Service 18 gets DDs during the AM and PM peak hours.Originally posted by SilverKris:my choices now are 410, 18, and 163.
As much as this is an 'opinion' thread, putting superlong buses on the abovementioned services, especially Services 24, 27, 33, 36 and 53 is totally out of sane mind.Originally posted by sbst275:Me prefer few svs that gets double decks:
13, 15, 19, 38, 78, 90, 96, 100, 135, 139, 151
If not use superlong bus for: 24, 27, 33, 36, 53, 66, 95, 105, 145, 156, feeders (Incl 410)
svc 130 IMO should get DDs if no limits, loads are quite good during peak hrs.Originally posted by SilverKris:While some single deck services may genuinely be restricted by height limits at certain portions of their routes, I think some services use single decks purely because the passenger load doesn't merit dds.
For example, a few years ago, 130 used to have non a/c double deck around my place. 139 oso used to have double decks. both these services have not changed their routes much (if at all) oso.
i also remember 63 and 135 having double decks...but cannot remember if changes to their routes subseqently made them switch to single decks.
my choices now are 410, 18, and 163.
Does 156 have height restriction? Then how did Svc 5 O305s mamage to get through 6th Ave in the past?Originally posted by sbst275:Me prefer few svs that gets double decks:
13, 15, 19, 38, 78, 90, 96, 100, 135, 139, 151
If not use superlong bus for: 24, 27, 33, 36, 53, 66, 95, 105, 145, 156, feeders (Incl 410)
Svc 156 does have height restriction and I think DDs would have a hard time navigating the bumpy and narrow Sixth Ave. however, it does not need DDs. Loads during weekends are not very good, as it is mainly a schoolbus service, maybe just needs a few tweaks to its freq.Originally posted by iveco:Does 156 have height restriction? Then how did Svc 5 O305s mamage to get through 6th Ave in the past?
78 ever had LO2X serving in the past. So did 90.
Sorry to say that you are wrong.. when 139 was amended to ply into St Michael's Est, the LO3x did turn into St Michael's Est.. i remember seeing 139 DD Bus zooming down the slope while sitting in the Whampoa Food Center..Originally posted by leeJZ:svc 130 IMO should get DDs if no limits, loads are quite good during peak hrs.
svc 139 had LAs and LO3Xs while it plied straight down Balestier Rd, they disappeared after it was amended to ply into St Michael's Est.
most services with SDs dun need DDs, but the ones I have written above need them.
svc 163 does not need DDs at all. I was waiting for an appointment @ Upp Thomson Rd during several days, morning peak hrs, so I just watched buses. svc 163 was easily the one with the worst freq (maybe besides 605), so just pump up the freq to maybe 9 min per bus.
If you want to place superlong buses on 33, be an SBST driver, then drive 997 on 33 in the Joo Chiat area. Then you'll know how hard it is to place superlong buses on such a route on 33. Please think before you suggest something like this...?Originally posted by sbst275:If not use superlong bus for: 24, 27, 33, 36, 53, 66, 95, 105, 145, 156, feeders (Incl 410)
I suppose u live in upp thomson? I like that place, got lotsa buses going to city and west side. City: 130/132/162/163(Toa Payoh)/166/167/980 West: 166/165/167 Also north: 410(Bishan)/980/167/163(Sengkang and YCK Rd).Originally posted by SilverKris:SBS9845X you must live in the same area as i do hehehehehe
how about 162? pretty crowded most of the time too.
Either increase 238 freq to 3 mins or deploy DDs on it. Also can intro new service to serve kim keat, lor 8, lor 7 to central and braddell rd.Originally posted by 01024G:Top: 238
Second: 145
Third: 90
Since they cut down the number of services plying through Toa Payoh, bus service 238 always crammed during peak hours and after school. The bus pass through FTPPS and FTPSS. When school dismissed, the bus not enough space to accomodate all the people. Either they restore bus service 237 or do something because students from PCPS also use this bus plus many of them who live in Lorong 8 and Kim Keat because only this bus pass through the area.
Last time got 232 and 237 I would take bus to get to TP Central but now I rather walk during Saturdays and Sundays than to take the bus where you've got to wait for a long time and in the end, find that too many people liao cannot board.
Read the topic carefully. Its SOLELY single deck services. Svc 74 has more than half of the fleet being DDs. Svc 54 can still handle the load comfortably for most of the sectors. There is also 54A to ply the ultra busy St22-Bishan MRT sector during morning peak.Originally posted by SBS9845X:Oh yar.....still got 54 (City and Bishan), 74(West and North-East), 851 (north and city and a little west), 852 (west and north)
Talking abt me?Originally posted by 01024G:Top: 238
Second: 145
Third: 90
Since they cut down the number of services plying through Toa Payoh, bus service 238 always crammed during peak hours and after school. The bus pass through FTPPS and FTPSS. When school dismissed, the bus not enough space to accomodate all the people. Either they restore bus service 237 or do something because students from PCPS also use this bus plus many of them who live in Lorong 8 and Kim Keat because only this bus pass through the area.
Last time got 232 and 237 I would take bus to get to TP Central but now I rather walk during Saturdays and Sundays than to take the bus where you've got to wait for a long time and in the end, find that too many people liao cannot board.
Even if SBS runs YIS Int, it can't use DD becos of height constraints. Anyway, SMRT has its way around the problem. it favours Habit buses. They are more versatile.Originally posted by TIB1186Z:Read the topic carefully. Its SOLELY single deck services. Svc 74 has more than half of the fleet being DDs. Svc 54 can still handle the load comfortably for most of the sectors. There is also 54A to ply the ultra busy St22-Bishan MRT sector during morning peak.
Svc 851 is SMRT so obviously it can never get DDs, and it already have a fair amount of high capacity bendys.
Svc 852 is also SMRT and loads are CMI during non-peak periods, and during morning peak, although cram like crazy, there are students like me who give our money to SBST cos they handle the Bt Timah loads much better with svc 74.
I suppose u live in upp thomson? I like that place, got lotsa buses going to city and west side. City: 130/132/162/163(Toa Payoh)/166/167/980 West: 166/165/167 Also north: 410(Bishan)/980/167/163(Sengkang and YCK Rd).SBS9845X...in that area lor....but not convenient to disclose exact location hehehe
Great place to live in!
Anyways, abt 162.....i dun think need DDs, but can have one or two......better put on 163.....lolx