Longer? Most of the stations are much closer compared to the existing ones.Originally posted by ah_kwang:Wonder what type of trains will the circle line be using. I heard rumours that circle line will only have 3 cabins. Wonder if that's true. I guess the circle line would probably run at a faster speed since distance between stations is longer. cool.![]()
3 cars per train.Originally posted by cck_190:4 cabins. The circle line is a medium-traffic line unlike the NS,EW & NEL. Those are heavy traffic lines.![]()
I think 8 cars would be better.Originally posted by 5454:3 cars per traini think its too little if this is the case the CCL will be having heavy loads
For me, I don't think that that is a failure. I think that the early construction of a light rail system is cater for the future booming housing estate in Sengkang West. Your suggestion for the construction of LRT in mature estates and interlink nearby estates are quite good. But I think that the construction of LRT in mature estates will cause like disturbance to many residents there.Originally posted by SBS3688Y:sorry, a little off-track to SBST LRT :
I regard the Punggol & Sengkang LRT as failure. Especially the Punggol route that stretches all the way to Punggol Marina. I can't figure out what the planners were trying to do by constructing a light-rail line along these deserted areas??
If I were the planner, I'd not construct the Sengkang & Punggol LRT at all. I'd only allocate some land & road reserves for any future construction of Sengkang & Punggol LRT; should sufficient demand arises in future.
Instead, I'd proceed with the construction of LRT in mature estates & interlink nearby estates & towns too; in order to boost riderships for LRT. For instance :
- linking Jurong West /NTU, Jurong East and Boon Lay.
- linking Tampines, Bedok, Simei
- linking Hougang, Serangoon, Ang Mo Kio
If a new light-rail line is constructed within mature estates, the rail operators are able to commence revenue service once work is completed; hence attaining their breakeven costs earlier. Isn't it better to commence revenue servce immediately (possible in mature estates) instead of waiting for surrounding new estates to spring up while the system sits idling into the uncertain future? Also; a new system which sits idling due to lack of demand will not generate any revenue and will only incur daily maintenance and overhead costs which cannot be avoided.Originally posted by tanjun:For me, I don't think that that is a failure. I think that the early construction of a light rail system is cater for the future booming housing estate in Sengkang West. Your suggestion for the construction of LRT in mature estates and interlink nearby estates are quite good. But I think that the construction of LRT in mature estates will cause like disturbance to many residents there.
It's the run number.Originally posted by Gazette05:wat are the numbers at the top right hand corner of the ends of the trains used for? i dun seem to find a certain sequence for these numbers on successive trains.
YOU ARE REAllY REALLY WRONG.. LRT does Helps alot in bth SengKang and Punggol Area.. you dont take he train often thats why u said that bahx... ?? It does helps the Resident of SGK/PUL ALot.. travelling time can be cut as much as 5-10mins... because of the LRT present in these 2 towns....Originally posted by SBS3688Y:sorry, a little off-track to SBST LRT :
I regard the Punggol & Sengkang LRT as failure. Especially the Punggol route that stretches all the way to Punggol Marina. I can't figure out what the planners were trying to do by constructing a light-rail line along these deserted areas??
If I were the planner, I'd not construct the Sengkang & Punggol LRT at all. I'd only allocate some land & road reserves for any future construction of Sengkang & Punggol LRT; should sufficient demand arises in future.
True. When all the flats are up and everyone has moved in, the boys @ SBST will get the ridership they want. Currently, there is a slump in demand for new houses. But HDB so kiam siap, still don't want to relax guidelines and let more people have a roof over their heads.Originally posted by sBs_boy:YOU ARE REAllY REALLY WRONG.. LRT does Helps alot in bth SengKang and Punggol Area.. you dont take he train often thats why u said that bahx... ?? It does helps the Resident of SGK/PUL ALot.. travelling time can be cut as much as 5-10mins... because of the LRT present in these 2 towns....
NE15... ? They once said before that the earliest is 2008. when the flats around the buangkok station are ready.Originally posted by disappear:wondering when will NE15 open. Next year? This year?
Also, are they intending to make Sengkang West Loop/Punggol East Loop operate in both directions. otherwise people near station near the STC/PTC may have to travel one whole round in some cases, otherwise they have to take bus if they find this stupid.(unless they have the time to admire the scenary)
Hmm, now that u mentioned, not sure if i'm rite though,Originally posted by Gazette05:What is the use of the run number in MRTs?
Secondly, on the elevated tracks, I see yellow signs with numbers like "-1" "+2" etc. What are these for?
Thirdly, are there any patterns for the number of train carriages?
Thx for answering.
1) Run number has the same purpose as duty number.Originally posted by Gazette05:What is the use of the run number in MRTs?
Secondly, on the elevated tracks, I see yellow signs with numbers like "-1" "+2" etc. What are these for?
Thirdly, are there any patterns for the number of train carriages?
Thx for answering.
if tat happens, means the train has broken down and the electrical system has failed completely, so they have to use another train to tow back to depot.Originally posted by Halide:Has anyone seen before 2 MRT trains linked together? I've seen it before only a few times from my home, it seems the train at the back is pushing the train in front towards the depot. Why can't they do this at night? Aren't they disrupting the traffic?
They use another MRT train to push/tow the stuck train? Doesn't SMRT have a recovery locomotive for this kind of job?Originally posted by ^tamago^:if tat happens, means the train has broken down and the electrical system has failed completely, so they have to use another train to tow back to depot.
usually when tis happens, the train is stuck on the tracks and there is a service disruption going on. surely, they will wan to remove tis stuck train asap and let service resume. so why do tis at night?