if i'm not wrong, a speedcam works on infrared rays,i remember reading a topic on speedcams, the speedcams gives out rays which then reflects back to the cams when "hit" upon your vechicle. Thus, the speed of the ray when it bounces back activates the camera on or off. The slower the ray is hitting back, that means the faster that you are travelling, thus, you're clicked!Originally posted by SUPERFOUR:Does anyone know how does a speedcam actually work?Is it by infrared or sensors?
But if u realise on the road,afew meters after the speed cam,there are sensors on the roads like those before a traffic light junction..so r those oso sensors too?Originally posted by PGM4RIDER:if i'm not wrong, a speedcam works on infrared rays,i remember reading a topic on speedcams, the speedcams gives out rays which then reflects back to the cams when "hit" upon your vechicle. Thus, the speed of the ray when it bounces back activates the camera on or off. The slower the ray is hitting back, that means the faster that you are travelling, thus, you're clicked!
Hope this helps!
Note that the above does not apply to Red-Light Camera....
------------------Originally posted by SUPERFOUR:But if u realise on the road,afew meters after the speed cam,there are sensors on the roads like those before a traffic light junction..so r those oso sensors too?
If i'm not wrong, the sensors that they placed there are the maximum tolerance distance for the rays to detect the vechicles. After the sensors, there is nothing more to do with the speedcams....
Anyone care to shed any positive light on this?
Hi, i tried passing off the speed-camera at 110km/hr once and the camera didn't click, the speed limit is 90 km/hr, i tink it should have a speed allowance by 20km/hr.....but i suggest you dun try, maybe i was plain lucky, 100km/hr is safer...Originally posted by SUPERFOUR:wah very chim leh...how u know so much?but does it have a speed allowance?meaning can exceed by maybe 10km/h?
You f**king childish.....Originally posted by tRanCE:i teach u all lah....pass by the speed cam n then stop...carry the speed cam to ur home lor....everyday carry a speed cam home long liao no need scared spped cam cos all in ur hm liao
Thanks for the exact clarification of this matter!Originally posted by l3stat:i had a friend's friend who was working with police planning. you know all those red light cams? well some are empty. they rotate the cameras around every month or so. to where i dunno. so some cameras are a deterrence only.
as for the speed thing, it's more technical, so bear with me. they use radar waves, cos IR is found in white light, and might confuse the signal. the speed cam shoots out waves in intervals. it's actually not how fast the beam comes back, because all electromagnetic waves travel at same speed. IR waves and radar waves travel at same speed. so during one beam shoot, the beam bounce off your vehicle and bounce back, the computer notes the distance. the next beam does the same thing. after 2 shots, the camera would know how fast you're going, because it knows how much you travel in that short interval of time. if you're too fast then you kenna already.hope this helps.
As what i know, not all speed-cameras are on 24hrs... Some cameras are not being switch on at certain time of the day/night...Originally posted by PGM4RIDER:Hi, i tried passing off the speed-camera at 110km/hr once and the camera didn't click, the speed limit is 90 km/hr, i tink it should have a speed allowance by 20km/hr.....but i suggest you dun try, maybe i was plain lucky, 100km/hr is safer...
Actually b4 n aft the spped camera regardless of PIE,AYE or watever E got a strip of sensors. .so they noe wat speed u cming at n wat speed after tat. . .cos pple tend to stop wen they c the camera mah. . .Originally posted by SUPERFOUR:Does anyone know how does a speedcam actually work?Is it by infrared or sensors?
Hw old r u boy? If u've got nothing sensible to say then pls do keep the rubbish to yourself and dun pollute us wif your shit.Originally posted by tRanCE:i teach u all lah....pass by the speed cam n then stop...carry the speed cam to ur home lor....everyday carry a speed cam home long liao no need scared spped cam cos all in ur hm liao
------------------Originally posted by tRanCE:i teach u all lah....pass by the speed cam n then stop...carry the speed cam to ur home lor....everyday carry a speed cam home long liao no need scared spped cam cos all in ur hm liao
Wah very chim leh....but thanks for replying...Originally posted by l3stat:i had a friend's friend who was working with police planning. you know all those red light cams? well some are empty. they rotate the cameras around every month or so. to where i dunno. so some cameras are a deterrence only.
as for the speed thing, it's more technical, so bear with me. they use radar waves, cos IR is found in white light, and might confuse the signal. the speed cam shoots out waves in intervals. it's actually not how fast the beam comes back, because all electromagnetic waves travel at same speed. IR waves and radar waves travel at same speed. so during one beam shoot, the beam bounce off your vehicle and bounce back, the computer notes the distance. the next beam does the same thing. after 2 shots, the camera would know how fast you're going, because it knows how much you travel in that short interval of time. if you're too fast then you kenna already.hope this helps.
er... haha.. bit of science.. but i still learning abt bikes.. to can gain from you pple in that aspect.Originally posted by SUPERFOUR:Wah very chim leh....but thanks for replying...![]()
Aiyah..that thing only activates when you pass it. If you dun believe me, try moving at 120. Then you immediately reduce speed to 80-90 at the side of it. The cam won't work one.Originally posted by SUPERFOUR:Wah very chim leh....but thanks for replying...![]()
The speed limit on the road says how much then you plus ten.Originally posted by Hanamichi:By right how fast u go then the cam will "click"?? Expressway says speed limit 90.
icic...but see other vehicles go till 120 130 like nothing happen also.Originally posted by TA150:The speed limit on the road says how much then you plus ten.
Those are ghost cars lar...120-130....I think your speedo need to see doctor liaoOriginally posted by Hanamichi:icic...but see other vehicles go till 120 130 like nothing happen also.