The Land Transport Authority (LTA) called a tender today to purchase 100 three-door buses.
100 Three-Door Buses
2. Based on the positive feedback from commuters and encouraging results of the recent three-door bus trials, LTA will purchase 100 three-door buses which will be deployed on the road in 2020. This will allow LTA to better assess suitability for fleet-wide implementation, and also replace ageing buses in the fleet.
Three-Door Bus Pilot in 2017
3. As part of the earlier trials, a three-door double-deck bus was operated by Tower Transit on Service 143 from March to September last year and a three-door single-deck bus was operated by SMRT on Service 190 and Service 901 from June 2017 to January 2018.
4. Commuters welcomed the additional door on the buses as it made boarding and alighting from buses smoother and quicker. To further improve commuter flows and shorten journey times, LTA will explore feasible improvements to the current bus designs with bus suppliers.
https://www.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=2dcdcc99-84fa-497a-afd8-f4694178a566
Definitely going be DDs unless mix of SD and DD ...
Upcoming buses
Euro 6 MAN SDs and DDs
Volvo 7900H
Volvo 7900E
3-Door Euro 6 DDs
Edit: It's DDs.
Procurement of 3-Door Euro 6 Double Deck Diesel Buses (Contract Ref. PT342)
Skali they throw a spanner in the works and buy Arctics ... also 3 door ma so technically does not clash with the statement. But highly unlikely lah.
Would love it if all DD. Prefer no SD. No more new SD's except for electric buses, please.
I have read your article; it is very informative and helpful for me. I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. Thanks for posting it.
Originally posted by AntiDennisLance:Skali they throw a spanner in the works and buy Arctics ... also 3 door ma so technically does not clash with the statement. But highly unlikely lah.
Would love it if all DD. Prefer no SD. No more new SD's except for electric buses, please.
I don't care what sort of buses they buy, as long as it is Scania can liao. Imagine if they bought 100 E6 K310UAs. Wahaha.
Remember what sgbuses said?MAN all the way till 2025,So chew it.
Brace yourselves for the "people are gonna foot the bill of the lobbyists with $3.50 fares" comments..
Scania doesn't have 12.8m / 13m chassis in its portfolio. But chassis extension by Gemilang is possible . But scania k310UA are really bumpy ( sit in the rear upper level )
Volvo B8L hasn't been proven yet on our island yet.
Enviro 500 mmc 12.8m is common in HK streets with quite successful operations
MAN has quite alot of experience in 3 doors 12.8 /13m buses in Europe & is the main supplier of the 3 door trial unit so this give them quite the advantage in tender.
Confirm LTA will be purchasing Euro 6 DDs. LTA published it on tender on their website.
Originally posted by JKYY:Confirm LTA will be purchasing Euro 6 DDs. LTA published it on tender on their website.
Did the tender state only DD?
Originally posted by JKYY:Confirm LTA will be purchasing Euro 6 DDs. LTA published it on tender on their website.
Maybe you mix up with the euro6 DD tender
Originally posted by carbikebus:Maybe you mix up with the euro6 DD tender
Procurement of 3-Door Euro 6 Double Deck Diesel Buses (Contract Ref. PT342).
Originally posted by TIB987K:Procurement of 3-Door Euro 6 Double Deck Diesel Buses (Contract Ref. PT342).
Oh ok
Originally posted by TIB987K:Procurement of 3-Door Euro 6 Double Deck Diesel Buses (Contract Ref. PT342).
Hooray!!
Hmm the tender is removed...
Originally posted by JKYY:Hmm the tender is removed...
Maybe LTA ppl see here leh
I hope this time they build something like the ADL 3 doors,What’s the use of so called 2 doors in the middle when everyone stuck there?Faster alighting my foot!
Originally posted by JKYY:Hmm the tender is removed...
It's on GeBiz website.
Originally posted by Formususeonly:Scania doesn't have 12.8m / 13m chassis in its portfolio. But chassis extension by Gemilang is possible . But scania k310UA are really bumpy ( sit in the rear upper level )
Volvo B8L hasn't been proven yet on our island yet.
Enviro 500 mmc 12.8m is common in HK streets with quite successful operations
MAN has quite alot of experience in 3 doors 12.8 /13m buses in Europe & is the main supplier of the 3 door trial unit so this give them quite the advantage in tender.
Did you mean KUD? KUA is bendy.
Originally posted by carbikebus:I hope this time they build something like the ADL 3 doors,What’s the use of so called 2 doors in the middle when everyone stuck there?Faster alighting my foot!
Originally posted by ND323F:According to the tender spec, 12.5m (max), 3rd door must be after rear axle.
No chassis, can do it. Period.
Both mandatory requirements, no compromise?
There is only one chassis that does squarely meet both requirements.
Originally posted by sgbuses:Both mandatory requirements, no compromise?
MAN
NB4L extend? hahahaha