I've just changed my spark plug to the "Denso Iridium" kind, I think that is the brand. Cost me S$25. Must admit that I was very pleased with the performance increase.Originally posted by phantomrider:Want your phantom to go faster, there are many choices. First, you can change the air-filter with a K&N type which allow more oxygen to combust the fuel more completely and quickly. Next, you might want to change to a hotter spark plug to stronger firing power. If this is not enough, go look for a second-hand 250cc carburetor that will fit.
All these will allow a marked difference in performance for a start.
Anyway,how long b4 u change spark plug?Mine is 4mths old,time to change?Originally posted by seeprompt:I've just changed my spark plug to the "Denso Iridium" kind, I think that is the brand. Cost me S$25. Must admit that I was very pleased with the performance increase.
You say that changing the air filter too would help. Sounds interesting. Now if I only know where to do the "upgrades" that you mentioned.
Firstly I change my engine oil every 1,000 Km without fail, synthetic oil. Before run in I change every 500 Km.Originally posted by imom_on_phantom:Anyway,how long b4 u change spark plug?Mine is 4mths old,time to change?
maybe they're running in.. advisable to change at shorter intervals when you're running in...Originally posted by tzrr:Dunno about u guys but I was told by my lao jiao riding friends to change oil like 3000km+ leh.... but see u ppl like very on... change around 1000+ so wats the correct practice?
p.s. changed every 3000km when I was riding tzrr... nothing happened...
So how often shld 4stroke bikes change their engine oil?And spark plug?How abot brake fluid,muz change?Originally posted by WhitePhantom:frankly speaking, the gears get rough very easily, even when i was using CASTROL RS, about 1000+km it started to get rough liao...
but normally ppl withstand the roughness to about 3000km then they go change it... or else u be wasting ur money. my fren say as long stil can change gear ok liao.... actually for us 2 strokers, we dun need to use fully synthetic or very gd brand 4T for our gear oil, cos it does not lubricate the piston at all, mainly lubricates the gears n gear box onli. but for 4 strokers its different......
i saw in another forum that LAB got sell K&N air filter for phantom. i tink any other bike also can put one lar.. jus ask around any bike shop lor.. price should not be above 100 lor..Originally posted by seeprompt:I've just changed my spark plug to the "Denso Iridium" kind, I think that is the brand. Cost me S$25. Must admit that I was very pleased with the performance increase.
You say that changing the air filter too would help. Sounds interesting. Now if I only know where to do the "upgrades" that you mentioned.
Forgive my ignorance, but what do you mean that "LAB" sells motorbike parts? Where is this "LAB"?Originally posted by WhitePhantom:i saw in another forum that LAB got sell K&N air filter for phantom. i tink any other bike also can put one lar.. jus ask around any bike shop lor.. price should not be above 100 lor..
Don't worry lah, bike depreciation not so kia Lang (scaredpeople) one lah. It's a matter of being patient and keep advertising, you'll sure to come across someone who will be interested.Originally posted by Jaws:wah....means u wan me to wait ah?? i waited long time liao leh....if i wait longer, the bike no value liao.
LAB stands for Lim Ah boyOriginally posted by seeprompt:Forgive my ignorance, but what do you mean that "LAB" sells motorbike parts? Where is this "LAB"?
The K&N-type filter looks like a cone-shape metal gauzed of about 2inch tall. You can find them displayed in the shelf of this prominent bike accesories shop along Jln Besar (besides the hawker centre). Have a lookOriginally posted by seeprompt:I've just changed my spark plug to the "Denso Iridium" kind, I think that is the brand. Cost me S$25. Must admit that I was very pleased with the performance increase.
I think time is not a good gauge for changing spark-plug (or any other expandables). It depends on the frequency of your usage or whether you are the type who do a lot of fast pick-ups. As the owner of your bike, I'm sure you can tell if the firing power has slacken or if your sense any 'bubbly-bursting' effect when picking up, this means mis-firing or the spark-plug is not firing consistently. Time to change.Originally posted by imom_on_phantom:Anyway,how long b4 u change spark plug?Mine is 4mths old,time to change?
Originally posted by tzrr:Dunno about u guys but I was told by my lao jiao riding friends to change oil like 3000km+ leh.... but see u ppl like very on... change around 1000+ so wats the correct practice?
p.s. changed every 3000km when I was riding tzrr... nothing happened...
It is not accurate to gauge your change of oil using mileage. It all depends on the riding habits of individuals. You should instead test for viscosity. New oil has higher viscosity, i.e. more thick and gluey. As the oil gets churned by the engine over time, it becomes less thick and feels watery.
Here, you have two choices. Either you add a little additive like STP to thicken the oil, or change it entirely.
good luck
would like to ask.. how do they cut the power in bikes?? tuning?? changed spare parts??Originally posted by seeprompt:Usually it is the power cut that is the difference...*sigh* only in Singapore
I would think all of the above. The most obvious should be the restrictors in the exhaust. If I am not mistaken it reduces the noise emission from the bike but at the cost of power.Originally posted by eric_jugonz:would like to ask.. how do they cut the power in bikes?? tuning?? changed spare parts??
yeah, looks cool to see a group of fellow bikers riding the same bikes together...Originally posted by lanxx:maybe we should have a phantom gathering. what say you guys?!