from the website, yes. but i haven't gone down to see the library's collection myself.Originally posted by freakybuses:Do you think that the old bus guides are put there?
I shall spend 9 hours there tmr studying bus guides...Originally posted by Yusry:Available bus guides:
1979-80 (Mandarin)
1980-82
1989/90
Available Transitlink guides:
2004 (2 copies)
Available Misc guides:
1989 SMRT Guide
1981 Changi Airport Bus Plan (39x)
1983 Changi Airport Bus Plan (9, 24, 57, 149, 390) - (2 copies)
Originally posted by freakybuses:I shall spend 9 hours there tmr studying bus guides...![]()
I think I might do that too one day.Originally posted by freakybuses:I shall spend 9 hours there tmr studying bus guides...![]()
yup. but dun think NRL will open soon so it will be at JRL for quite a while.Originally posted by cck_190:If you happen to find 1970-199X bus guides, those guides are just temporary @ JRL. It's from the National Reference Library.
AFAIK, NRL will open at the new National Library building @ Victoria Rd which can be acessed by taking bus 190 from CCK in Late 2005Originally posted by ^tamago^:yup. but dun think NRL will open soon so it will be at JRL for quite a while.
In case u dont know 190's nearest stop to the new national library is at Victoria St - CHIJMES.Originally posted by cck_190:AFAIK, NRL will open at the new National Library building @ Victoria Rd which can be acessed by taking bus 190 from CCK in Late 2005![]()
bo liao wat... btw, I saw Suhirman at 3.30pm today while taking back bus guides... nice meetingOriginally posted by the Bear:serious!
don't mind me asking... but why??
I do know that.Originally posted by service_238:In case u dont know 190's nearest stop to the new national library is at Victoria St - CHIJMES.
Why do you tell me it's worth going there as I can EAT & DRINK?Originally posted by freakybuses:bo liao wat... btw, I saw Suhirman at 3.30pm today while taking back bus guides... nice meeting. Anyway, to cck_190: Worth going there and you can also eat and drink...
I left the library at 6:30pm... 'coz my house is too far from JRL. Anyway, just an advice to all: Try to go on weekdays and photocopy or you will have to wait for about half an hour for your turn.
At least if you feel hungry while reading a bus guide, then you no need to put back the book and go outside to makan and go back. If unlucky, the bus guide may be gone. I took away 7 guides for research today and Suhirman discovered.Originally posted by cck_190:Why do you tell me it's worth going there as I can EAT & DRINK?Also, even if I cannot eat or drink, I would still go to the library. I luv libraries.
Oh! So,you mean you can bring the book to an eating area? I'm thinking of going to JRL before going to Melbourne this Friday.Originally posted by freakybuses:At least if you feel hungry while reading a bus guide, then you no need to put back the book and go outside to makan and go back. If unlucky, the bus guide may be gone. I took away 7 guides for research today and Suhirman discovered.
Unlike the old NRL where you have to put your bags into the lockers (waste money) before entering the Reference room (now NR@JRL is open space area). btw, going to JRL on which day?Originally posted by cck_190:Oh! So,you mean you can bring the book to an eating area? I'm thinking of going to JRL before going to Melbourne this Friday.
btw, once, at the old NRL, I took a whole stack of BUSWAY/The SBS Transit newsletters to read it myself.![]()
Ok, thanks for the info. Might be going to JRL on Tue or Wed. Why?You want to 'acciendentially' bump into me like you bumped into Suhirman?Originally posted by freakybuses:Unlike the old NRL where you have to put your bags into the lockers (waste money) before entering the Reference room (now NR@JRL is open space area). btw, going to JRL on which day?
Today's coincidental meet is quite sudden type...Originally posted by cck_190:Ok, thanks for the info. Might be going to JRL on Tue or Wed. Why?You want to "acciendentially" bump into me like you bumped into Suhirman?Don't worry, I'll tell you when I'm going once I've confirmed the date.
haha maybe we can go sometime this wk? i still have ur svc 700 guide...Originally posted by cck_190:Ok, thanks for the info. Might be going to JRL on Tue or Wed. Why?You want to 'acciendentially' bump into me like you bumped into Suhirman?Don't worry, I'll tell you when I'm going once I've confirmed the date.
Yesterday saw you getting out of JRL immediately... because of cold? btw, we are allowed to being bus guides to cafe right?Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:I went to the library yesterday to finsh my work on the 1982 Guide (which I did). The library is truly impressive. And you're allowed to bring your bags, laptops etc. to the reference section. So those with laptops will have a less ardous time copying the bus guide by writing (like me). About eating and drinking, try not to do so. The library is not a makan place. Besides, you might get the books dirty. And please only take what you need. There are others who might want the books for real research work. On that note, after you're done, please return them to their original locations. These small, fragile booklets can get lost easily. I'm glad the guides have settled in the Westside. You sure it's just temporary? I mean the NRL section at Jurong East is nicely spruced up. Seems silly to dedicate a a whole floor for the NRL section only for it to be removed in about a year or so later. I'll return next Sunday. Oh yeah, if you plan to stay in the library for long, bring along your jackets/sweaters. It's bloody cold in there. I was shivering by the time I'm done.