Originally posted by Waynechew1003:22 loading will still continue between Bedok - Ubi where those area is far from DTL and there are students relying on it. The second highest is between Upper Paya Lebar and Serangoon
CT18 will be impacted the most as there is a direct connection between the two Bedok stations to Chinatown. Still need to see
Now that DTL3 open, I have a feeling that CT18 may be affected, because DTL3 runs about the same routing as CT18, and as long as there are regular bus connections from CT18 neighbourhoods to the DTL3 stations, people may change to take the DTL3 instead of CT18.
Originally posted by Waynechew1003:21 between Bedok - Pasir Ris?
21 is an alternative to 60 at Eunos MRT, because they both ply the same route from Eunos MRT to Bedok Reservoir Road.
But, seriously, I don’t think DTL3 would have any impact on 60.
As I have said, people at Telok Kurau still have to take 60 to/fro Eunos MRT as there is no bus service to Kaki Bukit MRT; that MRT is as good as don’t have. Unless they are willing to walk, but forget about it during rainy day, as there’s limited shelter at that area.
About Bedok North MRT, the impact on 60 to/fro Eunos MRT should be minimal as the commuters at that section use 60 to connect to/fro Bedok MRT. It is the Bedok MRT section that may be affected, but then again, it depends on the usefulness of the Downtown Line.
If the Downtown Line connects to more places than the East West Line, then the Bedok section of 60 would be affected. Else, not much difference.
Whereas for 21, the loading may be affected, considering it follows the Downtown Line alignment from Kaki Bukit / Bedok North to Tampines East.
Seriously, the bus connectivity to the Downtown Line at Kaki Bukit and Bedok North stations could be better. Is it because that place is under Workers Party that’s why they refuse to provide a good connection to those MRT stations, and make 137 wind above the Bedok Reservoir Road residential area?
Or is it because they have plans to shorten 66 to loop at Kaki Bukit MRT, as mentioned earlier?
I think 137 should have diverted via Bedok North Road, Bedok North Avenue 4, Upper Changi Road, Upper Changi Link, Upper Changi Road East, Expo Drive and Changi South Avenue 1 to CBP.
60 should take over part of 137 as a result since there is service 87 and is worth duplicating like 8/18.
Originally posted by Zinger Burgor:Now that DTL3 open, I have a feeling that CT18 may be affected, because DTL3 runs about the same routing as CT18, and as long as there are regular bus connections from CT18 neighbourhoods to the DTL3 stations, people may change to take the DTL3 instead of CT18.
Agree with u, but still need to see the case for the coming weeks. Possibilities that they amend/withdraw in conjuction wif kampong bahru ter opening?
Wild idea for DTL3 rationalisation: cut 22.
(Summary)
This reduces the redundancy between Tampines & Bedok Reservoir Rd, retains most of 137 and 229's route in Bedok while bringing DTL3 connection to Chai Chee and Bedok South Rd. (Quip: we can also get 2/22/222 at Bedok MRT bus stops!)
Fleetwise, can let 137 continue with full SD, while 22 can downgrade but still retain some DDs.
Obvious downside is 137's lost connection to Bedok MRT (so commuters from Kaki Bukit will have to transfer)
Minor downside is loss of links between Bedok Int / South Rd & South Ave 3 / Temasek Pri & Sec Sch. Link to Bedok Central is still covered by 25.
====================================
Net lost sections:
Net added sections:
22: Ang Mo Kio -- Upp East Coast
65:
137:
7:
Good idea
好主�
Idea yang baik
நல�ல யோசனை
Originally posted by Zingor Burger:Good idea
好主�
Idea yang baik
நல�ல யோசனை
You’re good at trolling and spying ah
Originally posted by carbikebus:You’re good at trolling and spying ah
Really, I think AJQZC’s idea is not bad. Can raise this suggestion to the Land Transport Authority.
真的,我觉得 AJQZC 的主��错。�以�陆交局�出这个建议。
Betul, saya fikir idea AJQZC adalah baik. Boleh membuat apa-apa cadangan kepada Biro Tanah dan Perdagangan.
உண�மையில�, நான� AJQZC யோசனை நல�லத� என�ற�. நிலம� மற�ற�ம� வர�த�தகத�த�றைக�க� அத�தகைய ஒர� ம�ன�மொழிவைச� செய�யலாம�.
Originally posted by Zingor Burger:Really, I think AJQZC’s idea is not bad. Can raise this suggestion to the Land Transport Authority.
真的,我觉得 AJQZC 的主��错。�以�陆交局�出这个建议。
Betul, saya fikir idea AJQZC adalah baik. Boleh membuat apa-apa cadangan kepada Biro Tanah dan Perdagangan.
உண�மையில�, நான� AJQZC யோசனை நல�லத� என�ற�. நிலம� மற�ற�ம� வர�த�தகத�த�றைக�க� அத�தகைய ஒர� ம�ன�மொழிவைச� செய�யலாம�.
You forward lor..You can translate too if you want
Originally posted by AJQZC:Wild idea for DTL3 rationalisation: cut 22.
(Summary)
- - Cut 22 east of Bedok North Rd, and make it travel down 137's current route. (There is DTL3 duplicating all the way up to Tai Seng.)
- - Let 65 (or 21, if 65 is used for other DTL3 adjustments) replace lost sectors at Tampines Ave 4.
- - Then amend 137 from Bedok North Rd to travel down 229's route and then terminate at UEC.
- - Withdraw 229, and let 7 bridge the lost link from Bedok Int to Chai Chee. (Other Bedok Int services have erratic frequencies)
This reduces the redundancy between Tampines & Bedok Reservoir Rd, retains most of 137 and 229's route in Bedok while bringing DTL3 connection to Chai Chee and Bedok South Rd. (Quip: we can also get 2/22/222 at Bedok MRT bus stops!)
Fleetwise, can let 137 continue with full SD, while 22 can downgrade but still retain some DDs.
Obvious downside is 137's lost connection to Bedok MRT (so commuters from Kaki Bukit will have to transfer)
Minor downside is loss of links between Bedok Int / South Rd & South Ave 3 / Temasek Pri & Sec Sch. Link to Bedok Central is still covered by 25.
Net lost sections:
- 65 section from Tampines Int up to Bedok North Rd (now using 22's route)
- 229's loop at UEC
- 7 section from Bedok Int to New Upp Changi Rd
Net added sections:
- 137 section from Bedok North Rd to Chai Chee St
22: Ang Mo Kio -- Upp East Coast
- - AMK Int
- - (usual route to Bedok Reservoir Rd)
- - Bedok North Rd
- - Bedok North Ave 1 / St 3 / Ave 2 / St 2 / Ave 3
- - New Upp Changi Rd
- - Bedok South Rd / Ave 1
- - UEC Rd
- - UEC Term
65:
- - Tampines Int
- - Tampines Ave 5
- - Tampines Ave 4
- - Bedok Reservoir Rd
- - (usual route to Harbourfront Int)
- - Harbourfront Int
137:
- - Sims Pl
- - (usual route to Bedok North Rd)
- - Bedok North Rd
- - Bedok North Ave 1
- - Chai Chee St / Rd
- - New Upp Changi Rd
- - Bedok South Rd
- - UEC Rd
- - UEC Term
7:
- - Bedok Int
- - Chai Chee St
- - Chai Chee Rd
- - (usual route to Clementi Int)
- - Clementi Int
No. 22 can just remain just with downgrades. There is still people taking Long distance rides to Tampines from Nex and schools that area.
I presume in early 2018 23 will be hacked back to Temasek Poly, and divert via KPE, MCE, AYE, Portsdown Avenue/Road, Media Link, one-north Avenue, Ayer Rajah Avenue, Dover Road, Dover Avenue, Commonwealth Avenue West, Boon Lay Way, Jurong East Street 11 and various HSR road developments.
46 further amendment to Tampines Street 45, 34 and 32 could come under expertise on late autumn 2018.
Today, I went to Kaki Bukit MRT Station, to visit the neighborhood where I had been for as long as I have lived.
To be honest, Kaki Bukit Station is not within walking distance from Telok Kurau, for an average person; young man still can, but it may be a torture for the elderly to walk about 400m between Kaki Bukit MRT Station and their house at Bedok Reservoir Road.
Nonetheless, I gotta say that the distance is about the same as walking from Telok Kurau area to the market at Eunos CC.
I hardly went to the POSB atm where Kaki Bukit MRT Station is located, so I wasn’t expecting the distance to be “exceptionally long� to walk from Kaki Bukit Station to Bedok Reservoir Road. But the distance may be as long as the distance to the market.
Forget about Bedok North Station. Although the banner at Eunos CC says that it’s near Eunos CC, it’s actually tucked at one corner of a housing estate, further away than the market from Telok Kurau area.
Anyway, as a person who grow up at Telok Kurau and have all these while travelled there via the East West Line or taxi, traveling to that place on the Downtown Line via Kaki Bukit Station is really a milestone.
When I first step out of the train, I looked at the locality map and saw my relative’s flat, at the top corner of the map. It was really remarkable.
Unfortunately, there was no bus to Bedok Reservoir Road.
Meanwhile, the PAP grassroots people still can hang a banner at Bedok Reservoir Road to advertise the new bus service 137, when the bus route does not serve that area. What is this suppose to mean? To make the people regret for not voting the PAP is it?
Seriously, I feel that they have politicized the situation at the wrong time... The MRT is supposed to be for everyone.
Nonetheless, I feel that in terms of connectivity, the DTL3 is not primarily meant for the residents of Bedok, but more for the industrial area above it which has limited access to the East West Line and North East Line.
After all, Paya Lebar is a relatively large area. The Bedok Reservoir Road area already have the East West Line. Although there may not be connection to the Downtown Line, at least one can expect the East West Line to be less crowded...
Which leads me to the next point. On my way back home, I took the East West Line. The train is still crowded.
Apparently, the DTL3 has limited effectiveness on the current coverage, but rather, it is meant for the future developments in the corridors that it serve.
Notice at many stations, it’s mostly a greenfield site? Yeah. That’s what I mean. The DTL3 is meant for the future, unlike DTL2 which runs on a relatively built-up area of Bukit Timah and Bukit Panjang, that’s why it was effective in alleviating the crowding level on the western section of East West Line (as of 2016 when it just opened)... so the impact on the Eastern section of the East West Line is minimal.
But well, å„¿å™è‡ªæœ‰å„¿å™ç¦�。Every line has its pros and cons.
Thank you LTA for developing the Downtown Line. DTL3 may not be useful now, but I’m sure it will realise it’s potential in the long run.
Congratulations Tampines residents and Bedok... and... never mind....
Congratulations Tampines residents on the opening of the Downtown Line.
Originally posted by TPS Timothy Mok:I presume in early 2018 23 will be hacked back to Temasek Poly, and divert via KPE, MCE, AYE, Portsdown Avenue/Road, Media Link, one-north Avenue, Ayer Rajah Avenue, Dover Road, Dover Avenue, Commonwealth Avenue West, Boon Lay Way, Jurong East Street 11 and various HSR road developments.
46 further amendment to Tampines Street 45, 34 and 32 could come under expertise on late autumn 2018.
23 going to Jurong East in early 2018? Route maybe very long
I haven’t tried taking the EWL to Paya Lebar, and then take the CCL to MacPherson, and then take the DTL to Kaki Bukit... but after today’s experience, I feel that it’s better to just take the EWL to Eunos and then take bus 60 to my relative’s house.
31 or 31A does not lose load.
59 then start losing load already.
23 already wiped out 60% of the crowd.
East West Line did wiped out almost 50% of peak-hour crowd, and weekend crowd. This means passengers will get a seat.
Bugis Station had also relieved most of their interchanging flow for passengers going to Tampines or Expo. But they still keep their flow for Changi Airport, Simei or Pasir Ris.
The objective is to reduce a lot of transfers which is cumbersome.
Therefore all the passengers will no longer have to change trains if you are going to Chinatown, Telok Ayer, Bayfront, Beauty World or Bukit Panjang. But for Bugis, the crowd was broken.
Originally posted by Zinger Borger:Today, I went to Kaki Bukit MRT Station, to visit the neighborhood where I had been for as long as I have lived.
To be honest, Kaki Bukit Station is not within walking distance from Telok Kurau, for an average person; young man still can, but it may be a torture for the elderly to walk about 400m between Kaki Bukit MRT Station and their house at Bedok Reservoir Road.
Nonetheless, I gotta say that the distance is about the same as walking from Telok Kurau area to the market at Eunos CC.
I hardly went to the POSB atm where Kaki Bukit MRT Station is located, so I wasn’t expecting the distance to be “exceptionally long” to walk from Kaki Bukit Station to Bedok Reservoir Road. But the distance may be as long as the distance to the market.
Forget about Bedok North Station. Although the banner at Eunos CC says that it’s near Eunos CC, it’s actually tucked at one corner of a housing estate, further away than the market from Telok Kurau area.
Anyway, as a person who grow up at Telok Kurau and have all these while travelled there via the East West Line or taxi, traveling to that place on the Downtown Line via Kaki Bukit Station is really a milestone.
When I first step out of the train, I looked at the locality map and saw my relative’s flat, at the top corner of the map. It’s really remarkable.
Unfortunately, there was no bus to Bedok Reservoir Road.
Meanwhile, the PAP grassroots people still can hang a banner at Bedok Reservoir Road to advertise the new bus service 137, when the bus route does not serve that area. What is this suppose to mean? To make the people regret for not voting for the PAP is it?
Seriously, I feel that they have politicized the situation at the wrong time... The MRT is supposed to be for everyone.
Nonetheless, I feel that in terms of connectivity, the DTL3 is not primarily meant for the residents of Bedok, but more for the industrial area above it which has limited access to the East West Line and North East Line.
After all, Paya Lebar is a relatively large area. The Bedok Reservoir Road area already have the East West Line. Although there may not be connection to the Downtown Line, at least one can expect the East West Line to be less crowded...
Which leads me to the next point. On my way back home, I took the East West Line. The train is still crowded.
Apparently, the DTL3 has limited effectiveness on the current coverage, but rather, it is meant for the future developments in the corridors that it serve.
Notice at many stations, it’s mostly a greenfield site? Yeah. That’s what I mean. The DTL3 is meant for the future, unlike DTL2 which runs on a relatively built-up area of Bukit Timah and Bukit Panjang, that’s why it was effective in alleviating the crowding level on the western section of East West Line (as of 2016 when it just opened)... so the impact on the Eastern section of the East West Line is minimal.
But well, å„¿å™è‡ªæœ‰å„¿å™ç¦�。Every line has its pros and cons.
Thank you LTA for developing the Downtown Line. DTL3 may not be useful now, but I’m sure it will realise it’s potential in the long run.
Congratulations Tampines residents and Bedok... and... never mind....
Congratulations Tampines residents on the opening of the Downtown Line.
Wonder why u change ur username like frm Burger to Borger or wtv lol
Anyways i would agree with u that there might be some political agendas behind this 137 route. It rly is too ridiculously winding when the two endpoints are relatively nearby. I dare say these kind of absurd things have slowly been popping out more often than last time ever since this BSEP and GCM thingy kicked in.
I think it will be more fair to observe loading a few more weeks down. As i mentioned elsewhere, ppl are vry fussy abt breakdowns and have ZERO tolerance as what i observed, so a good handful would still want to take the bus for now
Originally posted by CZT:Wonder why u change ur username like frm Burger to Borger or wtv lol
Anyways i would agree with u that there might be some political agendas behind this 137 route. It rly is too ridiculously winding when the two endpoints are relatively nearby. I dare say these kind of absurd things have slowly been popping out more often than last time ever since this BSEP and GCM thingy kicked in.
Sims Place and East Coast is near meh?
Anyway, as I have said, å„¿å™è‡ªæœ‰å„¿å™ç¦�. 137 has its own purpose, which is to serve the industrial area.
If in return the Downtown Line and associated bus route changes can reduce the crowding level on the East West Line, I’m sure everyone would be happy.
But I got to say, the effectiveness is really questionable. Maybe it’s because the Downtown Line just opened, so people are still taking the EWL.
Hopefully, after a while, the crowding level on the Eastern section of the EWL can be reduced significantly.
The DTL3 is rather empty now, with plenty of seats available. Those who want to avoid the crowd can take the DTL, provided your destination is within the DTL corridor, or you are willing to change train at Bugis, Newton, Little India, Botanic Gardens, etcetera. (The Interchange at Bugis is horrendously long)
For now, it’s understandable, cuz the DTL3 just opened. But if after a while still like that - underutilized - I think we really need to adjust the bus network (further) to feed traffic into the DTL3.
Originally posted by Zinger Borger:Sims Place and East Coast is near meh?
Anyway, as I have said, å„¿å™è‡ªæœ‰å„¿å™ç¦�. 137 has its own purpose, which is to serve the industrial area.
If in return the Downtown Line and associated bus route changes can reduce the crowding level on the East West Line, I’m sure everyone would be happy.
But I got to say, the effectiveness is really questionable. Maybe it’s because the Downtown Line just opened, so people are still taking the EWL.
Hopefully, after a while, the crowding level on the Eastern section of the EWL can be reduced significantly.
The DTL3 is rather empty now, with plenty of seats available. Those who want to avoid the crowd can take the DTL, provided your destination is within the DTL corridor, or you are willing to change train at Bugis, Newton, Little India, Botanic Gardens, etcetera. (The Interchange at Bugis is horrendously long)
For now, it’s understandable, cuz the DTL3 just opened. But if after a while still like that - underutilized - I think we really need to adjust the bus network (further) to feed traffic into the DTL3.
Nope. The DTL3 is taking away 50% of the load from East West Line too. I think chances of boarding trains now is higher. Even there are people taking the loop for the Downtown Line from Sungei Road to Rochor. All the hwa chong students will be sleeping on the journey to Hwa Chong station.
Originally posted by TPS Timothy Mok:Nope. The DTL3 is taking away 50% of the load from East West Line too. I think chances of boarding trains now is higher. Even there are people taking the loop for the Downtown Line from Sungei Road to Rochor. All the hwa chong students will be sleeping on the journey to Hwa Chong station.
Bro, do you even take the EWL regularly to know what’s the crowding level like before the DTL opened?
i rmb someone said the dist covered by 137 is approximately the same as 10e. Geographically if u measure a striaght line betweenn SP and UEC, they are closer than compared to the east --> pasir panjang covered by 10e. Hope to clarify some misunderstanding :)
Originally posted by Zinger Borger:Bro, do you even take the EWL regularly to know what’s the crowding level like before the DTL opened?
i think is weekday and weekend, at Aljunied,Bedok,Tampines,Lavender,Bugis,City Hall.
Not rly. 2130 train out of Fort Canning, fully seated throughout. The two stations that saw the most alighting was Tampines and Tampines East.
So late into the night also fully seated — one can only imagine the crowds during AM and PM peak.