Originally posted by TIB987K:It seems via Pasir Ris Dr 1, Pasir Ris Dr 12, Tampines Ave 10, Link, future road, Tampines Ave 11, Ave 6, Ave 9, Concourse ...
Ah ha! The only question left unanswered is why it does not appear to be a loop.
Originally posted by Gus.chong:Ah ha! The only question left unanswered is why it does not appear to be a loop.
same reason as how 518 is drawn
Route Suggestion: New Service 104 and Amendment of Service 100
Service 100: Rote cut from Ghim Moh to Shenton Way Terminal
Service 104: Ghim Moh - Temasek Ave via
-ORIGINAL ROUTING OF S100 FROM GHIM MOH TO SHENTON WAY-
Marina Blvd
Bayfront Ave
Raffles Ave
Nicoll H'way
Raffles Blvd
Temasek Blvd
Temasek Ave (Loop)
Originally posted by Sbeesg:New bus service 68 is being reflected in Go-Ahead web site. No details, only routing direction map but from Pasir Ris to Tampines. http://www.go-aheadsingapore.com/en-sg/bus-routes/
There is no 17A.
Good question,SBST might want and renumbered it but with a bit of amendment.68 i know will pass by near my home.
From the looks of it, seems like 68 will have the following route
Pasir Ris Interchange
Pasir Ris Dr 1
Pasir Ris Dr 12
Tampines Ave 10
Tampines Ave 9
Tampines Ave 6
Tampines Ave 5
Tampines Ave 4
Tampines Concourse (loop) back to Pasir Ris.
* route seems pretty normal, nothing great. So I hope the route is different than this one.
Originally posted by Sbeesg:New bus service 68 is being reflected in Go-Ahead web site. No details, only routing direction map but from Pasir Ris to Tampines. http://www.go-aheadsingapore.com/en-sg/bus-routes/
As of today, the bus route section was removed.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:From the looks of it, seems like 68 will have the following route
Pasir Ris Interchange
Pasir Ris Dr 1
Pasir Ris Dr 12
Tampines Ave 10
Tampines Ave 9
Tampines Ave 6
Tampines Ave 5
Tampines Ave 4
Tampines Concourse (loop) back to Pasir Ris.
* route seems pretty normal, nothing great. So I hope the route is different than this one.
It's not Ave 9 as seen from the map... Most likely future roads in Tampines North.
You mean complimenting 168, 27 & 72? That makes sense actually, but seeing that the area still look like it is not ready
Originally posted by SMB1368T:You mean complimenting 168, 27 & 72? That makes sense actually, but seeing that the area still look like it is not ready
I wouldn't say 68 is just meant to compliment 168, 27, 72...
Currently 68 is the only service that goes inside Tampines North (area bounded by Tampines Ave 9, Ave 10 and TPE) from what we know. The other 3 services only ply the outskirts (i.e. Ave 9 and Ave 10). There has been a lot of constructions going on there, and soon you will see 68 becoming another 102.
Originally posted by array88:I wouldn't say 68 is just meant to compliment 168, 27, 72...
Currently 68 is the only service that goes inside Tampines North (area bounded by Tampines Ave 9, Ave 10 and TPE) from what we know. The other 3 services only ply the outskirts (i.e. Ave 9 and Ave 10). There has been a lot of constructions going on there, and soon you will see 68 becoming another 102.
sian... empty crawling wasted resources like 102
Originally posted by SBS6853S:sian... empty crawling wasted resources like 102
102 is getting full DDs nowadays...
I was thinking of how to replace 858B with a trunk service and this came to my mind. Although it will probably never happen.
Service 986: Choa Chu Kang - Changi Airport (Loop)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1HRZkuE_c11iMjoSIiNmCZql50NU&usp=sharing
Originally posted by array88:I was thinking of how to replace 858B with a trunk service and this came to my mind. Although it will probably never happen.
"Revival" of service 989.. Haha definitely won't happen
Originally posted by SMB3163D:"Revival" of service 989.. Haha definitely won't happen
unless buses can go at 80 or 90km/h.
will happen in future, but just not now.
Originally posted by SMB145B:unless buses can go at 80 or 90km/h.
will happen in future, but just not now.
Why the need for public buses to go at that speed?Just a good acceleration and an allowance of extra 2 kmh(62kmh) is more than enough.Singaporean drivers very kaypoh type,You all the way chiong 75kmh already kena stomped.
Originally posted by array88:I was thinking of how to replace 858B with a trunk service and this came to my mind. Although it will probably never happen.
Great but again you can start from the new Bukit Panjang ITH via Woodlands before hitting the highways again..Skipping Jln Kayu too please.
Originally posted by array88:It's not Ave 9 as seen from the map... Most likely future roads in Tampines North.
Tampines North would make sense but that is only in 2019 that the first set of flats in Tampines North will be ready. It if it not ave 9, it will be ave 5. But since there is 118/46 recently launched in ave 5, I think the map indicates ave 9 here and tampines concourse.
Originally posted by array88:I wouldn't say 68 is just meant to compliment 168, 27, 72...
But don't you think it is too early for 68 to go into Tampines North when the first flats will be ready only in 2019?
Originally posted by SBS6853S:sian... empty crawling wasted resources like 102
102 is doing much better these days. I took it twice few days ago and the loading was good. See the "loading" thread. Contrary to what I thought, there is quite good intra-town loading for 102.
The DD in opposite direction from Jalan Kayu to Hougang consistently had 50+ pax, peaking before Sengkang MRT and then loading falls and again peaks at Buangkok MRT.
Since frequency remains at 10-14 mins, the DDs are helping ensure there is no one left behind.
But full fleet DDs already is a bit too much. 85 loading still stuck around 50-60 pax maximum.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Tampines North would make sense but that is only in 2019 that the first set of flats in Tampines North will be ready. It if it not ave 9, it will be ave 5. But since there is 118/46 recently launched in ave 5, I think the map indicates ave 9 here and tampines concourse.
The map has been taken down, but from what I remember it's something like this:

Ave 9 is indicated by the black box.
So 68 does use a small part of Ave 9, but not the entire stretch like 27. Of course it's always possible that 68 will only be introduced as Ave 10 - Ave 9 direct, and will only be amended into Tampines North in 2019.
After checking the URA Master Plan, I guess the route in Tampines should be like this:

(Red line seems more likely than blue line)
Service 256, 252, 192 amendment:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KbFjInHNRHApW1MVPQAiFgJ-5Ac&usp=sharing
I might think 68 will start with 4 SDs and 3 DDs(5 A/P 2 S)
Originally posted by array88:The map has been taken down, but from what I remember it's something like this:
Ave 9 is indicated by the black box.
So 68 does use a small part of Ave 9, but not the entire stretch like 27. Of course it's always possible that 68 will only be introduced as Ave 10 - Ave 9 direct, and will only be amended into Tampines North in 2019.
The fact that they have taken the route out, it might change as the current one doesn't look interesting at all.