Originally posted by CB2883J:Actually, I've been thinking and I kind of agree with SBS3975T on this point. What I think, however, is that any objection would come from the part of the incumbent PTOs themselves. The seat covers, grabpoles and other interior fittings are part of their corporate image - just imagine the red seats-purple grabpoles combination of SBS, or that yellow poster that SMRT uses for their "Please pay the correct fare", very recognisable... for an example, just take a look at the Mobility Park mockup, from the inside, what makes it recognisably SMRT? This even extends to fittings like the SMRT PIS. Corporate image would also be the one that incorporates elements such as the BCs' uniforms, et cetera. The companies may have spent time and money to craft their corporate image, and I wouldn't be surprised if they may even have hired consultants to help them with the design. That is why I would suspect they may possibly be the one to raise an objection if their corporate image, which they have taken pains to build up, is wantonly used on other operators' buses.
Nobody actually cares about the interiors of buses and other small details when the fact is forgoing those small details as part of a transition to a contracting model means more profit for the bus companies.
Originally posted by SBS3975T:indeed. i wonder why they nvr take the chance to just insist that all BSEP bus reg as SG.
Anyway, my qn is, if lta want paint the front n rear of the b9tls white, then what for the sides still sticker with sbs livery? should leave unstickered. dont tell me the TT buses are gonna go on svc with white front white rear sbs sides and tt logo. look damn chapalang.
It looks more like they were stickered before LTA decided to allocate them for Tower Transit. So at the time of stickering, it was assumed that they were going to SBS, nobody would had known that LTA would divert those buses to Tower Transit.
Originally posted by SBS351M:It looks more like they were stickered before LTA decided to allocate them for Tower Transit. So at the time of stickering, it was assumed that they were going to SBS, nobody would had known that LTA would divert those buses to Tower Transit.
Suppose so. That would mean that it was originally painted full SBS, then front and rear repainted white? If they were white from the start, I assume SBS won't waste their time stickering the sides?
Originally posted by SG5001C:Suppose so. That would mean that it was originally painted full SBS, then front and rear repainted white? If they were white from the start, I assume SBS won't waste their time stickering the sides?
SBS is not the assembler of the buses, its CDGE. So to CDGE, they would had assumed that their original customer will be taking the bus. You also have to note that different processes are done at different stages at the production, so it could be that those buses have been stickered and waiting for painting of the front and rear when LTA decided to divert those buses to Tower Transit.
Registered on 01st December 2015:
SG1001D
SG1002B
SG1003Z
SG1004X
SG1005T
SG1006R
SG1007M
SG1008K
SG1009H
SG1010C
Originally posted by SBS351M:SBS is not the assembler of the buses, its CDGE. So to CDGE, they would had assumed that their original customer will be taking the bus. You also have to note that different processes are done at different stages at the production, so it could be that those buses have been stickered and waiting for painting of the front and rear when LTA decided to divert those buses to Tower Transit.
Unless it's possible that the stickering of sides is "traditionally" done before painting of the front and rear.
But presumably from now, CDGE will be informed of the arrangement for buses to be diverted to GCM, and they stop stickering the sides in order to waste stickers? I dunno.
Originally posted by CB2883J:Actually, I've been thinking and I kind of agree with SBS3975T on this point. What I think, however, is that any objection would come from the part of the incumbent PTOs themselves. The seat covers, grabpoles and other interior fittings are part of their corporate image - just imagine the red seats-purple grabpoles combination of SBS, or that yellow poster that SMRT uses for their "Please pay the correct fare", very recognisable... for an example, just take a look at the Mobility Park mockup, from the inside, what makes it recognisably SMRT? This even extends to fittings like the SMRT PIS. Corporate image would also be the one that incorporates elements such as the BCs' uniforms, et cetera. The companies may have spent time and money to craft their corporate image, and I wouldn't be surprised if they may even have hired consultants to help them with the design. That is why I would suspect they may possibly be the one to raise an objection if their corporate image, which they have taken pains to build up, is wantonly used on other operators' buses.
if the PTO have any objections, they should have inform LTA, when they place order in 2014 (for the 2nd batch of BSEP buses). and could easily tell LTA that those BSEP buses should be using different interior (that time, GCM was already annouced).. but apparently,SBST did not do so....
can tell you that the Singapore PTO wont care about their corporate image lah... if they really care, you wont see buses with patches here and there (look at BBDEP buses), or you wont see those buses with super old/dirty livery or interior...
already dun have time to manage the operations still want to care about the corporate image?
anyway, those "SG" plates buses are NOT registered under LTA name.. they are registered under TT.... kinda weird........
Originally posted by lemon1974:anyway, those "SG" plates buses are NOT registered under LTA name.. they are registered under TT.... kinda weird........
Registered under TT not LTA? I thought LTA listed them as "Omnibus (LTA-ARF exempted)".
Originally posted by CB2883J:Registered under TT not LTA? I thought LTA listed them as "Omnibus (LTA-ARF exempted)".
registered under TT name... not under LTA name...
Originally posted by lemon1974:registered under TT name... not under LTA name...
Nah, I was just wondering where it is registered under TT, because OneMotoring says LTA-ARF Exempted, so where exactly is it "registered under TT" if not referring to OneMotoring...
Originally posted by CB2883J:Nah, I was just wondering where it is registered under TT, because OneMotoring says LTA-ARF Exempted, so where exactly is it "registered under TT" if not referring to OneMotoring...
can check from onemotoring also...
SBS3501C registered under SBS-BSEP while SBS3500E registered under SBS -ARF EXEMPTED.. not sure what is the different though..
Originally posted by lemon1974:can check from onemotoring also...
SBS3501C registered under SBS-BSEP while SBS3500E registered under SBS -ARF EXEMPTED.. not sure what is the different though..
SG1001D onwards: OmniBus (LTA-ARF exempted)
SBS6599B: OmniBus (SBS - ARF-exempted)
SBS2000M onwards: OmniBus (SBS - ARF-exempted)
SG5001C onwards: OmniBus (LTA-ARF exempted)
SBS3500E: OmniBus (SBS - ARF-exempted)
SBS3501C onwards: OmniBus (SBS - BSEP)
SMB3163D: OmniBus (SMRT - ARF-exempted)
Conclusion: only the 35xx series so far has "SBS-BSEP". But SG plates are listed in OneMotoring as LTA. No such classification as "TT - ARF exempted" so far has emerged yet.
Originally posted by CB2883J:SG1001D onwards: OmniBus (LTA-ARF exempted)
Conclusion: only the 35xx series so far has "SBS-BSEP". But SG plates are listed in OneMotoring as LTA. No such classification as "TT - ARF exempted" so far has emerged yet.
no classification of TT-ARF exempted, does not mean that the SG plates are not registered under TT..... as the data in onemotoring clearly show that TT is the registered owner of these 20 SG plates buses...
Originally posted by lemon1974:no classification of TT-ARF exempted, does not mean that the SG plates are not registered under TT..... as the data in onemotoring clearly show that TT is the registered owner of these 20 SG plates buses...
the one motoring website does not say anything abt TT... unless u r not using enquire transfer fee but rather smth else
Can I ask where in onemototring.com.sg did you all check for the details of the buses?
Originally posted by SBS3975T:the one motoring website does not say anything abt TT... unless u r not using enquire transfer fee but rather smth else
obviously, there are some other functions which can check... but it is best that it was not disclosed, cos many people have been using the "transfer fee function" until they came up with the stupid code....
Originally posted by CB2883J:SG1001D onwards: OmniBus (LTA-ARF exempted)
sbs BSEP mean it belong to sbs but money from tax player. sbs still need to pay LTA money to own the bus.
Originally posted by lemon1974:obviously, there are some other functions which can check... but it is best that it was not disclosed, cos many people have been using the "transfer fee function" until they came up with the stupid code....
I agree that it is best not to disclose, so I'll take your word that they are reflected as TT owned.
Originally posted by wsy1234:sbs BSEP mean it belong to sbs but money from tax player. sbs still need to pay LTA money to own the bus.
Does this have anything to do with "that" press release some time in Q3 about transfer of ownership of BSEP buses back to LTA? Perhaps the difference between those handed back and those not handed back is reflected as the SBS-BSEP.
Come to think of it, the press release about all pre-2014 BSEP buses being transferred back to LTA imply that they will be re-registered en masse?
Pictures have come out on FB. SG5013T, B9TL, white front and rear, SBS livery sides but no logos, EDS ON TEST. White rear has the Give Way to Buses sticker. No trade plate shown.
So it seems quite clear that LTA is standardising to Citaro, B9TL, A22 and Enviro500 for the 4 models of public buses. Common livery is unknown. What we have seen so far is SBS-spec buses with ad wraps. B9TL being assembled locally has white front and rear, Citaro being CBU was painted all round. We do not know about the SMRT-spec models.
Interestingly, TT has chosen to put green nut-checkers on the wheel nuts... this seems to be allowed. They also put it over the Citaro rimcap.
Strange. The SG plated buses so far are the SBS-spec units (B9TL and Citaro) whereas as I heard the SMRT-spec A22 and E500 won the concept bus tender, or at least their manufacturers did...
Originally posted by SG5001C:Strange. The SG plated buses so far are the SBS-spec units (B9TL and Citaro) whereas as I heard the SMRT-spec A22 and E500 won the concept bus tender, or at least their manufacturers did...
dunno leh