Anyone got bike accesories shop to recommend?
Bike shop too?
Motorbike, not BIKEseegurl
Bicycles can?
Ah boy motor shop. cheaper than normal one.
Originally posted by tarXget:Ah boy motor shop. cheaper than normal one.
I heard bout that shop too.. how reliable ah?
There got sell what helmet?
Originally posted by Detached:
I heard bout that shop too.. how reliable ah?There got sell what helmet?
Not that reliable. You must know your stuff well. Just like buying IT stuff from Sim Lim Sq.
They sell lots of helmet including AGV, OGK, etc. and other budget brands as well.
Thanks for the reply, brother..
Any other shops to recommend bo? I've read that ah boy shops got many chiong stuff.. And I certainly wouldn't want a chiong helmet (head only got 1 leh)
Roughly, how much is an normal face arai or shoei?
Other shops, you can try Chiap Lee or MotoWorld. There are many more other shops but I'm not familiar with them.
Why would you want a open face Arai or Shoei? IMO they won't protect as well as some budget brands full face. I am not sure of the price of open face the 2 brands but it would probably cost $300 at least?
I will recommend you to put the money to better use and with that amount, you can already get yourself a pretty decent full face helmet (OGK, HJC etc.). If you have no budget constraints, a Shoei X-11 full face helmet will cost around $500 - $600 if I'm not wrong.
Originally posted by technoboy:Other shops, you can try Chiap Lee or MotoWorld. There are many more other shops but I'm not familiar with them.
Why would you want a open face Arai or Shoei? IMO they won't protect as well as some budget brands full face. I am not sure of the price of open face the 2 brands but it would probably cost $300 at least?
I will recommend you to put the money to better use and with that amount, you can already get yourself a pretty decent full face helmet (OGK, HJC etc.). If you have no budget constraints, a Shoei X-11 full face helmet will cost around $500 - $600 if I'm not wrong.
Thanks for the prompt reply again, bro..
To be honest, I'm still a learner rider (Got my 3C and used to drive).. And I'm planning on a cruiser/street bike after I get my 2b..
FF as a learner is weird? FF on a cruiser is weird too...?
You're welcome.
Oh, what I did when I was still getting my license was to just get a cheap helmet which cost no more than $30.
After that then you can decide on a better helmet. Besides, you will sweat alot while learning and definitely don't want to dirty your $300 helmet do you?
Another plus point is you will learn how to take care of the helmet before investing on a expensive one. (Like not dropping them and stuff like that)
It definitely does not look weird wearing FF on a road bike or cruiser, saw lots of riders wearing them. Even if it does, is it more important saving your head in an accident or looking handsome like prince charming on a white horse?
Originally posted by technoboy:You're welcome.
Oh, what I did when I was still getting my license was to just get a cheap helmet which cost no more than $30.
After that then you can decide on a better helmet. Besides, you will sweat alot while learning and definitely don't want to dirty your $300 helmet do you?
Another plus point is you will learn how to take care of the helmet before investing on a expensive one. (Like not dropping them and stuff like that)
It definitely does not look weird wearing FF on a road bike or cruiser, saw lots of riders wearing them. Even if it does, is it more important saving your head in an accident or looking handsome like prince charming on a white horse?
Good advice there, bro. Think I'll whack one cheaper helmet to see me through the learner phase.
Was looking at Honda's site, I'm a li'l drawn to CBR125R.... But nono, it's not that I want, put into consideration, my personality and pillion's safety...
Bro, if you don't mind humoring a newbie.. What are your thoughts on CBF150 and XL 125 Valadero?
What about pillion's safety for the CBR125? It was one of my considerations when I got my 2b last time. Sport-ish look with very good fuel consumption, just that the bike looks too thin which makes it very ugly.
CBF150 is a roadbike with excellent fuel consumption as well. Though I think you can only see Ah peks riding them, it is definitely an economical bike which can bring you from point A to point B and it will not look weird with box.
The Varadero would be my choice amoung these few as it's the best looking! Big body which makes it look like some higher class license bike. I am not sure how it performs and how's the fuel consumption though, probably more ex in terms of everything. However, it sure looks stable and comfortable for both the pillion and rider. If you're also into touring, I think this bike would be the one for you.
Originally posted by technoboy:What about pillion's safety for the CBR125? It was one of my considerations when I got my 2b last time. Sport-ish look with very good fuel consumption, just that the bike looks too thin which makes it very ugly.
CBF150 is a roadbike with excellent fuel consumption as well. Though I think you can only see Ah peks riding them, it is definitely an economical bike which can bring you from point A to point B and it will not look weird with box.
The Varadero would be my choice amoung these few as it's the best looking! Big body which makes it look like some higher class license bike. I am not sure how it performs and how's the fuel consumption though, probably more ex in terms of everything. However, it sure looks stable and comfortable for both the pillion and rider. If you're also into touring, I think this bike would be the one for you.
Sorry to repeatedly trouble you, bro.
I'm a li'l kan chiong and always like to plan ahead
Well, I'm under the general impression that sportsbikes are least safe among all the other bikes. And yes, I agree that the CBR125 looks too thin which makes it a little ugly.
I'm interested in a 200cc bike (bigger and utilized the license fully mah) but the Varadero is only 125cc (correct me if I'm wrong), hence I'm also reluctant to get it. Do you have any other suggestions?
Originally posted by Detached:Sorry to repeatedly trouble you, bro.
I'm a li'l kan chiong and always like to plan ahead
Well, I'm under the general impression that sportsbikes are least safe among all the other bikes. And yes, I agree that the CBR125 looks too thin which makes it a little ugly.
I'm interested in a 200cc bike (bigger and utilized the license fully mah) but the Varadero is only 125cc (correct me if I'm wrong), hence I'm also reluctant to get it. Do you have any other suggestions?
its usually mis-use by the rider that makes the bike unsafe.
Originally posted by skeujin:its usually mis-use by the rider that makes the bike unsafe.
Can't agree more.
Except for those times, you run out of luck and get knock down by a drunk driver
Originally posted by Detached:Can't agree more.
Except for those times, you run out of luck and get knock down by a drunk driver
well riders have to be extra aware of their surroundings all the time.
Originally posted by skeujin:well riders have to be extra aware of their surroundings all the time.
Yup.
Do you have any suggestions for a cruiser/road bike? Preferably 200cc?
Ah boy got sell gloves?
The only 200cc bike I can think of is the Phantom TA200. Good bike which can fit boxes and good fuel efficiency too. However, Heard that once it goes up to 100km/h and higher it will vibrate alot, but well, almost all 2b bikes have irritating vibrations given their small CC.
Yes Ah Boy sells almost everything!
Bro, would TA200 be too ah peh in your opinion?
What other 200cc bikes are there to pick from?
What's the estimated cost of a well-maintained TA200? How bout first hand?
(Read a lot of bad reviews on TA200 and phantom in general, to do with bad steering, brakes and a heavy rear... Would love your views as well)
Nope, not Ah Pek to me at all. Another one of my choices when I wanted to get my first bike last time.
Not too sure what other 200cc are there, but a 200cc bike does not mean it is faster than one with lesser CC. If comparing a 200cc phantom with a 150cc phantom, the 150cc will be faster because of the 2-strokes.
Second hand TA200 is probably less then 2K? I am not sure of the current market price for 2nd hand and brand new as I did not own it before.
I can't really comment much on the performance of it as I never had the chance to ride it. Only read that it skids easily on wet roads as the rear brakes are too powerful. But I think that no matter what bike, you will be good as long as you are used to it and know how to control it well.
If Phantom is a lousy bike, you will not see so many of them on the road. So there must be some plus points on it as well.
Is there a 200cc variation of Valadero?
I think the whole headache 'bout this bike thing.. is not in acquiring a 2b license.... but in picking a bike
all kinds of helmets got sell arai oso.. all kinds of accesories too..
Not that I know of.
Take your time to think about it while you're learning and do your homework well before purchasing one.
Good luck!
bike so hard to pick meh? i always know what i want
Gum sia gum sia.. I'll take my time to think through it...
Let's keep this thread opened =D I'll be back to seek technical/bike advices =)
Originally posted by kopiosatu:bike so hard to pick meh? i always know what i want
Hard leh.. I want a tourer/cruiser..
Uncle kopi got recommendation?