my phantom also chain loud, but after I change the chain and sprocket, not so loud already.Originally posted by Ducati996:hi all.
i'm riding a phantom 150, first bought in '99. i noticed that lately the chain is very noisy. it was still noisy after tightening it and worse still i notice after my mechanic tightened the chain, after anudder 1000km it slackened again (about 4cm freeplay, manual said 2-3cm).
any phantom riders out there experience same problem? on road i notice a lot of phantom150 have this same loud metallic rasping sound coming from the chain, and i oso notice from observing stationary phantom150's the chain oso looked quite slack. donno bout the phantom200, didnt notice any such sound, mebbe still new or honda rectified the problem already.
phantom150 riders if u know about the problem or got solution pls share thanx.
I totally agree wt u....Originally posted by gUms:to me super 4 sound easiers to know
I change all(the entire set) for $150Originally posted by WhitePhantom:anyway, i m also a phantom150 rider.. i also feel dat the chain sound is louder than most bikes...
but does anyone know whether the quality of the chain wil affect the speed n performance of a bike?
if i change the chain n sprocket, wil the speed be faster n smoother running?
if anyone know, pls enlighten on dat pls.. thankss
since a lot ppl say the chain noise normal i feel a lot better, dam scared when i move off on bike then hear that loud rattling noise like macam anytime will break.Originally posted by lanxx:I change all(the entire set) for $150
yes, after changing, the running smoother. faster or not, no difference, but smoother rider and less noisy
it should be smoother running i suppose with the same size... you can also experiment with the rear sprocket sizes to adjust pickup and top-end. increase of whichever one would cause a decrease in the other.Originally posted by WhitePhantom:anyway, i m also a phantom150 rider.. i also feel dat the chain sound is louder than most bikes...
but does anyone know whether the quality of the chain wil affect the speed n performance of a bike?
if i change the chain n sprocket, wil the speed be faster n smoother running?
if anyone know, pls enlighten on dat pls.. thankss
everytime you change, you change different sizes... gotta use your memory already... or you get a friend to change together with you. try each other's bike...Originally posted by eric_jugonz:how you experiment?? can change yourself meh?
[This message has been edited by eric_jugonz (edited 08 April 2002).]