Originally posted by freakybuses:Oh, did they merge? Not aware of that.. Taken off track by this hint 20 and jc hint.
Appears that you all have only the answer 189 in mind... actually, it's [b]169!
Hint 20: The bus svc I took had been through a merger.
169 merged with 857 in 1996.
Trip I took: 169 from WDL Int to Yishun Town Pk.
Got it?
Originally posted by ula_man:You took SBST165 from Holland Rd - Sch of Millitary Medicine to Ang Mo KIo Ave 1 - Blk 248/246
Another ...
H1: Boarded at a stop opp a building associated with HK movie industry.
Moonbeam Est??
H2: There are 4 other services at this stop. 1 goes east, 1 goes central, 1 goes north, 1 goes south-west.
7 - East
75 - Central
156 - North
61 - South West
H3: I see a hero .
Leedon Heights/b]
H4:Maybe you can find Beckham's wife in this garden?
[b]Victoria Pk, Victoria Pk Rd
H5:I wonder if I can get some Jamon Serrano or Pealla here?
Spanish Villa
H6:A teacher , during an oral, would say this to her students.
MacRitchie?
H7: Make your choice: Turn left or turn right?
Turn right, you will see a station governed by the Socialists. Turn left, you will see a station governed by the imperial. You prefer imperal.
Braddell and Thomson. Went by Upp Thomson Rd
H8:No brothers are welcomed here.
Little Sisters of the Poor
H9:You need a key to access this road.
Taman Permata?
H10: I alight outside a park. There is another service provided by a rival bus company at this stop.
Bishan Pk
SMRT 169
Good luck , more hints daily coming up....
Refer to Transitlink 1996 guide. Front page has all details. If not for the merger, 169 would go into Sembawang New Town.Originally posted by ula_man:Oh, did they merge? Not aware of that.. Taken off track by this hint 20 and jc hint.
Good try...Originally posted by service_238:You took SBST165 from Holland Rd - Sch of Millitary Medicine to Ang Mo KIo Ave 1 - Blk 248/246
Something is wrong somewhere..
Originally posted by ula_man:You took SBST186 from Balestier Rd - Opp Shaw Plaza to Upp Pickering St - Hong Lim Park
Another ...
H1: Boarded at a stop opp a building associated with HK movie industry.
Shaw Plaza
H2: There are 4 other services at this stop. 1 goes east, 1 goes central, 1 goes north, 1 goes south-west.
21 - East
145 - Central
130 - North
131 - South West
H3: I see a hero .
Bo Seng Ave
H4:Maybe you can find Beckham's wife in this garden?
Victoria Pk, Victoria Pk Rd
H5:I wonder if I can get some Jamon Serrano or Pealla here?
Spanish Village
H6:A teacher , during an oral, would say this to her students.
Ridout Tea Garden (Read Aloud)
H7: Make your choice: Turn left or turn right?
Turn right, you will see a station governed by the Socialists. Turn left, you will see a station governed by the imperial. You prefer imperal.
Queenstown and Commonwealth MRT Station.
H8:No brothers are welcomed here.
Crescent Girls' School
H9:You need a key to access this road.
Havelock Rd
H10: I alight outside a park. There is another service provided by a rival bus company at this stop.
Hong Lim Pk
SMRT 970
H11: For the boarding stop, all the 5 services involved do not have the number 7 in their service numbers. Eg 17,87,177 eg.
21 130 131 145 186
H12:I pass near 1 underpass and goes through 1 underpass.
Bt Timah Underpass & Queensway Underpass
H13:Factory that "kill all onions"
Tulip Gdn
H14:No matter how hard you try, you can only see the other service that could bring you too to the alighting stop ,starting from this point. This point is closely associated with Egypt. (found before H9)
Stirling Rd
Point - Junction of Queensway and Commonwealth Ave onwards..
The other service - SMRT970
H15: Park is near "The Pearl Of The East"
Far East Square
Good luck , more hints daily coming up....
You took service 32 from Commonwealth MRT to Frankel Ave.Originally posted by iveco:Here is one quiz:
Hint 1: Boarding point an MRT station in a communist-infested area.
Commonwealth MRT
Hint 2: The Queen's beloved sister can be seen here.
Margaret Dr
Hint 3: At this MRT station, the ground is stained with blood.
Redhill MRT
Hint 4: A river runs through it.
River Valley Rd
Hint 5: I see the colours of the rainbow.
Bright Chbrs
Hint 6: I pass an underground MRT station. The Government controls its people's movements from a building next to it.
Lavender MRT, ICA Building
Hint 7: A playground for homosexuals can be found nearby.
Gay World Park
Hint 8: I can see the wreckage of a US fighter jet.
Dakota Cres
Hint 9: Prominent Jewish citizen at alighting point.
Frankel Ave
Hint 10: Further along this road is yet another MRT station. You can see flowers in full bloom here.
Kembangan MRT
Originally posted by iveco:Sv 32 from Commonwealth station to Frankel Ave
Here is one quiz:
Hint 1: Boarding point an MRT station in a communist-infested area.
[b]Commonwealth MRT
Hint 2: The Queen's beloved sister can be seen here. Margaret Dr
Hint 3: At this MRT station, the ground is stained with blood. Redhill MRT
Hint 4: A river runs through it. River Valley / Delta Rd
Hint 5: I see the colours of the rainbow.Bright Chambers
Hint 6: I pass an underground MRT station. The Government controls its people's movements from a building next to it. Lavender MRT. Singapore Immigrations
Hint 7: A playground for homosexuals can be found nearby. Gay World Park
Hint 8: I can see the wreckage of a US fighter jet. Old Airport Rd
Hint 9: Prominent Jewish citizen at alighting point. Frankel Ave
Hint 10: Further along this road is yet another MRT station. You can see flowers in full bloom here.Kembangan MRT/ Astoria Pk[/b]
Originally posted by ula_man:Adui i think after Day 3 its damn easy lor
My last puzzle was solved within a day.. now another!!
H1: I boarded 1 stop after the interchange. My bus number doesnt have 7 and 8 in it. It is a 3 digit service number.
254: Jurong West St 64 - Opp Blk 662C
H2: Boarding stop has only 1 other service from the same interchange. I boarded in front of a HDB apartment.
ERROR - No other services at Jurong West St 64 - Opp Blk 662C. 182 goes express here
H3:I saw Singapore Post
Singapore Post Jurong Delivery Base
H4: Wish You Success!
Soon Lee Rd
H5: Do not mistaken this road you see as another road at different end!
International Rd
H6:After passing through a flyover, I reach a stop served by 2 bus services. 1 is the bus im taking, the other is another service from the same interchange. GE!
Service 251 - Boon Lay Interchange
Bus Stop: Pioneer Rd - Opp GE Hseware
GE = General Electric
H7:You can see all modes of local transport here
Liu Fang Rd
H8:A sweet well.
Tg Kling Rd
H9: Dont commit sin twice like this naughty boy. Also find the abbot here not doing OT! These 2 naught guys are found within this crescent.
Place: Tuas Cres
H10:I alight outside a place where Ah Seng is sitting. Seng is majoring in chemical engineering next-door. You can find only this bus service here.
Pioneer Rd - LP 179/180
Seng Choon Egg
Invo-Tech Engineering
H11: Bonus hint, use a street directory to help you!
I always use Street Directory to do your cluedo
H12: The bus service number does not have 3 and 9 in it.
Service 254
H13:The difference between the 2 services no mentioned in H2 is 76. Eg, 162-86=76. The service i took is the larger number.
254-178 = 76
ERROR DETECTED
H14: No MRT stations can be seen along my ride,
Jurong Industrial area where got MRT?
H15: Tan Tock Seng, Tan Kah Kee.........
Pioneers of Singapore -- Pioneer Rd
H16: Find a Causeway near alighting stop.Not LKY, LKH can be found nearby.
KH Lee - Benoi Rd
H17 ( Bonus): Alighting stop is along a road, which bears the name of a SAF camp. This bus cannot bring you to this camp. You must take another service to this camp.
Gul Camp? or Pioneer Camp?
I hope this new puzzle didnt damage your brain cells! Isnt it easy?
Day 3 Hints:
H18: This bus doesnt have number 1 and 0 in its service number. ( Link this clue with H1 and H12)
Service 254
H19:It is not a feeder fare service.
Jurong Industrial Fare
H20: At H4, wish you success! You can find a bus park here.
Soon Lee Bus Park
H21:Aid for H15, a JC is named after this road.
Pioneer Rd -- Pioneer JC
H22: Throw away your street directory and use the online street directory! It's smarter to use that!
Online St Directory got factory names, street directory dont have
H23: Alighting stop is very "gul'lible"!
Gul Lane/Cres
Too easy hints in Day 3 ? I don't want to drag too many days... besides the hints are quite hard to solve.Originally posted by service_238:Adui i think after Day 3 its damn easy lorI too lazy to think this time. laughers..
You took SBST254 from Jurong West St 64 - Opp Blk 662 C to Pioneer Rd - LP 179/180.
hack the rest
Yeah , U got it! H16 is referring to Gul Ave factories : Causeway and LKH. Nice job!Originally posted by tranquilice:You took service 255 along Jurong West St 63 (outside Blk 662A) to Gul Ave 2nd bus stop.
H1: Service 255
H2: The other service is 179
H3: Jurong Delivery Base
H4: Soon Lee Rd
H5: Lok Yang Way is not Loyang Way
H7: Singapore Transport Supply Services
H8: Honeywell
H9: Sin Sin (Sin Sin = commit sin twice) and ABB (ABBOT take away OT means ABB)
H10: Sengsit. Next to it is Chemical Engineering.
H12: Service 255
H13: 255 - 179 = 76
H14: No station along the route currently
H15: Pioneer Rd
H16: Do you mean LTH?
H17: Gul Camp
H18: Service 255
H19: Jurong Industrial Service
H20: Soon Lee Bus Park
H21: Pioneer JC
H23: Gul Ave
Originally posted by off_service:my gosh, there are multiple permutations! any clues that are more concrete?
[b]Re-posted for loudmonkey:
Instead of posting my bus ride today, i thought why not make it into a game?
I dont know if a similar game like this was played before, but I hope it will stimulate interest, like cluedo.
I give bus numbers, u guess the route. Something similar to the posting of daily bus rides thread. (hope u get what I mean)
I took these buses today:
27, 33, 36, 51, 55, 62, 103, 107, 123, 136, 153, 168, 966.
Needed: The sequence of buses that I took, and the name of the road where I changed buses.
Clue 1 (or rather a giveaway): Starting bus:51
Clue 2 (also a giveaway): Ending bus: 33
Clue 3 (giveaway): Name of starting and ending road: Alexandra Rd (which is home)
Clue 4 : During my bus ride today, I went to 3 bus interchanges.
Clue 5: Except for one instance, when I crossed the road to take a bus at the opposite bus stop, I always board a new bus at the same bus stop.
Eg:
139 Alexandra Rd - Bt Merah Int
16 Bt Merah Int - Tiong Bahru Rd
(cross the road)
195 Tiong Bahru Rd - Commonwealth Ave
186 Commonwealth Ave - Alexandra Rd
Starting Bus: 139, Ending bus: 186, Starting and Ending Road: Alexandra Rd
Simple ya? Anyone up for a challenge?
Really enjoyed my bus ride today, after such a long while![/b]
Originally posted by loudmonkey:I assumed your home bus stop is Alexandra Rd near Dawson's Place.
I give bus numbers, u guess the route. Something similar to the posting of daily bus rides thread. (hope u get what I mean)
I took these buses today:
27, 33, 36, 51, 55, 62, 103, 107, 123, 136, 153, 168, 966.
Needed: The sequence of buses that I took, and the name of the road where I changed buses.
Clue 1 (or rather a giveaway): Starting bus:51
Clue 2 (also a giveaway): Ending bus: 33
Clue 3 (giveaway): Name of starting and ending road: Alexandra Rd (which is home)
Clue 4 : During my bus ride today, I went to 3 bus interchanges.
Clue 5: Except for one instance, when I crossed the road to take a bus at the opposite bus stop, I always board a new bus at the same bus stop.
Simple ya? Anyone up for a challenge?
Really enjoyed my bus ride today, after such a long while![/b]
Originally posted by service_238:I think I agree there can be a lot of permutations, so I will give more clues: I remarked against those u have gotten right, the rest are incorrect, in part or in full. But the sequence is incorrect.
I assumed your home bus stop is Alexandra Rd near Dawson's Place.
The starting bus stop and the ending bus stop is the same. I was prob not too clear in that, Sorry!
Solution
051: Alexandra Rd to Jln Eunos
Clue 6 (giveaway): I took 51 in the direction of JE, not towards Hougang.
055: Jln Eunos to Jln Eunos
I did not get on and off along the same road. Sorry for not clarifying!
966: Jln Eunos to Woodlands Interchange
Int: Woodlands right!
168: Woodlands Interchange to Jln Kayu right!
103: Jln Kayu to Yio Chu Kang Rd
136: Yio Chu Kang Rd to Upp Serangoon Rd
153: Upp Serangoon Rd to Hougang Central Interchange
Int: Hougang Central
107: Hougang Central Interchange to Hougang Ave 10/2
*Cross Road*
062: Hougang Ave 2/10 to Hougang Ave 6
027: Hougang Ave 6 to Changi Airport right!
Int: Changi Airport This is not an interchange, but yes, I changed bus here! There is another interchange
036: Changi Airport to Orchard Rd
123: Orchard Rd to Tiong Bahru Rd
033: Tiong Bahru Rd to Alexandra Rd
Please tell me any part that is wrong, include sequence of services, places of transfer and the place where u cross the road[/b]