Of coz, its not such a good idea ah....hehe. But if you still want a scram.... its better to get DR or xr. They are much lighter and shorter than wr... good for 1st timer.Originally posted by orb15:haha, okie guys, but seriously, do u think dat starting with scram is good? i mean, well, it's my 1st time on road without supervision... and i can't help feeling kinda nervous...
actually, i dun think i'm goin into trailing... but i have really no idea since i haven't even been onto the roads. I haven't many friends who ride, except for this group but i'm still not very comfortable with them. When i was learning to ride, i always wanted a scram, but along the way, kept being discouraged by many, telling me how dangerous it is. And I ended up feeling intimidated. Sigh, that's why i came into dis forum, hoping for encouragement, and ppl to tell me that I wun die or get paralysed on the road riding... sorry, kinda paranoid...Originally posted by nismoS132:put it this way lah....
if it is a good starter bike, then are you going to sell off the scram for another bike the moment you are 'good' on the road?
how long will that take? 2 weeks? 2 months? 2 years?
this is my experience.
my 1st bike is a phantom150, a cruiser.
my 2nd bike is a nsr 250, a sports bike.
on the phantom, the only thing i learned, was wat road leads where, and some basic traffic conditions as well as the driving habits of others.
on the nsr, i learnt alot more useful driving techniques and tips in 1 week, than i did in 9 months, on the phantom.
i personally think a sportbike is a better learners' bike.
but i also believe there is no such thing as a good learner's bike. it is how well you are able to adapt to the bike, the road, and the conditions.
when you get a bike, do not be influenced by others, it is your money, your interest, and most importantly, it is your bike.
honestly ask yourself. have you any interest in trailing? what is your purpose of getting a bike, be it scram, sports, or scooters.
and finally ask yourself, what bike catches your attention the most.
lolx oh ya..4got dat wr is slightly different fr rr one hahahaOriginally posted by operator:Zechs - 2-3 kicks lah....200rr got batt, wr where got. 1st kick is compression stroke....to tell the bike to wake up and switch on headlight. 2nd kick then engine running...haha....
[This message has been edited by operator (edited 09 February 2002).]
can always get comfortable with usOriginally posted by orb15:i'm still not very comfortable with them.
and ppl to tell me that I wun die or get paralysed on the road riding... sorry, kinda paranoid...if you ride on the road, you won't die or get paralysed. the chance is there, but it doesn't mean it'll definitely happen to you, neither does it mean it won't happen.
Riding is very dangerous...no matter what bike... Scrams have gd pick-up and are naturally high, but if you can't control and master it, you may have problems making U-turns and squezing bet cars. Racers, on the other hand can travel top speed and speeding is the number 1 killer....Originally posted by orb15:actually, i dun think i'm goin into trailing... but i have really no idea since i haven't even been onto the roads. I haven't many friends who ride, except for this group but i'm still not very comfortable with them. When i was learning to ride, i always wanted a scram, but along the way, kept being discouraged by many, telling me how dangerous it is. And I ended up feeling intimidated. Sigh, that's why i came into dis forum, hoping for encouragement, and ppl to tell me that I wun die or get paralysed on the road riding... sorry, kinda paranoid...
Yau meh....nothin wrong wif speeding??? Which is easier to stop, manage and control? A bike goin at 70 km/h or 140 km/h? Anyway...its my 2 cents worth... dun take it to heart....cheers!!Originally posted by nismoS132:there is nothing wrong with speeding.
just make sure you are in control of the bike when you're cutting through bumper to bumper traffic at 120kmh, instead of vice versa.
PS. learn how to do stoppies.
legally, it is wrong.Originally posted by operator:Yau meh....nothin wrong wif speeding??? Which is easier to stop, manage and control? A bike goin at 70 km/h or 140 km/h? Anyway...its my 2 cents worth... dun take it to heart....cheers!!
get wat bike u like and feel comfortable riding also something that fits ur budget if u ask me i will recommend a rxz or a phantom.Originally posted by orb15:hi guys,
i'm new to dis forum, and i'm aso thinking of getting a bike. 1st-timer too... dunno if i shld ride a sport bike or scrambler. I juz tried a scram, somehow feels quite scared riding it... dunno abt sport bike, pls help decide k? oh, becos i read thru the forum, and u guys suggested gers to get wr, or xr, i went to try wr... dat's when i felt it quite scary...
thanx alot! dis is like the most encouraging post! =)Originally posted by nismoS132:if you ride on the road, you won't die or get paralysed. the chance is there, but it doesn't mean it'll definitely happen to you, neither does it mean it won't happen.
no point living your life in fear of death, becoz if u're destined to die... there's many other ways to die.
just go ahead and do what you like, dun feel guilty, dun feel afraid. better than growing old and regretting not doing what you want.
try a sport bike this time roundOriginally posted by orb15:i finally rode a bike! a scram, dunno the exact model... but haha, i had a great time! thou i think i was pretty oblivious to the surroundings. i'll be more observant the next time!
Wat caler? orange? blue? green? red? heheOriginally posted by orb15:i finally rode a bike! a scram, dunno the exact model... but haha, i had a great time! thou i think i was pretty oblivious to the surroundings. i'll be more observant the next time!
most of the time, i dun worry for myself i worry about other DRIVERS who sleeps while they drive...Originally posted by nismoS132:if you ride on the road, you won't die or get paralysed. the chance is there, but it doesn't mean it'll definitely happen to you, neither does it mean it won't happen.
no point living your life in fear of death, becoz if u're destined to die... there's many other ways to die.
just go ahead and do what you like, dun feel guilty, dun feel afraid. better than growing old and regretting not doing what you want.
I'm paying special attention to taxi drivers and p-plates(No offence intended here!!...haha). From experience, taxi drivers like to zig-zag. And p-plates drivers no skill.. judging from the way my bros drive their cars!....hahaha...cheers!!Originally posted by ah_tee:most of the time, i dun worry for myself i worry about other DRIVERS who sleeps while they drive...
got one time one uncle cut into my lane, i honk him n he scold me!!! wa lau where got such thing one