i'm not uncle
u can go for phantom or varadero
at 200cc, u don't have much choice
The Phantom 200 gives you good milage. It is safe simply because you can't speed much with it.
Applying the only rear brakes heavily will cause skidding. The rear will fish tail. Proper braking techniques need to be carried out. Front and rear brakes together.
Another option, just get a kup kia and ride for 1 year and upgrade, you get more bikes to choose from.
Wait 2 more years, you have unlimited choices!
yamaha nouvo
So there's a 200cc version of Varadero?
Kopi and Mancha - what are your thoughts on Phantom's bad stock tires/rear weight and brake problem/steering?
Techno - To be honest, I'm not considering a class 2A/2... I just want to commute through my uni days and go back to driving..
phantom got steering problem meh.
more like rider problem.
if u dun like stock tyres then change lor.
brake problem and cause rear wheels to lock is rider problem also.
the only brake problem that isn't the rider's problem is when it doesn't even work at all.
=X
Okay, I concede to you
u can try go for wave lor.. good for travel. save oil oso
let me explain in detail
steering problem : its a friggin chopper. you don't expect it to handle like a sports bike. you can't do tight turns like a sports bike. so i really don't think its the bike's problem.
stock tyres : its new, if u wanna jam the brakes before the tyre has been run-in... i can give u an expensivetyre, it will still be the same. any tyre will be smooth when you just fit it on. but if one really really really doesn't feel safe with the stock tyres, then get a new one.
brake problems : like i said, a brake problem is when the brake doesn't work. if it causes the back wheel to lock, common sense abit leh, means press too hard right?
No scooters please!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:let me explain in detail
steering problem : its a friggin chopper. you don't expect it to handle like a sports bike. you can't do tight turns like a sports bike. so i really don't think its the bike's problem.
stock tyres : its new, if u wanna jam the brakes before the tyre has been run-in... i can give u an expensivetyre, it will still be the same. any tyre will be smooth when you just fit it on. but if one really really really doesn't feel safe with the stock tyres, then get a new one.
brake problems : like i said, a brake problem is when the brake doesn't work. if it causes the back wheel to lock, common sense abit leh, means press too hard right?
Comparing Varadero and TA200.. which got more comfort for rider and pillion?
What do you think of Vara's performance? It's 125 versus TA200's 200..
Of course Vara la, bigger and more expensive. Definitely more comfortable. But compared to cars, of course it can't hold a candle to it.
if i open the throttle while i'm on a metal road with sand, then my back wheel spins and i fall down. is it the bike's fault?
the thing about being a biker is that u gotta have way more situational awareness than the drivers.
u have to worry about road condition, the weather, stupid drivers... etc etc
Originally posted by Detached:Comparing Varadero and TA200.. which got more comfort for rider and pillion?
What do you think of Vara's performance? It's 125 versus TA200's 200..
what riding posture you like?
this i can't answer for u
u have to go to the shop, sit on the bike and try it out.
what performance are you looking for? 2b bike leh
Can anyone advise on both a 2nd hand and 1st hand Vara price?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:what performance are you looking for? 2b bike leh
Don't underestimate 2b bikes ok, some people's SP can run till 300km/h!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:what riding posture you like?
this i can't answer for u
u have to go to the shop, sit on the bike and try it out.
what performance are you looking for? 2b bike leh
I know 2b lah.. It's just making the best out of the worst mah
really no idea, u gotta go to singapore bike forums
Originally posted by technoboy:Don't underestimate 2b bikes ok, some people's SP can run till 300km/h!
before they hit a tiny stone on the road?
sp not that good kawa better.. but both too light.. dont play play lah sg road too many humps and traffic lights
Originally posted by technoboy:Don't underestimate 2b bikes ok, some people's SP can run till 300km/h!
300? how to? thats like clear meter and start from 0 again? hahahaha. anyway, u want cruiser, get phantom. i used to ride phantom also. cornering best is dont do, they say around 60-80 u cant corner, cause the weight will cause it to fish tail. been there done that, corner at 80 at sharp turn, + raining = skid.thanks god nothing serious happened. and phantom wear ff should be ok. see some people did that b4. looks ok, cause ff big, phantom also big. if u planning to ride far distance type, best dont get 2 stroke bike. congrats on ur license. :D
Originally posted by popmynutsy:300? how to? thats like clear meter and start from 0 again? hahahaha. anyway, u want cruiser, get phantom. i used to ride phantom also. cornering best is dont do, they say around 60-80 u cant corner, cause the weight will cause it to fish tail. been there done that, corner at 80 at sharp turn, + raining = skid.thanks god nothing serious happened. and phantom wear ff should be ok. see some people did that b4. looks ok, cause ff big, phantom also big. if u planning to ride far distance type, best dont get 2 stroke bike. congrats on ur license. :D
lol bro, that's very kind of you. But not yet lah, I'm still a learner..
Anyway, I've more or less decided on my future bike (varadero xl125)... hopefully can find a reasonable priced 2nd hand one.. a first hand one (just machine price) can hit up to 15k..
Wow, brand new Vara so ex meh? More ex then the RS125 and Super 4?
Cool...
Originally posted by technoboy:Wow, brand new Vara so ex meh? More ex then the RS125 and Super 4?
Cool...
Ya lah, shocking not?
I've spotted a 2004 reg Vara going for 3.8k, reasonable mileage for a 5 year old bike (only 60k odd)..
Another 2005 reg Vara going for 8k (frigging crazy)...
I'm really praying damn hard that the 3.8k one will still be for sale in 3 - 5 months..
-------------------------------------------------------
Oh yea btw... just for the sake of knowledge sharing...
The older models of Vara runs on carbureto, and 07 models are on efi..
Physical appearances also differ by a small bit.. basically everything just a little different..