Originally posted by NOT Path Light:It is probably because 805 is a feeder bus service.
Meanwhile, 258 only has six buses, with a poor frequency of at least ten minutes, and it is very un-reliable at Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
I understand 258 is supposed to relieve loading off 243G and 181, but... at least put 258 in the same berth as 243G mah... :( anyway, 258 loading is quite encouraging...
but, really, 258 only has six buses, whereas 49 at lakeside has so many buses and the frequency is better. so unfair. :(
why LTA did not deploy a mixture of bus models on 258, like some dd some sd.. then the frequency can be slightly better.
... but at least put 258 next to 243G at Boon Lay Bus Interchange leh....
Meanwhile, feeder bus 242 also experiencing long queues. it would be good if we can re-route 258 to help 242 with the loading going to/fro Jurong West Street 72.
generally, I am glad that LTA at least introduced 258, but I am disappointed that LTA did not maximise the potential of 258 in improving and enhancing the bus connections in Jurong West. If I were to rate 258, out of ten points I would only give around five or six. There are at least two rooms for improvement.
first room for improvement: enhance frequency.
second room for improvement: re-route to serve street 72, to help relieve 242 high loading.
Yes, agree that 258 could be done much better with a beefed up frequency with the link to Pioneer MRT. By the way, Mr. Jurong resident, what's the rationale in creating so many duplicate accounts lol when it's inherently obvious that it's you lol
Originally posted by sgxiaobusguy:Yes, agree that 258 could be done much better with a beefed up frequency with the link to Pioneer MRT. By the way, Mr. Jurong resident, what's the rationale in creating so many duplicate accounts lol when it's inherently obvious that it's you lol
With regards to 258, I feel that the link to Pioneer MRT is only a minor objective of the service. The main objectives is to provide bus connections between Jurong West Extension town and the jurong industrial estate (JIE) bus services (ie. 182, 253, 254, 255, 257) at Joo Koon Bus Interchange. The other main objective is to complement the high loading on bus services along Jurong West Street 64/75 during peak hours. The first main objective is definitely an objective of 258, and this alone already warrants an enhancement in the frequency to match the frequency on the JIE bus services. If the second main objective is not an objective of 258, I feel that the LTA should introduce a new bus service for Jurong West Neighbourhood 7 (street 75, street 72 and avenue 5) - or even revamp the feeder bus routes in Jurong West Extension altogether.
Here, I would like to comment on Jurong West Street 81 and Jurong West Street 91. According to the URA Master Plan 1994 and 2003, JW St 81 and St 91 are primary access roads, like Jurong West Street 65 and Street 76. Yet, JW St 81 has 243 (and 258) running in both directions and JW St 91 has 99 running in both directions. I am not sure if primary access roads are really suitable for bus routes to run in both directions. If they are not suitable, I feel that 99 should be reverted to loop at Jurong West Street 91, otherwise bypass the looping area via Street 92 (which is a minor arterial road). For 258, .... actually, I heard that 258 was actually introduced to replace 192, so why not let it ply the 192 route (the one until 2015), or at least bypass st 81 via ave 5 (a minor arterial road)? Whereas for 243, I feel that it should loop from Ave 5 to St 82. Meanwhile, we can have another feeder that loops from Ave 5 to St 72. There will be a loss of bus connections, but on the bright side, this would reduce the loading on the feeder bus services, and prompt the bus company to introduce SWT at the heavily-utilised section at St 64/75.
By the way, I am NOT Path Light.
Originally posted by NOT Path Light:With regards to 258, I feel that the link to Pioneer MRT is only a minor objective of the service. The main objectives is to provide bus connections between Jurong West Extension town and the jurong industrial estate (JIE) bus services (ie. 182, 253, 254, 255, 257) at Joo Koon Bus Interchange. The other main objective is to complement the high loading on bus services along Jurong West Street 64/75 during peak hours. The first main objective is definitely an objective of 258, and this alone already warrants an enhancement in the frequency to match the frequency on the JIE bus services. If the second main objective is not an objective of 258, I feel that the LTA should introduce a new bus service for Jurong West Neighbourhood 7 (street 75, street 72 and avenue 5) - or even revamp the feeder bus routes in Jurong West Extension altogether.
Here, I would like to comment on Jurong West Street 81 and Jurong West Street 91. According to the URA Master Plan 1994 and 2003, JW St 81 and St 91 are primary access roads, like Jurong West Street 65 and Street 76. Yet, JW St 81 has 243 (and 258) running in both directions and JW St 91 has 99 running in both directions. I am not sure if primary access roads are really suitable for bus routes to run in both directions. If they are not suitable, I feel that 99 should be reverted to loop at Jurong West Street 91, otherwise bypass the looping area via Street 92 (which is a minor arterial road). For 258, .... actually, I heard that 258 was actually introduced to replace 192, so why not let it ply the 192 route (the one until 2015), or at least bypass st 81 via ave 5 (a minor arterial road)? Whereas for 243, I feel that it should loop from Ave 5 to St 82. Meanwhile, we can have another feeder that loops from Ave 5 to St 72. There will be a loss of bus connections, but on the bright side, this would reduce the loading on the feeder bus services, and prompt the bus company to introduce SWT at the heavily-utilised section at St 64/75.
By the way, I am NOT Path Light.
Ya, you are not Path Light, but jurongresident right?
Originally posted by SBS7557R:Ya, you are not Path Light, but jurongresident right?
I am no longer the Path Light everyone knew. I have changed for the better; I have turned over a new leaf.
so much so that the leaf was plucked off the plant...
32 amended to Kay Siang Road from March 2016 due to partial closure of Margeret Dr
Originally posted by SBS2652G:32 amended to Kay Siang Road from March 2016 due to partial closure of Margeret Dr
Pros:
No more confusion on whether to take sv 32 or 122 for residents of Margaret
Cons:
Longer walking for Dawson residents to stop of 122
Overall IMO good decision to have same bus stop for 32/122.
Originally posted by SBS2652G:32 amended to Kay Siang Road from March 2016 due to partial closure of Margeret Dr
is it the stretch of margaret drive between dawson road & tanglin road? (where the mosque is there)
All, LTA has announced sam kee LRT will open on 29 feb 2016. This will connect safra Punggol to all parts of Punggol. This will also steal passenger load from 382W. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by Soil2O:Hi. With regards to the new bus service in Eunos and Marine Parade, what is the latest update? If you know, and if you are allowed to reveal, please share here. Thanks.
eunos 76
marine parade 134
revealed long long ago
Originally posted by sgxiaobusguy:Yes, agree that 258 could be done much better with a beefed up frequency with the link to Pioneer MRT. By the way, Mr. Jurong resident, what's the rationale in creating so many duplicate accounts lol when it's inherently obvious that it's you lol
svc 258 average loading not even pass 50%. How to beef up the frequency? Svc 99 got higher demand than this svc between Joo Koon to Jurong West Ave 5.
Originally posted by dupdup77:All, LTA has announced sam kee LRT will open on 29 feb 2016. This will connect safra Punggol to all parts of Punggol. This will also steal passenger load from 382W. Cheers. Thanks.
leap year haha
Originally posted by chickenlittle2:svc 258 average loading not even pass 50%. How to beef up the frequency? Svc 99 got higher demand than this svc between Joo Koon to Jurong West Ave 5.
I do not know about regular hours, but during peak hours, the loading on 258 is usually high from Joo Koon Bus Interchange and usually very high from Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
The loading pattern seems to match that of the other Jurong Industrial bus Services.
Yet, the frequency of 258 during peak hours does not match that of the other Jurong Industrial bus Services.
If possible, I hope the LTA can swap BSEP double decker buses on 258 with BSEP single decker buses. So long as it's BSEP buses, it's okay, right? It need not be Citaro; MAN A22 also can, right? If Single Decker buses are used instead, I guess the average loading on 258 now would have already been enough to call for additional trips during peak periods.
Originally posted by SBS6465E:Very clear LTA wants to ensure that new services avoid heavily duplicating existing services especially between MP & Paya Lebar. LTA also trying to wean off long-haul duplicitous services (like 43 & 76) so that existing resources can be re-deployed to fill in gaps. Between 43 & 76, 76 is a better candidate to be truncated. This is the big problem in the East - too many sama-sama long-distance routes, and many short-haul gaps that need to be filled.
With this in mind, there is an opportunity to re-deploy 76 to serve East Coast Rd or Geylang Rd. But knowing LTA, I suspect they're trying to hit their KPIs by cutting 76s' fleet. The BSEP window is closing as 2017 is coming up, so they will be very conservative I suspect over the next year.
Also suspect the next service on the chopping board will be 13. And a new Eunos-Joo Chiat - Marine Terrace service might be introduced.
I would like to see 76 continue its route to marine terr but the Amber Rd and marine parade road (blk 72) bus stops skipped to amend it to ply east coast road and follow 47 back to marine parade (chij Katong pri), loop at marine terr and back to east coast road.
It will replace the long forgotten Css 608 that used to stop at marine parade road (blk 57) and went to east coast rd (church of holy family), there were considerable amount of pax using that route to alight at east coast road from marine parade blk 57.
East coast road could do with another bus service from marine parade to east coast rd in both directions just like Css608.
Sv134 can replace sv76 route to marine terr as per normal.
But most likely this case it would not happen because sv76 would highly likely serve the eunos area as per mentioned but maybe in the future sv 43/135 may be routed to end at marine terrace maybe?
Originally posted by Soil2O:I do not know about regular hours, but during peak hours, the loading on 258 is usually high from Joo Koon Bus Interchange and usually very high from Boon Lay Bus Interchange.
The loading pattern seems to match that of the other Jurong Industrial bus Services.
Yet, the frequency of 258 during peak hours does not match that of the other Jurong Industrial bus Services.
If possible, I hope the LTA can swap BSEP double decker buses on 258 with BSEP single decker buses. So long as it's BSEP buses, it's okay, right? It need not be Citaro; MAN A22 also can, right? If Single Decker buses are used instead, I guess the average loading on 258 now would have already been enough to call for additional trips during peak periods.
MAN A22 only SMRT lah bro.
From experience, LTA loath to amend 43/76/135 after suggestions were written in to divert to Haig Rd for the increased number of new residences that spring up along this stretch...
Can introduce a new svc from Changi Village to Airport via Loyang to compliment svc 53 to airport.
The easiest to amend among 43/76/135 was sv 76 given its parallel nature with 43 all the way from AMK/YCK road junction to Marine Parade. 135 has dedicated patronage between Circuit road and Parkway Parade / eateries at Tanjong Katong road. Hence, amending 135 is difficult.
Haig road can only get service in part between Dunman and Mountbatten as the part between Geylang Serai and Dunman is quite narrow. I recommend at least 32 be amended to ply Haig road to connect to city and Dakota MRT. 32 having parallelism with 10 and 40 will not really impact commuters and it is a small stretch modification.
I am disappointed that 76 will go to Eunos. It should have gone to Lor 1 Geylang instead, considering there is no service between Aljunied - Paya Lebar stretch connecting to Paya Lebar road, while Eunos has 24, 28, 154, 155.
sv 258 frequency currently is at 12-15 mins. I think it is okay as it is a supplementary service. People don't prefer taking bus from Pioneer given that Boon Lay gives it 243 with a frequency of 03-04 mins. Also Boon Lay has so many amenities.
It is similar to JW St 42 case where you have 49 and 334. People still prefer 334 in PM from Jurong East albeit being longer given that they can do a lot at JE. 49 frequency has been beefed up to 08-10 mins with so many DDs, yet 49 main loading is Corporation - Lakeside.
AM 49 does fetch more pax due to st 41 residents choosing 49 over 335.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I am disappointed that 76 will go to Eunos. It should have gone to Lor 1 Geylang instead, considering there is no service between Aljunied - Paya Lebar stretch connecting to Paya Lebar road, while Eunos has 24, 28, 154, 155.
There is sv80, from Kallang Stn onwards toward paya lebar but not pass paya lebar stn.
Originally posted by Rui jing:There is sv80, from Kallang Stn onwards toward paya lebar but not pass paya lebar stn.
Yes but it does not do Aljunied - Paya Lebar stretch that has lot of shop houses, commercial complexes and residential units.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:Yes but it does not do Aljunied - Paya Lebar stretch that has lot of shop houses, commercial complexes and residential units.
That stretch hasn't been covered since the withdrawal of 864.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:The easiest to amend among 43/76/135 was sv 76 given its parallel nature with 43 all the way from AMK/YCK road junction to Marine Parade. 135 has dedicated patronage between Circuit road and Parkway Parade / eateries at Tanjong Katong road. Hence, amending 135 is difficult.
Haig road can only get service in part between Dunman and Mountbatten as the part between Geylang Serai and Dunman is quite narrow. I recommend at least 32 be amended to ply Haig road to connect to city and Dakota MRT. 32 having parallelism with 10 and 40 will not really impact commuters and it is a small stretch modification.
I have a number of candidates for Mountbatten-Dunman stretch. Your 32 sounds like a good choice. For me, a toss-up between 31/76/197 was on the cards. As for Geylang-Dunman side, I am afraid public buses can only ply in a single direction.