Originally posted by lemon1974:LTA is wasting public funds..... cant they even learn from the lesson from 12e/147e?
True
Originally posted by lemon1974:LTA is wasting public funds..... cant they even learn from the lesson from 12e/147e?
Full fleet DD for a service which is most likely going to be a white elephant but majority SD fleet for its parent route that is barely keeping up with all the SDs... the irony lol.
Let's just hope 851e will turn out fine in terms of loading for taxpayer's sake...
Why must the express services that are introduced (not including BSEP) serve Chinatown? 12e, 147e and 851e all serve Chinatown. Why not an express service that serves somewhere else (eg. Orchard)?
Not being angry here, but why?
maybe LTA should relook the express E service . Can have one going to Tuas area from Toa Payoh ? maybe a 157e or and terminated at tuas bus terminal or exten that 506 from changi air port to tuas bus terminal. and have one from Toa Payoh to Changi business park passby AMK
Originally posted by Marvel68:Full fleet DD for a service which is most likely going to be a white elephant but majority SD fleet for its parent route that is barely keeping up with all the SDs... the irony lol.
Let's just hope 851e will turn out fine in terms of loading for taxpayer's sake...
851 E should be help mrt line I think. But a revamp 128 maybe a better service
Originally posted by JKYY:Why must the express services that are introduced (not including BSEP) serve Chinatown? 12e, 147e and 851e all serve Chinatown. Why not an express service that serves somewhere else (eg. Orchard)?
Not being angry here, but why?
They are resurrecting bus routes that were withdrawn in any of the MRT rationalisation exercises. But there will not be anymore bus services to Shenton Way, simply put because it is too congested with all the Premiums and City Directs (651-672).
Other than that, I saw another deviation - which is 7A and 7B into Orchard Road.
Originally posted by Marvel68:Full fleet DD for a service which is most likely going to be a white elephant but majority SD fleet for its parent route that is barely keeping up with all the SDs... the irony lol.
Seriously speaking, LTA had made a very bad move since last Dec. I dun understand why LTA want extend lifespan of those old bendies even though there are enough B3 A95s to replace them. In fact I had been looking forward to see more WAB DD buses to replace the old bendies, especially on the Sembawang-Yishun package side. Even 184 is not receiving any DDs and still using so many old bendies despite going WAB last Dec.
Instead LTA go and introduce so many useless routes and wasted so many new A95s down there. The new A95 units should be put to SMRT to replace every single old bendy that is due for retirement after reaching 17 years, not to put up a show on those low demand new routes.
Those express services like 12e and 147e should just deploy full fleet single decks from their respective spare fleet. And I also dun see a need for 7A and 7B to be deployed with full fleet DD as well.
Since SBST had taken in 6 new E6 A95 units, they should be given to HGDEP as there are a number of outgoing Tridents that are going to be next in line to retire. Tridents getting lifespan extension is the last thing that I want to see from LTA, also given their poor conditions.
I am not going to fight a war here but this is just my thoughts.
Originally posted by SBS8676Z:Seriously speaking, LTA had made a very bad move since last Dec. I dun understand why LTA want extend lifespan of those old bendies even though there are enough B3 A95s to replace them. In fact I had been looking forward to see more WAB DD buses to replace the old bendies, especially on the Sembawang-Yishun package side. Even 184 is not receiving any DDs and still using so many old bendies despite going WAB last Dec.
Instead LTA go and introduce so many useless routes and wasted so many new A95s down there. The new A95 units should be put to SMRT to replace every single old bendy that is due for retirement after reaching 17 years, not to put up a show on those low demand new routes.
Those express services like 12e and 147e should just deploy full fleet single decks from their respective spare fleet. And I also dun see a need for 7A and 7B to be deployed with full fleet DD as well.
Since SBST had taken in 6 new E6 A95 units, they should be given to HGDEP as there are a number of outgoing Tridents that are going to be next in line to retire. Tridents getting lifespan extension is the last thing that I want to see from LTA, also given their poor conditions.
Could have been a different situation if those 2 C151As didn't collide at Joo Koon back then..
Originally posted by SBS8676Z:Seriously speaking, LTA had made a very bad move since last Dec. I dun understand why LTA want extend lifespan of those old bendies even though there are enough B3 A95s to replace them. In fact I had been looking forward to see more WAB DD buses to replace the old bendies, especially on the Sembawang-Yishun package side. Even 184 is not receiving any DDs and still using so many old bendies despite going WAB last Dec.
A24 cannot be replaced by A95, capacity difference.
Originally posted by SMB315C:Could have been a different situation if those 2 C151As didn't collide at Joo Koon back then..
frankly speaking, how does 12e/147e/2A/7A/7B help in case of breakdown on EWL? how many paxes can they fetch if really EWL breakdown esp with the 30 mins frequency.
agree with most of your points... esp on 12e/147e/7A/7B.
7A/7B should just be withdrawn and they can just easily add 6 buses to sv7 to improve the frequency... (right now,there are a lot of bunching of 7A/7B/7 buses and also when 7A/7B turn around to serve as sv7).
for 2A, they can simply withdrawn the am trips..additional buses deploy on sv2 toward Chinatown should return to tanah merah off service to start new trips, rather than running empty trips on 2A. same go for the PM peak, whereby 2A buses should return off service to chinatown to start new trips.
true.. like what i said, LTA does not see the need to give more DD for sv851 (which mean that LTA feel that the demand is not there)... so why does LTA decide to introduce 851E with full fleet DDs? to cater for MRT breakdown?
Originally posted by lemon1974:true.. like what i said, LTA does not see the need to give more DD for sv851 (which mean that LTA feel that the demand is not there)... so why does LTA decide to introduce 851E with full fleet DDs? to cater for MRT breakdown?
We are not really sure if 851E is really full DD yet, only this Sunday will know, maybe we make ourselves angsty too early.
But I have a feeling that 851E will eventually have better loading than 851, perhaps reason enough for it to become a basic service in due course and become "851" with the original 851 becoming 851M or something.
851E has the same potential as 857.
Originally posted by lemon1974:frankly speaking, how does 12e/147e/2A/7A/7B help in case of breakdown on EWL? how many paxes can they fetch if really EWL breakdown esp with the 30 mins frequency.
Exactly.. Most clueless pax will just wait for the free shuttle bus to activate instead of considering which bus service can bring them there regardless how long the route will take..
Free bus boarding also kinda chaotic at times...
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:We are not really sure if 851E is really full DD yet, only this Sunday will know, maybe we make ourselves angsty too early.
But I have a feeling that 851E will eventually have better loading than 851, perhaps reason enough for it to become a basic service in due course and become "851" with the original 851 becoming 851M or something.
851E has the same potential as 857.
a lot of ppl are saying that the new E6 A95 are definitely for 851E.
dun think it will have good demand.. it take 45 mins to reach little india from yishun. mrt take 27mins.
55 mins to reach city hall. mrt - 30 mins..
that stretch of CTE is prone to jam as well..
Originally posted by lemon1974:a lot of ppl are saying that the new E6 A95 are definitely for 851E.
dun think it will have good demand.. it take 45 mins to reach little india from yishun. mrt take 27mins.
55 mins to reach city hall. mrt - 30 mins..
that stretch of CTE is prone to jam as well..
We'll see loh. Personally I won't mind spending 15 to 20 mins more to have a good ride to work rather than sardining in an MRT for 30 minutes and getting my temper all flared up rubbing buttocks with strangers.
857 also about an hour from Yishun to town.
I was hoping 851 would see more DDs after moving to SBST but guess LTA is screwing the deployments. Still so frustrated everyday looking at the massive SD fleet on 969 when empty DDs run on 46/83/119/12e/7a/7b etc.
Spotted SG5921Y on training outside Clarke Quay MRT without any corporate logo. The side EDS seems to be like a LCD panel with colour display (either partially or fully), couldn't see clearly as i was some distance away.
Originally posted by BusAnalayzer:I was hoping 851 would see more DDs after moving to SBST but guess LTA is screwing the deployments. Still so frustrated everyday looking at the massive SD fleet on 969 when empty DDs run on 46/83/119/12e/7a/7b etc.
Actually if all 7 DD's run at the same time on 851, it would somewhat still suffice but I don't understand why they allocate 7 DD's but only max 3 or 4 run at the same time.
851 also doesn't need so many SD's. I don't understand why they pump 20+ SD's on the service, not like all the buses are running on the service at the same time - a drive through the 851 route would see only about 8 to 10 buses going the full opposite direction including the DD's.
Reduce the SD's and make all 7 DD's full AP duties for a start would already be an improvement.
Theoretically 851 is 1/4 DD fleet but in reality it is only 1/6 or 1/7 in practice.
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Actually if all 7 DD's run at the same time on 851, it would somewhat still suffice but I don't understand why they allocate 7 DD's but only max 3 or 4 run at the same time.
851 also doesn't need so many SD's. I don't understand why they pump 20+ SD's on the service, not like all the buses are running on the service at the same time - a drive through the 851 route would see only about 8 to 10 buses going the full opposite direction including the DD's.
Reduce the SD's and make all 7 DD's full AP duties for a start would already be an improvement.
actually all 7 DDs run at the same time. 730-815am, 4 DDs (5136/5137/5148/5149) will passby AMK Ave 6 (yck mrt) towards Yishun.
SG5066 will passby YCK Mrt (to city) at around 735 am. think follow by 5067 2 trips later. i think 5135 is on a slightly earlier or later slot towards city after 5067. (and by then 5136 should have already reach yishun and should depart around 805-810am.
Originally posted by lemon1974:actually all 7 DDs run at the same time. 730-815am, 4 DDs (5136/5137/5148/5149) will passby AMK Ave 6 (yck mrt) towards Yishun.
SG5066 will passby YCK Mrt (to city) at around 735 am. think follow by 5067 2 trips later. i think 5135 is on a slightly earlier or later slot towards city after 5067. (and by then 5136 should have already reach yishun and should depart around 805-810am.
Yeah but thats the morning split hours ma. After that no more liao.
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Yeah but thats the morning split hours ma. After that no more liao.
off peak no need so much DDs lah..think got at least 3-4 are AP shift.
Pm peak still got 7 DDs though..
Originally posted by lemon1974:off peak no need so much DDs lah..think got at least 3-4 are AP shift.
Pm peak still got 7 DDs though..
Hmm so when people say 851 DD not enough, I suppose it means should add more peak DD's (lets say 10-12) but still 3-4 DD's during off peak ah?
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Hmm so when people say 851 DD not enough, I suppose it means should add more peak DD's (lets say 10-12) but still 3-4 DD's during off peak ah?
yes.. add more peak DDs... at least 10-12 or every alternate trips is DD during peak... off peak demand not so good lah... no need so much DDs.
Originally posted by lemon1974:yes.. add more peak DDs... at least 10-12 or every alternate trips is DD during peak... off peak demand not so good lah... no need so much DDs.
Like that a lot of idle DD's during off peak leh. And not really possible to zhong DD's from other services to crossover during peak hours coz those services will also need their DD's during peak.