Originally posted by randomguy10:Well given that service 117 has so many stops in Yishun and Sembawang, this service should have been given to SMRT. But anyway, SBST is also only going to handle it for probably 6 months before handing it over to Go Ahead under Loyang package.
Good that BSEP finally gave a longer route but I think for this route, they could have just easily modified service 85 to Ply seletar aerospace and Yishun ave 1 and then extend it into Sembawang. Would have given better access for residents of punggol and sengkang to selatar aerospace park. With the current 117, only residents near punggol Central and sembawang get a direct Access to selatar aerospace. Residents around Yishun ave 1 and Yishun ave 2 already have access to 103.
But atleast there is a link from Yishun ave 1 to khatib now. Also people who are travelling from seletar camp gate busstop to Yishun/sembawang (except those along Yishun ave 2 after Yishun int) will probably still choose 39/858 since it is faster. Not really an incentive to take 117 for lesser crowds with the bendy on 858 and DD on 39 now. 117 I doubt will get DD. Shld be full fleet SD due to seletar aerospace.
I see that the route for Svc 117 skips the West Camp Road sector also. So means that Svc 103 is the main service on the West Camp Road sector before hitting Yishun Ave 1
Originally posted by randomguy10:Well given that service 117 has so many stops in Yishun and Sembawang, this service should have been given to SMRT. But anyway, SBST is also only going to handle it for probably 6 months before handing it over to Go Ahead under Loyang package.
Good that BSEP finally gave a longer route but I think for this route, they could have just easily modified service 85 to Ply seletar aerospace and Yishun ave 1 and then extend it into Sembawang. Would have given better access for residents of punggol and sengkang to selatar aerospace park. With the current 117, only residents near punggol Central and sembawang get a direct Access to selatar aerospace. Residents around Yishun ave 1 and Yishun ave 2 already have access to 103.
But atleast there is a link from Yishun ave 1 to khatib now. Also people who are travelling from seletar camp gate busstop to Yishun/sembawang (except those along Yishun ave 2 after Yishun int) will probably still choose 39/858 since it is faster. Not really an incentive to take 117 for lesser crowds with the bendy on 858 and DD on 39 now. 117 I doubt will get DD. Shld be full fleet SD due to seletar aerospace.
Wrong. Seletar Aerospace clear for DDs
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr SBS2652G, yes this time round I think you are right. Another service for Punggol is coming up. Feeder 382G/W. Looks interesting this time! Cheers. Thanks.
I have analysed the area on the map. Yes, a bi-directional feeder bus service would be better for the new residential developments in the area.
This is how I think the new feeder bus route would be:
However, there are (many) roads not yet constructed/open. If introduced now, a large part of it is likely to change in the (near) future.
If introduced now, I guess this is how the route would be:
Actually, I feel that there is not yet the need for this bus service, as most of its catchment area is still under construction.
For a start, I think it is better to let it ply only the the eastern section (Punggol Bus Interchange - Sumang Link) and loop there.
Progressively, as new roads are open and new BTO flats are ready, we could extend it.
Eventually, it could become the bi-directional bus service which it is planned to be.
Originally posted by array88:Am I the only one who's disappointed with 47? Major duplication with 12 and 38. Yes it does help in bringing people to Katong Shopping Centre and Temasek JC, but not much uniqueness.
If 47 was just to connect CBP with Marine Parade, I would rather extend 135 to CBP via ECP as a more direct link between them. Then 47 could have been rerouted from Tanah Merah further towards the west, passing by Bedok.
Can expect 38 to be even further away from fleet adds. So sad as it's actually quite a unique intertown route.
Maybe you didnt ready my comment 2 posts before yours. 47 is the only service I am disappointed with in this round. Heavy duplication with 12/38/48... I would have preferred if sv 47 would have done Bedok North estate instead before coming down to Marine Parade to loop.
38 already just a back up service with not-so-good load. With 47 coming in, 38 route can be modified.
Originally posted by SG5001C:Very interesting that 20 is still not extended to CBP...
You mean CBP terminal right?
Originally posted by CB2883J:47 is quite good actually in my opinion. It does serve two main purposes:
1) It relieves the extremely high loading along Marine Parade Road, along the Victoria School - Victoria Junior College corridor. (Interestingly, 47 more or less covers the route which was cut off when that tree fell recently...) 48, which has no double deckers, is usually very crowded at peak hours. 31, which has double deckers, is also crowded, possibly due to the fact that they already picked up many passengers before heading to the 'Victorian' area. 36 has no double-deckers due to airport height restrictions, and runs only westbound. The fact that 47 loops at the west end of Marine Parade Road means that it is more dedicated to serve the area, as opposed to 12 which will be "cham" with passengers from the city.
2) it offers a much needed connection eastwards "beyond" Bedok. At the bus stops near CHIJ Katong, Neptune Ct and Hua Xin Ct, if you want to take the bus to Tanah Merah (a key transport node as the bus stop has many buses there, 2, 12, 14, 24 etc etc), 196, 197 and 43 are out (all 3 of which have the highest frequency), and commuters are stuck waiting for 31 or 48, both of which are notorious among students of the Victorias, CHIJ and Tao Nan for poor frequency. 196 and 197 cut off at Bedok and hence are unfeasible for those commuters, and 43 ends off at Upp East Coast terminal, which to them, might as well be in the middle of nowhere, while 76 terminates at Marine Terrace and doesn't even cover VS as it used to. 47 neatly helps to bring people from Marine Parade Road eastbound, saving one less transfer.
PS. I like the route duplication with 12 actually. 12 has a ridiculously bad frequency at off-peak hours, and the alternative 38 has no double deckers, so having another route should relieve congestion or at the very least mean a shorter wait.
I am sorry to say but I really dont think you take services in Marine Parade area because so many of your comments are wrong.
Just go and observe along Marine Parade Road and you will see all the services you have mentioned running empty or mediocre loading during peak hours as well.
Let me share with you:
31 - DD loading is bet Tanah Merah and Tampines town, and Boon Keng and Toa Payoh. Within Marine Parade estate usually gets 30-50 pax during peak
43 - Loading picks up only bet Parkway Parade and Paya Lebar and then further till Buangkok Dr. Usual loading bet UEC and Parkway Parade is 20-40 pax
48 - This service got heavy loading throughout. It is a real good candidate for DDs as it gets huge crowd bet Tanah Merah and Bayshore. Bet Bayshore and Parkway Parade just like other services gets 30-40 pax during peak and will pick up again to go 70+ to Rochor (evening a bit lower).
12 - DD worthy loading is between Bedok South Road to Tanah Merah MRT, Tanah Merah to Simei, Simei to Tampines East CC, PSR Ris Dr 6 to Pasir Ris MRT. It does not cham cham load from city.
196/197/16 - so many options to Bedok MRT. Mostly buses get 30-35 pax during peak hours bet Bedok/Parkway Parade. Please note my analysis does not include city loading for 196/197/16.
36 - it is one of the lowest loading CGA service bet Marine Parade and CGA got 20- 30 pax. From Marine Parade to city crowded.
So sorry but none of the east bound services are bursting today. 47 though will be nice for those living along EC/MP/Bedok South to get direct connection to CBP.
Originally posted by TIB429E:IMO, now sv983 a bit useless...perhaps it benefit the commuters inbetween travelling to BPJ.
979, great...another alternative for residents in Yew Tee to travel to city via BPJ.
Sv117(and Sv103) simply steal sv85 business liao Finally another out-of-town svc for Sembawang Residents..
Lets talk about 983 being useless when you see packed buses bet BPJ and CCK.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I am sorry to say but I really dont think you take services in Marine Parade area because so many of your comments are wrong.
Just go and observe along Marine Parade Road and you will see all the services you have mentioned running empty or mediocre loading during peak hours as well.
Let me share with you:
31 - DD loading is bet Tanah Merah and Tampines town, and Boon Keng and Toa Payoh. Within Marine Parade estate usually gets 30-50 pax during peak
43 - Loading picks up only bet Parkway Parade and Paya Lebar and then further till Buangkok Dr. Usual loading bet UEC and Parkway Parade is 20-40 pax
48 - This service got heavy loading throughout. It is a real good candidate for DDs as it gets huge crowd bet Tanah Merah and Bayshore. Bet Bayshore and Parkway Parade just like other services gets 30-40 pax during peak and will pick up again to go 70+ to Rochor (evening a bit lower).
12 - DD worthy loading is between Bedok South Road to Tanah Merah MRT, Tanah Merah to Simei, Simei to Tampines East CC, PSR Ris Dr 6 to Pasir Ris MRT. It does not cham cham load from city.
196/197/16 - so many options to Bedok MRT. Mostly buses get 30-35 pax during peak hours bet Bedok/Parkway Parade. Please note my analysis does not include city loading for 196/197/16.
36 - it is one of the lowest loading CGA service bet Marine Parade and CGA got 20- 30 pax. From Marine Parade to city crowded.
So sorry but none of the east bound services are bursting today. 47 though will be nice for those living along EC/MP/Bedok South to get direct connection to CBP.
I not sure whether amending Svc 15 would help or not... Svc currently loops at the Amber Circus at Marine Parade Rd.. Maybe can also ply to the route Svc 47 is plying... Just a suggestion only...
Unless you are mentioning the whole stretch of Marine Parade.. Then maybe I go off-topic a bit...
Maybe 47 can terminate @ Sims Pl? Extend it via Haig Rd, Geylang Rd, Aljuined Rd, Sims Dr. Return trip via Tg Katong, Dunman and Haig Rds due to the lack of direct access to Haig Rd from Sims Ave.
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:I not sure whether amending Svc 15 would help or not... Svc currently loops at the Amber Circus at Marine Parade Rd.. Maybe can also ply to the route Svc 47 is plying... Just a suggestion only...
Unless you are mentioning the whole stretch of Marine Parade.. Then maybe I go off-topic a bit...
15 needs to be maintained as it is, as it is the only service catering Tehlok Karau to Parkway Parade... and is always crowded.
If you see East Coast, the shopping amenities are saturated at Parkway Parade / Marine Parade Central / i12 Katong / Katong Shopping Center. Rest there isn't much. OR you have to go to Bedok mall which is fairly crowded.
Originally posted by iveco:Maybe 47 can terminate @ Sims Pl? Extend it via Haig Rd, Geylang Rd, Aljuined Rd, Sims Dr. Return trip via Tg Katong, Dunman and Haig Rds due to the lack of direct access to Haig Rd from Sims Ave.
My suggestion would have been to extend to Stadium instead, to provide connectivity between Marine Parade and Stadium/Sports Complex/Kallang Wave/Kallang Leisure Park that is absolutely missing today.
Haig road is quite narrow between Dunman and Geylang. Not suitable for buses. Haig road close to Mountbatten ok for buses.
Originally posted by One-Punch Man:I have analysed the area on the map. Yes, a bi-directional feeder bus service would be better for the new residential developments in the area.
This is how I think the new feeder bus route would be:
- Punggol Bus Interchange
- Punggol Place
- Punggol Field
- Sumang Walk
- Sumang Lane (future road)
- loop (future road)
- Sumang Crescent (future road)
- Sumang Walk (future road)
- loop (future road)
- Sumang Link
- Punggol Walk
- Punggol Central
- Punggol Place
- Length = up to 5.4 km
However, there are (many) roads not yet constructed/open. If introduced now, a large part of it is likely to change in the (near) future.
If introduced now, I guess this is how the route would be:
- Punggol Place
- Punggol Field
- Sumang Walk
- Punggol Central
- Punggol Way
- Sumang Link
- Punggol Walk
- Punggol Central
- Punggol Place
- Length = around 3.5 km
Actually, I feel that there is not yet the need for this bus service, as most of its catchment area is still under construction.
For a start, I think it is better to let it ply only the the eastern section (Punggol Bus Interchange - Sumang Link) and loop there.
Progressively, as new roads are open and new BTO flats are ready, we could extend it.
Eventually, it could become the bi-directional bus service which it is planned to be.
Hi mr one-punch man, you forget the most important road sentul crescent which is already ok. Safra Punggol is there and it is opening in April 2016. Now already December 2015 ending soon. Either sam kee LRT needs to be opened or a feeder bus service needs to go in by March 2016. Already heard sbs 382G/W are coming up. Probably it will be March 2016 introduction. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:I see that the route for Svc 117 skips the West Camp Road sector also. So means that Svc 103 is the main service on the West Camp Road sector before hitting Yishun Ave 1
Hi mr SBS9256X, yes it is good that sbs 117 skips west camp road sector. This makes the journey more direct and straight reach khatib, yishun ave 2, Canberra and sembawang. Cheers.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr one-punch man, you forget the most important road sentul crescent which is already ok. Safra Punggol is there and it is opening in April 2016. Now already December 2015 ending soon. Either sam kee LRT needs to be opened or a feeder bus service needs to go in by March 2016. Already heard sbs 382G/W are coming up. Probably it will be March 2016 introduction. Cheers. Thanks.
I prefer have the feeder service than Sam Kee LRT... because LRT operations is expensive and may not be worth just to open for Safra.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I prefer have the feeder service than Sam Kee LRT... because LRT operations is expensive and may not be worth just to open for Safra.
Hi mr busanalyser, yes I agree with you. However judging from the way the authorities are doing things, I feel they will open sam kee LRT which is just besides Punggol safra at the same time. They will make the LRT one direction instead of both directions so as to save cost. This is how they do to other areas in Punggol. For example, trunk sbs 50 comes 7 yrs after Punggol drive flats are first ready in yr 2005. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I am sorry to say but I really dont think you take services in Marine Parade area because so many of your comments are wrong.
Let me share with you:
My school is one of the schools along the affected 47 stretch. Don't take my comments on 43 seriously, and you are right about 196 and 197. You are also spot-on about 12 and 48 (I apologise if I was not clear enough on those). However, I maintain that the frequency of 31 is still quite bad around the hours of 2.30 to 5pm, which my school is aware of after conducting studies.
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:honestly i don't agree vs / vj don't have good bus services to begin with, we have services to almost every part of sg, including tpy, kallang, je, bukit merah, chinatown, buona vista, je, holland, punggol, sengkang, buangkok, hougan, serangoon, pasir ris, tampines, bedok, changi airport, town, woodlands, bukit panjang, whampoa, and so on .. .and it isn't much of a hassle going to either paya lebar / bedok to change into mrt / buses. it is students who don't wish to take such long bus services to begin with.
196, 197 although infrequent, but it isn't that nightmarish, compared to the 190 loading (before 972 and all the envios BSEP), as well as those loadings we see of yishun feeders / tampines feeders / even bedok feeders. It's still bearable per say ...
I am frankly quite disappointed wtih 47, for the connectivity with marine parade to bedok south per say, a simple transfer to 12 / 38 can do it's part, for the tanah merah section to expo, 35 / 35 M is enough / MRT can be an alternative too ... and CBP is not that hard to reach given the options, it seems that it's just a special service created to serve mp residents to reach cbp / a mini feeder for bedok south residents to tanah merah, which 229 / 38 does the route also, for still road, 197 and other services are more than adequate
better routing can be to bedok mrt (where it can then take some load for 31 which is quie bad for the bedok int - mp section)
You are quite right. However, the transfer to 12 and 38 can be not as simple as you say, because 12 frequency between 3pm and 6pm tends to be quite bad, about 20+ minutes.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busanalyser, yes I agree with you. However judging from the way the authorities are doing things, I feel they will open sam kee LRT which is just besides Punggol safra at the same time. They will make the LRT one direction instead of both directions so as to save cost. This is how they do to other areas in Punggol. For example, trunk sbs 50 comes 7 yrs after Punggol drive flats are first ready in yr 2005. Cheers. Thanks.
Hi mr busanalyser, it is highly likely that sam kee LRT will be opened together with Safra punggol at sentul crescent. Talks are already currently ongoing with the authorities to have sam kee LRT opened by April 2016. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by CB2883J:My school is one of the schools along the affected 47 stretch. Don't take my comments on 43 seriously, and you are right about 196 and 197. You are also spot-on about 12 and 48 (I apologise if I was not clear enough on those). However, I maintain that the frequency of 31 is still quite bad around the hours of 2.30 to 5pm, which my school is aware of after conducting studies.
Yes I agree that frequency is not great during that time, but it is also related to loading. Buses run empty during this time except for parts where students leave school. I think the bus apps really help most people these days (may not be ideal for students though as not everyone has mobile phone with data)
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busanalyser, it is highly likely that sam kee LRT will be opened together with Safra punggol at sentul crescent. Talks are already currently ongoing with the authorities to have sam kee LRT opened by April 2016. Cheers. Thanks.
Doesn't really make sense to have it operational just for SAFRA when there is no other development in the area. For Punggol Dr it was different as huge HDBs were open and people live there.
Anyway, finally LTA decision. IMO, feeder is better fit for now.
Dear CB2883J. I know 47 has been discussed ad nauseam but I really feel some of its defenders really need to walk out to East Coast Rd and wait for 32 or 40, or even 155. And that's what really peeves me off; this route is a nicety at the expense of other interests in the area. With this, I really think residents in Siglap/Frankel/Kembangan/Chai Chee should be emboldened to ask for more. I'm sorry, if you don't like 31, you have 48 as well both of which have seen BSEP adds. And I think you are exagerating how bad their frequencies are. Service 12 is affected by traffic along Victoria St and Kallang area but so is 32 and even worse. May I also remind you that you have 10 from Simpang Bedok via East Coast Rd. If you need to tranfer to 2, 9, 24 or 35, these transfers can also be done at Bedok through 16, 31, 196 and 197.
Thank you mrbusanalyser for setting things straight. Truth is Marine Parade has an assortment of Eastbound connections. And I honestly feel that Bedok South & Tanah Merah were after-thoughts as the route's main objective was primarily Marine Parade-CBP. Without CBP, this service would never come to being. Bedok South & Tanah Merah were attched to attract more demand. That is why it is short of just doing MP>ECP>Xilin>CBP. MP>CBP demand alone would have made it suffer JIS loading patterns.
And Victorians, please also think of your friends living in Kembangan and Chai Chee. Let's take a look at their commutes.
Blk 102 Lengkong Tiga - Marine Parade Rd
42 > 2,7,24, 25 etc > 16, 196 ,197 (via Bedok Int)
or 42, Walk to Perpetual Succour Church, take 32 provided it ever comes, walk from East Coast Rd.
or 42, walk to Perpetual Succour Church, 33 > 15
If your friend walks or cycles from VS/VJ via Siglap park connector to Kembangan MRT, power la, Nil Sine Labore.
Chai Chee - Marine Parade Rd
222/229 > 16, 196, 197 (via Bedok Int) or 16, 31, 196, 197 (via Bdk Sth Rd).
or walk out to New Upp Changi, take 32/40, walk from East Coast Rd.
Not as jialat as Kembangan but still your Tanah Merah/Bedok Sth friends have alotta direct options. Bedok South covered with connections to MP, so should Chai Chee and Kembangan given the proximity of these neighborhoods. Even BPJ/Woodlands have direct connections.
You are quite right. However, the transfer to 12 and 38 can be not as simple as you say, because 12 frequency between 3pm and 6pm tends to be quite bad, about 20+ minutes.
Very tough meh. Even if 12 screws up, can't you just walk from Opp Casafina to Bedok South Rd where you have 38 and 229? Or if you're lazy there's an overhead bridge Opp Panasonic connecting you directly with Panasonic bus stop which has 229 and 38?? On a side note 38 is unlikely to get down gauged given the connections in Simei it inherited from 290.
What will the fleet look like
47 - 4 DDs, 6 SDs (10 buses)
117 - 6 DDs, 4 SDs (10 buses)
118 - 8 DDs, 4 SDs (12 buses)
979 - 6 DDs, 4 SDs (10 buses)
983 - 6 DDs, 2 BDs, 2 SDs (10 buses)
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:What will the fleet look like
47 - 4 DDs, 6 SDs (10 buses)
117 - 6 DDs, 4 SDs (10 buses)
118 - 8 DDs, 4 SDs (12 buses)
979 - 6 DDs, 4 SDs (10 buses)
983 - 6 DDs, 2 BDs, 2 SDs (10 buses)
I dont think with the extension 983 will use bendy.
Originally posted by SBS6465E:Dear CB2883J. I know 47 has been discussed ad nauseam but I really feel some of its defenders really need to walk out to East Coast Rd and wait for 32 or 40, or even 155. And that's what really peeves me off; this route is a nicety at the expense of other interests in the area. With this, I really think residents in Siglap/Frankel/Kembangan/Chai Chee should be emboldened to ask for more. I'm sorry, if you don't like 31, you have 48 as well both of which have seen BSEP adds. And I think you are exagerating how bad their frequencies are. Service 12 is affected by traffic along Victoria St and Kallang area but so is 32 and even worse. May I also remind you that you have 10 from Simpang Bedok via East Coast Rd. If you need to tranfer to 2, 9, 24 or 35, these transfers can also be done at Bedok through 16, 31, 196 and 197.
Thank you mrbusanalyser for setting things straight. Truth is Marine Parade has an assortment of Eastbound connections. And I honestly feel that Bedok South & Tanah Merah were after-thoughts as the route's main objective was primarily Marine Parade-CBP. Without CBP, this service would never come to being. Bedok South & Tanah Merah were attched to attract more demand. That is why it is short of just doing MP>ECP>Xilin>CBP. MP>CBP demand alone would have made it suffer JIS loading patterns.
And Victorians, please also think of your friends living in Kembangan and Chai Chee. Let's take a look at their commutes.
Blk 102 Lengkong Tiga - Marine Parade Rd
42 > 2,7,24, 25 etc > 16, 196 ,197 (via Bedok Int)
or 42, Walk to Perpetual Succour Church, take 32 provided it ever comes, walk from East Coast Rd.
or 42, walk to Perpetual Succour Church, 33 > 15
If your friend walks or cycles from VS/VJ via Siglap park connector to Kembangan MRT, power la, Nil Sine Labore.
Chai Chee - Marine Parade Rd
222/229 > 16, 196, 197 (via Bedok Int) or 16, 31, 196, 197 (via Bdk Sth Rd).
or walk out to New Upp Changi, take 32/40, walk from East Coast Rd.
Not as jialat as Kembangan but still your Tanah Merah/Bedok Sth friends have alotta direct options. Bedok South covered with connections to MP, so should Chai Chee and Kembangan given the proximity of these neighborhoods. Even BPJ/Woodlands have direct connections.
Very tough meh. Even if 12 screws up, can't you just walk from Opp Casafina to Bedok South Rd where you have 38 and 229? Or if you're lazy there's an overhead bridge Opp Panasonic connecting you directly with Panasonic bus stop which has 229 and 38?? On a side note 38 is unlikely to get down gauged given the connections in Simei it inherited from 290.
I take your points about 47 and VS - I don't study there though several of my friends do. Anyway, I have checked with those friends and we all agree that many of the points about 47 relating to VS, and indeed CHIJ and Tao Nan when it moves back, will become moot when the TEL opens (though that may bring points of its own). What my Victorian friends are referring to, it turns out, is the connection between their school and Tanah Merah MRT (because apparently, many Victorians take the bus to Tanah Merah and transfer to other buses there). And many Victorians do use the Park Connector network, though they use it to walk one block and take the 12. Those who take 47 are likely to be those living in Simei.
On the other hand, I agree with what you have raised about the low coverage of Kembangan area. My own relatives live in Kembangan and their area is quite under-served.
Originally posted by CB2883J:I take your points about 47 and VS - I don't study there though several of my friends do. Anyway, I have checked with those friends and we all agree that many of the points about 47 relating to VS, and indeed CHIJ and Tao Nan when it moves back, will become moot when the TEL opens (though that may bring points of its own). What my Victorian friends are referring to, it turns out, is the connection between their school and Tanah Merah MRT (because apparently, many Victorians take the bus to Tanah Merah and transfer to other buses there). And many Victorians do use the Park Connector network, though they use it to walk one block and take the 12. Those who take 47 are likely to be those living in Simei.
On the other hand, I agree with what you have raised about the low coverage of Kembangan area. My own relatives live in Kembangan and their area is quite under-served.
Kenbangan HDB is only a few minutes walk to the main rd,Beside its 70% residents is elite ones leh,You put more bus svc they kpkb so noisy..