Originally posted by AJQZC:With all considerations, it's really just 851 + 157, with minor deviations and some 74 to link the in-between.
Any comments to my suggestion to 853 / 855 and 812 above?
853 already does a bit. 855 is only direct connection b/w Thomson/YCK road west to Yishun (so I doubt).
Again, 859 is my preference to extend to Ring Road.
853 can do Ring Road > Ave 4 > Central to Yishun (yes some deviation possible here).
The route suggestion posted by AJQZC:It's a matter of efficiency and resource management, really ... it still bugs me as to why some of the less crowded Yishun trunk services (especially 852, 853) are not being diverted to serve the inner roads (as is the case for many SBS towns, in particular Tampines), while at the same time so much resources is dumped onto new feeders and intra-towns (804, 860).
For example, it would only require a short diversion for any trunk service serving at Khatib MRT to pass by Yishun St 61 / Ave 4, or Yishun Ring Rd near St 71 / 72. The trunk would link these areas to both Khatib and Yishun MRT stations, while skipping a few stops that the remaining trunks can easily cover. 812 would also be freed to serve the new St 41 / 51 areas.
===========================
What about 853 and 855? Seeing that both have moderate frequency / demand and do not serve Yishun Ave 2 outside Yishun MRT, is it possible that they can be enhanced to take over 812's route at both St 61 and Ave 4, with minimal route amendments? As per below:
853: Yishun Int --> Ctrl 2 --> Ctrl --> Ave 4 --> Ring Rd --> Ave 2
855: Yishun Int --> Ctrl (via SAFRA & KTP) --> St 61 --> Ring Rd --> Ave 2
In this way we have two-way direct services to KTP and SAFRA from Khatib MRT. Chung Cheng and Northland get proper links as well. The stop at Blk 935 still has 857, and is close enough to Yishun Ave 2 for other services.
Then:
812 (merged, with G/W): Yishun Int --> Ave 2 --> Ring Rd --> Ave 4 --> St 51 --> St 41 --> Ring Rd --> Ave 11 --> Ctrl --> Int.
(812 will now provide a much more direct link from Yishun Int to the area around Northbrooks Sec Sch, and complements 860 to Khatib. 117 will still connect to Khatib from Ave 1.)
Feedback posted by SBS 9256 X:Your merged 812 may lose the Yishun RIng Road (Chong Pang) to Khatib MRT commuters and also the Swimming Pool - Chong Pang or even interchange commuters.
Svc 855 should not served the St 61 sector. No point leh.. Svc 853 also just leave it as it is..
There has to be compromises for any route change ... in this case I tried my best to preserve most of the existing routes, while making the overall system more efficient with the enhancement of 812, and not simply through introducing new feeders or intratowns.
853 & 855: Why not? If it's a matter of lost links, there's easy transfer at Khatib MRT. And these two trunks are within the moderate frequency and demand range, so there shouldn't be too much problems with those. It's really high time that St 61 / Ave 4 residents get a direct bus link to Khatib MRT.
812: Yishun Swimming Complex is still within comfortable walking distance from the Blk 774 bus stop. Keeping 812's route to Ave 3 may be another option, but that'd mean cutting off those going to Naval Base Sec.
Feedback posted by BusAnalayzer:853 already does a bit. 855 is only direct connection b/w Thomson/YCK road west to Yishun (so I doubt).
Again, 859 is my preference to extend to Ring Road.
853 can do Ring Road > Ave 4 > Central to Yishun (yes some deviation possible here).
859 can still do Yishun Ave 5 --> Ctrl --> St 61 --> Ring Rd --> Ave 3 --> Ctrl, close to what I have suggested for 855. But I'm thinking if it may be better utilised in northern Yishun, or near the upcoming Ave 8 regions. Doing western Yishun Ring Rd is probably pointless if the connection to Yishun MRT is severed.
For now I'll stick to 853 and 855 for St 61 and Ave 4. Like I said, it shouldn't be a major loss for these mid-tier routes.
Originally posted by TIB1105H:Svc 290
Bedok - Tampines St 11 (Loop)
Bedok Int
Opp Bedok Ctrl Po
Blk 403
Blk 506
Opp Blk 761
Opp Clearwater
Opp Bedok Reform Trg Ctr
Opp SAFRA Tampines
Blk 141
Opp Holy Trinity
Opp Blk 280
Blk 283
Blk 285
Holy Trinity
Blk 125
Blk 121
SAFRA Tampines
Bedok Reform Trg Ctr
Clearwater Condo
Opp Bay Water
Blk 109
Bet Blks 139/140
Bedok Ctrl PO
Bedok Int
This route duplicates route 168 between Bedok Bus Interchange and Tampines Avenue 2. The unique section is at Tampines Street 11 and 22. Even the unique section duplicates route 292.
There are eight trunk bus services (8, 17, 18, 20, 28, 34, 39 and 59) at Tampines Avenue 2. I would recommend that the new bus service at Tampines Street 11 and 22 connect to places that are not connected by the eight trunk bus services.
I would like to recommend a new bus service in Tampines and Bedok. I have done my best to make sure the route is less than 22.5km, and the route has the best possible number of unique bus connections.
However, I have to assign a new number to the new bus service because it is a trunk, not a feeder. I shall assign the number "68" to this new bus service.
This bus service 68 runs between Tampines Bus Interchange and Sims Place Bus Terminal. The objective of this bus service is to provide for new bus connections to the schools in Tampines and Bedok, while enhance the existing bus connections.
Bus Service 68
> Sims Place
Length = 19.93 km
Estimated Travel Time = 35 mins
Bus Service 68
> Tampines
Length = 21 km
Estimated Travel Time = 48 mins
The length and estimated travel time may not be correct, but each direction is definitely less than 22 km.
Originally posted by One-Punch Man:This route duplicates route 168 between Bedok Bus Interchange and Tampines Avenue 2. The unique section is at Tampines Street 11 and 22. Even the unique section duplicates route 292.
There are eight trunk bus services (8, 17, 18, 20, 28, 34, 39 and 59) at Tampines Avenue 2. I would recommend that the new bus service at Tampines Street 11 and 22 connect to places that are not connected by the eight trunk bus services.
I would like to recommend a new bus service in Tampines and Bedok. I have done my best to make sure the route is less than 22.5km, and the route has the best possible number of unique bus connections.
However, I have to assign a new number to the new bus service because it is a trunk, not a feeder. I shall assign the number "68" to this new bus service.
This bus service 68 runs between Tampines Bus Interchange and Sims Place Bus Terminal. The objective of this bus service is to provide for new bus connections to the schools in Tampines and Bedok, while enhance the existing bus connections.
Bus Service 68
> Sims Place
Length = 19.93 km
Estimated Travel Time = 35 mins
- Tampines Bus Interchange
- Tampines Concourse
- Tampines Central 1
- Tampines Avenue 4
- Tampines Street 21
- Tampines Street 23
- Tampines Avenue 2
- Tampines Street 11
- Tampines Avenue 2
- Tampines Avenue 5
- Simei Avenue
- Upper Changi Road
- Tanah Merah Kechil Road
- New Upper Changi Road
- Bedok South Avenue 2
- Bedok South Road
- New Upper Changi Road
- Chai Chee Drive
- Chai Chee Street
- Bedok North Road
- Bedok Reservoir Road
- Jalan Eunos
- Pan Island Expressway
- Paya Lebar Road
- Geylang East Central
- Sims Drive
- Sims Place
- Sims Place Bus Terminal
Bus Service 68
> Tampines
Length = 21 km
Estimated Travel Time = 48 mins
- Sims Place Bus Terminal
- Sims Place
- Sims Drive
- Geylang East Central
- Paya Lebar Road
- Pan Island Expressway
- Jalan Eunos
- Bedok Reservoir Road
- Bedok North Road
- Bedok North Avenue 1
- Chai Chee Street
- Chai Chee Drive
- New Upper Changi Road
- Bedok South Road
- Bedok South Avenue 3
- Tanah Merah Kechil Road
- Upper Changi Road
- Simei Avenue
- Tampines Avenue 5
- Tampines Avenue 2
- Tampines Street 11
- Tampines Avenue 2
- Tampines Street 23
- Tampines Street 21
- Tampines Avenue 4
- Tampines Central 1
- Tampines Concourse
- Tampines Bus Interchange
The length and estimated travel time may not be correct, but each direction is definitely less than 22 km.
Overall okay, but the Bedok South part is a bit redundant... It's true that Bedok South has rather poor bus connections, but I still feel it would be better if your 68 can go straight using New Upp Changi Rd. This way Chai Chee residents also have one more option from Bedok MRT, and Tanah Merah Kechil residents and Anglican High students have connection to Bedok MRT as well.
Originally posted by AJQZC:
There has to be compromises for any route change ... in this case I tried my best to preserve most of the existing routes, while making the overall system more efficient with the enhancement of 812, and not simply through introducing new feeders or intratowns.
853 & 855: Why not? If it's a matter of lost links, there's easy transfer at Khatib MRT. And these two trunks are within the moderate frequency and demand range, so there shouldn't be too much problems with those. It's really high time that St 61 / Ave 4 residents get a direct bus link to Khatib MRT.
812: Yishun Swimming Complex is still within comfortable walking distance from the Blk 774 bus stop. Keeping 812's route to Ave 3 may be another option, but that'd mean cutting off those going to Naval Base Sec.
859 can still do Yishun Ave 5 --> Ctrl --> St 61 --> Ring Rd --> Ave 3 --> Ctrl, close to what I have suggested for 855. But I'm thinking if it may be better utilised in northern Yishun, or near the upcoming Ave 8 regions. Doing western Yishun Ring Rd is probably pointless if the connection to Yishun MRT is severed.
For now I'll stick to 853 and 855 for St 61 and Ave 4. Like I said, it shouldn't be a major loss for these mid-tier routes.
I still think the service which needs to be enhance is Svc 811. Frequecy for 812 is good enough. I am very displease with the Ave 7 that stretch... Loads of passengers won't board quickly or too many foreign workers then when they reach the Yishun Int Bus Stop, some "gong-gong" dunno whether want to alight or not.
Then some passengers alight but also nv move in. Haish, I think those of you who take 811, if hear someone shout to move behind, is nt the bus driver.. it will be me. Same goes for Svc 860.
There should be another service to compliment Svc 860 IMO.
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:I still think the service which needs to be enhance is Svc 811. Frequecy for 812 is good enough. I am very displease with the Ave 7 that stretch... Loads of passengers won't board quickly or too many foreign workers then when they reach the Yishun Int Bus Stop, some "gong-gong" dunno whether want to alight or not.
Then some passengers alight but also nv move in. Haish, I think those of you who take 811, if hear someone shout to move behind, is nt the bus driver.. it will be me. Same goes for Svc 860.
There should be another service to compliment Svc 860 IMO.
I would prefer 811P to perform the full route then having to perform 1 part of the routes. And the traffic flows at Ave 6 always jam up causing 811 to bunch up.
There will be route amending to Toa Payoh Interchange for Svc 860 in 2016.
Originally posted by Gemsdare:I would prefer 811P to perform the full route then having to perform 1 part of the routes. And the traffic flows at Ave 6 always jam up causing 811 to bunch up.
There will be route amending to Toa Payoh Interchange for Svc 860 in 2016.
Why amended to Toa Payoh of all places? I think even the current route is fine with me...
Svc 811P only serve portion of the route becoz of the waiting time and residents complain about the bus service being slow but ended up bunching one another.
Route Extension of Service 860 (Yishun - Khatib - Ang Mo Kio - Bishan)
via
-current route-
Yishun Ave 3 (skips existing bus stops along Ave 3 and 2. Alternative service: 811/E/P)
Sembawang Road
Upp Thomson Road
Yio Chu Kang Rd
AMK Ave 5 / 4 (Mayflower MRT) / 3 / 1
Marymount Rd
Bishan St 22
Bishan Rd
Bishan St 11 / 13 (Bishan Int)
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=z-ZflH1PNuy8.k-OOxw0xH7TQ&usp=sharing
Pros:
Extending Svc 860 would result a few things I presume:
1) Longer waiting time - Travel time will be longer eventhough it is convenient
2) Heavy loading - By the time, the bus reach Upp Thomson Road during PM peak, the bus already have a heavy loading. If you have taken 169, just maybe see to the point of it. Maybe it is good, maybe it is not. Just a piece from me.
Retain the current service and then we will see till Springleaf MRT Stn is fully constructed... There should be a new service...
Feeder 373: Sengkang - Fernvale Road (Loop)
Sengkang Int
Sengkang East Way
Anchorvale Link (New stops)
Sengkang East Ave
Fernvale Link (New Stops)
Fernvale Street
Fernvale Road (New Stops)
Sengkang East Ave
Anchorvale Link (New Stops)
Sengkang East Way
Sengkang East Road
Sengkang Int
Pros:
- Serves the new BTO flats at Fernvale Link which does not have a service yet
- Provides connections to amenties such as Seletar Mall
- Serves the flats at Anchorvale Link and the schools there
Cons:
- Longer travelling time to Sengkang West than 102
- Limited demand due to some duplication with the LRT
Originally posted by Marvel68:
Feeder 373: Sengkang - Fernvale Road (Loop)
Sengkang Int
Sengkang East Way
Anchorvale Link (New stops)
Sengkang East Ave
Fernvale Link (New Stops)
Fernvale Street
Fernvale Road (New Stops)
Sengkang East Ave
Anchorvale Link (New Stops)
Sengkang East Way
Sengkang East Road
Sengkang Int
Pros:
- Serves the new BTO flats at Fernvale Link which does not have a service yet
- Provides connections to amenties such as Seletar Mall
- Serves the flats at Anchorvale Link and the schools there
Cons:
- Longer travelling time to Sengkang West than 102
- Limited demand due to some duplication with the LRT
Hi mr marvel68, I think definitely need introduce. There is projected growth for such a service with HDB flats blooming! Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:Extending Svc 860 would result a few things I presume:
1) Longer waiting time - Travel time will be longer eventhough it is convenient
2) Heavy loading - By the time, the bus reach Upp Thomson Road during PM peak, the bus already have a heavy loading. If you have taken 169, just maybe see to the point of it. Maybe it is good, maybe it is not. Just a piece from me.Retain the current service and then we will see till Springleaf MRT Stn is fully constructed... There should be a new service...
860A and 860 downroutes can operate as supplement trips during high demand timings. with the suggested extension, 860 should get a few DDs to cope with demand at Tagore Ind Est
Originally posted by SBS 9256 X:Why amended to Toa Payoh of all places? I think even the current route is fine with me...
Becoz this is what I hear from a resident in Yishun that ask the BC weather Svc 860 will be extend or not and the BC told her that it will be extend to Toa Payoh in near future which maybe in 2016.
Originally posted by Gemsdare:Becoz this is what I hear from a resident in Yishun that ask the BC weather Svc 860 will be extend or not and the BC told her that it will be extend to Toa Payoh in near future which maybe in 2016.
I DOUBT.
Originally posted by Gemsdare:Becoz this is what I hear from a resident in Yishun that ask the BC weather Svc 860 will be extend or not and the BC told her that it will be extend to Toa Payoh in near future which maybe in 2016.
One candidate for the Sungei Seletar Package!!! Hahahs...
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I DOUBT.
Haha,Extend another 5 km is good enough.
Some random service for the future:
SMRT Service 844: WLDP - Yio Chu Kang Int
Possible future extension to service 102, version 2:
Provides the connection in the north to Bt Panjang. As the NE interchanges obviously don't have any much space to introduce new services ... I'll have to make do with an existing one.
Originally posted by AJQZC:Possible future extension to service 102, version 2:
- Hougang Int
- (current route to Jln Kayu)
- Jln Kayu
- TPE
- CTE
- Yio Chu Kang Rd
- AMK St 64
- AMK St 63
- AMK Ave 9
- AMK Ave 4
- Yio Chu Kang Rd
- Upp Thomson Rd
- Sembawang Rd
- Mandai Ave
- SLE
- BKE
- Bt Panjang Rd
- Woodlands Rd
- Bt Panjang Bus Park
Provides the connection in the north to Bt Panjang. As the NE interchanges obviously don't have any much space to introduce new services ... I'll have to make do with an existing one.
Hi mr AJQZC, good if it happens because there is currently no connection to north west of singapore from northeast. Furthest we have is sengkang to Clementi in the form of sbs 156. Clementi is counted as west. However, we all know northeast area NEL mrt is aided very much by 2 lines (namely circle line and soon-to-be downtown line). This invalidates the above route suggestion for extended sbs 102). Although you are right on the limited spacing at present NEL bus interchanges, but plans are already being made. Sengkang, Hougang, punggol bus interchanges will be expanded and they are already out in the news for quite some time. There will also be a new buangkok bus interchange in 2019 according to the plans listed in GE2015. Cheers. Thanks.
110 (Repost)
Punggol - St Michael
Originally posted by SBS9252G:110 (Repost)
Punggol - St Michael
- Punggol Place
- Sentul Cres
- Punggol Walk
- Punggol Field
- Punggol Way
- Sengkang East Rd
- Sengkang East Way
- Anchorvale Link
- Anchorvale St
- Fernvale Link
- Sengkang West Ave
- Jalan Kayu
- SLE
- CTE
- Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
- Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
- Bishan Rd
- Braddell Rd
- Thomson Rd
- Moulmein Rd
- Balestier Rd
- Whampoa Dr
- Jalan Bahagia
- Whampoa Rd
>> Linking PGL and SKW direct connection to AMK, Bishan, TTSH114 (23.7KM)Punggol - Woodlands
- Punggol Place
- Punggol Central
- Punggol Way
- Sengkang East Rd
- Sengkang West Ave
- Anchorvale Rd
- Sengkang East Way
- Sengkang West Rd
- Fernvale Rd
- Sengkang West Ave
- Sengkang West Rd
- SLE
- Woodlands Ave 12
- Woodlands Ave 5
- Woodlands Ave 4
- Woodlands Ave 9
- Woodlands Ave 2
- Woodlands Reg Int
>>Linking PGL, SKW to Woodlands (Despite there's 168,161 in SLE, compliment svc to WDL)
Hi mr SBS9252G, the proposed sbs 110 duplicates sbs 50 intention for punggol, sengkang connection to ang mo kio and bishan although the route is not the same. Cheers. Thanks.
Service 900 (Serving Dr 14)
via
Woodlands Regional Int, Woodlands Ave 7/Ave 4, Woodlands Dr 43, Woodlands Dr 14, Woodlands Ave 1, Woodlands Ave 4/Ave 7, Woodlands Regional Int
Service 900A (Serving Dr 14 before Champions Way)
via
Woodlands Regional Int, Woodlands Ave 7/Ave 4, Woodlands Dr 43, Woodlands Dr 14, Woodlands Ave 1, Champions Way, Woodlands Dr 17, Champions Way, Woodlands Ave 4/Ave 7, Woodlands Regional Int
Service 901 (Serving Dr 14; Skipping one bus stop of Ave 1)
via
Woodlands Regional Int, Woodlands Ave 2, Woodlands Ave 1, Woodlands Dr 14, Woodlands Ave 1, Woodlands Dr 16, Woodlands Ave 6, Woodlands Ave 1, Woodlands Ave 2, Woodlands Regional Int
Service 902 (Serving Ave 9, Ave 6, Ave 7)
- Break into Green and White
Green Plate:
Woodlands Regional Interchange, Woodlands Ave 7, Woodlands Ave 6, Woodlands Ave 9, Woodlands Ave 2, Woodlands Regional Interchange
White Plate:
Woodlands Regional Interchange, Woodlands Ave 2, Woodlands Ave 9, Woodlands Ave 6, Woodlands Ave 7, Woodlands Regional Interchange
Originally posted by SBS9252G:114 (23.7KM)Punggol - Woodlands
- Punggol Place
- Punggol Central
- Punggol Way
- Sengkang East Rd
- Sengkang West Ave
- Anchorvale Rd
- Sengkang East Way
- Sengkang West Rd
- Fernvale Rd
- Sengkang West Ave
- Sengkang West Rd
- SLE
- Woodlands Ave 12
- Woodlands Ave 5
- Woodlands Ave 4
- Woodlands Ave 9
- Woodlands Ave 2
- Woodlands Reg Int
>>Linking PGL, SKW to Woodlands (Despite there's 168,161 in SLE, compliment svc to WDL)
No point introducing YET another service (duplications, plus Punggol Int space constraints) ... if you need, you can always consider extending / modifiying 85 or 117 in some way.