has fully finished constructed.
Hougang will also be avoided after one more service is introduced. Until 2017 then we'll see whether if the new A/C bus interchange it big or not. They can then consider a service from Hougang to Boon Lay via Bukit Panjang and Mandai.
Originally posted by SBS2656X:LTA won't be touching anymore on Punggol until the new interchange and integrated hub has fully finished constructed.
Hougang will also be avoided after one more service is introduced. Until 2017 then we'll see whether if the new A/C bus interchange it big or not. They can then consider a service from Hougang to Boon Lay via Bukit Panjang and Mandai.
Hi mr SBS2656X, you are absolutely wrong. You mean from now till yr 2019 they will not do anything to Punggol? Haha. That is too long a time frame! There is still a long way to go for the hub! The condos and flats will be up even before 2016. How can it be even thinkable that all those new flats will have to wait until the hub is completed in order to have 1 or 2 new bus services? Haha! Just see how fast sbs 386 is introduced after the new flats at edgefield plains are completed.
Hougang will not be avoided la. And do not ever hope they will implement such a long service from hougang to Boon Lay. They will tell you to take the MRT. Cheers!
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SBS2656X, you are absolutely wrong. You mean from now till yr 2019 they will not do anything to Punggol? Haha. That is too long a time frame! There is still a long way to go for the hub! The condos and flats will be up even before 2016. How can it be even thinkable that all those new flats will have to wait until the hub is completed in order to have 1 or 2 new bus services? Haha! Just see how fast sbs 386 is introduced after the new flats at edgefield plains are completed.
Hougang will not be avoided la. And do not ever hope they will implement such a long service from hougang to Boon Lay. They will tell you to take the MRT. Cheers!
Hougang Int is already having parking issues due to the high amount of bus services. Always jam up the entrance whenever it's raining.
There was a plan of Service 117 from Hougang to Bukit Batok back in 2001 but it was never introduced.
Punggol is ulu place for now, because introducing it within this year is a waste of resources for the PTOs since about 70% of the flats won't be fully constructed within this year. The other reason is the very obvious transport hub at TPE. Punggol residents are encouraged to access bus services from there. Furthermore it's pointless to introduce more Punggol routes towards the city because it'l definitely ply Punggol Road (Service 82, 83, 136, ), Punggol Way (43, 119) or Punggol East (50, 62, 85) and cause more duplications. NEL isn't there for no reason. If you still don't think so, wait until Sengkang West Avenue opens and service 85 or 965 will get a revamp to ply Yishun Avenue 1.