Do not only blame me if you find that this thread or this forum is becoming worse.
Do not say yourself until so good, if you are also causing the threads to go off-topic and making the forum worse.
You know who you are.
Once again,
If our minds are great, then why do we always discuss about people, occasionally about events and rarely about ideas?
Think about it.
Let us change for the better.
Let us start by returning back to topic.
You have no one but yourself to blame seriously...I am afraid that you have wasted your chances when the previous two apologies is nothing but just for a show.
Let me start the ball rolling (again).
Tuas Bus Terminal
I went to check out Tuas Bus Terminal (original) today. Counted the number of parking lots a few times, etcetera.
There are seventeen parking lots. This time I am absolutely sure.
If the original has seventeen, the new one probably has seventeen also, assuming it's a one-for-one replacement.
If the new Tuas Bus Terminal has seventeen parking lots, this means it can accommodate at least six bus services.
The possible combinations are as follows:
3 parking lots is for bus services more than 16km, 2 parking lots is for bus services less than 16km. I am not sure how the parking lots are allocated, but I guess 16km is the cut-off between 2 parking lots and 3 parking lots.
This is on the assumption that bus services 192 and 193 remain at Tuas Bus Terminal.
Tuas can accommodate at least four more bus services. (refer to the combination above for reference on how many more than 16km and how many less than 16km)
Joo Koon Bus Interchange
As mentioned many times, Joo Koon has eighteen parking lots.
Currently, there are 2 bus services more than 16km and 5 bus services less than 16km - if we omit 182M and 256 from the equation. 16 parking lots are required, and there are 2 excess parking lots.
Currently, Joo Koon can accommodate one more bus service, that is less than 16km.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Let me start the ball rolling (again).
Tuas Bus Terminal
I went to check out Tuas Bus Terminal (original) today. Counted the number of parking lots a few times, etcetera.
There are seventeen parking lots. This time I am absolutely sure.
If the original has seventeen, the new one probably has seventeen also, assuming it's a one-for-one replacement.
If the new Tuas Bus Terminal has seventeen parking lots, this means it can accommodate at least six bus services.
The possible combinations are as follows:
- 3 + 3 + 3 + 3 + 3 + 2 ,
- 3 + 3 + 3 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 , or
- 3 + 3 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2
3 parking lots is for bus services more than 16km, 2 parking lots is for bus services less than 16km. I am not sure how the parking lots are allocated, but I guess 16km is the cut-off between 2 parking lots and 3 parking lots.
This is on the assumption that bus services 192 and 193 remain at Tuas Bus Terminal.
Tuas can accommodate at least four more bus services. (refer to the combination above for reference on how many more than 16km and how many less than 16km)
Joo Koon Bus Interchange
As mentioned many times, Joo Koon has eighteen parking lots.
Currently, there are 2 bus services more than 16km and 5 bus services less than 16km - if we omit 182M and 256 from the equation. 16 parking lots are required, and there are 2 excess parking lots.
- 3 + 3 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2 + 2
Currently, Joo Koon can accommodate one more bus service, that is less than 16km.
I have a feeling Joo Koon might get another new JIS service to complement 182 at Tuas south. It might run express via 254 route till it reaches Tuas south. Once Tuas MRT extension is complete, this service will move to Tuas.
Tuas in future could have 2 new services for Tuas south + 192/193 that can have more slots dedicated at Tuas than Joo Koon.
182 will stay as it is for Pasir Laba and so will 254.. unless 254 becomes a Tuas - Joo Koon (loop) service.
So I don't expect more than 4 or 5 services at Tuas terminal.
Having said this Tuas terminal can get a cross border service.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I have a feeling Joo Koon might get another new JIS service to complement 182 at Tuas south. It might run express via 254 route till it reaches Tuas south. Once Tuas MRT extension is complete, this service will move to Tuas.
Tuas in future could have 2 new services for Tuas south + 192/193 that can have more slots dedicated at Tuas than Joo Koon.
182 will stay as it is for Pasir Laba and so will 254.. unless 254 becomes a Tuas - Joo Koon (loop) service.
So I don't expect more than 4 or 5 services at Tuas terminal.
Having said this Tuas terminal can get a cross border service.
Tuas Bus Terminal
First of all, we have to wait and see if the new Tuas Bus Terminal has the same number of parking lots as the original Tuas Bus Terminal (17). What if the new facility has less? (What if it has more?)
Tuas Bus Terminal used to have bus service 183 (Tuas Bus Terminal - Tuas South Avenue (loop)) and bus service 262 (Tuas Bus Terminal - Larkin). Bus Service 182 used to terminate here. I do not know if there are other bus services which used to terminate at Tuas Bus Terminal.
By the way, I have a question.
Q: Is the heavy vehicle park near Raffles Golf Course the original site of Tuas Bus Terminal, before it was closed and re-opened a few years later at the present (until 2015) location?
Sims Place Bus Terminal
Sims Place has eight parking lots.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Sims Place Bus Terminal
Sims Place is good for another medium haul svc..
Eunos can have another svc.
Punggol Bus Interchange
Bus Service 118 is at the yellow colour boarding row at berth B2.
In between berths B2 and B3, there is the "Shuttle Bus Boarding Point".
At berth B3, there are queue lines drawn for (future) bus services 382W and 382G. The numbers are already there. Bus service 382W occupies the yellow colour boarding row at B3. Bus service 382G occupies an isolated corner by itself between berths B3 and B4, with only paintings on the floor and the signboard on top; no metal structure for people to sit.
Bus Service 117 is at the yellow colour row at berth B4.
Changi Business Park Bus Terminal (Changi Biz Park Bus Terminal)
Very empty. Feels like one of the activity rooms in a holiday Resort in the East.
Walls are painted in white colour and orange colour, same as Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
Very limited facilities for passengers. No metal structure; can only stand. No lines or numbers painted on the floor. Only some foldable-movable metal barriers and a signboard (with bus service number and details) to indicate where the bus services are. There is tactile flooring and boxes drawn on the floor to mark position for wheelchair users to wait for the bus.
I guess it will be converted into a bus interchange in future. There is a Ticket Office not in use, and provision for a Add Value Mahine. The alighting bay seems to be provision for future bus services to loop at Changi Business Park Bus Terminal, with space for around one bus to use.
The berths are labelled A1 to A12. Each A- stands for one parking lot. Bus Service 47 takes A4, A5 and A6. Bus Service 118 takes A7, A8 and A9. At the front of the parking lot, there is a concrete crash barrier with a white sticker pasted on it, that says "Secure Handbrake When Parking �泊时扣紧手拉制动器 Reverse With Care �心�退".
Although only A4 to A9 are in use by bus services 47 and 118, there are buses parked at the other parking lots, such as A2 and A3. I can see that not all buses are in use. They are probably on standby for peak period operations. The buses probably go there all at the same time, with no fresh buses injected from the depot.
Apparently, bus service 118 is managed by Hougang Depot. I do not know about bus service 47.
SBS3495L is on bus service 118. Hmm... Wasn't it on bus service 99 or 258 previously? I think it was on 99, since the route amendment poster for 99 is inside this bus.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Changi Business Park Bus Terminal (Changi Biz Park Bus Terminal)
Very empty. Feels like one of the activity rooms in a holiday Resort in the East.
Walls are painted in white colour and orange colour, same as Joo Koon Bus Interchange.
Very limited facilities for passengers. No metal structure; can only stand. No lines or numbers painted on the floor. Only some foldable-movable metal barriers and a signboard (with bus service number and details) to indicate where the bus services are. There is tactile flooring and boxes drawn on the floor to mark position for wheelchair users to wait for the bus.
I guess it will be converted into a bus interchange in future. There is a Ticket Office not in use, and provision for a Add Value Mahine. The alighting bay seems to be provision for future bus services to loop at Changi Business Park Bus Terminal, with space for around one bus to use.
The berths are labelled A1 to A12. Each A- stands for one parking lot. Bus Service 47 takes A4, A5 and A6. Bus Service 118 takes A7, A8 and A9. At the front of the parking lot, there is a concrete crash barrier with a white sticker pasted on it, that says "Secure Handbrake When Parking �泊时扣紧手拉制动器 Reverse With Care �心�退".
Although only A4 to A9 are in use by bus services 47 and 118, there are buses parked at the other parking lots, such as A2 and A3. I can see that not all buses are in use. They are probably on standby for peak period operations. The buses probably go there all at the same time, with no fresh buses injected from the depot.
Apparently, bus service 118 is managed by Hougang Depot. I do not know about bus service 47.
SBS3495L is on bus service 118. Hmm... Wasn't it on bus service 99 or 258 previously? I think it was on 99, since the route amendment poster for 99 is inside this bus.
Hi mr jurongresident, yes even the surroundings around changi business park look quite non-existent. Cheers. Thanks.
I feel that they won't utilise all 8 parking lots... But still can have more services.
Maybe 47 can be extended to Sims Place via Haig Rd? Or, if you still want to go crazy, 47 can be extended to Lor 1 Geylang and then merge with 141 to TPY?
Originally posted by jurongresident:Changi Business Park Bus Terminal (Changi Biz Park Bus Terminal)
I believe Changi Business Pk Ter was opened in a rush. Hence, no proper queueing system, no add-value machine, no clear division of berths (look at St Michael's Ter and you'll know what I mean), no electronic signboards to indicate bus departure timings, etc.
Although now it seems like a rather quiet and ulu place, I think the human traffic there will gradually increase... Yesterday I saw some plane spotters and some people playing sports in the open fields nearby. These people may start to use the bus terminal soon. We can also expect some SUTD students to walk to Changi Business Pk Ter maybe?
Originally posted by array88:I believe Changi Business Pk Ter was opened in a rush. Hence, no proper queueing system, no add-value machine, no clear division of berths (look at St Michael's Ter and you'll know what I mean), no electronic signboards to indicate bus departure timings, etc.
Although now it seems like a rather quiet and ulu place, I think the human traffic there will gradually increase... Yesterday I saw some plane spotters and some people playing sports in the open fields nearby. These people may start to use the bus terminal soon. We can also expect some SUTD students to walk to Changi Business Pk Ter maybe?
CBP was not planned for boarding and alighting activities initally, thats why.
I feel that there is no need for bus interchange facilities in Changi Business Park Bus Terminal. There is also no need to enable boarding/alighting activity at this bus terminal. The location is at one end of Changi Business Park. Clearly, the bus terminal is to let bus services - which connect Changi Business Park to a MRT station or some residential areas - to have a place to terminate. Otherwise, the bus services would be too long if they were to loop around Changi Business Park and return to their origins. It is just for the bus and the driver to take a break, after driving around 20km for around 1 hr plus.
The only setback is that bus service 47 only calls at Changi Business Park Bus Terminal and there is no canteen in the terminal or any food stall in the vicinity - unlike bus service 118 that also calls at Punggol Bus Interchange where there is a canteen and some food stalls. Actually, bus service 47 can be extended to terminate at a bus interchange or terminal, so that at least there is a canteen for the drivers to makan. For example, it can serve the residential areas at Old Airport Road area, Boon Keng and Toa Payoh, and terminate at Toa Payoh Bus Interchange. Just make sure that the length of one direction is not too long (ie. beyond 23km/24km) for a basic bus service.
Whereas for the staff in the office, I do not know. Maybe a short-term solution is to sign contract with a food catering company, to cater lunch and dinner everyday to the people working at the bus terminal. At least can tahan until when there is at least one food stall within walking distance from the bus terminal.
Originally posted by jurongresident:I feel that there is no need for bus interchange facilities in Changi Business Park Bus Terminal. There is also no need to enable boarding/alighting activity at this bus terminal. The location is at one end of Changi Business Park. Clearly, the bus terminal is to let bus services - which connect Changi Business Park to a MRT station or some residential areas - to have a place to terminate. Otherwise, the bus services would be too long if they were to loop around Changi Business Park and return to their origins. It is just for the bus and the driver to take a break, after driving around 20km for around 1 hr plus.
The only setback is that bus service 47 only calls at Changi Business Park Bus Terminal and there is no canteen in the terminal or any food stall in the vicinity - unlike bus service 118 that also calls at Punggol Bus Interchange where there is a canteen and some food stalls. Actually, bus service 47 can be extended to terminate at a bus interchange or terminal, so that at least there is a canteen for the drivers to makan. For example, it can serve the residential areas at Old Airport Road area, Boon Keng and Toa Payoh, and terminate at Toa Payoh Bus Interchange. Just make sure that the length of one direction is not too long (ie. beyond 23km/24km) for a basic bus service.
Whereas for the staff in the office, I do not know. Maybe a short-term solution is to sign contract with a food catering company, to cater lunch and dinner everyday to the people working at the bus terminal. At least can tahan until when there is at least one food stall within walking distance from the bus terminal.
Maybe should open up a canteen imo...
But I guess, it's a short walk to SUTD canteen bah?
From where did you get this info? It has only 4.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr jurongresident, yes even the surroundings around changi business park look quite non-existent. Cheers. Thanks.
There are plans to have CBP 2 around the area. But guess it will be only 2020+ for it to be ready.
Originally posted by array88:
I feel that they won't utilise all 8 parking lots... But still can have more services.Maybe 47 can be extended to Sims Place via Haig Rd? Or, if you still want to go crazy, 47 can be extended to Lor 1 Geylang and then merge with 141 to TPY?
47 and 141 cannot. Then no DDs.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:From where did you get this info? It has only 4.
I counted as I looked at Sims Place Bus Terminal from the MRT, as the train traveled from Kallang to Aljunied station. I double-checked using the street view of Google Maps. There are really eight parking lots at Sims Place Bus Terminal.
Originally posted by TIB429E:Maybe should open up a canteen imo...
But I guess, it's a short walk to SUTD canteen bah?
Yes, it is only a short walk. The walking distance between Changi Business Park Bus Terminal and the SUTD building is only around 360m, and it probably takes around 5 mins to walk there and back. This is shorter than walking at least 600m from an office in Bukit Merah to a food/hawker centre along Jalan Bukit Merah...
Well, this settles lunch/dinner for the people working in the office at the bus terminal and the people driving bus service 47.
However, I do not know if they aware there is a canteen nearby.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Yes, it is only a short walk. The walking distance between Changi Business Park Bus Terminal and the SUTD building is only around 360m, and it probably takes around 5 mins to walk there and back. This is shorter than walking at least 600m from an office in Bukit Merah to a food/hawker centre along Jalan Bukit Merah...
Well, this settles lunch/dinner for the people working in the office at the bus terminal and the people driving bus service 47.
However, I do not know if they aware there is a canteen nearby.
no, they will order food for BCs
118 conducts mealbreaks at CBP too due to lack of space at Punggol
They will open NTWU canteen at CBP later.Sims Place got 7 lots.
Originally posted by jurongresident:Do not only blame me if you find that this thread or this forum is becoming worse.
Do not say yourself until so good, if you are also causing the threads to go off-topic and making the forum worse.
You know who you are.
Once again,
- "Great minds discuss ideas,
- Average minds discuss events,
- Small minds discuss people."
If our minds are great, then why do we always discuss about people, occasionally about events and rarely about ideas?
Think about it.
Let us change for the better.
Let us start by returning back to topic.
What minds discuss about buses?
JB Sentral Bus Terminal
There are twenty four end-on parking lots (known as "bus bays").
There are two platforms A and B. Each platform has twelve parking lots.
Bus Services 170 and 160 are at platform A and Bus Service 950 is at platform B.
950 is much easier to board than 170/160, because far less people.
Originally posted by jurongresident:JB Sentral Bus Terminal
There are twenty four end-on parking lots (known as "bus bays").
There are two platforms A and B. Each platform has twelve parking lots.
Bus Services 170 and 160 are at platform A and Bus Service 950 is at platform B.
950 is much easier to board than 170/160, because far less people.
Hi mr jurongresident, wow you go until JB ah? Cheers. Thanks.