Hi folks, i'm a newbie......got my lic 2mths ago...still BIKELESS~~~~~~ kaozz....wana buy nsr sp also...but dad dun allow...anywayz juz wana noe wats RUNIN?? and all those bike terms..can someone describe for me? hehee
Atti
Hello,
Me no bike licence but think run in is a term that uses both on car and bike.
When a car or bike is new, normally we dun 'ram' them, as in high rpm etc, cos the engine is new and need to warm up b4 it got 'internal injuries'.
Under normal circumstances, its better to let the machine run abt 10,000 km b4 u can start to ram them.
------------------ nOthiNg iS ImpOsSibLE In tHiS wOrLd EvEn tHe wOrD ImPoSsiBLe SaYs "i'M pOsSiBLe"
toons9
ohh icic....then means run in is dun push ur bike too much since its new rite?? thanks~~
I was wondering also any NSR SP owners out there.....izzit a muz to mix wif DDR?? i heard my frnd say DDR oil is quite expensive
TZR
Yah Run In is to "season" your engine. But not 10000km.... when u run that distance u can take 2A licence liao...... hahaha Run In only need to go slow for first 1000-1500km at a speed of below 80km/hr and below 7000rpm. cheers...
TZR
toons what DDR are u toking abt? Just normal petrol and 2T will be fine already...
toons9
TZR i also not sure..my frnd say his phantom he got mix abit of DDR(i think its some kinda oil) wif his 98........
TZR
Yah i think ur fren is refering to 2T... only 2T u can add with your petrol... its lubes great on your piston if you add some extra 2T with your petrol...
Honda's Fan
The reson 4 run-in new engine is because new piston and cylinder wall has very tight tolerance and oso the surface are not smooth therefore if new engine is ram at high rpm will cause piston and cylider wall to wear out very fast as 4 warming up the vehicle, its a procedure neccessary b4 u drive or ride the vehicle bcos when the engine is cold,it is not suitable 2 go fast as it has not hit normal operating temperature.Piston and cylinder wall when cold contract and if the rpm is high,mean more fuel is needed in the combustion area and more heat is generated so the piston and cylinder wall will experience sudden expand though the material in the engine are design to withstand harsh condition, it is wise to warm up ur vehicle
TZR
yah my TZR i'm using premixed... sometimes when i pour too much of 2T, my throttle gets very heavy... that feeling suxx man... haha for my ratio i pour 20ml 2T = 1 litre petrol. Then everytime i start bike i shake my bike here and there to let it mix properly b4 i move off.
toons9
icic whoa thanks guys for ya great insights~~ well i've decided to go for NSR SP~~ but prb is.........lack of fundS~~ hahaz.....