Not forgetting service 118 too.Originally posted by bendy2003:not forgetting svc 329
I vaguely remembered that svc 329 was integrated with svc 323 in the early 90s (or late 80s?). Svc 323 looped at Hg Depot then, via Hg St 21, Upp Serangoon Rd, Ave 5, Ave 7, Defu Ave 1. Later then it was amended to the old route of svc 329.... Dunno what SBS was thinking then...Originally posted by ^tamago^:SERVICE 323/329 (Hougang South - Defu Ave 1):
[1985] Hougang South Interchange, (Hougang St 21), Tampines Rd, Defu Ave 1, SBST Hougang Depot (HGDEP), Defu Ave 1, Tampines Rd, (Hougang St 21) and Hougang South Interchange.
NOTE: Withdrawn in Feb 2002. Formerly known as SBS 329 in 1980s with same listed route in Bus Guide 1985 as that of Svc 323 in modern times. Why the number change I don't know.
My theory is that, a bus terminus which has feeder services is called an interchange. This is based on my personal observations, as most bus interchanges have some feeder services, whilst the bus terminals only have trunk services.Originally posted by carbikebus:
Wonder why is it called Eunos interchange instead of terminal?AFAIK interchange are mostly full of peoples while eunos int is only crowded on berth svs 60 and that is only on pm peak hours.Futhermore the parking lots are not that huge either. It is totally lose out in term of crowds to YCK terminal.
Ok superbus,Thanks for the reply.Originally posted by Superbus:My theory is that, a bus terminus which has feeder services is called an interchange. This is based on my personal observations, as most bus interchanges have some feeder services, whilst the bus terminals only have trunk services.
Likewise for Eunos, it is called an interchange because it used to house Feeders 382 and 385. Renaming it back to Eunos Terminal will be pointless, IMO.
Just my 2¢.
Cheers and warm regards
But how do you explain the case of HarbourFront interchange?Originally posted by Superbus:My theory is that, a bus terminus which has feeder services is called an interchange. This is based on my personal observations, as most bus interchanges have some feeder services, whilst the bus terminals only have trunk services.
Likewise for Eunos, it is called an interchange because it used to house Feeders 382 and 385. Renaming it back to Eunos Terminal will be pointless, IMO.
Just my 2¢.
Cheers and warm regards
That should be SBS Transit's idea, interchange between train and bus services.Originally posted by tranquilice:But how do you explain the case of HarbourFront interchange?
However Lor 1 Geylang and Yio Chu Kang are still called terminals.Originally posted by off_service:That should be SBS Transit's idea, interchange between train and bus services.
we can recall that it was known as World Trade Centre Terminal (or WTC Terminus in the 1980s).. it definitely is SBS Transit's idea to have it renamed to HarbourFront Interchange..Originally posted by tranquilice:But how do you explain the case of HarbourFront interchange?
Last time it was called "World Trade Centre Terminal" and later "HarbourFront Interchange". Somehow it got upgraded.Originally posted by tranquilice:However Lor 1 Geylang and Yio Chu Kang are still called terminals.
I'm inclined to think that it's SBST's idea to 'upgrade' the status of the terminal to an interchange. It has been a bus terminal ever since it existed. May think the HarbourFront NEL Station have something to do with the change in the bus terminal status.Originally posted by tranquilice:But how do you explain the case of HarbourFront interchange?
Is SBST 91, 191 and 95 consider as trunk or feeder services? If feeder, why BV terminal is still a terminal? If trunk, what distinct trunk from feeder?Originally posted by Superbus:My theory is that, a bus terminus which has feeder services is called an interchange. This is based on my personal observations, as most bus interchanges have some feeder services, whilst the bus terminals only have trunk services.
They are all trunk services.Originally posted by iamgoondu:Is SBST 91, 191 and 95 consider as trunk or feeder services? If feeder, why BV terminal is still a terminal? If trunk, what distinct trunk from feeder?
My theory would be an interchange has bus berths and allow passengers to board/alight at interchange. That's explain why GM terminal though allow passengers to board/alight does not qualify as interchange.
As what tranquilice has pointed out, they are trunk services. As to what distinct trunk from feeder, I guess you have the answer to the question itself.Originally posted by iamgoondu:Is SBST 91, 191 and 95 consider as trunk or feeder services? If feeder, why BV terminal is still a terminal? If trunk, what distinct trunk from feeder?
They are all trunk services.Originally posted by iamgoondu:Is SBST 91, 191 and 95 consider as trunk or feeder services? If feeder, why BV terminal is still a terminal? If trunk, what distinct trunk from feeder?
My theory would be an interchange has bus berths and allow passengers to board/alight at interchange. That's explain why GM terminal though allow passengers to board/alight does not qualify as interchange.
Let me give examples on the distinction between feeder and trunk services.Originally posted by Superbus:As what tranquilice has pointed out, they are trunk services. As to what distinct trunk from feeder, I guess you have the answer to the question itself.
Cheers and warm regards
That's right. As far as Service 68 and 964 are concerned, I really think they should be feeder services rather than trunk. So, a service which route plies within a town might not be classified as a feeder. The main point to differentiate a trunk and a feeder is the fare; trunk fare-stage or feeder fare. Exception of JIS and Express Services.Originally posted by tranquilice:Let me give examples on the distinction between feeder and trunk services.
Services 261 and 285 serve Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 1 and Pandan Industrial Park respectively, both passing thru HDB neighbourhoods on the way. They are called feeder services.
Services 68 and 964 serve Tampines Industrial Park A and Woodlands East Industrial Park respectively, both also passing thru HDB neighbourhoods on the way. However, they are called trunk services.
In my opinion, services 261 and 285 are feeder to serve the housing estate neighbourhoods only, but since there are industrial areas nearby, to bring convenience to the workers there, the 2 services are "extended" to serve the industrial areas, this explains for a feeder service in a industrial area.Originally posted by Superbus:That's right. As far as Service 68 and 964 are concerned, I really think they should be feeder services rather than trunk. So, a service which route plies within a town might not be classified as a feeder. The main point to differentiate a trunk and a feeder is the fare; trunk fare-stage or feeder fare. Exception of JIS and Express Services.
Cheers and warm regards