yeah...look closely. cams for EMAS appear every 6 to 7 lamp posts on the expressways.Originally posted by FreDeRicK:Could be cams installed for EMAS.
Whats EMAS??Originally posted by feng125:yeah...look closely. cams for EMAS appear every 6 to 7 lamp posts on the expressways.
haha, but for places like jurong island and changi ??Originally posted by feng125:just my opinion;
when the govt place speed cameras on the roads, they WILL put big big sign boards long before reaching it, this is to alert drivers about it and so they won't get caught by it.
Sounds stupid?? think again.
when the drivers see the signs and slows down, the traffic police achieves their aim of preventing more accidents along that stretch. if they HIDE the camera, they will catch the speeding evil-doers but it doesn slow down their speed at all bcos they dun even know its there! therefore the chances of a fatal accident there is still as high on that stretch. My point being TP place cameras not to CATCH speeding road users, but to PREVENT further accidents along that stretch.
true but you still have those super tactical, hide on the tree with radar gun types... hahaha... amk ave 5 is one such place... cannot speed there...Originally posted by feng125:just my opinion;
when the govt place speed cameras on the roads, they WILL put big big sign boards long before reaching it, this is to alert drivers about it and so they won't get caught by it.
when the drivers see the signs and slows down, the traffic police achieves their aim of preventing more accidents along that stretch. if they HIDE the camera, they will catch the speeding evil-doers but it doesn slow down their speed at all bcos they dun even know its there! therefore the chances of a fatal accident there is still as high on that stretch. My point being TP place cameras not to CATCH speeding road users, but to PREVENT further accidents along that stretch.
ok i take back wat i said. some bastard in a volkswagen speed past me on PIE at abt 130km/h only missing me by a few cm, then reach the speed cam he zam brake, any car behind him sure ram his rear but lucky nobody behind, den immediately after he speed off again very abruptly.Originally posted by l3stat:true but you still have those super tactical, hide on the tree with radar gun types... hahaha... amk ave 5 is one such place... cannot speed there...
EMAS is Expressway Maintenance and Assistance Service. actually they just tow your broken down vehicle and dump it somewhere for you... not to help you, but to help others clear the way... kekeke..
WOW.... got pros and cons to each lar... deterrence more than action when they place the sign there. some red light cams? empty one. they rotate the cams every now and then. but that was said a few years ago, when my friend was serving NS in some police planning dept. maybe they catch enough arrow aprilias already, so can fit all with cameras... hahahahahha... just joking hor...Originally posted by feng125:ok i take back wat i said. some bastard in a volkswagen speed past me on PIE at abt 130km/h only missing me by a few cm, then reach the speed cam he zam brake, any car behind him sure ram his rear but lucky nobody behind, den immediately after he speed off again very abruptly.
didn seem like he was having an emergency, more like he was drunk driving.... cold sweat sia...
hide the goddamn cameras and send those buggers to kantong-heaven better.
I agree with uOriginally posted by feng125:just my opinion;