All, the news is officially out. Posters are out at various bus stops at Punggol. Sbs 386 will be officially extended to serve edgedale plains and Punggol east with effect from 15 feb 2015. After coming out from edgefield plains loop deep inside, it will come out to Punggol drive (oasis lrt), then edgedale plains (horizon primary and greendale primary), then Punggol field (plaza stop) and turn to Punggol east (Riveria lrt) then Punggol central (Blk 162B), turn right towards edgedale plains (horizon primary school) and Punggol drive (oasis LRT), then back on current way to mrt.
There is a bit of slight difference in that the two stops Blk 672A and Blk 670A inside edgefield plains will function as some sort of guiding principle. Blk 672A stop is for those going Punggol east and Blk 670A stop is for those going Punggol mrt.
This is not too bad, linking oasis LRT and future mall and poly clinic to residents to shop at Punggol plaza and vice versa.
It also brings edgefield plains residents to plaza and those restaurants opposite Riveria LRT.
It also saves space at Punggol bus interchange since there is no new service to be introduced. Just an extension of sbs 386 which sees very low ridership.
Chey! I thought it will be a new service and it turns out to be an extension after all. Only good point is it serves Punggol field(plaza stop) and Punggol east(Riveria lrt) and Punggol central(Blk 162B). This area badly needs 1 service. Cheers
Originally posted by dupdup77:All, the news is officially out. Posters are out at various bus stops at Punggol. Sbs 386 will be officially extended to serve edgedale plains and Punggol east with effect from 15 feb 2015. After coming out from edgefield plains loop deep inside, it will come out to Punggol drive (oasis lrt), then edgedale plains (horizon primary and greendale primary), then Punggol field (plaza stop) and turn to Punggol east (Riveria lrt) then Punggol central (Blk 162B), turn right towards edgedale plains (horizon primary school) and Punggol drive (oasis LRT), then back on current way to mrt.
There is a bit of slight difference in that the two stops Blk 672A and Blk 670A inside edgefield plains will function as some sort of guiding principle. Blk 672A stop is for those going Punggol east and Blk 670A stop is for those going Punggol mrt.
This is not too bad, linking oasis LRT and future mall and poly clinic to residents to shop at Punggol plaza and vice versa.
It also brings edgefield plains residents to plaza and those restaurants opposite Riveria LRT.
It also saves space at Punggol bus interchange since there is no new service to be introduced. Just an extension of sbs 386 which sees very low ridership.
Chey! I thought it will be a new service and it turns out to be an extension after all. Only good point is it serves Punggol field(plaza stop) and Punggol east(Riveria lrt) and Punggol central(Blk 162B). This area badly needs 1 service. Cheers
Good move for 386... But one question, does it stop twice at the loop at Edgefield Plains? It would be quite weird and inconvenient if it only stops at the loop there for only one direction, as those who want to take the bus from Punggol Field (plaza) and Punggol Central back to Edgefield Plains will have to walk from Oasis LRT...
there might be another "M" service introduce in feb from AMDEP or BRBP.. 6 regoless BSEP citaros are spotted inside AMDEP....
Originally posted by 23ispolo:Good move for 386... But one question, does it stop twice at the loop at Edgefield Plains? It would be quite weird and inconvenient if it only stops at the loop there for only one direction, as those who want to take the bus from Punggol Field (plaza) and Punggol Central back to Edgefield Plains will have to walk from Oasis LRT...
Hi mr 23ispolo, yes it stops twice inside the edgefield plains. Currently got 2 stops opposite each other there. Blk 672A will be the stop for residents to go Punggol east. Those who want go mrt have to cross the road to Blk 670A. Inside the poster, they designate the 2 stops to be like this. So sbs 386 will go in twice.
There is no need to walk from oasis LRT to inside. It is considered too far.
This move must have been made to stem the losses for sbs 386. It has been going on empty trips for too long. Must be losing $$$ hugely.
This move also will not affect sbs 3/83/85 loading to Punggol central too much. Because of the loop to go inside edgefield plains first which may deter quite a number of people. The loop may take an additional 5 minutes. But for those going to oasis LRT, Punggol drive, horizon primary school and greendale primary school and those people going Punggol plaza (without need to walk across coral edge LRT), it is a good move. Expect number of people to increase to around 15 per trip. Cheers.
Originally posted by dupdup77:All, the news is officially out. Posters are out at various bus stops at Punggol. Sbs 386 will be officially extended to serve edgedale plains and Punggol east with effect from 15 feb 2015. After coming out from edgefield plains loop deep inside, it will come out to Punggol drive (oasis lrt), then edgedale plains (horizon primary and greendale primary), then Punggol field (plaza stop) and turn to Punggol east (Riveria lrt) then Punggol central (Blk 162B), turn right towards edgedale plains (horizon primary school) and Punggol drive (oasis LRT), then back on current way to mrt.
It is a little strange because in the press release, they stated new service for Punggol. I don't think ridership will increase much, apart from giving Waterway residents a connection to amenities such as Punggol Plaza. I think 1 more bus will be added to sv 386.
I don't think people along Punggol Field, East or Central will take this service to MRT. But yes this must be an effort to do something to sv 386 that does not fetch too many pax.
Did you take picture of the poster? You can upload it if you have.
They should also consider doing something to sv 324. Same story. Incurring quite a bit of loss I guess. Most trips not more than 15 pax.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:It is a little strange because in the press release, they stated new service for Punggol. I don't think ridership will increase much, apart from giving Waterway residents a connection to amenities such as Punggol Plaza. I think 1 more bus will be added to sv 386.
I don't think people along Punggol Field, East or Central will take this service to MRT. But yes this must be an effort to do something to sv 386 that does not fetch too many pax.
Did you take picture of the poster? You can upload it if you have.
Hi mr busanalyser, I took picture but I did not know how to upload. Can you teach me? Thanks.
hi dupdup77
first u upload the photo on any server where u can upload that is open for public (even facebook) and copy and paste here
My 2c
386 would not be making losses in the beginning by putting 1 bus with 2 BCs, jump bus ops, save money and petrol and space. Present 386 can make do by driving slightly faster like how 11 handled full day(nt including breaks) w a bus, distance is slightly longer than 386.
As all know, 386 was introduced to make up the numbers to make Punggol look good with new service intro when it runs parallel to LRT, 3,50,83,85
Same w 324, 3 buses! Look at loading figures...
Same w 63M, always cluster w 63...
Anyone with other SHORT M services details, please share...(LTA ones, not SBST's 70M,162M,etc)
Furthermore, the new hdb flats at Upp Serangoon View area is still NOT FULLY COMPLETED, so 324 is currently providing service only to the school, condo peeps whi can use 62,136...
Waste resources...
Nugget info: along Upp Serangoon Rd where 74,112,119,136,147 bus stops are in direction of Hougang Central, ve very big banners welcoming 324(citaro pix) on the lamp posts put up by CCC...
The current route 386 is only 3.6km. I took that route before, on a Saturday at around 12pm. The bus was quite empty, with only around four people (me, the bus driver and two other people).
Extending the route will certainly increase the loading on 386. However, from the way the route is being extended, it seems that 386 is an intra-town service - rather than a feeder service - for the extended catchment, because the LRT obviously provides a shorter connection to the MRT.
dd, dun post blank leh...
Punggol Interchange ve space...
Just redraw the parking spaces n reduce the gap bet each space, can squeeze two,three more
If you see the interchange at Bedok, you will get what i mean... There are also spaces next to the covered walkway(next to the main road)...
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:
- if you have facebook, upload on facebook.
- click on the picture.
- right click, copy the image url.
- come here.
- when writing the reply, click on the icon with the tree image.
- paste the image url on the 'image url'
- click 'insert'
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/10926225_923721534327726_211030655670421875_n.jpg?oh=19a66401d5d5b3b2cb9f2129b65cb994&oe=55638818&__gda__=1432374630_f9b7573148f9277d9edc0c28f7e55e8f
here la lol
cr: Omnibology SG
Hi. "Omnibology - SG" has posted a picture of the route 386 extension press release on their facebook page. Here is the picture of the press release:
386 - Route Extension From Sunday, 15 February 2015
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:
- if you have facebook, upload on facebook.
- click on the picture.
- right click, copy the image url.
- come here.
- when writing the reply, click on the icon with the tree image.
- paste the image url on the 'image url'
- click 'insert'
Hi Mr jurong west resident, thanks.
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:Hi. "Omnibology - SG" has posted a picture of the route 386 extension press release on their facebook page. Here is the picture of the press release:
386 - Route Extension From Sunday, 15 February 2015
- * Extension of existing route from Edgefield Plains to Punggol East, serving eight new bus stops.
- * Provides convinient access to:
- - Transport nodes: Punggol Bus Interhange & Punggol MRT Station
- - Schools: Edgefield Pri, Horizon Pri, Greendale Pri, Punggol Sec & Greendale Sec
- - Mall: Punggol Plaza
Just a food for thought, the roundabout at edgefield plains is temporary right?, Does that mean 386 will be amended again in the near future once more skipping Punggol Drive once Edgefield Plains is joined with Punggol East? Hmm
Originally posted by TIB1112L:hi dupdup77
first u upload the photo on any server where u can upload that is open for public (even facebook) and copy and paste here
Hi Mr TIB1112L, thanks.
Personally, this is the first time I see a route ply a route section twice, each time serving only one side of the road. The length of the new route 386 is approximately 7.62km.
The new route 386 is 2.1167 times the length of the current route 386.
Originally posted by JurongWestresident:Personally, this is the first time I see a route ply a route section twice, each time serving only one side of the road. The length of the new route 386 is approximately 7.62km.
The new route 386 is 2.1167 times the length of the current route 386.
Hi Mr jurongwestresident, it is a good extension. For those residents in punggol central and east, they can just take this service to the bus stop outside horizon primary school when fetch child to and back from school. No need walk anymore. Hip hip hooray.
Originally posted by Acx1688:dd, dun post blank leh...
Hi Mr Acx1688, I was trying to insert picture from mobile phone but failed. Cheers.