Am I the only one who's disappointed with 47? Major duplication with 12 and 38. Yes it does help in bringing people to Katong Shopping Centre and Temasek JC, but not much uniqueness.
If 47 was just to connect CBP with Marine Parade, I would rather extend 135 to CBP via ECP as a more direct link between them. Then 47 could have been rerouted from Tanah Merah further towards the west, passing by Bedok.
Can expect 38 to be even further away from fleet adds. So sad as it's actually quite a unique intertown route.
So 117 die die must do Seletar Aerospace Dr... When there's Seletar North Link. But good connection from Jln Kayu bus stop to Punggol.
Hi array88,
You're not along in your sentiments.
118 looks good...needless to say
117 through Seletar was quite forseeable given 103's extension. The problem I see is that 117 is not just a Punggol-Yishun link but a link to Seletar as well. So from an equity perspective, Punggol West has it better as 85 does not serve Seletar, so you can't really say fair and square. The link between Av 1 and Khatib MRT is a nicety. Yishun will not have equitable access to Seletar/Punggol. Would've preferred Av 3 > Ring Rd > Av 5 > Sembawang Rd. However, I do forsee that this service may be amended to serve the interior of Canberra estate as 169 is a little lonely along Canberra Link.
47...my worst fear came true though short of the nightmarish M P > ECP > Xilin > CBP service. There are merits. Eg the Tanah Merah > CBP sector fur bus transfers to neighboring estates. Kudos to LTA for thinking of the loop around East Coast Rd & Still Rd South; harks back to the days of 608. MP residents should be extremely thankful now that they don't have to walk through Roxy Square. What a luxury! The same can be said for Bdk Sth. Provides a ton of convenience for Bedok-Sth/MP connections which were not that much of a hassle before tbh; you could transfer to 12 at Av 1 by taking 31, 196 or 197 or walk from New Upp Changi Rd via 31. It will do a great deal to relieve 31's loading as this service serves Tanah Merah more directly where as 31 has both Bedok & Tanah Merah loads.
The route is also extremely direct to CBP even though access from MP previously was really not that difficult - 48/31 MP to Tanah Merah then EWL/ 12, 24 & 38 to Expo/35 to Xilin. Very clear that LTA prioritised the HDB estates of Bedok South over Bayshore/Upp East Coast. But that's politics tbh. And looking at the areas 47 serves, these are some smart political moves (hint hint). Bedok South will have super duper good connections to Tanah Merah MRT with both Katong & Marine Parade/Upp Changi Rd East & CBP proper covered. As for Bedok North, LTA probably felt that it would be covered by DTL3 in no time (3Q 2017 is my bet).
But now that they've really shored up MP & Bedok South, I do feel there is the bandwith to introduce a service ala 120, 121 or 122 in the area to provide a unique connection to both HDB/Private housing. There is just too much duplication and 47 is not unique at all. Chai Chee/Kembangan to MP is a good candidate.
Very interesting that 20 is still not extended to CBP...
Originally posted by array88:Am I the only one who's disappointed with 47? Major duplication with 12 and 38. Yes it does help in bringing people to Katong Shopping Centre and Temasek JC, but not much uniqueness.
If 47 was just to connect CBP with Marine Parade, I would rather extend 135 to CBP via ECP as a more direct link between them. Then 47 could have been rerouted from Tanah Merah further towards the west, passing by Bedok.
Can expect 38 to be even further away from fleet adds. So sad as it's actually quite a unique intertown route.
I suspect that any 'discrepancy' or otherwise anything 'weird' about 47 may have to do with the GCM.
So is it confirmed that 47 is under Loyang package? If so, it's only due to CBP... Then also, I wonder why 20 was not under Loyang to begin with.
Originally posted by array88:Am I the only one who's disappointed with 47? Major duplication with 12 and 38. Yes it does help in bringing people to Katong Shopping Centre and Temasek JC, but not much uniqueness.
47 is quite good actually in my opinion. It does serve two main purposes:
1) It relieves the extremely high loading along Marine Parade Road, along the Victoria School - Victoria Junior College corridor. (Interestingly, 47 more or less covers the route which was cut off when that tree fell recently...) 48, which has no double deckers, is usually very crowded at peak hours. 31, which has double deckers, is also crowded, possibly due to the fact that they already picked up many passengers before heading to the 'Victorian' area. 36 has no double-deckers due to airport height restrictions, and runs only westbound. The fact that 47 loops at the west end of Marine Parade Road means that it is more dedicated to serve the area, as opposed to 12 which will be "cham" with passengers from the city.
2) it offers a much needed connection eastwards "beyond" Bedok. At the bus stops near CHIJ Katong, Neptune Ct and Hua Xin Ct, if you want to take the bus to Tanah Merah (a key transport node as the bus stop has many buses there, 2, 12, 14, 24 etc etc), 196, 197 and 43 are out (all 3 of which have the highest frequency), and commuters are stuck waiting for 31 or 48, both of which are notorious among students of the Victorias, CHIJ and Tao Nan for poor frequency. 196 and 197 cut off at Bedok and hence are unfeasible for those commuters, and 43 ends off at Upp East Coast terminal, which to them, might as well be in the middle of nowhere, while 76 terminates at Marine Terrace and doesn't even cover VS as it used to. 47 neatly helps to bring people from Marine Parade Road eastbound, saving one less transfer.
PS. I like the route duplication with 12 actually. 12 has a ridiculously bad frequency at off-peak hours, and the alternative 38 has no double deckers, so having another route should relieve congestion or at the very least mean a shorter wait.
Originally posted by CB2883J:47 is quite good actually in my opinion. It does serve two main purposes:
1) It relieves the extremely high loading along Marine Parade Road, along the Victoria School - Victoria Junior College corridor. (Interestingly, 47 more or less covers the route which was cut off when that tree fell recently...) 48, which has no double deckers, is usually very crowded at peak hours. 31, which has double deckers, is also crowded, possibly due to the fact that they already picked up many passengers before heading to the 'Victorian' area. 36 has no double-deckers due to airport height restrictions, and runs only westbound. The fact that 47 loops at the west end of Marine Parade Road means that it is more dedicated to serve the area, as opposed to 12 which will be "cham" with passengers from the city.
2) it offers a much needed connection eastwards "beyond" Bedok. At the bus stops near CHIJ Katong, Neptune Ct and Hua Xin Ct, if you want to take the bus to Tanah Merah (a key transport node as the bus stop has many buses there, 2, 12, 14, 24 etc etc), 196, 197 and 43 are out (all 3 of which have the highest frequency), and commuters are stuck waiting for 31 or 48, both of which are notorious among students of the Victorias, CHIJ and Tao Nan for poor frequency. 196 and 197 cut off at Bedok and hence are unfeasible for those commuters, and 43 ends off at Upp East Coast terminal, which to them, might as well be in the middle of nowhere, while 76 terminates at Marine Terrace and doesn't even cover VS as it used to. 47 neatly helps to bring people from Marine Parade Road eastbound, saving one less transfer.
PS. I like the route duplication with 12 actually. 12 has a ridiculously bad frequency at off-peak hours, and the alternative 38 has no double deckers, so having another route should relieve congestion or at the very least mean a shorter wait.
47 help to connect tjc side with vjc/vs/parkway/katong side, previously must take 196/197/31 to the opp casa fina bus stop n change to 12, and we all know 12 n 31 frequency is gone case even old auntie waiting for bus also kpkb
Originally posted by SG5001C:Very interesting that 20 is still not extended to CBP...
I doubt it would be feasible to make 20 terminate there given the bus stops along Changi South Aves 2 and 4...you should be able to explain why 252 isn't made to terminate at Joo Koon Interchange in the first place.
Originally posted by SBS6465E:Hi array88,
You're not along in your sentiments.
118 looks good...needless to say
117 through Seletar was quite forseeable given 103's extension. The problem I see is that 117 is not just a Punggol-Yishun link but a link to Seletar as well. So from an equity perspective, Punggol West has it better as 85 does not serve Seletar, so you can't really say fair and square. The link between Av 1 and Khatib MRT is a nicety. Yishun will not have equitable access to Seletar/Punggol. Would've preferred Av 3 > Ring Rd > Av 5 > Sembawang Rd. However, I do forsee that this service may be amended to serve the interior of Canberra estate as 169 is a little lonely along Canberra Link.
47...my worst fear came true though short of the nightmarish M P > ECP > Xilin > CBP service. There are merits. Eg the Tanah Merah > CBP sector fur bus transfers to neighboring estates. Kudos to LTA for thinking of the loop around East Coast Rd & Still Rd South; harks back to the days of 608. MP residents should be extremely thankful now that they don't have to walk through Roxy Square. What a luxury! The same can be said for Bdk Sth. Provides a ton of convenience for Bedok-Sth/MP connections which were not that much of a hassle before tbh; you could transfer to 12 at Av 1 by taking 31, 196 or 197 or walk from New Upp Changi Rd via 31. It will do a great deal to relieve 31's loading as this service serves Tanah Merah more directly where as 31 has both Bedok & Tanah Merah loads.
The route is also extremely direct to CBP even though access from MP previously was really not that difficult - 48/31 MP to Tanah Merah then EWL/ 12, 24 & 38 to Expo/35 to Xilin. Very clear that LTA prioritised the HDB estates of Bedok South over Bayshore/Upp East Coast. But that's politics tbh. And looking at the areas 47 serves, these are some smart political moves (hint hint). Bedok South will have super duper good connections to Tanah Merah MRT with both Katong & Marine Parade/Upp Changi Rd East & CBP proper covered. As for Bedok North, LTA probably felt that it would be covered by DTL3 in no time (3Q 2017 is my bet).
But now that they've really shored up MP & Bedok South, I do feel there is the bandwith to introduce a service ala 120, 121 or 122 in the area to provide a unique connection to both HDB/Private housing. There is just too much duplication and 47 is not unique at all. Chai Chee/Kembangan to MP is a good candidate.
Hi mr SBS6465E, good analysis for sbs 47. Thumbs up! Cheers.
extending 135 to go cbp via ecp doesn't solve the problem tt many of the students face, which is after 1 day of cramming facts in school, got to cram with ppl on the bus back esp eastbound services... 47 at least start from MP so students getting on at most squeeze with MP crowd nia... finally eastbound benefit can same like 55, board bus only need squeeze with victoria sch students. just that 55 is westbound 47 is eastbound. vs and vjc finally can get a svc with light loading in both directions. finally å��æ ¡ can get good bus svc connections ahead of the thomson east coast line opening in like when
if not happy with 47, wait until tel open lor. then they can re route 47 away from the schools and leave the schools as they have been, except that this time it will be justifiable cos of mrt
Originally posted by SG5001C:I suspect that any 'discrepancy' or otherwise anything 'weird' about 47 may have to do with the GCM.
So is it confirmed that 47 is under Loyang package? If so, it's only due to CBP... Then also, I wonder why 20 was not under Loyang to begin with.
Hi mr SG5001C, I think they make a mistake. Doubt Sbs 47 to be under Loyang package. Take note CBP is not part of Loyang package. Only these 4 places (pasir ris int, Punggol int, changi village and Changi airport terminal) are part of Loyang package. So this means only 24 routes at the moment (including 117 and 118). The last 25th route is still unknown. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SG5001C, I think they make a mistake. Doubt Sbs 47 to be under Loyang package. Take note CBP is not part of Loyang package. Only these 4 places (pasir ris int, Punggol int, changi village and Changi airport terminal) are part of Loyang package. So this means only 24 routes at the moment (including 117 and 118). The last 25th route is still unknown. Cheers. Thanks.
25th is 382
Originally posted by SBS2652G:25th is 382
Hi mr SBS2652G, yes this time round I think you are right. Another service for Punggol is coming up. Feeder 382G/W. Looks interesting this time! Cheers. Thanks.
Lol I think the students from VS and VJC (Victorians) will be very happy about this.
As my friend who taught in VS said, è·�离地é“�ç«™ä¸�è¿‘çš„å��æ ¡ç»ˆäºŽæœ‰åƒ�æ ·çš„å·´å£«æœ�务了ï¼�(Finally, an elite school far from an MRT station has a decent bus service situation!) Though he admits this won't be so important once TEL opens.
Originally posted by SBS2652G:25th is 382
Hi mr SBS2652G, do you have any idea how SBS 382G/W is going to loop at punggol? Cheers. Thanks.
38 will not want any more fleet adds because:
IMO, now sv983 a bit useless...perhaps it benefit the commuters inbetween travelling to BPJ.
979, great...another alternative for residents in Yew Tee to travel to city via BPJ.
Sv117(and Sv103) simply steal sv85 business liao Finally another out-of-town svc for Sembawang Residents..
Originally posted by TIB429E:IMO, now sv983 a bit useless...perhaps it benefit the commuters inbetween travelling to BPJ.
979, great...another alternative for residents in Yew Tee to travel to city via BPJ.
Sv117(and Sv103) simply steal sv85 business liao Finally another out-of-town svc for Sembawang Residents..
103 is still at yishun leh ... so 117 is the out-of-town service not another ... there isn't much choices for sbw residents still
Well given that service 117 has so many stops in Yishun and Sembawang, this service should have been given to SMRT. But anyway, SBST is also only going to handle it for probably 6 months before handing it over to Go Ahead under Loyang package.
Good that BSEP finally gave a longer route but I think for this route, they could have just easily modified service 85 to Ply seletar aerospace and Yishun ave 1 and then extend it into Sembawang. Would have given better access for residents of punggol and sengkang to selatar aerospace park. With the current 117, only residents near punggol Central and sembawang get a direct Access to selatar aerospace. Residents around Yishun ave 1 and Yishun ave 2 already have access to 103.
But atleast there is a link from Yishun ave 1 to khatib now. Also people who are travelling from seletar camp gate busstop to Yishun/sembawang (except those along Yishun ave 2 after Yishun int) will probably still choose 39/858 since it is faster. Not really an incentive to take 117 for lesser crowds with the bendy on 858 and DD on 39 now. 117 I doubt will get DD. Shld be full fleet SD due to seletar aerospace.
Originally posted by SG5001C:Lol I think the students from VS and VJC (Victorians) will be very happy about this.
As my friend who taught in VS said, è·�离地é“�ç«™ä¸�è¿‘çš„å��æ ¡ç»ˆäºŽæœ‰åƒ�æ ·çš„å·´å£«æœ�务了ï¼�(Finally, an elite school far from an MRT station has a decent bus service situation!) Though he admits this won't be so important once TEL opens.
honestly i don't agree vs / vj don't have good bus services to begin with, we have services to almost every part of sg, including tpy, kallang, je, bukit merah, chinatown, buona vista, je, holland, punggol, sengkang, buangkok, hougan, serangoon, pasir ris, tampines, bedok, changi airport, town, woodlands, bukit panjang, whampoa, and so on .. .and it isn't much of a hassle going to either paya lebar / bedok to change into mrt / buses. it is students who don't wish to take such long bus services to begin with.
196, 197 although infrequent, but it isn't that nightmarish, compared to the 190 loading (before 972 and all the envios BSEP), as well as those loadings we see of yishun feeders / tampines feeders / even bedok feeders. It's still bearable per say ...
I am frankly quite disappointed wtih 47, for the connectivity with marine parade to bedok south per say, a simple transfer to 12 / 38 can do it's part, for the tanah merah section to expo, 35 / 35 M is enough / MRT can be an alternative too ... and CBP is not that hard to reach given the options, it seems that it's just a special service created to serve mp residents to reach cbp / a mini feeder for bedok south residents to tanah merah, which 229 / 38 does the route also, for still road, 197 and other services are more than adequate
better routing can be to bedok mrt (where it can then take some load for 31 which is quie bad for the bedok int - mp section)
Originally posted by randomguy10:Well given that service 117 has so many stops in Yishun and Sembawang, this service should have been given to SMRT. But anyway, SBST is also only going to handle it for probably 6 months before handing it over to Go Ahead under Loyang package.
Good that BSEP finally gave a longer route but I think for this route, they could have just easily modified service 85 to Ply seletar aerospace and Yishun ave 1 and then extend it into Sembawang. Would have given better access for residents of punggol and sengkang to selatar aerospace park. With the current 117, only residents near punggol Central and sembawang get a direct Access to selatar aerospace. Residents around Yishun ave 1 and Yishun ave 2 already have access to 103.
But atleast there is a link from Yishun ave 1 to khatib now. Also people who are travelling from seletar camp gate busstop to Yishun/sembawang (except those along Yishun ave 2 after Yishun int) will probably still choose 39/858 since it is faster. Not really an incentive to take 117 for lesser crowds with the bendy on 858 and DD on 39 now. 117 I doubt will get DD. Shld be full fleet SD due to seletar aerospace.
85 into seletar aerospace will overlap with 102 for quite a far bit, this 117 is actually quite good for sbw / ys residents as it is direct into punggol, it benefits punggol residents also as it's much more direct into seletar aerospace
go ahead taking over loyang is still sometime, linkely 9 more months
Originally posted by SG5001C:Lol I think the students from VS and VJC (Victorians) will be very happy about this.
and now vs is finally an elite school
I am looking for taxi driver to drive my daughter and her friend to school every morning at 6:30 am onwards -- two pick ups at Geylang and Moulmien to alight at SCGS. Anyone interested please call me at 85110130. Thanks for reading my post.