Originally posted by gekpohboy:Gd idea, but 171 Yishun to Bukt Pnjng is 16km and 180 Bukt Pnjng to Boon Lay is 11km. If combine, it would be 27km, whch is too long. Sorry.
I don't think length would be the issue here, the main issue would be that their capacities don't match (180 uses high-capacity buses, 171 uses solely single-decker buses) so how can you blend 171 together with 180?
That being said, if they do cut back 171 to Bt Panjang, I reckon it will be a good candidate for future extension to the new Tengah town (though that would be out-of-topic here ...)
Originally posted by Ajen:171 and 180 can merge? withdraw 180 and extend 171 till Boon Lay .
instead of cutting short till BPJ.
Yishun bound - > from Bt Batok Rd, CCK Rd, Upper Bt Timah Rd[non-stop], Petir Rd (stop at BP LRT Stn bustop) back to the same route.
Boon Lay bound -> from Petir Rd, Jelebu Rd, BP Road, Upper Bt Timah Rd[stop at BP MRT Stn bustop], Petir Rd[non stop], Jelebu Rd [non stop] , BP Road [non stop] , CCK Rd back to the same route to cater those who lazy to walk to Bkt Panjang Rd.
I feel it would be a good idea but this would mean 171 must have DD to cater the ITE CCK crowd and fleet adjustments must be made for 852 also because 171 no longer passes by HC NYGH SC NJ just to name a few branded schools which means that the load is solely on 852 if there are students who live in Yishun.
If they can extend 171 to Boon Lay it would be great but I don't think there's a demand for Boon Lay-Yishun services.
Originally posted by SMB31X:I feel it would be a good idea but this would mean 171 must have DD to cater the ITE CCK crowd and fleet adjustments must be made for 852 also because 171 no longer passes by HC NYGH SC NJ just to name a few branded schools which means that the load is solely on 852 if there are students who live in Yishun.
If they can extend 171 to Boon Lay it would be great but I don't think there's a demand for Boon Lay-Yishun services.
Likewise for jurong west - sengkang. #justsaying Anyway, AYE and KPE traffic pattern different, dun think it's wise to combine two into one.
Originally posted by gekpohboy:Likewise for jurong west - sengkang. #justsaying Anyway, AYE and KPE traffic pattern different, dun think it's wise to combine two into one.
Originally posted by SMB31X:I feel it would be a good idea but this would mean 171 must have DD to cater the ITE CCK crowd and fleet adjustments must be made for 852 also because 171 no longer passes by HC NYGH SC NJ just to name a few branded schools which means that the load is solely on 852 if there are students who live in Yishun.
The 171 Yishun - Bt Timah link isn't significant. Taking NYGH/HCI/NJC as a guideline, a 171 route back to Yishun is about 24 km. Add in road jams and crowds and it wouldn't be a popular choice. 852's route is about 16.4 km. Even if we disregard 852 due to its abysmal frequency, there's still DTL/CCL/NSL that would easily provide a fast and reliable (albeit crowded) alternative.
171 to Boon Lay doesn't seem likely, unless the route is converted to express (consider planned upcoming service 500).
My best bet is 171 Yishun-Jln Anak Bt(Loop) and i got a strong feeling one of SMRT will be withdrawn
Originally posted by carbikebus:My best bet is 171 Yishun-Jln Anak Bt(Loop) and i got a strong feeling one of SMRT will be withdrawn
Hi mr carbikebus, mr TIB585L says it will no longer go jalan anak bukit. I predict means most likely stop at bukit panjang bus interchange. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr carbikebus, mr TIB585L says it will no longer go jalan aback bukit. I predict means most likely stop at bukit panjang bus interchange. Cheers. Thanks.
Just wait and see lor..
Those who have insider's information, I have a question. Is it true that there will be a new express bus 500 between Boon Lay and Sengkang?
Originally posted by gekpohboy:Those who have insider's information, I have a question. Is it true that there will be a new express bus 500 between Boon Lay and Sengkang?
yes
Originally posted by gekpohboy:Those who have insider's information, I have a question. Is it true that there will be a new express bus 500 between Boon Lay and Sengkang?
Why you ask here leh ... should go over to BSEP thread.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr carbikebus, mr TIB585L says it will no longer go jalan anak bukit. I predict means most likely stop at bukit panjang bus interchange. Cheers. Thanks.
I don't think terminating at BPJ is the right call. There are many takers from BPJ Road/Petir who take 171 to Upper Bukit Timah road. They will lose the connection. Beyond that there are almost no takers between BPJ town and Bukit Timah road. Hence, logical looping point should be Beauty World.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I don't think terminating at BPJ is the right call. There are many takers from BPJ Road/Petir who take 171 to Upper Bukit Timah road. They will lose the connection. Beyond that there are almost no takers between BPJ town and Bukit Timah road. Hence, logical looping point should be Beauty World.
Then it would be a pity if it doesn't merge with 41 (bus company rivalry aside, they can settle some separate swap).
Rather have a 21+7km to Jurong East than do a 42km round loop and let the route risk bus bunching.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I don't think terminating at BPJ is the right call. There are many takers from BPJ Road/Petir who take 171 to Upper Bukit Timah road. They will lose the connection. Beyond that there are almost no takers between BPJ town and Bukit Timah road. Hence, logical looping point should be Beauty World.
Hi mr busanalyser, since mr TIB585L is one of the insiders, either him or the other must be right. I also think not appropriate to terminate at bukit panjang interchange. What we can do now is to wait to see what is the final decision later on. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr busanalyser, since mr TIB585L is one of the insiders, either him or the other must be right. I also think not appropriate to terminate at bukit panjang interchange. What we can do now is to wait to see what is the final decision later on. Cheers. Thanks.
might be both of us right at the time qhere we received info, we wont know wat LTA doing in their aircon room anyways
maybe that is why the ITH looks small. Looks like one of the services is already being kicked out
Originally posted by hgdep103:might be both of us right at the time qhere we received info, we wont know wat LTA doing in their aircon room anyways
Hi mr hgdep103, noted and thanks. With Sengkang interchange expansion anytime soon and bukit panjang bus interchange finally slated to open in Q1 2017 after 1 yr delay, next few months seem to be getting very interesting. Looking forward to it. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr hgdep103, noted and thanks. With Sengkang interchange expansion anytime soon and bukit panjang bus interchange finally slated to open in Q1 2017 after 1 yr delay, next few months seem to be getting very interesting. Looking forward to it. Cheers. Thanks.
EOY confirm surprises everywhere
I heard they put 500 for ppl to get used to the route before cutting away some svcs next year
how about 171 term at bbt or cck?
Originally posted by hgdep103:EOY confirm surprises everywhere
I heard they put 500 for ppl to get used to the route before cutting away some svcs next year
cut citydirect? tts why 500 go cbd?
Originally posted by hgdep103:EOY confirm surprises everywhere
Hi mr hgdep103, I don't think LTA will cut away some services. They may cut short the routes but not withdraw the bus services (trunk services). Up until today, I did not see a trunk bus service terminated for many years. It will surely irk many people if they did not provide any alternatives for them. Just see 76/134 saga will know. Even providing alternative also causes commotion and widely reported in newspapers and online. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr hgdep103, noted and thanks. With Sengkang interchange expansion anytime soon and bukit panjang bus interchange finally slated to open in Q1 2017 after 1 yr delay, next few months seem to be getting very interesting. Looking forward to it. Cheers. Thanks.
You are forgetting Tampines interchange expansion which is also quite ready
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr hgdep103, I don't think LTA will cut away some services. They may cut short the routes but not withdraw the bus services (trunk services). Up until today, I did not see a trunk bus service terminated for many years. It will surely irk many people if they did not provide any alternatives for them. Just see 76/134 saga will know. Even providing alternative also causes commotion and widely reported in newspapers and online. Cheers. Thanks.
they will. DTL rationalisation thats all i can say
Originally posted by hgdep103:they will. DTL rationalisation thats all i can say
Hi mr hgdep103, hope they show it over the next few months then. What we want to see is whether they have the guts to withdraw TRUNK services. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr hgdep103, hope they show it over the next few months then. What we want to see is whether they have the guts to withdraw TRUNK services. Cheers. Thanks.
They're the king now why not?They always know Singaporeans loves to whine,complain and grumpy..So after a while they get used to it.