Originally posted by gUms:for wat experiment do share wif uS LEH!
u maing bullet proof rain coat ah? heheOriginally posted by l3stat:eh does anyone know where to get kevlar fabric?? or does anyone have access to such materials??? pls let me know!! cos if my "experiment" is successful, it can solve a very big problem for all bikers!!! wheeee!!
BINGO!Originally posted by sunnyday:for helmet strips
Wonder if a lock and chain would be sufficent.Originally posted by l3stat:BINGO!hey if this is successful, i'll share the method with everyone, as well as where to buy it.. provided i can find it... then we can have peace of mind when we leave our helmets locked on the bike. but one thing is that i've to check if kevlar burns...
for full face can lah...lock the mouth guard to the steering barOriginally posted by seeprompt:Wonder if a lock and chain would be sufficent.
hmm... true true... kevlar hard to findOriginally posted by Ducati996:pls pls pls dont mind, my post will sound negative, but its a little opinion from me dats all.
are you attempting to replace the velcro strap of helmets wif kevlar? and is the sole purpose to prevent theft by preventing ppl from stealing helmet thru cutting the strap when you lock at the bike's helmet lock?
my opinion is, kevlar is way too expensive for such a use. obviously kevlar straps unlikely to improve safety coz the strap doesnt cover much of your head. all i wanna say is, such a venture does not make much economic sense. of coz, it is a worthwhile project for a biker if he happens to come by some spare kevlar strips. but kevlar is just so hard to come by.
hope nobody offended, just felt the venture does not make much economic sense, although without u doing the project yet i am already sure a helmet wif kevlar strap will indeed be difficult to cut and steal.
you're missing the point. it's for the helmet strap. some complain expensive and you want a whole jacket?Originally posted by nismoS132:wah seh got professor read our ah beng forum sia~
eh u like that might as well go design a kevlar jacket better rite?
so now "economic sense" is the buzzword eh?? would you spend half the money you'd use to buy a new helmet, so that you'll save the cost of 3 others? i don't see how hard it is to see the "economic sense" behind it.Originally posted by shah_1708:Cool idea..Although i dont see any economic sense
they already exist...Originally posted by nismoS132:eh u like that might as well go design a kevlar jacket better rite?
nope, you cant.Originally posted by fp2075r:I think u can cut kevlar with sissors wan leh. im not too sure after all it is juz something like a fabric.
maybe if it's thin, it'll be possible but very hard. your scissors must be super sharp. but like ducati has said, it is very tough. looks and feels like silk, but very very tough. saw a video presentation during one of my sch lessons, a guy was wearing gloves made completely of kevlar. he used his gloved hand to grip a knife... slide here slide there but nothing happened. no cuts etc...Originally posted by fp2075r:I think u can cut kevlar with sissors wan leh. im not too sure after all it is juz something like a fabric.
dats wat i mentioned before. the helmet that kevlar is too dense. wats needed is a less dense kevlar, in my opinion best is the kind used to make the racing suits. i think even bulletproof vest is too dense.Originally posted by notti:can try asking army guys that rod....
too bad i still need my helmet for army reservist.....or else i can dontate my kevlar helmet, but i dunno how u going make strips out of that...hahaha