dont forget that 168 also needs to make that one big round at Woodlands square plus another traffic light
Originally posted by orange28:Haha I can add more to the list for svc 168:
- Extra trafflic light junctions at Tampines Ave 9/Concourse, Tampines Ave 7/Ctrl 7
- Exta bus stop along Tampines Ave 9, near said traffic light junction above
Sometimes I wish there's a Fast Forward 168e which travels non-stop between Tampines Ave 7 and Woodlands Interchange (skipping Tampines Ave 9, Ave 10, all stops along TPE/SLE and Woodlands Ave 2). I don't mind paying express fare for that.
I am looking forward to svc 129.
I have been dreaming of a bus route travelling on Bartley Road East ever since the construction of Bartley Road extension started in 2000. I didn't expect to wait for 10 years before the viaduct was fully complete... and another 6 years before there's finally a bus service travelling on it...
From Tampines West to Toa Payoh, Svc 129 would be a good alternative to svc 5 & 59, since the Kaki Bukit / Eunos Link area always has heavy traffic, and PIE (westbound) is always jammed near the exit to CTE.
Originally posted by autumncs:I am looking forward to svc 129.
I have been dreaming of a bus route travelling on Bartley Road East ever since the construction of Bartley Road extension started in 2000. I didn't expect to wait for 10 years before the viaduct was fully complete... and another 6 years before there's finally a bus service travelling on it...
From Tampines West to Toa Payoh, Svc 129 would be a good alternative to svc 5 & 59, since the Kaki Bukit / Eunos Link area always has heavy traffic, and PIE (westbound) is always jammed near the exit to CTE.
Originally posted by orange28:Now that I think about it, could this interchange (Tampines Concourse) be eventually replaced by another bus interchange at Tampines North? Seems quite possible (and easy) to extend 18, 39, 129 to Tampines North ...
Hi mr orange, this tampines concourse interchange is independent of the new tampines north interchange which will be built together with a mall in tampines street 62. Expect the future tampines north town to be super crowded like the tampines town. The tampines north town is just like for our kids generation! Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by orange28:For me I am OK with the 3 additional stops either way. People think that "no stops" is good but it can be slow if the traffic lights are not optimized for the bus. Right now the 969 that I'm on right now has stopped at red lights for at least 3 times before even entering TPE (about 1 minute each) so if going through Tampines Concourse results in a net faster journey, then I'd greatly accept it!
In any case if you want a faster journey you should plead LTA to stop padding the bus schedules so much. Bef Punggol Rd/TPE stop to Khatib MRT in 20 mins? Come on, pre-GCM the same journey took at most 15 minutes!
Hi mr orange28, to each his own. Some will like it and some will not. There are merits and disadvantages to it. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by autumncs:I am looking forward to svc 129.
Hi mr autumncs, service 129 seems a well planned route. A distance of around 20km too. Just nice! Not too short either. Connect three towns tampines, toa payoh and whampoa with enough catchment area to support it. One thing I like is the middle semi-express portion. Nowadays, need some semi-express route to give the journey an added boost in terms of timing. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr lemon1974, it is not funny. At TPE stop, most people purposely wait for 969 to go tampines directly. After the amendment, they may feel that they no need to wait anymore for 969 if 27/34 comes first. Now they still wait for 969 even though 27/34 comes. The speed factor of 969 is somewhat diminished and the added incentive may not be there anymore. Cheers. Thanks.
Thats one of the reason why LTA doesn't want ppl die2 must use that particular svc..After this I'm not suprised 858 also kena disturb.
Expect 129 to have around 7 DDs and 5 SDs for s start.
127 maybe 5 Citaros
Originally posted by carbikebus:Thats one of the reason why LTA doesn't want ppl die2 must use that particular svc..After this I'm not suprised 858 also kena disturb.
Hi mr carbikebus, good for those who are currently staying in tampines concourse area. By the way, with tampines hub opening in stages, this whole tampines central area is going to explode in human traffic with the 2 bus interchanges and the big malls, hub and the DTL3 plus EW mrt. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr carbikebus, good for those who are currently staying in tampines concourse area. By the way, with tampines hub opening in stages, this whole tampines central area is going to explode in human traffic with the 2 bus interchanges and the big malls, hub and the DTL3 plus EW mrt. Cheers. Thanks.
Now already super crowded my friend with those Filipinos,Indians,Chinese PRCs,Burmese new citizens.
Originally posted by carbikebus:Expect 129 to have around 7 DDs and 5 SDs for s start.
127 maybe 5 Citaros
another question is...
how about depot control?
isnt 129 pass by HG depot?
DELETED
Svc 969 is expected, sooner or later, when Tamp Nth is developed and Tamp Ave 12 is realigned, there will be stops there (It is part of the boundary of the town either way). Either way, still got Svc 127.
Svc 129 route checks a lot of boxes IMO. Using Bartley Rd East, which in good conditions, connects Bishan/Serangoon with Tamp in 15-20 mins, TP to Ave 4 (Tamp West MRT), and serve the full stretch of Ave 4.
Svc 127 is pretty much a complement service for Svc 72 (Svc 969 for AM return sector, seeing how packed Svc 969 is). Very high chance to amend to Tamp Nth.
Svc 18 is expected to be thrown out of Tamp Int, since loading normally picks up around Ave 7, not sure about Svc 39 though, loading from Int is slowing going up (Still low enough though) and more pax will be pushed towards Svc 20/291/292 since Svc 39 no longer serve Tamp Int. Loading between towns still won't be affected though, since actual loadings only starts from Ave 5 onwards.
Originally posted by orange28:I agree absolutely! If LTA dare to pull this stun off they'll certainly get a ton of complaints! Already there are people complaining about the extra stops on Tampines Concourse, would you imagine the furor if 969 shifts its terminus to Tampines Concourse Interchange instead?
This is a very Transperth move. Elizabeth Quay (Esplanade) Interchange then BusPort (Wellington Street).
It will be a matter of time before major complaints arise from passengers not being able to board from any of the new bus stops after Tampines Concourse, or even Tampines Concourse itself.
And then LTA will decide to truncate 969 to Tampines Concourse altogether.
I have seen this in Perth before, it will happen in Singapore again.
With 18 & 39 out from the main interchange, I thought 4 & 20 can have proper waiting berths.
but now got this 127.
Among 4, 20 &127 to fight for two berths, which one will lose out? Anyone guessing
Originally posted by Lesterwish:With 18 & 39 out from the main interchange, I thought 4 & 20 can have proper waiting berths.
but now got this 127.
Among 4, 20 &127 to fight for two berths, which one will lose out? Anyone guessing
Hi mr lesterwish, I think 127 will lose out. 4 and 20 will get the two berths. Anyway tampines main interchange net loss = 1 service. Hope it helps alleviate the bus situation there. Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by sgbuses:This is a very Transperth move. Elizabeth Quay (Esplanade) Interchange then BusPort (Wellington Street).
It will be a matter of time before major complaints arise from passengers not being able to board from any of the new bus stops after Tampines Concourse, or even Tampines Concourse itself.
And then LTA will decide to truncate 969 to Tampines Concourse altogether.
I have seen this in Perth before, it will happen in Singapore again.
dun worry lah... 99% of the time, they can board lah... cos 99% of the time, the 969 leave interchange when the seats are fully taken....and ppl behind will wait for the next bus instead of standing all the way to yishun...
Originally posted by Lesterwish:With 18 & 39 out from the main interchange, I thought 4 & 20 can have proper waiting berths.
but now got this 127.
127 and 290 will move into 18 and 39 berths
Originally posted by hgdep103:127 and 290 will move into 18 and 39 berths
Hi mr hgdep103, you mean there is new service 290? Or your typo error? Cheers. Thanks.
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr hgdep103, you mean there is new service 290? Or your typo error? Cheers. Thanks.
yes the reorganisation is only half done
290 to St 86?
126 to Punggol?
Originally posted by azharjj:another question is...
how about depot control?
isnt 129 pass by HG depot?
The T1 is at Tampines Concourse
Originally posted by dupdup77:Hi mr autumncs, service 129 seems a well planned route. A distance of around 20km too. Just nice! Not too short either. Connect three towns tampines, toa payoh and whampoa with enough catchment area to support it. One thing I like is the middle semi-express portion. Nowadays, need some semi-express route to give the journey an added boost in terms of timing. Cheers. Thanks.
No offence, though I would find it sad if LTA decides to pad the schedule so much that the buses have to crawl at 30 km/h along Bartley Road East. Semi-express route is not enough if it does not come with sensible scheduling. Cheers.
Originally posted by autumncs:Sometimes I wish there's a Fast Forward 168e which travels non-stop between Tampines Ave 7 and Woodlands Interchange (skipping Tampines Ave 9, Ave 10, all stops along TPE/SLE and Woodlands Ave 2). I don't mind paying express fare for that.
Personally I think there is probably sufficient demand for such a service every 10 minutes during peak hours (perhaps alternate buses on svc 168 to run express/regular route). I also think there is sufficient demand for such a service that express fares shouldn't be necessary ...