Currently at prac 3 in ssdc. Nid some advice for slalom and plank .very weak in slalom
U must dare to swing yr bike. Throttle a bit then swing yr bike.
repeat all yr step until u clear yr cone....
For plank and shalom, the same eyeline rule applies. Plank is going on the straight and narrow, shalom swing left and right. As in the plank you must fix your gaze on a point, for the shalom, its usually the second-last and last cone. Therefore whether you are swing left or right, you must be facing and looking at the end cones. And you must practice (visualise too) the swing of your body and the fixed direction of your face, as you negotiate the cones.
The Plank and Shalom practices your senses to control the bike.
plank, look far.
slalom, swing your bike. don't be afraid of falling, if u have to fall... the best time is in the school. not when u have purchased your first bike. and falling in school doesn't hurt at all.
just remember, never never never look at the area directly in front of your bike. always look far.
you'll have a higher chance of losing your bearings.
Yup, as the posts above summarises everything.
Eyeline is very important, helps you to, in a way, control the bike better. Another thing, practise till you perfect it! Good luck!
Originally posted by mancha:For plank and shalom, the same eyeline rule applies. Plank is going on the straight and narrow, shalom swing left and right. As in the plank you must fix your gaze on a point, for the shalom, its usually the second-last and last cone. Therefore whether you are swing left or right, you must be facing and looking at the end cones. And you must practice (visualise too) the swing of your body and the fixed direction of your face, as you negotiate the cones.
The Plank and Shalom practices your senses to control the bike.
so where is e pt for e plank? n hw come 4 shalom is 2nd last n last cone..?i tght shalom is aim 4 e pt beside e cone when ur at e previous cone? thks
look far, look far... look at the end of the plank.
slalom, look far also
wow..pylon slalom..my favourite.
u just have to be cunning...dont be afraid to fall from the bike as u always wear the pads and helmet..and the bike got crash bar install..so the bike wont entrap u when u fall.
and anyway how bad can u be hurt anyway?unless u speed and fly...u wont get a scratch..so just do it...n ull love the corneringss
Originally posted by Chelzea:so where is e pt for e plank? n hw come 4 shalom is 2nd last n last cone..?i tght shalom is aim 4 e pt beside e cone when ur at e previous cone? thks
For the Plank, at CDC, I use the right corner of a sign board that was far off. I want my chin to be raised, therefore I picked a high point. That point is also in a straight line with the plank. I could also have picked the tip of a cone that is in line with the plank. I gaze at the point and use my senses and peripheral vison to navigate the plank. When I sense that I am going off the plank, and I look down, liao. Game over.
Oh yah The Shalom, you must look at a central point along your path, the best would be the cone tips. The ones nearest and after are too close. You need to look further. Just try to remember your face when you do the shalom. Your face should not be looking left righ as you negotiate the shalom. As you fix your gaze on the tip of the further cone and swing left right, your face should always be facing squarly to the front.
Practice slowly and get the technique, until you can 2nd gear release clutch fully and go one two three four and checkback out. You will be automatically be within the timing.
for plank actually, i get enough speed to clear it, and i clutch in all the way. leg grip tight at tank, and dont use front brake. only use foot brake. look far, i look at the building logo.
aik..u clutch in ah?dont lor later lose balance easily...and plank no nid brake one..just throttle a bit den reach liao den just flow all the way...just make sure u dont throttle that much...no need brake lah..i tppt just flow all the way can liao
now at prac 4 . need advice for circuit test route riding n pillion. thks in advance
prac 4, u get to ride the 'super 4'. hahaha. and pillion, hope u get a chio bu, but most probably u wont cause the instructor will 'protect' them. u will be going through ur test route. hmm, u must memorize the test route perfectly. i think if i not wrong, that time got 1 lesson at prac 7, 1 of the guys turn to wrong slope, and 6 of them all fail cause they follow. so dont monkey see monkey do. if u pass it, no immediate failure, they will probably pass u cause, pillion and ur s4 is not needed to pass. but pillioning is fun. (:
go for more revisions before u take on the test.
Originally posted by Chelzea:Prac 5 is hard to clear …. Have to go for CR … sian….....
i think my biking skill sux.lol. spend $400 bucks le. ROFL.
It can only get better.
i spent $510.70 alr at bbdc... lucky jus left final evaluation before my tp on 7 july
any tips for prac 5 ?
When applying for PDL rite ,u nid RTT result slip ar? i dont recall printing out e results or lost it liao? hw ar?
No need the result slip.
prac 6 coming up. heard best to be ist or 2nd rider ar? instructor cant see yr mistake ??share tips . thks in advance
hmm, prac 6, means u are on the road already. just be careful, dont monkey see monkey do most important. the safety check here is more important than the 1 in circuit. circuit cars go very slowly and mostly give way, but when u on the road, u are quite on ur own, although the instructors will still stop the cars and all. and when u in filter lane, be selfish and stay in the middle, otherwise car cut u. yeah. safe following distance also. that time got 1 person dont know why suddenly bang me on the road, hahaha. so make sure keep safe following distance.
instructor say i tend to wobble sightly when making u turn? any tips .
prac 6 part 2 is a assessment ar, gt wad diff frm part 1 other than it being e actual test route?
thks .
Don't wobble? Blast your throttle and throw your clutch!!
JK, just open more throttle and you should be fine.
wobbling part..is either u use front brake or u didnt set ur eyepoint..
in any turns be it cars or bike..eyepoint is important,and really,try doing a corner with front brakes used instead of the rear brake.
thats why the instructor there asked u to use the rear brake in one of the briefing before a certain practical...remember?