Originally posted by array88:I wanted to post this a few days ago but couldn't open Google Maps then...
Service 48 and 91 amendment:
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zvASY1AjT64M.kQppSDlmj6Lg&usp=sharing
- 48 extended to ARBP via Buona Vista MRT and Biopolis
- 91 amended to loop at one-north Ave via the northern branch of Ayer Rajah Cres, skipping ARBP (replaced by 48)
- Improve bus service coverage in one-north area (e.g. one-north Ave/Cres/Link, Biopolis)
- Connection from Buona Vista MRT to Holland Ave (where there's only 106 at Commonwealth Ave with long walk), although 48 may be a bit windy
- 48 can operate as 48M and terminate at Buona Vista Ter on weekends if demand between Buona Vista and ARBP is low
Cons:
- Connection from ARBP to one-north MRT and Commonwealth Ave West is lost
- Frequency from Buona Vista MRT to ARBP may be a problem given 48's length
Hi mr array88, since you know connection from ARBP to one-north MRT and commonwealth Ave west is lost, why did you still suggest such routes with no service to cover up this? This is an important connection. Nowadays when there is no replacement of loss of link, people will cry father cry mother!
Next is connection from buona vista mrt to holland Ave which you say there is only sbs 106 with long walk. I think it is wrong. Sbs 95 also connects buona vista mrt to commonwealth ave to holland avenue. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by array88:I wanted to post this a few days ago but couldn't open Google Maps then...
Service 48 and 91 amendment:
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zvASY1AjT64M.kQppSDlmj6Lg&usp=sharing
- 48 extended to ARBP via Buona Vista MRT and Biopolis
- 91 amended to loop at one-north Ave via the northern branch of Ayer Rajah Cres, skipping ARBP (replaced by 48)
- Improve bus service coverage in one-north area (e.g. one-north Ave/Cres/Link, Biopolis)
- Connection from Buona Vista MRT to Holland Ave (where there's only 106 at Commonwealth Ave with long walk), although 48 may be a bit windy
- 48 can operate as 48M and terminate at Buona Vista Ter on weekends if demand between Buona Vista and ARBP is low
Cons:
- Connection from ARBP to one-north MRT and Commonwealth Ave West is lost
- Frequency from Buona Vista MRT to ARBP may be a problem given 48's length
Aside from the connection issue with your route mentioned by dupdup above, I agree that one-north/Biopolis can have better transport access (in fact I posted a suggestion last year).
91 (along with 191 and 200) can definitely be optimized a lot more, but I'm not sure if it's wise to use 48 as the link from Buona Vista to ARBP. IMO it may be possible to extend 122 to ARBP if the loop at Commonwealth Dr doesn't draw much demand.
The 15 min drive refers to the drive on the future NSE. On the other hand, residents from Sengkang can board any bus to SK where they can take 109/27 to the TPE bus stop where they can take 858 from there. Might be time-consuming but worth it
Ok, this is my take on the whole 76 saga.
Service 76: Ang Mo Kio Depot - Eunos (via Marine Terrace)
Service 268: Yio Chu Kang - Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2 (Loop)
Service 134: Sims Place - Bedok (via Marine Parade)
Service 150: Eunos - Meyer Road (Loop)
https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=zvASY1AjT64M.k6HzRIInlJ8M&usp=sharing
76:
- Still terminate at Eunos but maintains direct connection between Marine Terrace and AMK. Frequency towards AMK Depot will still be ensured (maybe not as good as current 76 but definitely better than the old 76). Also can replace 150 in terms of linking Marine Terr/Cres to Eunos.
- In view of inconsistent frequency at AMK Ave 4 towards YCK Int/MRT (where 76 is the only connection) even after 76's amendment, swap 76 and 268's route aroung YCK. Hence 268 will be more reliable for providing connection to YCK MRT.
268: Mentioned above.
134:
- Maintains connection between Sims Place / Geylang East Ctrl and MP, but runs at reduced frequency and capacity since 76 is there (and anyway proposed 134 will not have DDs due to height restrictions in Kembangan). Acts as a supplementary service for 43/76/135 in case all of them don't arrive at Paya Lebar.
- Solves the long-standing Haig Rd issue (although the northern part can probably only have bus service in one direction)
- Provides the MP-Frankel-Kembangan link which some forumers were talking about some time ago
- Connects Kembangan MRT, Kembangan estate, Chai Chee and Bedok, for Kembangan residents to Bedok town and Chai Chee residents to Kembangan MRT / MP
- If route between Kembangan and Chai Chee is not suitable for buses, 134 can loop at Lengkong Empat like 42; if Bedok Int has no space, 134 can loop at Lengkong Empat or extend to CBP
150:
- Scrap the old 150. Replaced by proposed 76.
- New service connecting the whole stretch of Joo Chiat Rd (northern part replaced by Onan Rd towards Eunos) to Eunos MRT, Marine Parade (TEL) and Paya Lebar MRT (return direction towards Eunos)
- New service for Meyer Rd
- Would be much more useful in terms of coverage and connections compared to the old 150
Cons:
- Lost connections: Marine Terr - Telok Kurau / Parkway East Hosp (but I don't think this connection justifies one service); Marine Terrace -> Sims Place (again not sure if there's any demand)
- 268's full SD fleet may not be able to handle the load from AMK Ave 4 to YCK. But they can always deploy DDs if they want, although it seems that this will not happen.
- AMK St 62/64 may suffer from frequency issues on 76 (though I'm not sure of demand there so not sure if this problem is significant)
Originally posted by AJQZC:Aside from the connection issue with your route mentioned by dupdup above, I agree that one-north/Biopolis can have better transport access (in fact I posted a suggestion last year).
91 (along with 191 and 200) can definitely be optimized a lot more, but I'm not sure if it's wise to use 48 as the link from Buona Vista to ARBP. IMO it may be possible to extend 122 to ARBP if the loop at Commonwealth Dr doesn't draw much demand.
|
|||
|
On second thought, the route SBS9252G made from SEM to SK is not bad though, just have to consider the Jalan Kayu part due to lack of space of the road.
I was planning a route from Marine Terrace to Eunos too, just that it connects MRT stations (TNM to KL) as well as key bus stops such as along Bendemeer Rd & Geylang Rd
Originally posted by lemon1974:someone wrote to Zaobao, want SBST to extend 198 from Bukit Merah to New Bridge Rd Terminal...say that they live in Jurong West and need direct service to NBR...
Several public transport options from Jurong West into the City
Media Replies 5 Apr 2016
We refer to Mr Wu Wu Sheng’s letter “I hope SBS Transit can give a quick reply” (Lianhe Zaobao, 29 March).
When considering new bus services or amendments to existing routes, LTA has to assess and balance competing needs from various stakeholders, including whether there are sufficient existing travel options and prioritise resources accordingly.
Today, residents in Jurong West have several public transport options to the City. Besides the East-West MRT Line, which is the fastest mode for such long distance travel, residents can also take Bus Service 174, Express Services 174e, 502 or City Direct Service 651.
LTA has reviewed the suggestion to amend the route of Service 198 to terminate at the New Bridge Road Bus Terminal, instead of the current Bukit Merah Interchange. This is a long extension and will require significant additional resources on buses and bus drivers. Hence, we seek Mr Wu’s understanding that Service 198 will not be extended for the time being. For travel to New Bridge Road Bus Terminal, commuters taking Service 198 can make a same stop transfer to either Service 122, 147 or 196, at the bus stop outside Commonwealth MRT station.
We thank Mr Wu for his feedback.
Helen Lim (Ms)
Group Director, Corporate Communications Group
Land Transport Authority
Siao ah extend 198 to NBR?The service already got heavy loadings both directions,How many buses will they need?40?
Originally posted by TIB987K:Several public transport options from Jurong West into the City
Media Replies 5 Apr 2016We refer to Mr Wu Wu Sheng’s letter “I hope SBS Transit can give a quick reply” (Lianhe Zaobao, 29 March).
When considering new bus services or amendments to existing routes, LTA has to assess and balance competing needs from various stakeholders, including whether there are sufficient existing travel options and prioritise resources accordingly.
Today, residents in Jurong West have several public transport options to the City. Besides the East-West MRT Line, which is the fastest mode for such long distance travel, residents can also take Bus Service 174, Express Services 174e, 502 or City Direct Service 651.
LTA has reviewed the suggestion to amend the route of Service 198 to terminate at the New Bridge Road Bus Terminal, instead of the current Bukit Merah Interchange. This is a long extension and will require significant additional resources on buses and bus drivers. Hence, we seek Mr Wu’s understanding that Service 198 will not be extended for the time being. For travel to New Bridge Road Bus Terminal, commuters taking Service 198 can make a same stop transfer to either Service 122, 147 or 196, at the bus stop outside Commonwealth MRT station.
Helen Lim (Ms)
Land Transport Authority
Hi mr TIB987K, everybody can get to read from LTA reply that they view extension of bukit merah to new bridge road terminal is considered long. So we know that LTA is not in favour of long routes anymore judging from their replies. Actually bukit merah to new bridge road is considered quite near in my opinion. So we can really forget about proposing super long routes in route suggestions topic. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr TIB987K, everybody can get to read from LTA reply that they view extension of bukit merah to new bridge road terminal is considered long. So we know that LTA is not in favour of long routes anymore judging from their replies. Actually bukit merah to new bridge road is considered quite near in my opinion. So we can really forget about proposing super long routes in route suggestions topic. Cheers. Thanks.
Well we cant please everyone right?With LTA taking over bus routes and assets i dont think theyre entertaining this kind of request anymore.
Splitting routes, once again.
Service 67: CCK - Eunos
Service 26: Toa Payoh - Pasir Ris
Affected commuters can still transfer between Eunos and Kallang MRT stations.
Using 26 here, for the current route is relatively short and extendable and has a long duplication with 67 along Sims Ave - New Upp Changi Rd.
How about a new bus service 1 from Changi Village to Tampines St 21?Via Loyang Ave,Loyang Way,Pasir Ris Dr 2,Dr 1 then Loyang Ave,Tampines Ave 7,St 34/32,St 23 and St 21 loop back?Can start with 5 Citaros and 2 Wrights..
Originally posted by TIB987K:Several public transport options from Jurong West into the City
Media Replies 5 Apr 2016We refer to Mr Wu Wu Sheng’s letter “I hope SBS Transit can give a quick reply” (Lianhe Zaobao, 29 March).
Helen Lim (Ms)
Land Transport Authority
Long extension? 198 in the olden days went to Sims Place.
Originally posted by iveco:Long extension? 198 in the olden days went to Sims Place.
Hi mr iveco, last time it was sbs 198 from jurong east to sims place. Before that, jurong to sims place. In yr 1992, it was extended to Boon Lay interchange and it was truncated to bukit merah to reduce duplication with sbs 147/196/197. At one end, it was extended but at the other end, it was shortened. It was never Boon Lay to sims place such a long journey at anytime. 24 yrs later, further extension for trunk services (already sufficiently long) is no longer encouraged. Cheers. Thanks.
If want to split 198, actually can. No one (not many) people actually takes 198 all the way from Boon Lay to Bukit Merah, or from Bukit Merah to Boon Lay. It takes around two hours leh, considering the jam and all the traffic lights. Most people, if not all, would rather take MRT lor.
If want split, I suggest shortening 198 to NUH, and then somehow make it terminate at Kent Ridge Bus Terminal.
The condition is that the new route replacing the skipped section also serve NUH, somewhat duplicate 198 at NUH. So, it's either the new route come from New Bridge Road Bus Terminal (or Marina Centre or Shenton Way), recover the skipped section of 198 and loop around NUH, or the new route also start from Kent Ridge Bus Terminal, go to NUH, recover the skipped section of 198 and loop at the city area.
Actually, I feel that it is better to do something to express bus 502 instead. 502 is too long, and heavily duplicates 99 and 185. We can split 502 into many express routes, actually. One for Jurong West Extension, One for Old Jurong West and Jurong East. We can even have one for Taman Jurong and Teban Gardens, combined.
I suggest a new 502 for Jurong West Extension. It follows the current 502 route between Soon Lee Depot and Corporation Road. It runs express along the PIE, Whitley Road and Stevens road. It follows the current 502 route between Orchard Road and Shenton Way, and then terminate at Shenton Way Bus Terminal. Same frequency as current 502, except now can have more single decker buses than double decker buses.
I suggest a new express route for Old Jurong West and Jurong East. It follows 157 route between Boon Lay Bus Interchange and Jurong Town Hall Road, run until the end of Jurong East Avenue 1, run express along PIE and CTE, somehow meander through the CBD and then terminate at a bus terminal in the CBD. Same frequency as 502. Majority single decker, with some double decker.
I suggest a new express route for Taman Jurong and Teban Gardens. It follows 30 route between Boon Lay Bus Interchange and World Trade Centre, and then somehow run between World Trade Centre and Shenton Way Bus Terminal. It runs express between West Coast Highway and World Trade Centre. It can start with full single decker buses first, then along the way if the loading is encouraging then have some double decker buses in the fleet.
I think 502 is okay as it is, 502 provides inter-town connection between Jurong West and Jurong East so I think what 502 needs is to be downgraded to trunk and improve its frequencies (to max 20min 1 bus during off peak) as people do take 502 from Jurong West to Jurong East, while it is true that 502 does duplicate 185 and 99, I feel that 502 would be better if it is a trunk route and not express.
For myself I would still prefer 198 or 185 from Avenue 1 to Pioneer (198 to BNL then take MRT) as 502 charge express fares.
Originally posted by gekpohboy:If want to split 198, actually can. No one (not many) people actually takes 198 all the way from Boon Lay to Bukit Merah, or from Bukit Merah to Boon Lay. It takes around two hours leh, considering the jam and all the traffic lights. Most people, if not all, would rather take MRT lor.
If want split, I suggest shortening 198 to NUH, and then somehow make it terminate at Kent Ridge Bus Terminal.
The condition is that the new route replacing the skipped section also serve NUH, somewhat duplicate 198 at NUH. So, it's either the new route come from New Bridge Road Bus Terminal (or Marina Centre or Shenton Way), recover the skipped section of 198 and loop around NUH, or the new route also start from Kent Ridge Bus Terminal, go to NUH, recover the skipped section of 198 and loop at the city area.
Actually, I feel that it is better to do something to express bus 502 instead. 502 is too long, and heavily duplicates 99 and 185. We can split 502 into many express routes, actually. One for Jurong West Extension, One for Old Jurong West and Jurong East. We can even have one for Taman Jurong and Teban Gardens, combined.
I suggest a new 502 for Jurong West Extension. It follows the current 502 route between Soon Lee Depot and Corporation Road. It runs express along the PIE, Whitley Road and Stevens road. It follows the current 502 route between Orchard Road and Shenton Way, and then terminate at Shenton Way Bus Terminal. Same frequency as current 502, except now can have more single decker buses than double decker buses.
I suggest a new express route for Old Jurong West and Jurong East. It follows 157 route between Boon Lay Bus Interchange and Jurong Town Hall Road, run until the end of Jurong East Avenue 1, run express along PIE and CTE, somehow meander through the CBD and then terminate at a bus terminal in the CBD. Same frequency as 502. Majority single decker, with some double decker.
I suggest a new express route for Taman Jurong and Teban Gardens. It follows 30 route between Boon Lay Bus Interchange and World Trade Centre, and then somehow run between World Trade Centre and Shenton Way Bus Terminal. It runs express between West Coast Highway and World Trade Centre. It can start with full single decker buses first, then along the way if the loading is encouraging then have some double decker buses in the fleet.
Where got 2 hrs from Bt Merah to Boon Lay?At an average of 45kmh the most you need is 1hr 25mins..
Helen Lim (Ms)
Land Transport Authority
There are reasons why 198 will not be extended. Firstly, there is no space at New Bridge Road Terminal. Secondly, if service 2 is being extended back as a proposal to Commonwealth Avenue via ABC Brickworks Market, it will duplicate half of service 2, which does not make sense. Thirdly, at the last resort if it is made to loop at New Bridge Road via Everton Park, it will screw the reliability of 198, just like the 76's case where Tan Hao Rui as a LTA planner made a wise plan to shorten service 76 and divide it into service 134 and 150.
So think again, find places that 198 will be extended, to places that have a lot of vacancy. Such as Tampines West Bus Terminal if there is one.
Originally posted by TPS Timothy Mok:There are reasons why 198 will not be extended. Firstly, there is no space at New Bridge Road Terminal. Secondly, if service 2 is being extended back as a proposal to Commonwealth Avenue via ABC Brickworks Market, it will duplicate half of service 2, which does not make sense. Thirdly, at the last resort if it is made to loop at New Bridge Road via Everton Park, it will screw the reliability of 198, just like the 76's case where Tan Hao Rui as a LTA planner made a wise plan to shorten service 76 and divide it into service 134 and 150.
So think again, find places that 198 will be extended, to places that have a lot of vacancy. Such as Tampines West Bus Terminal if there is one.
Hi mr TPS Timothy Mok, sbs 150 has nothing to do with sbs 76 and sbs 134. By the way, sbs 198 is good to terminate at bukit merah. It will be illogical to extend until tam pines west bus terminal if there is one. It will never be considered by the authorities in the first place. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by gekpohboy:If want to split 198, actually can. No one (not many) people actually takes 198 all the way from Boon Lay to Bukit Merah, or from Bukit Merah to Boon Lay. It takes around two hours leh, considering the jam and all the traffic lights. Most people, if not all, would rather take MRT lor.
Hi mr gekpohboy, no need to split sbs 198 at NUH. The 2 hrs from Boon Lay to bukit merah is definitely not true. At most 1.5 hrs with lots of crowds. Even then, the calculation will be too excessive for 1.5 hrs. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by TPS Timothy Mok:There are reasons why 198 will not be extended. Firstly, there is no space at New Bridge Road Terminal. Secondly, if service 2 is being extended back as a proposal to Commonwealth Avenue via ABC Brickworks Market, it will duplicate half of service 2, which does not make sense. Thirdly, at the last resort if it is made to loop at New Bridge Road via Everton Park, it will screw the reliability of 198, just like the 76's case where Tan Hao Rui as a LTA planner made a wise plan to shorten service 76 and divide it into service 134 and 150.
Firstly, I believe extension of svc 2 to Commonwealth Ave is even less probable than 198 to NBR.
Secondly, extending 198 to Tampines West is simply impossible and will also disagree with the "wise plans" by LTA as you have mentioned. Just because a service is not loop doesn't mean it has no frequency issues.
Originally posted by array88:Firstly, I believe extension of svc 2 to Commonwealth Ave is even less probable than 198 to NBR.
Secondly, extending 198 to Tampines West is simply impossible and will also disagree with the "wise plans" by LTA as you have mentioned. Just because a service is not loop doesn't mean it has no frequency issues.
Hi mr array88, I agree. All these proposed extension makes the route far too long. Sbs 2 to commonwealth ave is as good as buona vista to changi village which is exactly same as the past. Many years ago, they purposely cut back sbs 2 route to start at new bridge road terminal. Why will they suddenly want to extend it back again? Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr iveco, last time it was sbs 198 from jurong east to sims place. Before that, jurong to sims place. In yr 1992, it was extended to Boon Lay interchange and it was truncated to bukit merah to reduce duplication with sbs 147/196/197. At one end, it was extended but at the other end, it was shortened. It was never Boon Lay to sims place such a long journey at anytime. 24 yrs later, further extension for trunk services (already sufficiently long) is no longer encouraged. Cheers. Thanks.
Less of reducing duplication with 147/196/197, but more of reducing duplication with 64 between Orchard all the way up to Aljunied Rd. 64 took over a large portion of 198's deleted sectors minus part of Commonwealth Ave where Queenstown MRT is located.
Based on a route length count done earlier, 198 is just as long as 117 (19.8 - 20.0 km), a recent BSEP service. No need to cut further lah.