actually if u lube it well in the 1st place, it wont rust (no offense), i mean if it is just a puny bit then might as well leave it and change a new one in due time.. as simple as that...Originally posted by daniuge:errr, my chain rusting leh, is it ok to put WD40 on it huh, or need to buy those lubricants specially for chains one? or i use wd40 get rid of rust first then wash the chain then apply lubricant? kam xia kam xia
Cleaning the chain is really a chore. Getting all sweaty n dirty.So does anybody noe of any easy way to clean the chain? How frequent should one clean/wax it? Should take out the whole chain?If so how?Originally posted by ah_tee:actually if u lube it well in the 1st place, it wont rust (no offense), i mean if it is just a puny bit then might as well leave it and change a new one in due time.. as simple as that...
and i heard quite abit of neg. comments on lubes, so better b safe wif wax
ancient chinese have a saying...Originally posted by Aprilia Rider:dont use WD40 on the chain.
its a DEGREASER.
u REALLY wan to clean chain..
hehe ...
first put the bike on some support.
then take out the chain.
soak in petrol or diesel or kerosene to loosen all the tough dirt.
then after a while take tooth brush and brush the chain.
then leave it to hang dry.
then apply chain lube.
then put back the chain and tighten accordingly.
done.
too much werk? i think so too.
so i juz put chain lube can liao.
that should be the way to do it!!!Originally posted by Aprilia Rider:dont use WD40 on the chain.
its a DEGREASER.
u REALLY wan to clean chain..
hehe ...
first put the bike on some support.
then take out the chain.
soak in petrol or diesel or kerosene to loosen all the tough dirt.
then after a while take tooth brush and brush the chain.
then leave it to hang dry.
then apply chain lube.
then put back the chain and tighten accordingly.
done.
too much werk? i think so too.
so i juz put chain lube can liao.
So what is the norm time to replace the chain?I mean u won't really wait 4 the chain to snap do u?Originally posted by feng125:ancient chinese have a saying...
"Tuo Ku Fang Pi!" aka "Teng Kor Pang Pui!"
Go to so much trouble when u can just lube the goddamn chain. Remember, its a metal subject to repeated cyclic loading known as material fatigue. There will come a time when it WILL snap no matter how u take care of it... Dun take it too seriously lah unless your chain is really worth that the effort.
take out your chain and detach one link from your chain, then send via courier service the block N4 materials engineering Material failure testing lab in NTU and look for Ricky Chua. He will test for your how much more stress yuor chain can take and estimate how long more before it snaps...Originally posted by RAIDER:So what is the norm time to replace the chain?I mean u won't really wait 4 the chain to snap do u?
i have not lub it since i bought the bike, 2-3 months liao lor, how often should i lub a bike?Originally posted by ah_tee:actually if u lube it well in the 1st place, it wont rust (no offense), i mean if it is just a puny bit then might as well leave it and change a new one in due time.. as simple as that...
and i heard quite abit of neg. comments on lubes, so better b safe wif wax
There's a few way to see whether u need a replacement or not..Originally posted by RAIDER:So what is the norm time to replace the chain?I mean u won't really wait 4 the chain to snap do u?