that's exactly what i mean. the road is narrow, there's traffic behind you, there's traffic beside you, there's a big space infront of you, and yet you're still blocking the road. that is road hogging.Originally posted by Ducati996:i not tokkin bout road hogging. i oso think road hogging is inconsiderate.
i tokkin bout instances like normal road say speed limit 60kmh. we all know drivers and riders alike tend to go bout 20kmh higher than the road actual limit. then lets say this new rider decide to be good boy and travel 50~60kmh leftmost lane. of coz most cars will be faster than him and want to overtake but car shd change lane and overtake and not overtake within the lane coz veri dangerous for the rider. driver's impatience can cause accident for the bike, as driver of coz you dont find dangerous coz you not in situation of the rider. so to new riders i say be safe, if drivers dont wanna care for you then you make them care for you.
road hogging is a different story.
and i honestly think a significant portion of bike accidents, car is at fault. but i admit if the rider cut traffic in and out of lane as if he alone on the road or speed as if gp, then mebbe he asking for it. i tokkin bout cars who dont give a shit about riders.
i go between lanes and cut traffic, drivers complain say i act like own the road; i ride good boy, kena makan by cars as if i not there at all, you tell me how.
Ducati, I support you. On the road, I always occupy the entire lane and force cars to lane change for overtaking. If it's small bikes which are travelling nearer to one side of the lane, then I'll overtake him by travelling nearer to the other side of the lane (but i usually lane change), if the clearance allows, and it's not dangerous to do so.Originally posted by Ducati996:i not tokkin bout road hogging. i oso think road hogging is inconsiderate.
i tokkin bout instances like normal road say speed limit 60kmh. we all know drivers and riders alike tend to go bout 20kmh higher than the road actual limit. then lets say this new rider decide to be good boy and travel 50~60kmh leftmost lane. of coz most cars will be faster than him and want to overtake but car shd change lane and overtake and not overtake within the lane coz veri dangerous for the rider. driver's impatience can cause accident for the bike, as driver of coz you dont find dangerous coz you not in situation of the rider. so to new riders i say be safe, if drivers dont wanna care for you then you make them care for you.
road hogging is a different story.
and i honestly think a significant portion of bike accidents, car is at fault. but i admit if the rider cut traffic in and out of lane as if he alone on the road or speed as if gp, then mebbe he asking for it. i tokkin bout cars who dont give a shit about riders.
i go between lanes and cut traffic, drivers complain say i act like own the road; i ride good boy, kena makan by cars as if i not there at all, you tell me how.
Got... some time back liao... u seldom travel around my area anyway rite? Unless u so free everytime cruise around toa payoh?Originally posted by nismoS132:got new hump meh?
nvr notice leh
Frankly speaking, if I were in your situation, for my own safety, I would just move over to the left and let the vehicle overtake me for 2 reasons:Originally posted by more_salt:i'm not gonna spd up just bcos the guy behind me wanna go over spd limit.
it's my life on the bike.
Originally posted by nismoS132:hAr? Isn't the 1st lane supposed to be the left most lane, and the 3rd lane the fastest lane ?
there is a reason the 1st lane is called the overtaking lane. it may be wrong to speed, but it's a bigger wrong to road hog.
i've seen this discussed in various [b]car forums, and most of them would agree that, even if they're travelling at 160kmh on the 1st lane, if they notice a vehicle behind that is faster, they will give way.
this is termed road courtesy.[/B]
1. If he is behind you, and you need to e-brake, that means someone is in front of you. Let's say he's too close for comfort, how about pulling the distance between the front car and yourself ? That way, you may avoid e-brake, and at the same time, indicate to the person behind that there's another vehicle infront.
1. It's safer for me; 'coz since the guy is speeding behind me and should something unexpected happen which requires me to do an e-brake, I would be in trouble. (don't think the fella would be able to stop in time)
2. The driver might be in a real hurry, you never know... maybe he's rushing to the hospital to see his dying mother, etc, and since he's taking the risk to rush there, just let him be. One day, you might need to rush to somewhere as well and it would be quite irritating if someone refuses to move over.
As a matter of fact, there's no actual "right" way on the road.
[/B]
Having to e-brake does not necessarily imply that there's a car travelling in front of me; it could be that a car from my left suddenly tries to cut into my path; it could be a pedestrian who suddenly tries to dash out; there are many possibilities.Originally posted by Noah:1. If he is behind you, and you need to e-brake, that means someone is in front of you. Let's say he's too close for comfort, how about pulling the distance between the front car and yourself ? That way, you may avoid e-brake, and at the same time, indicate to the person behind that there's another vehicle infront.
That's assuming that there is a car in front of me as mentioned earlier.
Even if you let him pass, will he get across the other car ? He will have no choice but to lane change.
That's not just limited to bikes, even car drivers do that among themselves.
And, if he sees you making way for him, will he step on the gas and recklessly brush past you ? Yes, if he is in a rush to hospital, I have nothing to say. But the fact is we dunno. If we keep doing that, the new drivers see it and take it for granted that way will be cleared for them if they encounter any bikers.
I see, it was just some miscommunication. It's ok, after all, we are all just trying to contribute ideas to make biking a safer experience.Originally posted by Noah:Oh ... sorry, I made some mistakes ... seems like the 1st lane is the fastest lane. But throughout the context of my thread, I really meant the 1st lane to be the left most lane (I always start counting from the left hand side, that's why). Sorry for the confusion.
Imaginery, I rest my case. But one of the biggest difficulty I had when I started out with my bike was lane changing to a faster lane. Can't judge speed very well from the mirror and very afraid the vehicle won't give way to me. In case I cause another confusion, all this while, I am referring to the situation where you are in the left most lane, and a car behind tries to shove you to the side, and you have to lane-change to the right. I have nothing to say when giving way while you are on the right outer lane.
probably a clan?Originally posted by nismoS132:have you ever seen this?
the entire highway is clear.
out of 4 lanes, there is 1 car in the 2nd lane, 9 cars in the 1st lane. the 1st car is travelling at the exact same speed as the car in the 2nd lane which is approximately 90-100kmh. the 9 cars do not have much distance between them, especially the 1st and 2nd car.
this was maintained for quite a distance.
Maybe they're escorting some big shot?Originally posted by nismoS132:have you ever seen this?
out of 4 lanes, there is 1 car in the 2nd lane, 9 cars in the 1st lane. the 1st car is travelling at the exact same speed as the car in the 2nd lane which is approximately 90-100kmh. the 9 cars do not have much distance between them, especially the 1st and 2nd car.
Ok I get the picture now.Originally posted by nismoS132:nope.
it is 100% road hogging.
all were different cars with no affiliations with each other.
this is an example of what 1 inconsiderate driver can do to a large amount of people.
it only takes one.
i dont understand: if there were 4 lanes then couldn't the remaining 2 lanes have been used for the other cars to overtake? or u mean the other 2 lanes opposite traffic?Originally posted by nismoS132:have you ever seen this?
Originally posted by nismoS132:CAR.
there is a reason the 1st lane is called the overtaking lane. it may be wrong to speed, but it's a bigger wrong to road hog.
i've seen this discussed in various [b]car forums, and most of them would agree that, even if they're travelling at 160kmh on the 1st lane, if they notice a vehicle behind that is faster, they will give way.
this is termed road courtesy.[/B]
perhaps u have overlooked a little point.Originally posted by Imaginary:1. It's safer for me; 'coz since the guy is speeding behind me and should something unexpected happen which requires me to do an e-brake, I would be in trouble. (don't think the fella would be able to stop in time)
Was there some misunderstanding somewhere?Originally posted by Ducati996:....imagine the car overtake u within the lane...