Agree with you. Fastest way from Toa Payoh to Changi Airport. however, comparing from CCK/Bt Batok, MRT might be comparatively faster.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Yes, this is the part that pisses me off! Sv. 989 is my only link to the airport that is FASTER and CHEAPER than the MRT or Sv. 53, and TIBS have to withdraw it? I have never been so disappointed with TIBS my whole life. As for SBST, I heck-care already.
You mean bcos of the circuitous loop at CCK/Bt. Batok that 989 makes, MRT might be faster?Originally posted by off_service:Agree with you. Fastest way from Toa Payoh to Changi Airport. however, comparing from CCK/Bt Batok, MRT might be comparatively faster.
I believe that this new route will cause an uproar by service 989 passengers working at Changi Airport. I took service 989 last monday (07 July) along Jln Kolam Ayer at 2.30pm to the airport, and almost every seats are taken up. This shows that service 989 still have enough demand.Originally posted by off_service:The new service 985 will ply from Choa Chu Kang Interchange to Teck Whye Ave, follow the route of service 185 to Jalan Jurong Kechil, then it will go onto the PIE till Jalan Toa Payoh, where it will exit to Bendemeer Road, turn into Boon Keng Road and terminate at Geylang Lorong 1.
I wish! Then there will be another Tibs service at my place.Originally posted by tranquilice:I believe that this new route will cause an uproar by service 989 passengers working at Changi Airport. I took service 989 last monday (07 July) along Jln Kolam Ayer at 2.30pm to the airport, and almost every seats are taken up. This shows that service 989 still have enough demand.
Also, the new route will cause inconvenience to passengers along Bukit Batok East Ave 6 as now they are left with service 189. And there will be only service 945 to serve Bukit Gombak station.
Indeed, this is one of the worse amendment I have seen. Instead of terminating at Lor 1 Geylang, it could follow service 857 route and terminates at Marina Centre.
Yes. Passenger load is healthy for Sv. 989, and like what I mentioned to Hao Rui, if FEW people are going to Changi, how many will go to Geylang? Stupidest decision TIBS has made, DAMN them!Originally posted by tranquilice:I believe that this new route will cause an uproar by service 989 passengers working at Changi Airport. I took service 989 last monday (07 July) along Jln Kolam Ayer at 2.30pm to the airport, and almost every seats are taken up. This shows that service 989 still have enough demand.
Also, the new route will cause inconvenience to passengers along Bukit Batok East Ave 6 as now they are left with service 189. And there will be only service 945 to serve Bukit Gombak station.
Indeed, this is one of the worse amendment I have seen. Instead of terminating at Lor 1 Geylang, it could follow service 857 route and terminates at Marina Centre.
I wonder that so.... Last August 5th, Service 989 was implemented as a bus service plying between Choa Chu Kang and Changi Airport. It's not even a year and Tibs' intergrating Service 185 and Service 989 into one big stupid service called Service 985, which I guess wont have much passenger demands !Originally posted by SBS9818A:Yes. Passenger load is healthy for Sv. 989, and like what I mentioned to Hao Rui, if FEW people are going to Changi, how many will go to Geylang? Stupidest decision TIBS has made, DAMN them!
Someone from our group has written a letter to TIBS regarding this issue already.Originally posted by hopy:can we like write a peition to them anot? really such a waste to remove tt service leh
A correctionOriginally posted by Rachel_Lim:I wonder that so.... Last August 5th, Service 989 was implemented as a bus service plying between Choa Chu Kang and Changi Airport. It's not even a year and Tibs' intergrating Service 185 and Service 989 into one big stupid service called Service 985, which I guess wont have much passenger demands !![]()
Oops...Originally posted by tranquilice:A correctionService 989 is introduced on Sunday, 05 August 2001.
Increase as in remove 1 or 2 buses from the fleet? Which will mean longer waiting time for me at Jalan TPY? Oh come on, Sv. 989 has the passenger loads, TIBS are just trying to be funny by alienating TPY residents since it's much faster getting to the airport via Sv. 989 than the MRT! I'm a firm supporter of Sv. 989, if you didn't know.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Hmmmm , hopefully TIBS will consider the letter(someone wrote regarding withdrawal of 989) . Perhaps they can increase the frequency of the bus route instead of removing the service .
me too, since I was re-located to Bt Timah areaOriginally posted by SBS9818A:Increase as in remove 1 or 2 buses from the fleet? Which will mean longer waiting time for me at Jalan TPY? Oh come on, Sv. 989 has the passenger loads, TIBS are just trying to be funny by alienating TPY residents since it's much faster getting to the airport via Sv. 989 than the MRT! I'm a firm supporter of Sv. 989, if you didn't know.
How are the load on service 646 (Toa Payoh to Changi Airport)? Is it still in service?Originally posted by SBS9818A:Increase as in remove 1 or 2 buses from the fleet? Which will mean longer waiting time for me at Jalan TPY? Oh come on, Sv. 989 has the passenger loads, TIBS are just trying to be funny by alienating TPY residents since it's much faster getting to the airport via Sv. 989 than the MRT! I'm a firm supporter of Sv. 989, if you didn't know.
I suppose it is still in service. However, I think the bus operator would have plans to withdraw it, along with services like service 638 and 64x.Originally posted by tranquilice:How are the load on service 646 (Toa Payoh to Changi Airport)? Is it still in service?
Yah lah, Hao Rui told me your story of going from NJC to airport via 154, 151, 156 and then 989 within 45 minutes, camp there for an hour and a half and back to NJ within 45 mins huh?Originally posted by TIB1186Z:me too, since I was re-located to Bt Timah area
Yes, but not svc 156, as the CJC bus stop is not safe as buses sometimes miss it as it is just off the e-way, so I use the one at Trellis Towers. But I only tried it twice and now TIBS want to withdraw it.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Yah lah, Hao Rui told me your story of going from NJC to airport via 154, 151, 156 and then 989 within 45 minutes, camp there for an hour and a half and back to NJ within 45 mins huh?
So you only have Sv. 154 or Sv. 151 to work with? You should do it more lahz, try your luck a bit!Originally posted by TIB1186Z:Yes, but not svc 156, as the CJC bus stop is not safe as buses sometimes miss it as it is just off the e-way, so I use the one at Trellis Towers. But I only tried it twice and now TIBS want to withdraw it.