Im Afraid that you are WRONG.. There are still NAC buses in SMRT fleet...Originally posted by icydevilvic88:Personally, i will prefer SMRT den SBST.. SMRT bus captains seems to be more friendly and courteous den SBST i supposed, cos for every ride tat i took for SMRT, i see bus captains signaling/communicating with each other from a distance when they passes thru each other as i dun think SBST bus captains will do tat bahz.. Besides, SMRT buses are quite well maintained, even the old Nissan Diesel U31RCNs were well maintained.. I took SMRT Buses most of the time since i've moved to Bukit Panjang in 1997 when SBS(now SBST) was about to hand over Bukit Panjang Bus Terminal(now as Interchange) to TIBS(now SMRT).. and SMRT now even equipped fully with AC Buses rather den SBST(I understand tat SBST has so many NAC buses to be converted and i can't just expect SBST to be like SMRT to convert all NAC Buses to AC Buses, by the time maybe SBST even scrapped or withdrawn all NAC buses by then maybe after 5 yrs? 10 yrs?![]()
But all the NAC buses are not in revenue service liao lo.. u dun see NAC buses on roads serving the public, unlike SBST..Originally posted by sBs_boy:Im Afraid that you are WRONG.. There are still NAC buses in SMRT fleet...
Yah. NAC sometimes too hot in the afternoon. AC better, raining also no need to worry seats got wet by rain water.Originally posted by Scania:SMRT buses CURRENTLY does not have any NAC buses.
Originally posted by Scania:See the CAC 0405, I mean passengers open windows themselves lor
SMRT buses [b]CURRENTLY does not have any NAC buses.[/b]
Yah, no need to worry about seats getting wet by rain water. BUT! seats get wet by aircon water dripping from the ceiling of the bus.Originally posted by PJ_Quek:Yah. NAC sometimes too hot in the afternoon. AC better, raining also no need to worry seats got wet by rain water.
Seldom happen. Maybe only some older AC buses dripped water.Originally posted by delonchew:Yah, no need to worry about seats getting wet by rain water. BUT! seats get wet by aircon water dripping from the ceiling of the bus.
What's NAC?Originally posted by PJ_Quek:Yah. NAC sometimes too hot in the afternoon. AC better, raining also no need to worry seats got wet by rain water.
NAC: Non Air ConOriginally posted by gotairbus:What's NAC?
Is it the old Japanese Hino buses? If so, I see them plying BP routes as 921!
maybe there were not enough SMRT buses esp for peak hours.. this evening i even see 2 DAF SMRT Buses plying on svc 190 towards CCK interchange when i was having dinner on a coffee shop at Bangkit close to Bukit Panjang Rd.. SMRT muz really go and buy more buses bahz, esp bendy buses so that svc like 190, 700 and 963 can get full bendy fleets..Originally posted by iamgoondu:I prefer SBST. I would like SBST to take back SMRT 106, 61!
SMRT 61 schedule is so unpredictable, at times you may have to wait for 30 minutes.
And for SMRT 106, unlike SBST which deployed all DDs into SBST 106 previously, SMRT 106 can be very packed especially on a SD bus.
Imagine, commuters unable to board SMRT 106 along Orchard Road during Christmas weekends! And imagine SMRT 106 sardined packed even at 2310h!!!
SBST got more monies and resources, they are buying more DDs, let's return SMRT 106 and 61 to SBST!
Frequency for SMRT 106 is gotten worst too. It's now uncommon to wait for 15 min for one.
svc 920 also the same as 921.. The Hino Buses are alreadi been scrapped a few yrs back le.. now the oldest SMRT buses model will be the Nissan Diesel U31RCN.. soon this model we will also say bye bye to it le.. and i'm waiting for this time to come so tat svc 920 and 921(Bt Panjang feeder svcs) will have better models, at least MB O405 also can..Originally posted by gotairbus:What's NAC?
Is it the old Japanese Hino buses? If so, I see them plying BP routes as 921!
=======================
As for SBST or SMRT, I'd prefer SMRT over its professional image and its unique buses...and I mean unique! I'm happier being in a spacious SMRT bus rather than any cramped SBST bus (with the exception of double deckers).
Once I reach "SBS Transit Hubs" (for instance, Clementi Interchange, Boon Lay) I start seeing drat-a** slow buses such as old B10M (a/c and non a/c) that doesn't ever get to my destination on time...Even the heavier Leyland non-a/c double deck feeders can beat the B10M.
Not sure if that remains true with the new head, ms saw. Don't you think that the train/bus frequencies are getting worst?Originally posted by smrt_950:I will definitely choose SMRT Buses.
But if given a choice, I would prefer a Singapore with SMRT buses with SBST service frequency. To me, Tibs was more willing to splurge on newer buses with more modern features. However, SBST is more flexible in a sense it reacts to almost all public feedback and make minor adjustments here and there more frequently.
Apparently, SBST Frequency is also starting to get screwed up.. but still, i feel sbst is better than smrt =POriginally posted by iamgoondu:Not sure if that remains true with the new head, ms saw. Don't you think that the train/bus frequencies are getting worst?
I agreed that SBST frequency is better than SMRT. And SBST timings may be more predictable.Originally posted by gohby:Apparently, SBST Frequency is also starting to get screwed up.. but still, i feel sbst is better than smrt =P
Err yah, SMRT has no DDsOriginally posted by iamgoondu:I agreed that SBST frequency is better than SMRT. And SBST timings may be more predictable.
SMRT seems to fully utilize their resources. Now it seems more frequent for me to end up on a single deck SMRT 106.
Originally posted by iamgoondu:SMRT seems to fully utilize their resources. Now it seems more frequent for me to end up on a single deck SMRT 106.