sigh... italian bikes... i think i'd better not get one. back to the woodshed to explore my options!Originally posted by kof-guy:my fren riding a planet.
nvr had any problems except the 1st time when left at frens house for 2 weeks later cannot start coz batt no power.
then recently he go NS, come out oso canot start coz carb flooded.
otherwise no probs at all.
pipe oso tong liao
he is thinking of selling it now. coz he wanna get 2a.
Oh...btw ther is a new breed of v-tec coming to s'pore....its the v-tec spec2....earlier valve opening....n dunno wat lah...but coming i late...Originally posted by Imaginary:I think you should just get a simple rxk, ride for 1-year, then get a CB400 VTEC. No point thinking so much about it. Start saving money for the VTEC ($12k) and your class 2A lessons....
victor have, just now saw at east pointOriginally posted by l3stat:calling all cagiva planet riders! and the rare victor riders (do you even exist?!?)! guys this is a long post, but please bear with me. i'm currently taking 2B lessons now, so i'm exploring some options for the bike to get. i'm kinda attracted to "naked" bikes, or some might call them cruisers, like the super-four. sad to say, choices in the 2B category are few and expensive.
first off my liking of such bikes is not purely for cosmetic reasons, though i admit a part of it is. i guess these bikes have the advantage of a lower insurance premium (compared to sportsbikes, esp for new riders), less chance of being revved at the traffic light, and more power (when compared to choppers like phantom).
so far my choices are (damn few),
Cagiva Planet: 125cc, 2-stroke.
pros: cosmetics wise, i love this bike. good handling, and packs quite a bit of power for its size. head-turner. parts available in singapore (moot point i think when i talk abt the cons later) uh.. if i get this bike, i'll prob not upgrade that fast.
cons: bloody expensive, as are the parts. after all, it's an italian bike. either i'll die maintaining it, or i'll die repairing it. hmmm... no idea if it guzzles petrol and 2T like mad either. reliability is not assured. no kickstarter (you may wonder why, a friend of mine had an aprilia, which he could not afford to fix, push started it for 3 weeks...). on the whole the maintainence and reliability of the bike is holding me back.
would any planet riders step forward and give some comments? what's the fuel efficiency like?
Kawasaki Victor-M: 150cc, 2-stroke.
pros: looks really good for a 2B cruiser. pity i can't display the pic here. friend of mine says it's a pretty fast bike. and according to some singapore website, it retails new at $4k.
cons: apart from beat-up JB versions, i haven't seen a single one on the road before. even the ones at "motor-tiams" are beat-up, which makes buying second-hand difficult. i intend to upgrade, so i'll get a second-hander. since so many guest workers are riding this bike, would it be prone to theft? parts maybe? according to a friend, kawasaki has no parts dealer in singapore, or rather the parts are hard to find, and even in JB, it's more expensive compared to other bikes. is that so?
can any riders of this bike comment? *crosses fingers and prays fervently* what's the fuel efficiency like? where do kawasaki riders get their parts from? like the KRRs, KDXs and the ZXs??
last option:
RXZ with the head-fairing removed (think it's ugly as shite with the head fairing, no offence meant! =P)
i've gotten all these info, some from hearsay and mostly from the Internet. i could well be wrong, so guys, feel free to educate me! what other cruisers are there in the market that a 2B rider can buy? there's also the bandit, but suzuki just had to add 47cc extra to that bike... dammit... anyway, the rest of the "big four" don't make any cruisers for 2B, do they?
?? lc?? fz150 ?????Originally posted by ah_tee:victor have, just now saw at east point
and guess wad its sg plate!!!
FK plate, the victor looks damn funnie coz it is in shell advance paint, kinda weird seeing that paintwork on that bike...
actually if u like "kut tauh chia", yamaha got one, but duno wad model, something abit thinner than planet but fatter than victor,
saw one at tampines industrial park behind tamp ITE, it is abandoned behind a shop and also saw one at ah hai there, fully chrome, single seater
cant be Lc, look like TZR oil tank oneOriginally posted by ZecHs:?? lc?? fz150 ?????
hey everyone! haha guess what?! i just saw a singaporean victor in good condition too siah! hahaha at killeney kopitiam with my friend... green painwork, FT plate. hmm... got chance got chance...Originally posted by ah_tee:victor have, just now saw at east point
and guess wad its sg plate!!!
FK plate, the victor looks damn funnie coz it is in shell advance paint, kinda weird seeing that paintwork on that bike...
actually if u like "kut tauh chia", yamaha got one, but duno wad model, something abit thinner than planet but fatter than victor,
saw one at tampines industrial park behind tamp ITE, it is abandoned behind a shop and also saw one at ah hai there, fully chrome, single seater
hmm... i did think about that... but that bike really looks flimsy to me, like a RXZ. i won't feel safe when i'm travelling on that bike... but of course vanity plays a part too!Originally posted by Imaginary:I think you should just get a simple rxk, ride for 1-year, then get a CB400 VTEC. No point thinking so much about it. Start saving money for the VTEC ($12k) and your class 2A lessons....
hhhmmm, think that its quite old liao, got new one then get new one lo, but i feel that this type of bike is quite risky in corners,Originally posted by l3stat:hey everyone! haha guess what?! i just saw a singaporean victor in good condition too siah! hahaha at killeney kopitiam with my friend... green painwork, FT plate. hmm... got chance got chance...
ah tee you got time can help me check which bike that is? thanks hor!
i think i shd get either yamaha or honda, for reliability/low maintenance and resale value i guess... thanks everyone for the input!

okok last try... is it this one? honda CBX200 stradaOriginally posted by ah_tee:errr. the one i saw seem to have a chassis goin downwards beside the radiator..
den should b fz150 or fz150 breezeOriginally posted by ah_tee:cant be Lc, look like TZR oil tank one
yah.. dunno why lar.. sports bikes just lost their appeal to me. i'm looking more for a comfy ride liao lor. or at least naked power...Originally posted by more_salt:wah l3stat, dun wanna nsr150sp liao ah?
i doing my prac 4... dis week will b third time on prac 4 liao. some1 i know, do first time clear prac 4!damn jealous.
[This message has been edited by more_salt (edited 07 January 2002).]
hi there.. how much do you have to shell out for a new planet? OTR that is?Originally posted by bubbleblue:hi, i've been riding a planet for the past one and half yr, so far so good. u can consider getting one.
aiyah, i do my plank, slalom, ebrake all ok leh , i think. the instructors din correct me or anything leh. dunno lah just keep going loh.Originally posted by l3stat:don't lose hope! keep it up man! which obstacle do you keep getting stuck at??
ooooh... you'll surely clear it this time round! no worries man! i used to have a very rushed attitude to it, but i'm beginning to enjoy lessons. you'll end up better prepared for the big thing too!Originally posted by more_salt:aiyah, i do my plank, slalom, ebrake all ok leh , i think. the instructors din correct me or anything leh. dunno lah just keep going loh.
anyway, had a look at dat cagiva planet pic. wah, not bad, quite nice. looks comfortable.