Yes, if SBST is allowed to operate bus services in Yishun, Tibs will definitely improve their bus services to protect their own interests. I am wondering, since svc 806 passengers are taking svc 804 on Sundays / PH, why Bendy Buses are not deployed?Originally posted by TIB1186Z:Ever since SBST started 168 and 161 in Woodlands, the service by TIBS had been forced to improve as well. 969 and 965 are the consequence of the 2 services. The intoduction of VSOs had also forced TIBS to deploy better buses, such as Volgren 0405Gs on 969.
Do you think that if SBST is allowed to operate in Yishun, the same improvement would also occur?, since the TIBS operations in Yishun is passable at best. According to the PTC, there is a regulation that for every x households, there must be a trunk service.
However, in the Nee Soon East constituency, the largest SDC in Singapore, the only trunk is the rather pathetic 520 through the lower half of the Ring Rd. after Avenue 9. However, most of the blocks are clustered in the part between Ave. 9 and Ave. 11, but there are only 2 feeder services.
However, 806 does not even operate during Sundays and PH, citing 'low pax deamnd'. This results in tremendously long queues during Sundays and PH for 804, yet the obstinate TIBS, after so many years, still cite the low pax demand.
I feel that a trunk passing through Yishun Ring Rd. between Ave. 11 and Ave. 9 by SBST may be in order, and would force TIBS to improve their services, despite the PTC restriction which doesn't even really hold now about the control area. What do you'll think?
This is because svc 804 have to make a U-turn along Yishun Avenue 1 to go back to the interchange. The moderate, but fast traffic with speeding trucks and cars make it difficult for buses to turn into the L-shaped thing to reverse, and the length is insufficient to accomodate Bendys.Originally posted by off_service:Yes, if SBST is allowed to operate bus services in Yishun, Tibs will definitely improve their bus services to protect their own interests. I am wondering, since svc 806 passengers are taking svc 804 on Sundays / PH, why Bendy Buses are not deployed?
Actually not only Yishun, Sembawang is facing the same problem.
Yes I agree fully. I tend to think the svc there as TIBS 'premier' services. I especially envy the frequency of 190 and 180 with its Bendys.........If only 851 have that, sigh.Originally posted by oliver_yuen87:But even without SBST, bukit panjang and CCK service is good[/quote]
So the service captains are facing the same U-turn thing again? Or the express sector helped the O405G skip the U-turn?Originally posted by TIB1186Z:This is because svc 804 have to make a U-turn along Yishun Avenue 1 to go back to the interchange. The moderate, but fast traffic with speeding trucks and cars make it difficult for buses to turn into the L-shaped thing to reverse, and the length is insufficient to accomodate Bendys.
FYI, TIBS did try deploying Bendys on 804 in 1999, and I happen to be on board when the bus made the U-turn. If you think that the 3 point reversing at Harbourfront is serious enough, this is worse. Basically, the bus driver missed the narrow entrance to the L-shaped thingy and had to reverse, and effectively dammed the road, and after some hair-raising struggle, he went into the L-shaped thing, but ended up stuck there. If I remember correctly, there is hedge or poles at the end to prevent overshooting. The thing is designed for a 12m 0405, not a 17+m 0405G. Thus, there is that trailer hanging out in the road and caused a bit of hold-up. I dun know how the driver did it before my trip, but I guessed he attempted an articulator-breaking turn. Anyway, I think the bus behind got the inspector with him to and helped to direct traffic and the Bendy driver while he reverse on the whole road. It took 10 minutes before the bus got going to the next bus stop. After that, 0405Gs are history on 804.
However, there are still Bendys deployed on 804 today, especially in the afternoon, using 806 Bendys. The route is similar to the old 804A, where the bus expressed from the interchanged to the Blk 356 bus stop to pick up its first passengers, and follows the normal 804 route after that.
Hope this answers your queries
I saw 2 Lance 211s on service 851 today, TIB 1017 was on svc 980.Originally posted by TIB1186Z:Yes I agree fully. I tend to think the svc there as TIBS 'premier' services. I especially envy the frequency of 190 and 180 with its Bendys.........If only 851 have that, sigh.
The express sector skipped the U-turn thing...It just turns left from Yishun Ave 11 onto Yishun Ring Rd.Originally posted by off_service:So the service captains are facing the same U-turn thing again? Or the express sector helped the O405G skip the U-turn?
During my 4 year tenure in Bishan, I have to agree that the only feeder service 410 is simply pathetic, you can wait like siao when you are in a rush for time. Not to mention service 54 with its sometimes very long frequency. TIBS should enter the area, since its near AMK depot, and I would put up a suggestion to them to take all the Lances to Bishan, esp. the Lance 211s, since it is geographically nearer than Yishun.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Yes, there needs to be competition for improvement. Waiting for TIBS to launch a service into Bishan and let's see how much SBST service improves.
Yes! I won't mind all 15(is it?) Lance 211s at Bishan, I'm addicted to them, LOLOriginally posted by TIB1186Z:During my 4 year tenure in Bishan, I have to agree that the only feeder service 410 is simply pathetic, you can wait like siao when you are in a rush for time. Not to mention service 54 with its sometimes very long frequency. TIBS should enter the area, since its near AMK depot, and I would put up a suggestion to them to take all the Lances to Bishan, esp. the Lance 211s, since it is geographically nearer than Yishun.
Maybe Tibs can divert either services 851 or 852 to serve Bishan and AMK MRT station, via St 21, Bishan Rd, AMK Ave 8 and Ave 3. This can reduce duplication of the 2 services from Yishun to Marymount Rd.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Yes, there needs to be competition for improvement. Waiting for TIBS to launch a service into Bishan and let's see how much SBST service improves.
Oh no please no. 851 and 852 are already very long enough in its own right, and the travelling time is catastrophic during the peak hours. Maybe I would appreciate that when I am still in Bishan, but now, taking 50 to 1h5mins in the morning from Yishun to Bt. Timah is enough for me, adding the crowded Bishan Rd would force me to take the train, but its true that it may be workable as 852 has a low load factor for some time of the day, and with the Lances, SBS9818A is going to love it, right?Originally posted by tranquilice:Maybe Tibs can divert either services 851 or 852 to serve Bishan and AMK MRT station, via St 21, Bishan Rd, AMK Ave 8 and Ave 3. This can reduce duplication of the 2 services from Yishun to Marymount Rd.
Yes, 852 SHOULD be diverted, at least I don't have to take pain-in-the-butt 156 to get to Clementi(although I still have to change services). Yes, I'll love the presence of Lance 211s in Bishan very much.Originally posted by TIB1186Z:Oh no please no. 851 and 852 are already very long enough in its own right, and the travelling time is catastrophic during the peak hours. Maybe I would appreciate that when I am still in Bishan, but now, taking 50 to 1h5mins in the morning from Yishun to Bt. Timah is enough for me, adding the crowded Bishan Rd would force me to take the train, but its true that it may be workable as 852 has a low load factor for some time of the day, and with the Lances, SBS9818A is going to love it, right?
Even if your suggestion is feasible, given the current situation, it will take ages for it to come true.Originally posted by xin1jun2:i got this suggestion
Service 850
YISHUN -> BT MERAH
via: Yishun ave 2 - lentor ave - ANg mo Kio ave 6 / / whole stretch of ave 10, ave 1 , bishan rd , braddel rd , Lornie rd , adam rd , Farrer rd , Holland rd , Hollnad village, North Bouna Vista rd , AYE , Depot rd , Bt merah int
WARNING! suggestion has never been suggested to TIBS.
Darryl: how u like this route?
ZYX
Why does this service plys the whole stretch of AMK Ave 10? It would be better if it serves AMK MRT station.Originally posted by xin1jun2:i got this suggestion
Service 850
YISHUN -> BT MERAH
via: Yishun ave 2 - lentor ave - ANg mo Kio ave 6 / / whole stretch of ave 10, ave 1 , bishan rd , braddel rd , Lornie rd , adam rd , Farrer rd , Holland rd , Hollnad village, North Bouna Vista rd , AYE , Depot rd , Bt merah int
WARNING! suggestion has never been suggested to TIBS.
Darryl: how u like this route?
ZYX