I do agree that MRT station are usually built right under a road, however the orientation of Holland station for CCL puzzle me. The station was designed / orientated diagonally across a busy Holland Ave/Holland Road junction. It was neither aligned along Holland Road nor Holland Ave.Originally posted by ^tamago^:MRT stations can't go below current buildings, especially those on private land.. dealing with the foundations of current buildings are a big problem, and u r not safe if the site needs to be redeveloped and everything dug up again.. thus for developmental control MRT stations are usualy built right under a road or if it is a vacant land it is developed together (The Atrium @ Orchard) or station box isolated (Clarke Quay).. stations are different from tunnels all together, which can go deep below a current building's foundations.. thus it is quite hard to build it under Raffles Town Club.. LTA tries not to acquire land from private land owners unless it is a must..
it is expected that the tunnels will go through Holland Drive Estate direct from Holland station to Buona Vista station.. if u use a ruler and see on a SLA street directory, the tunnels can travel straight out of Holland Village station to reach the junction of North Buona Vista Rd and Commonwealth Ave before turning a little to align with Buona Vista station's orientation.. MRT tunnels can travel straight through the area is because, one, the whole area is state land and the govt have control of what can be built there, two, they know exactly how the foundations of the HDB buildings are and so are able to dig correctly if correct engineering principles are applied, and three, the first blocks of HDB apartments it meets actually resides on a hill which gives the tunnel a safe distance to descend downwards towards Buona Vista station..
How would you think the MRT track would go from Farrer to Holland to Buona Vista? Along Farrer Road, Holland Road, North Buona Vista Road? or Along Farrer Road, Holland Road and cut through Holland Drive estate?
Building stations on road dividers is, as i said, developmental control in that underground stations will not be subjected to factors that may disrupt its operations and to save land space.. it is not rare at all in Singapore.. the following stations are built deep and right under the road divider: Bugis, Lavender, Newton, Braddell, HarbourFront, Outram Park, Chinatown, Little India, Farrer Park, Boon Keng, Potong Pasir, Woodleigh, Serangoon, Kovan, Buangkok, Museum, Convention Centre, Millenia, Nicoll Highway, Old Airport Rd, Tanjong Katong, Paya Lebar CCL, MacPherson, Upp Paya Lebar, Bartley, Lor Chuan, Marymount.. the land around Buona Vista is too precious to the govt as it will be used for One North hub.. similar to Paya Lebar, where LTA had to divert traffic and mess up the whole place jus so that they could dig the station box right under Paya Lebar Rd so the land north of Paya Lebar can be redeveloped instead of putting a station there.. and stations that are not under the road divider do not have any built-up areas above them, like Tanjong Pagar (green space), Raffles Place (green space), Dhoby Ghaut (green space), Somerset (Stamford Canal), Orchard (green space).. only Tiong Bahru and Novena (shallowest depth of 11m) have redevelopments coming up right above the station box after the station was built and commissioned..
As for Buona Vista station, why wouldn't it be built next to the vacant land near current BV station? Rather LTA had chosen to build at the road divider.
no ideas yet, but probable first stage should link a EWL station (most probably Paya Lebar) to Marine Terrace via Parkway Parade.. it may even go to East Coast Park, with a stop probable near Marine Cove (current ECP McDonald's)..!Originally posted by tranquilice:I would like to know your proposal for the Eastern Region line.
You forgot the "favourite" quote of all bus fans: "Network Rationalisation to reduce and wastage of resources".Originally posted by iamgoondu:Judging from my travelling patterns (of past years), I doubt CCL would benefit me much.
I stay near HV, and I travel mostly to Jurong (workplace), Clementi, Orchard, ChinaTown, Suntec (during weekend for leisure activities). At times I will go to Toa Payoh to meet up my friends.
At all instances I will travel by buses, except if I were to meet up my friends at City Hall or Tiong Bahru, then I would travel by MRT.
I prefer buses, as to walk to BV station could be up to 10 minutes, and to walk to busstops could be 2 (along Holland Ave), 6 (along Holland Road and along Commonwealth Ave).
Having Holland Station at junction of Holland Ave/Holland Road, it would probably take me 5 minutes.
Judging from my current travelling patterns, there is little motivation for me to use the CCL. I will still take TIBS 106 to Orchard, Suntec, Clementi. I will still prefer to take SBST165 and make transfer to SBST157 at Macritchie to Toa Payoh. And I believe I will still prefer to take SBST165 to Ang Mo Kio or Hougang. I do not go to harbourfront often, even if needed I would still prefer TIBS61.
The only time that I could be travelling on CCL would probably when I am visiting my sister at SengKang, or I am meeting my friends at MRT stations or visiting my friends residing near MRT stations (5 minutes walking time at most).
The proximity to a MRT station is a deciding factor if it would encourage a commuter to travel by bus or by train. Having spoilt by the conveiniences from a good bus network at Holland V, I am afraid I will still stick to my usual bus routines.
And I believe I will still walk (10min) to current BV station, though in future I can walk(5min) to Holland station, and make a transfer at BV. However if Holland station was located along Holland Ave (outside blk 12), I shall take train at Holland Station and make a transfer at BV station.
For the past 2 years, I had make less than 5 trips each to Bishan and Serangoon, and why would I travel to Dhobby Ghaut via CCL, and why would I travel to Tampines via CCL (transfer at Paya Lebar)? Hence I see little benefits CCL had brought to me.
Anyway it's always good to have a MRT station at your doorstep. I would definitely prefer to have it along Holland Ave (outside blk 12). It serves residents and it won't affect the businesses at Holland V. Of course I understand LTA intention, to provide easier transfer for buses for those travelling along Holland ROad.
Isn't that TransitLink's and SBST's favourite tagline?Originally posted by off_service:You forgot the "favourite" quote of all bus fans: "Network Rationalisation to reduce and wastage of resources".
The "favourite" here means opposite.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Isn't that TransitLink's and SBST's favourite tagline?
Yes they do, using the info from the EZ-Link card readers, although they may not be very accurate especially on bus routes serving many students since majority of students (like me) do not scan my card when alighting.Originally posted by iamgoondu:Do LTA or SBST or TIBS study travelling pattern? They do perhaps, else SBST won't comment that few would walk more than 350m to a MRT station.
There are more things which the card readers might not be able to decipher. Like how much time you are willling to wait for a bus? How much time you are willing to spend on walking to a MRT station? Why would you take buses if MRT can bring you there, similarly why would you take train if buses can bring you to same place?Originally posted by foxtrot1985:Yes they do, using the info from the EZ-Link card readers, although they may not be very accurate especially on bus routes serving many students since majority of students (like me) do not scan my card when alighting.
My unhapiness may not necessarily targeted only on TIBS. It just happen that Holland Ave was served by 3 TIBS and 1 SBST services. And I took TIBS services most of the time.Originally posted by service_238:iamgoondu :
Hi. I noticed from most of your replies in this forum that u lament/complain about the frequencies of buses, esp TIBS.
Precisely the reason why I avoid Orchard Rd on bus trips, especially on weekends.Originally posted by service_238:One typical Singaporean characteristic: They follow instructions TOO strictly.
That's why there's no flexibility, unlike other countries.
I'd love to suggest to LTA to put ERP at the Orchard Corridor on weekends. I'm getting sick of the Orchard Rd jam, especially when so many cars want to park at Ngee Ann City and getting there is via one pathetic road called Orchard Turn.
I was on SBS 913 S of Svc 124 @1415 and I adore the driver man. u guys should see him cutting through the jam from somerset rd to orchard turn. Unlike other buses which queue up one behind another and hoping that the bus would move, the driver simply got out of the 'queue', went to the extreme right lane after departing from Somerset MRT bus stop, zoom through the jam and ended up at Orchard Turn in less than 6 min. If the driver were to 'queue' up, it would have taken 2.5 times the journey time.
How can I avoid Orchard Road when the bus comes from Orchard?I was at the downstream!Originally posted by SBS9818A:Precisely the reason why I avoid Orchard Rd on bus trips, especially on weekends.
Where did you want to go in the first place? Actually, you're quite suay, living in an area subject to the whims and fancy of TIBS and their timetabling. Sv. 106 after amendment is especially prone to delays at town area. Once I was at Bukit Batok Interchange and a timekeeper went out and pasted a poster stating frequencies would be delayed due to the jam, for both Sv. 106 and Sv. 77Originally posted by iamgoondu:How can I avoid Orchard Road when the bus comes from Orchard?I was at the downstream!
Simple I am travelling to Singapore Polytechnic. And there is only TIBS 106 to bring me there. I am at bus stop along Holland Ave.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Where did you want to go in the first place? Actually, you're quite suay, living in an area subject to the whims and fancy of TIBS and their timetabling. Sv. 106 after amendment is especially prone to delays at town area. Once I was at Bukit Batok Interchange and a timekeeper went out and pasted a poster stating frequencies would be delayed due to the jam, for both Sv. 106 and Sv. 77
What SBS9818A meant is that after the rationalisation, there's a higher chance of delays of Svc 106. This is because of its terminal @Marina Centre and with the Orchard Rd delay, Marina Centre Terminal has problems despatching buses. And also due to the jam at Somerset Rd, it causes the rest of the 106 route to have longer headways.Originally posted by iamgoondu:SV 106 after amendment is especially prone to delays at town area? What you meant by that? I doubt there are much jams at Suntec area. I doubt it's delay, it's probably due to an increase in headways.
Yes, I think so. And BTW, 106 loops at Suntec, not terminating at Marina Center. It's due to the jams on Orchard Rd and Somerset Rd, such that Bukit Batok cannot dispatch buses since the buses haven't arrived yet!Originally posted by service_238:What SBS9818A meant is that after the rationalisation, there's a higher chance of delays of Svc 106. This is because of its terminal @Marina Centre and with the Orchard Rd delay, Marina Centre Terminal has problems despatching buses. And also due to the jam at Somerset Rd, it causes the rest of the 106 route to have longer headways.
I think the TIBS timesheet NEVER consider about traffic jam. At least SBST's timesheet has allowance of about 5min. Maybe TIBS assume that their turbo-charged engines can make up for lost time?![]()
TIBS106 terminate at Marina. SBST 111 loops at Suntec. I believe you had mixed up.Originally posted by SBS9818A:Yes, I think so. And BTW, 106 loops at Suntec, not terminating at Marina Center. It's due to the jams on Orchard Rd and Somerset Rd, such that Bukit Batok cannot dispatch buses since the buses haven't arrived yet!
It's not due to the frequency, it's due to adverse traffic conditions!Originally posted by iamgoondu:TIBS106 terminate at Marina. SBST 111 loops at Suntec. I believe you had mixed up.
I still feel the longer wait are due to reduce in frequency for TIBS106 after the amendment.