Also note 47 has only 2 DDs in its fleet of 8 buses. So I think even SBS is testing.
The service that should get rid off all its DDs is 102, 119. If these can have DDs, any other service can have DD. At least 47 will have high loading b/w Tanah Merah - CBP.
102, 119 today have peak loading of 45-55 pax only. Most times even lesser and for majority part of route less than 30 pax.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:47 will need DDs because I foresee the bus to get 80+ pax bet CBP and Tanah Merah, post which loading will depend on whether other service called or not.
Also those coming in from ITE/Expo/CBP/Xilin etc and live along Marine Parade will prefer 47 over 31.
I foresee sv 31 loading to be hit in a major way bet Marine Parade and Tanah Merah.
In turn 47 will relieve loading on 35 (Xilin), 12 (Bedok South Rd), 31 (Marine Parade rd).
As I have said. Introduce 47A or something, not worth for DDs to ply entire route when only a small stretch will receive crush loading.
Both 12 and 31 operate at double the freq of 47. In other words, 2 12s and 31s will come before a 47. I hence don't think anyone will specifically wait for bus 47. 47 will probably receive pax who happen to have been waiting for any of the three svcs, and 47 comes first (which again will be minority given its frequency)
You may wanna check out my previous post above for more of this.
Given the nature of this route and its target passengers, an SD is more than sufficient to cover the TM - MP sector. I think, in fact, it will do CBP pax good with an SWT, as that would mean significantly lower turnaround times for the DDs, allowing for faster pax clearance.
Originally posted by SMB128B:As I have said. Introduce 47A or something, not worth for DDs to ply entire route when only a small stretch will receive crush loading.
Both 12 and 31 operate at double the freq of 47. In other words, 2 12s and 31s will come before a 47. I hence don't think anyone will specifically wait for bus 47. 47 will probably receive pax who happen to have been waiting for any of the three svcs, and 47 comes first (which again will be minority given its frequency)
You may wanna check out my previous post above for more of this.
Given the nature of this route and its target passengers, an SD is more than sufficient to cover the TM - MP sector. I think, in fact, it will do CBP pax good with an SWT, as that would mean significantly lower turnaround times for the DDs, allowing for faster pax clearance.
Bro... just 2 DDs in the fleet... let's first address the useless DDs on 102 and 119... 47 still need to evaluate and may get better loading (we have to see).
For sv 31 I agree - frequency is awesome, but for 12, please note the frequency is 10-14 mins, and sometimes bus can get delayed due to super long route.
All HDBs along Bedok South road take 12/38 to Tanah Merah instead of 38/229 to Bedok int due to quicker MRT access. Both 12/38 don't have good frequency, and this is my estimate of why 47 plies Bedok South road before doing MP.
For MP, they have only 31 to Tanah Merah that loops around Bedok MRT, so 47 will give faster access. In future, if someone from MP sees 31 and 47 coming, they will choose latter.
Having said all this, my personal opinion is we did not need a new service for MP-CBP. An existing service such as 43 could have been extended. Anyway, 43 runs quite empty b/w MP and UEC.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Bro... just 2 DDs in the fleet... let's first address the useless DDs on 102 and 119... 47 still need to evaluate and may get better loading (we have to see).
For sv 31 I agree - frequency is awesome, but for 12, please note the frequency is 10-14 mins, and sometimes bus can get delayed due to super long route.
All HDBs along Bedok South road take 12/38 to Tanah Merah instead of 38/229 to Bedok int due to quicker MRT access. Both 12/38 don't have good frequency, and this is my estimate of why 47 plies Bedok South road before doing MP.
For MP, they have only 31 to Tanah Merah that loops around Bedok MRT, so 47 will give faster access. In future, if someone from MP sees 31 and 47 coming, they will choose latter.
Having said all this, my personal opinion is we did not need a new service for MP-CBP. An existing service such as 43 could have been extended. Anyway, 43 runs quite empty b/w MP and UEC.
Problem is, if I am given a choice between 31 to Bedok MRT and 47 to TM MRT I would definitely choose 31, and I'm sure many others will too. Unless if I am purposely going to TM, which will be minority again given TM's infra.
Whatever the case, I am saying that whatever drmand wouldnt justify DDs. The situation you described above will only warrant SDs, there will not be a lot of pax that fall in the category above.
I dont even think SBST should try. They should instead focus on getting more HC resources towards the CBP end, since it is clear SDs will be able to cope the EC sector comfortably. That is what they should try.
P.s. what relevance does DDs on 119 and 102 have on the issue at hand? We all know they are redundant... But that does not make DDs on the entire 47 any more necessary!
Originally posted by SMB128B:Problem is, if I am given a choice between 31 to Bedok MRT and 47 to TM MRT I would definitely choose 31, and I'm sure many others will too. Unless if I am purposely going to TM, which will be minority again given TM's infra.
Depends. many ppl i know will take 47 (currently theyve been taking 48) from mp to tanah merah mrt and not bedok cos tm got direct connection to those like 12, 38 n 45. they take to tm and change, then take the bus for a few stops and get off. got quite a few, many of those living in simei side they think its faster than taking mrt bedok-simei and walking frm simei MRT to their hse (i tried it before and can confirm, faster). Hence sure got ppl who preferrentially take 47 to tm rather than bus to bedok. Qn is whether their number so big that need dd, and i think no.
Was at TPE bus stop towards Tampines at around 5:30pm today.
Waited for 118 for about 15 minutes. Every other service had at least 2-3 buses pass by before 118 finally came. Still, loading wasn't that good (around 20+ pax).
Originally posted by shellstation:Was at TPE bus stop towards Tampines at around 5:30pm today.
Waited for 118 for about 15 minutes. Every other service had at least 2-3 buses pass by before 118 finally came. Still, loading wasn't that good (around 20+ pax).
I think they are trying to see the right frequency to set for the new introduced services. Also at the same time it is the holidays for the Polytechnics after their Mid-Semestral Assessment or Common Test Week and workers are on holidays.
So need to give the services some more time to adjust and also the commuters need time to adjust and have the mindset "Oh, this bus also can go here lah... Can take alr no need to wait for that other service"...
Originally posted by shellstation:Was at TPE bus stop towards Tampines at around 5:30pm today.
Hi mr shellstation, give at least 3-6 months' time before judging the loading. Cheers. Thanks.
Yes, guess we have to wait for a few months.
Overheard a group of TP students on the bus (I think they had CCA activity) dicussing about the convenience of the new route as they lived in Sengkang and Punggol areas, it was great to hear that.
Expecting more pax towards Punggol during PM peak rather than towards CBP...
Originally posted by shellstation:Yes, guess we have to wait for a few months.
Overheard a group of TP students on the bus (I think they had CCA activity) dicussing about the convenience of the new route as they lived in Sengkang and Punggol areas, it was great to hear that.
Hi mr shellstation, not to worry. Sbs 118 is plying along roads near to areas of high potential growth. There are many ongoing HDB flats being built along Punggol west and tampines ave 8. The authorities will surely identify potential passengers load before introducing new services. Cheers.
For past few days, have seen more cases of sv47 lambat at M Parade Rd, Mountbatten Rd, Still Rd South...
Case of too many buses, too few passengers.
Stubborn as LTA always is, feedback has given to have normal plywood size advertisement for new service announcement and to place it strategically at bus stop route details area RATHER than a tiny A4 paper at bus stop pole...
The day LTA dcide to use some initiative, pro active , SG transport will still stay stagnant
382G/W announced so fast... I was expecting them to be introduced towards the end of January.
By the way, there have been new and/or amended services every weekend since 21 Nov...
Originally posted by array88:382G/W announced so fast... I was expecting them to be introduced towards the end of January.
By the way, there have been new and/or amended services every weekend since 21 Nov...
Hi mr array88, I think just nice. They already announced in my transport.sg and they have done up the queue line in Punggol interchange. Moreover, Punggol cove primary school which is a new school in sumang area opens on 4 jan 2016. Think the authorities have made it 3 jan 2016 to be in time for the new school term.
Expect Punggol bus interchange and Punggol mrt to be choked full of people. Just received news that waterway point mall (northeast 2nd largest mall after NEX) will open its doors on 18 jan 2016. Finally as lively as tampines area! Cheers. Hooray!
but waterway point won't have ITH. Wasted.
I wonder why they didn't incorporate a new ITH in the new Waterway Point.
Originally posted by Acx1688:For past few days, have seen more cases of sv47 lambat at M Parade Rd, Mountbatten Rd, Still Rd South...
Case of too many buses, too few passengers.
Stubborn as LTA always is, feedback has given to have normal plywood size advertisement for new service announcement and to place it strategically at bus stop route details area RATHER than a tiny A4 paper at bus stop pole...
The day LTA dcide to use some initiative, pro active , SG transport will still stay stagnant
The 3 services 20,47,118 at dbs Asia hub bus stop is a good sort of promoting the new services that plies along cbp. Can see a handful of pax taking the buses out of that bus stop towards xilin.
As for 47, can see many pax who take the service all taking the 47 guides while on board the bus many of which are pax from the cbp side, tm side and Bedok sth area. The number of pax on board is quite good, about 10+ as of today along these areas.
The small problem that the DDs face when turning from xilin into Changi Sth ave 1 is too tight for a DD to manage, the delivery trucks were blocking the side road of that junction and one 118 bus had to do a illegal sharp L turn at the traffic light
As many have mentioned at Marine parade area, the pax still prefer to board the other services first when they arrive and most are still not aware of this new service yet.
Saw about 3-4 DDs on 47 today, still find it abit wasteful because of the few pax only on board.
Originally posted by Rui jing:The 3 services 20,47,118 at dbs Asia hub bus stop is a good sort of promoting the new services that plies along cbp. Can see a handful of pax taking the buses out of that bus stop towards xilin.
As for 47, can see many pax who take the service all taking the 47 guides while on board the bus many of which are pax from the cbp side, tm side and Bedok sth area. The number of pax on board is quite good, about 10+ as of today along these areas.
The small problem that the DDs face when turning from xilin into Changi Sth ave 1 is too tight for a DD to manage, the delivery trucks were blocking the side road of that junction and one 118 bus had to do a illegal sharp L turn at the traffic light
As many have mentioned at Marine parade area, the pax still prefer to board the other services first when they arrive and most are still not aware of this new service yet.
Saw about 3-4 DDs on 47 today, still find it abit wasteful because of the few pax only on board.
Spot on, poor publicity by LTA wun help much
I asked my neighbourhoods if they know of 47, all of them shrugged, LTA is sleeping
Even e bus service arrival at Parkway Bus stop does not have 47 as of this morning
Originally posted by Acx1688:Spot on, poor publicity by LTA wun help much
I asked my neighbourhoods if they know of 47, all of them shrugged, LTA is sleeping
Even e bus service arrival at Parkway Bus stop does not have 47 as of this morning
47dun seem to have much LTA publicity, only publicity i seen so far is victoria sch and the other schs along mp telling their students
Originally posted by Jervin soh:JOINT NEWS RELEASE BY THE LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY (LTA) & SBS TRANSIT – NEW SERVICE 382G/W FROM SUNDAY, 3 JANUARY 2016
News Releases 23 Dec 2015
23 December 2015 – A new service – Service 382G/W – will be implemented on Sunday, 3 January 2016. The service serves as a new direct link between Punggol and Sumang Walk via Punggol Field, Sumang Link, Sentul Crescent and Punggol Place. It will also enhance connectivity to Punggol MRT/ bus interchange, and key amenities such as Punggol SAFRA.Service 382G, which loops at Sumang Walk via Punggol Field, will start its journey from Punggol Temporary Bus Interchange and ply Punggol Field, Sumang Walk, Sumang Link, Sentul Crescent, Punggol Place and back to Punggol Temporary Bus Interchange.
Service 382W, which loops at Sumang Walk via Sentul Crescent, will start its journey from Punggol Temporary Bus Interchange and ply in the opposite direction via Punggol Place, Sentul Crescent, Sumang Link, Sumang Walk, Punggol Field and back to Punggol Temporary Bus Interchange.
It will operate from 5.35am to 12.35am daily.
Please refer to the attached poster for more details.
Don't want to sound boastful... but I think LTA does refer this forum.. In recent past, so many of my proposed routes have come out 90%-100% true.
382G/W - I had proposed is exactly similar
118 is 90% similar I would say because after Punggol West, I did make it do Punggol Field/Punggol road before touching TPE
979 also 90% similar to what I proposed, except for the fact I thought it will do Stagmont and then connect CCK North 5.
140, 102 (though I didn't expect LTA to launch 324 at that time ) also similar to what I had proposed.
47 I was quite wrong
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Don't want to sound boastful... but I think LTA does refer this forum.. In recent past, so many of my proposed routes have come out 90%-100% true.
118 is 90% similar I would say because after Punggol West, I did make it do Punggol Field/Punggol road before touching TPE
979 also 90% similar to what I proposed, except for the fact I thought it will do Stagmont and then connect CCK North 5.
140, 102 (though I didn't expect LTA to launch 324 at that time ) also similar to what I had proposed.
47 I was quite wrong
Unless you wrote to them personally regarding your suggestions
But it's good, as long as the public ends up getting better bus services.
Originally posted by AJQZC:Unless you wrote to them personally regarding your suggestions
But it's good, as long as the public ends up getting better bus services.
For some of them I did.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Don't want to sound boastful... but I think LTA does refer this forum.. In recent past, so many of my proposed routes have come out 90%-100% true.
47 I was quite wrong
Come on la! Do not say yourself until so good leh!
For some of the bus services, the route is very obvious; if they do not go this way, they go where?