From your description it should be the demonstrator low floor superbus of SBS Transit. FYI, SBS Transit had scrapped the idea of EDS and the new Superbuses (similar to the demonstrator) are using plastic destination boards.Originally posted by FireIce:yday i was waiting for bus 80 at about 7+pm.....there was this pretty old uncle (but not old enuf to be called ah pek) oso waiting for 80......
soon bus 80 came but the display is the LCD one...black background with greenish-yellow words and numbers....not the usual red one with white prints......
i could see that the uncle was having problem reading.....
the sky was not totally dark yet so the LCD display is not bery well contrasted.......
for me i took a while to realise it's 80 oso.....firstly might be im not used to seeing LCD display buses....and secondly...the number is on the right side (from viewer's POV) with the details of the route cluttering 80% of the whole display window.....
im not asking for this to be scrapped but im sure there are ways to improve on this.......as i think this is especially unfriendly to uncles and aunties with "lao hua"
I prefer SBS Transit's method, putting the number on the right (from passenger's view). E.g. "SENGKANG 80" instead of "80 SENGKANG". The first would enable passengers to see the service number without trouble even it there is a bus infront. I had numerous experience of unable to see the service number of Tibs buses as they are blocked off by the bus infront.Originally posted by Ah Ma:nwadays gt this kinda bus v hard to see the no...like gt 3 digits...171 then have to take some time to see till the 3rd digit...to confirm is the bus....yeah the bus drive pass u....is gone.......
talking abt bus, wow Cow!..yest i took bus home....i press the bell to stop then me & 1 passenger get up stand at the door waiting for the driver to stop for us to alight...who knows..the bus driver nv stop....pubosai! dono is cock eye or deaf....ppl yell at him he keep driving till the next stop then stop.....in the end walk so far..expressway...back to my bus stop!somemore at nite ah ma walk lau hua wait fall into the drain.....too anxious to drop off till i forgt to look at the bus no...if nt can complain!![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:yday i was waiting for bus 80 at about 7+pm.....there was this pretty old uncle (but not old enuf to be called ah pek) oso waiting for 80......
soon bus 80 came but the display is the LCD one...black background with greenish-yellow words and numbers....not the usual red one with white prints......
the sky was not totally dark yet so the LCD display is not bery well contrasted.......
for me i took a while to realise it's 80 oso.....firstly might be im not used to seeing LCD display buses....and secondly...the number is on the right side (from viewer's POV) with the details of the route cluttering 80% of the whole display window.....
im not asking for this to be scrapped but im sure there are ways to improve on this.......as i think this is especially unfriendly to uncles and aunties with "lao hua"
Black background with green-yellow text right? Volvo B10TL SBS 9888Y.Originally posted by FireIce:yday i was waiting for bus 80 at about 7+pm.....there was this pretty old uncle (but not old enuf to be called ah pek) oso waiting for 80......
Until now I think it's not feasible. The only feasible uses are the Next Bus Departure System or the one used in MRT stations. For most companies, they are using Electronic LED / Flip Dot signs.Originally posted by Parka:Wonder when they are going to use Plasma
I believe the others you saw are those with orange wordings. But what do you think of Tibs' EDS then?Originally posted by FireIce:if the sky is dark enuf then the words will be well contrasted.....the greenish-yellow will stand out and ppl can see it clearly.......but the prob is...i see these buses ard in the late afternoon....when it's still not that dark yet....
saw another one today......oso 80......and another one....i think is 51 or wat.....din get to see clearly.......
dun need no oso can complain provide u can provide details, like svc no, time location etcOriginally posted by Ah Ma:nwadays gt this kinda bus v hard to see the no...like gt 3 digits...171 then have to take some time to see till the 3rd digit...to confirm is the bus....yeah the bus drive pass u....is gone.......
talking abt bus, wow Cow!..yest i took bus home....i press the bell to stop then me & 1 passenger get up stand at the door waiting for the driver to stop for us to alight...who knows..the bus driver nv stop....pubosai! dono is cock eye or deaf....ppl yell at him he keep driving till the next stop then stop.....in the end walk so far..expressway...back to my bus stop!somemore at nite ah ma walk lau hua wait fall into the drain.....too anxious to drop off till i forgt to look at the bus no...if nt can complain!![]()
Those are of new technologies, like LEDs. The older flip dot signs are harder to make out the letters, like those on old Tibs buses. They use flourescent tubes that's (I think..) the yellow dots will reflect light so harder to see. The LEDs uses individual small bulbs to light up a certain "dot" and these "dots" will make up the digits or letters and hence less reflection and more precise.Originally posted by FireIce:this morning i saw the orange wordings one........tt one can see leh....no problem........
Volvo B10TL is the technical name of the Volvo low floor superbus, in case anyone of you wonders what is B10TL.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Black background with green-yellow text right? Volvo B10TL SBS 9888Y.
The orange wording bus has Twin Vision EDS system installed, it's a LED, therefore much easier to see.Originally posted by FireIce:this morning i saw the orange wordings one........tt one can see leh....no problem........
Originally posted by off_service:Until now I think it's not feasible. The only feasible uses are the Next Bus Departure System or the one used in MRT stations. For most companies, they are using Electronic LED / Flip Dot signs.