Originally posted by SBS2652G:strangely, 103 had 5 DDs yesterday as reported
Nice. 103 loading has definitely increased, and good to see it getting more DDs. More so it has bi-directional high loading during peak hours, so more DDs make sense.
this has been he worst planning quarter for LTA. boo-boo!!
Just adding routes to make up statistics like they did last time around with 324.
Many agree that 134/150 can merge as one service but tp meet kpi, so...
109 is one of the candidates that should get 2 SD->DD conversion. The queue during PM peak from Serangoon interchange has every bus take 70 pax and most buses are SDs until the DDs from CVT who finish their CVT-Serangoon evening trip go back.
Moreover most people who board 109 usually alight at either Boundary road or then Hougang Ave 4. So when a DD comes I see most people rushing to upper deck to get a seat.
Wide enough space for DDs to turn near Parkway East Hospital, juz some road works to improve n prevent kerb damage and remove the private car roadside parking
166 current fleet can meet its demand
Morning peak is freq, at oth times, loading is 3/4 on average
Waiting to chg fr 76 to 134/43/135 may require waiting but tts not e point.
LTA should note, diff services starting fr diff terminals/interchange can run parallel for about 3/4 of the route.
In Hong Kong, eg East Kowloon to TST, 215X, 16X
In London, 10/73/390, almost half of the route is parallel.
even 258 route was badly planned. Heavy duplication with 243G/W. Instead if the route would have been Taman Jurong <> Joo Koon route, would have provided more valuable trunk to Jurong St 81/82 residents.
Proposed route:
Taman Jurong Terminal
Yung Seng Rd (new bus stop)
Corporation Rd (where 178 plies and new HDBs have come)
Lakeside MRT
Jurong West St 51
Jurong West Ave 1
Corporation Road
Jurong West Ave 2
Jalan Bahar
Jurong West Ave 4
Jurong West St 81/82 and route continues to Joo Koon Interchange.
* This way residents would have got better connection to Jurong West Ave 1 / Taman Jurong / Lakeside from st 81/82 rather than just duplicating 243 G/W + would also connect ave 4 / Jalan Bahar / ave 2 that do not have many services today.
Originally posted by gekpohboy:Happen to see a poster in BSEP improvements at the noticeboard at my house down stairs. It’s about the BSEP improvements in Chua Chu Kang GRC and Hong Kah North SMC…
With regards to the extension of 99 to Joo Koon and the introduction of 258,
- 99 extension is to improve accessibility to Joo Koon ITH.
- 258 is to improve accessibility to Pioneer MRT Station and Joo Koon ITH.So, yeah, this explains why 99 was extended and why 258 was introduced.
To be honest, there is a rumour that 258 route will be amended. Apparently, 117 also will be re-routed… well, let’s see about it. Until there is confirmation, all these are only rumours; heresay; gossips.
what is your guess of route amendment of 258?
but we have to acknowledge that 258 has higher loading than many jurong industrial bus services like 253 and 256... if there were to be BSEP new routes removed due to lack of demand, 258 is NOT likely to be one of them. because 258 has the critical mass, like secondary school need critical mass to function. nonetheless, 258 route has room for improvement.
while we are at Jurong West, let me comment on 49. after the extension, 49 route is very long. 49 has its critical mass; it enjoys high loading from 334 and 335's looping point, and Taman Jurong. To be honest, I feel that the extension to Jurong East is not necessary, especially when there is frequent jam on AYE (towards City) in the morning which makes it less attractive for Taman Jurong residents to use. They could have had a new BSEP from Jurong East which loops at IBP area. Anyway, I personally feel that 49 route is too long. It takes around one hour fifteen minutes to complete one run leh... what the fuck? Well, this is only my two cents worth.
Originally posted by gekpohboy:but we have to acknowledge that 258 has higher loading than many jurong industrial bus services like 253 and 256... if there were to be BSEP new routes removed due to lack of demand, 258 is NOT likely to be one of them. because 258 has the critical mass, like secondary school need critical mass to function. nonetheless, 258 route has room for improvement.
while we are at Jurong West, let me comment on 49. after the extension, 49 route is very long. 49 has its critical mass; it enjoys high loading from 334 and 335's looping point, and Taman Jurong. To be honest, I feel that the extension to Jurong East is not necessary, especially when there is frequent jam on AYE (towards City) in the morning which makes it less attractive for Taman Jurong residents to use. They could have had a new BSEP from Jurong East which loops at IBP area. Anyway, I personally feel that 49 route is too long. It takes around one hour fifteen minutes to complete one run leh... what the fuck? Well, this is only my two cents worth.
I agree the 49 extension is kind of a waste but I guess they needed to remove the operating costs from Taman Jurong Terminal. It would have been wise to extend 49 to Joo Koon instead and have it loop at Lake district rather than go Jurong East.
On 256 agree one of the worst loading services.
On 253, bro you need to observe. The loading on 253 is per bus in range of 60-90 pax during peak hours albeit operating at a 06-08 min frequency. 253 was launched with 5 DDs at 10min frequency, then 1 DD was added.
258 huge scope for improvement. Buses leave empty from Boon Lay Interchange. Loading is in range of 30-50 pax, not bad but could have been better with better routing. In fact 49 and 258 could have been merged if LTA had planned well.
Okay. Let me clarify. From what I heard... by the way, it's some random comments from some people during some community event... 258 was supposed to replace 192... and since there are people asking for bus connection to Pioneer MRT, they let 258 ply along Jurong West Street 82/81.... then now they say there may be some changes... not necesarily is 258 amendment. It could be some re-organisation of feeder routes? we never know... Anyway, all these are only some coffee shop talk... say say only... gossips... heresay... rumours... pls do not take my comments seriously... by the way, when I heard this, it was in January... already two months has passed liao... so quite likely it's fake.Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:what is your guess of route amendment of 258?
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I agree the 49 extension is kind of a waste but I guess they needed to remove the operating costs from Taman Jurong Terminal. It would have been wise to extend 49 to Joo Koon instead and have it loop at Lake district rather than go Jurong East.
On 253, bro you need to observe. The loading on 253 is per bus in range of 60-90 pax during peak hours albeit operating at a 06-08 min frequency. 253 was launched with 5 DDs at 10min frequency, then 1 DD was added.
258 huge scope for improvement. Buses leave empty from Boon Lay Interchange. Loading is in range of 30-50 pax, not bad but could have been better with better routing. In fact 49 and 258 could have been merged if LTA had planned well.
Hi Mr BusAnalayzer, as mentioned before, 258 is a Jurong industrial bus service. Its purpose is to bring Jurong West residents to Joo Koon Bus Interchange, for them to transfer to the bus services to their work place in Joo Koon area and Tuas. you should see the loading in the morning, and in the evening. That time I take 258 at around 7am, the bus is quite pack. even the upper deck also quite full, and it's going towards Joo Koon Bus Interchange... by the way, the duplication with 243 at St 81/82/75/64 is also one of its critical masses... if we reroute 258 to completely omit this connection from Gek Poh to Boon Lay Bus Interchange, we are removing one of 258's (two) critical masses... while merging 258 with 49 and using the number 49 may enhance bus connections, it may lead to inefficiency in the bus services, as a longer route is harder to manage - like diseconomy of scale experienced in large companies as the organisation is too big and it's very hard to relay message and ensure quality. Cheers. Thanks.
Today theres about 30 pax onboard 113 frm Hougang ave 10 to lorong ah soo.
perhaps the only solution is to shorten 113 by plying 107's route towards kovan station then ply usual route. Sv 62's frequency during off peak is as high as 20mins as well hence the need for 113 for ppl at hougang going to lorong ah soo.
Originally posted by Sbs6750E:I think 49 extend to JE was a very good idea.
One at Yuan Ching/Corporation had to take bus > MRT for two stops, or take the winding sv 98. Some more you alight at Lakeside from 49/98, must cross overhead bridge. Mah fan.
Nearby but no direct bus connection, why not?
Dont forget Jurong East is the regional centre of the west.
240...and 154A...? :)
of course, you can argue about the area around lake side primary... actually, the HDB flats are within walking distance to a 240 bus stop.... well, on the bright side, climbing stairs is good for health. :)
I agree too that 134/150 should merge. If it merges it would be a brilliant service.
76 deserves to be amended. The service is way too long. It is living hell for Marine Terr residents, having to wait for that sole svc that takes forever to arrive. Its already poor freq, coupled with frequent bunching and delays makes 76 a torture to wait for. Ending at Eunos also gives it a terminating point in the East, reducing bunching for inbound commuters. A nice bold move by LTA this time.
I hope to see 51, 61, 67 get cut in future into two routes. Too long and winding currently.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I hope to see 51, 61, 67 get cut in future into two routes. Too long and winding currently.
14 also no better.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:SDs can tank the load on 136 easily. Observed so many times 136 having 40-50 pax only during peak hours at Kovan (which is the highest loading point of the service by the way).
166 is also doing okay with current fleet. There are multiple other services parallel to route of 166.
132/165 parallel from AMK to Macritchie.
167/980/132 parallel from Upper Thomson to PIE junction
851/980 parallel all the way to Rochor
Also 56/57 join the route in between.
61 between City Hall and Gilman Flyover.
14 between Gilman Flyover and Clementi.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I agree the 49 extension is kind of a waste but I guess they needed to remove the operating costs from Taman Jurong Terminal. It would have been wise to extend 49 to Joo Koon instead and have it loop at Lake district rather than go Jurong East.
My take on 49:
Theoretically, a direct service from Jurong East to Taman Jurong is necessary and ought to happen, given the developments at Jurong East (shopping malls, hospitals etc) and more diverse transport options (NSL, future CRL/JRL) rather than a single Lakeside MRT.
But strangely, loading on 49 failed to pick up even during weekends (when I expected more people to be shopping at Jurong East before taking 49 back home). Possible reasons:
(1) Winding route at Boon Lay Way, and as a result it can take 10 minutes from interchange to Jurong Town Hall Rd
(2) Residents are still used to taking MRT to Lakeside, or shopping at Boon Lay instead before taking 30/154 back
(3) Residents not familiar with the route
Originally posted by SMB128B:I agree too that 134/150 should merge. If it merges it would be a brilliant service.
76 deserves to be amended. The service is way too long. It is living hell for Marine Terr residents, having to wait for that sole svc that takes forever to arrive. Its already poor freq, coupled with frequent bunching and delays makes 76 a torture to wait for. Ending at Eunos also gives it a terminating point in the East, reducing bunching for inbound commuters. A nice bold move by LTA this time.
Now my only hope is that, after the huge chaos of BSEP services, LTA may start looking back at some of the routes and realise how inefficient they are, before making improvements such as merging / amendments...
120, 122, 102/324, 134/150 are some services on my wishlist.
Originally posted by Acx1688:Waiting to chg fr 76 to 134/43/135 may require waiting but tts not e point.
LTA should note, diff services starting fr diff terminals/interchange can run parallel for about 3/4 of the route.
In Hong Kong, eg East Kowloon to TST, 215X, 16X
In London, 10/73/390, almost half of the route is parallel.
Singapore also has a few route-pairs running parallel for a significant portion, such as 25/854, 65/66, 151/154, 162/167.
Originally posted by autumncs:Singapore also has a few route-pairs running parallel for a significant portion, such as 25/854, 65/66, 151/154, 162/167.
Not forgetting 851/852 as well