sometimes the brake just dun work as well, only choices are to ride slower, keep a further distance, use engine or front brake more. It's almost the same for most class 2b bikes, esp older bikes.Originally posted by tapiocaflash:i just changed my rear drum brake pad. However, i found that i still can't brake as effectively using just the rear brake as i thought i should be. I have to pressed real hard before the bike would hesitantly and slowly come to a stop even at low speed. I've complained this to the mechanics, and what he did is to tighten the screw at the connecting spring, and asked me to 'try again'. I tried, but the same result, just that i won't have to pressed so hard down as the spring is more tightened, but the bike just won't stop as responsively as i thought i should be. it took more than 3 seconds to come to a stand still at 20kmh, using just the rear brake.
the mechanics explanation was that you can't hard brake your rear brake, coz it will lock. i accept that, but to the extent that i can't stop my bike effectively without using my front brake?
Please kindly advice
I am riding a tw200 with drum rear brake.
[This message has been edited by tapiocaflash (edited 22 April 2002).]
Drum brakes is like that one... Use yr front brakes lor...Originally posted by tapiocaflash:i just changed my rear drum brake pad. However, i found that i still can't brake as effectively using just the rear brake as i thought i should be. I have to pressed real hard before the bike would hesitantly and slowly come to a stop even at low speed. I've complained this to the mechanics, and what he did is to tighten the screw at the connecting spring, and asked me to 'try again'. I tried, but the same result, just that i won't have to pressed so hard down as the spring is more tightened, but the bike just won't stop as responsively as i thought i should be. it took more than 3 seconds to come to a stand still at 20kmh, using just the rear brake.
the mechanics explanation was that you can't hard brake your rear brake, coz it will lock. i accept that, but to the extent that i can't stop my bike effectively without using my front brake?
Please kindly advice
I am riding a tw200 with drum rear brake.
[This message has been edited by tapiocaflash (edited 22 April 2002).]
hi there! didn't know there's another TW in the forum. what year is your bike? mine is 94. got it 2nd handed from a fren 2 months ago.Originally posted by fp2075r:dude there is really not much u can do abt the brakes. i also ride a tw and juz got into a minor accident involving a taxi. it was coz of the brakes too there simply isnt enuff bite in those brakes. sorry to say that the brakes are really hopeless best thing u can do is use ur engin brake alot together with the brakes.
last time i rode kap kia in Malaysia, i really seldom use front brake, coz the rear brake is full of bite and control. maybe this got to do with the momentum of the bike? the smaller the bike, the easier for you to stop it?Originally posted by ativon:frm wat i tink ah, drum brake like better then disk brake leh, i also dunnoh why but last time my z-kia rear drum brake damm gd sia, lots of control and bite, no need use front brake also can but nw i ride sp the rear disk brake like bo sia... step hard hard also no feeling wan...
so do u guys hav any explaination 4 it???
Hi mine is 94 as well FL plate got it also abt 4 mths back the tw is a good bike. wun spoil unless u take a axe and hack it. juz top up the oil often coz i heard problems abt the oil leaking. that can spoil ur gearbox. but the brakes on the bike really sucksOriginally posted by tapiocaflash:hi there! didn't know there's another TW in the forum. what year is your bike? mine is 94. got it 2nd handed from a fren 2 months ago.
thats the old skool method but then newer racers make use of their rear brakes more then ever.Originally posted by Magiskter:Hi ppl,
There's a very good reason why the rear brake on bikes are always provide less braking power then front brakes(ie. smaller brake disc, less no. of calipers or smaller drum size).
Scientifically, bikes use their rear wheel to produce the majority of the gyroscopic force that keeps ur bike upright, balanced. Lock the rear & a slide WILL occur, causing a loss of control, momentary or otherwise. Lose the rearend at high speeds while in a corner will definitely cause a low-silde. Braking & then release will likely cause a highside.
Bike designers don't intend that u use the rear brake much, except perhaps to tighten ur line while in a corner. Even then. a little tap or the rear brake is all that's needed. If u gauge in advance, most of the time, the rear brake isn't needed at all.
Hope this helps.
yeah, i agree that TW is a good bike, very comfy. i got the oil leaking problem. must change the gasket if want to fix it, that would cost me around $70-$80 according to the shop. i have another problem, which is the speedometer. sometimes it just won't 'go up'. the mechanic says this is common for TW as the water tends to get into the gearing mechanism of the speedometer. just wonder if you have a similar problem? anyone know how to solve this problem?Originally posted by fp2075r:Hi mine is 94 as well FL plate got it also abt 4 mths back the tw is a good bike. wun spoil unless u take a axe and hack it. juz top up the oil often coz i heard problems abt the oil leaking. that can spoil ur gearbox. but the brakes on the bike really sucks
corner step rear brake, your bike will 'slide' oneOriginally posted by fp2075r:thats the old skool method but then newer racers make use of their rear brakes more then ever.
I tot your bike is a R1???????Originally posted by fp2075r:Hi mine is 94 as well FL plate got it also abt 4 mths back the tw is a good bike. wun spoil unless u take a axe and hack it. juz top up the oil often coz i heard problems abt the oil leaking. that can spoil ur gearbox. but the brakes on the bike really sucks
i wasnt at tampines sports complex but i reside at tampines. my bike is yellow and black with black seat.Originally posted by tapiocaflash:yeah, i agree that TW is a good bike, very comfy. i got the oil leaking problem. must change the gasket if want to fix it, that would cost me around $70-$80 according to the shop. i have another problem, which is the speedometer. sometimes it just won't 'go up'. the mechanic says this is common for TW as the water tends to get into the gearing mechanism of the speedometer. just wonder if you have a similar problem? anyone know how to solve this problem?
by the way, just wondered if it's you in tampines sports complex on tuesday nite, saw a FL with red seat. mine is FM.
lemmie give u one example. go look at the way gary mcoy rides. is like a speedway racer. he slides into corners and out of them too.. and he is not alone there r also a few more riders with that style onli his is more obvious. but i think dun try better... he buang nvm wan we buang pay until underwaer also have to sell..Originally posted by nismoS132:corner step rear brake, your bike will 'slide' one
i have a TW too.Originally posted by Ah^Huat:I tot your bike is a R1???????
thought tat is power slide??Originally posted by fp2075r:i wasnt at tampines sports complex but i reside at tampines. my bike is yellow and black with black seat.as for the oil leak problem i not sure how much it costs to fix mine doest leak oil but leaks petrol.
haga oso used to do thatOriginally posted by fp2075r:lemmie give u one example. go look at the way gary mcoy rides. is like a speedway racer. he slides into corners and out of them too.. and he is not alone there r also a few more riders with that style onli his is more obvious. but i think dun try better... he buang nvm wan we buang pay until underwaer also have to sell..
ehh not true leh...my rears r very effective leh...and i ride an lc...err used too...front breaks r oso effective lehOriginally posted by lanxx:sometimes the brake just dun work as well, only choices are to ride slower, keep a further distance, use engine or front brake more. It's almost the same for most class 2b bikes, esp older bikes.