Originally posted by tapiocaflash:how do we find out if the engine is running out of engine oil? for the car, there's an indicator which you can put in to gauge the level, but what about motorcycle?
any tips?
for TW there is also a trasparent panel for u to check your oil level. i think TW has a problem of oil leaking so u should check oftenOriginally posted by tapiocaflash:how do we find out if the engine is running out of engine oil? for the car, there's an indicator which you can put in to gauge the level, but what about motorcycle?
any tips?
ya, it just happen that my old TW is leaking oil..hehehe, so have to find out some way to gauge the oil level and see if i should top it up.Originally posted by feng125:i doubt will "run out" of engine oil lah. de only time i heard something like dat was my fren hurricane very old liao... eat 4t like 2stroke bike eat 2t, top up oni no need change. rare case i think...
unless ur bike leaking engine oil, if not should not run out wan lor.
just now went down to check, at first didn't see anything, thought empty liao! then realize stupid me, it was due to the bike slanting on its stand. after i hold it uprite, and i can see it.Originally posted by fp2075r:for TW there is also a trasparent panel for u to check your oil level. i think TW has a problem of oil leaking so u should check often
this will matter. all bikes are built to take in only a certain amount of oil. exceed the amount and there may problems later on. its best to drain out the excess immediately.Originally posted by tapiocaflash:just now went down to check, at first didn't see anything, thought empty liao! then realize stupid me, it was due to the bike slanting on its stand. after i hold it uprite, and i can see it.
I've had earlier added some oil to it, as this was my first time, I think i've added a bit too much (only then i realized i've added 1/4 liter). and now i see it's really too full liao (over the full mark on the transparent panel). will this matter?
[This message has been edited by tapiocaflash (edited 03 May 2002).]
i dun think it will really have bad effects. but when u engange gears the bike might jerk foward and also the gear changes will not be as smooth other then that i haven heard of a gearbox that spoils coz of abit too much oilOriginally posted by tapiocaflash:just now went down to check, at first didn't see anything, thought empty liao! then realize stupid me, it was due to the bike slanting on its stand. after i hold it uprite, and i can see it.
I've had earlier added some oil to it, as this was my first time, I think i've added a bit too much (only then i realized i've added 1/4 liter). and now i see it's really too full liao (over the full mark on the transparent panel). will this matter?
Originally posted by tapiocaflash:just now went down to check, at first didn't see anything, thought empty liao! then realize stupid me, it was due to the bike slanting on its stand. after i hold it uprite, and i can see it.