My sub 12 is tomorrow nite though.. do tell us how it went k? Good luck!!Originally posted by mitolover:hehee.mine is 2moro.any1 takin the same as me?(BBDC)
hai~its another failure 4 me.looks like have 2 wait for another 3 weeks liao.i got 40pts.but i think nothing when wrong leh.all the stupid pts from wat incorrect technique,incorrect porture,wobble when moving off/stoping,fail to change to the correct gear when turning.this pts enough 2 make u die liao.i realise tat most of us will kana wobble when moving off/stop leh.i think the tp oso f*** up 1.if u move off confirm will jark abit 1 mah.somemore BBDC get new bikes.FU plate 1 all v difficult 2 half cluth leh.then the cluth tension oso v stong.hold until hand tired leh.Originally posted by FreDeRicK:My sub 12 is tomorrow nite though.. do tell us how it went k? Good luck!!
B]Don't be discouraged . Here is tips from a person who heng heng passed.I took very few lessons and din't go for a single revision except one while waiting for the test.
Ya lor... like me lor....Originally posted by hello_fromjoel:Don't be discouraged . Here is tips from a person who heng heng passed.I took very few lessons and din't go for a single revision except one while waiting for the test.
1.) Arrg ga liao with the instructors there. If they arrange to give you an instructor bike, there is a huge difference, my practice bike all problematic, but i got a instructor bike for my test. It purred.
2.) Try to be the last few 75-80 onwards. Higher chance of passing. Apparently for the 80th candidate , TP already start to pack up oreadi. So I was the 80th candidate!
Everyone there told me , i close one eye oso can pass wan.
3.) Be relaxed, try very hard to psycho yourself to fail/fail oso nv mind. Usually you pass instead.
4.) Plank , grab tight , look far ahead and never look down.
5.) Figure 8 , swing with the bike ,it tilt you tilt. And cheat abit by starting across the line , start off fast and kick up to second gear very fast, fast release , then speed up whenever possible, but slow just before coming out.
6.) E-brake, keep practicing the motions. straigten arms, release throttle earlier , look far, pull in front brake hard, rear brake abit, then 5 seconds later, you clutch in.
7.) Exaggerate your motion abit, check back , check blindspot .
8.) on road, look far ahead and plan your positioning. Go slow near hazards or near too many cars.( trust me TP look alot into this) KEEP SAFE FOLLOWING DISTANCE. Go slower better than faster. I calculated that you lose less points going slow then not having enuf following distance and safety.
9.) Start off fast , but check blindspot slowly and exaggeratedly. Change down to lower gears far ahead before you reach the junction for the right turn,
10.) U-turn , don't use rear brake. look far and aim where you go , maintain throttle AT A CONSTANT VELOCITY. START OFF doing the U-turn further away from the kerb. about 1.5 m-2m. Most likely you are always too near.
11.) Those above are mainly my mistakes. so the most impt lesson i have to tell you is:
Look at your practice tests. See where your mistakes are , memorise them and make a conscious effort not to repeat these mistake. SERIOUS , for class III or Class 2b.
like that you will be able to pass first time and save money.
But first time pass doesn't mean you are a good rider. usu , these are the ones who get into accidents.
Good Luck , Joel
[This message has been edited by hello_fromjoel (edited 22 January 2002).]
Ya , i agree. E-brake , pull in hard means harder than rear brake. But square your palm and depress gradually.Originally posted by Hornet1939:e brake dun clutch in too early. It should be done just before ur bike stops.
fig. 8, crank course + pylon slalom, eye pt beri beri impt.
Things to add...Originally posted by Hornet1939:e brake dun clutch in too early. It should be done just before ur bike stops.
fig. 8, crank course + pylon slalom, eye pt beri beri impt.
In the beginning, I'm oso find it hard to clutch in onli at de last moment cos afraid bike will 'see chia'. Thn, thought 'bout it and decided tat it's better for bike to 'see chia' thn to fail de course, or worse, fail to brake in time on the road.Originally posted by hello_fromjoel:Classical teaching is for us to clutch in just before the bike stops. I find that very hard to do. So i just clutch in a "short while" after i brake.
Heng heng passed??? When I had my tp last Tue, my rear tyre struck de kerb when I was turning out from de fig.8. Tot can go re-book test date liao but in de end still passed.Originally posted by hello_fromjoel:Don't be discouraged . Here is tips from a person who heng heng passed.I took very few lessons and din't go for a single revision except one while waiting for the test.
Originally posted by hello_fromjoel:No offence okay joel? Lawlipop..do your things smoothly. Dun rush through the test..you paid for it right? Enjoy the moments of ppl(TP instructors) looking at your beautiful and smooth movements. Be it on road or on circuit...look far ahead.
Don't be discouraged . Here is tips from a person who heng heng passed.I took very few lessons and din't go for a single revision except one while waiting for the test.
1.) Arrg ga liao with the instructors there. If they arrange to give you an instructor bike, there is a huge difference, my practice bike all problematic, but i got a instructor bike for my test. It purred.
==> Come on lar...when I was in 2B..I always blamed the bike here spoil lar...there spoil lar....things like that...the sad truth is....we ourself lousy...no offence..i been true that stage as well.
2.) Try to be the last few 75-80 onwards. Higher chance of passing. Apparently for the 80th candidate , TP already start to pack up oreadi. So I was the 80th candidate!
Everyone there told me , i close one eye oso can pass wan.
==> When you come to be the later ones...the L plate cars will be more and if you bad luck...ppl having car lesson all finish..then they park car liao anyhow cross the road...you "wan wan liao..." So get the earlier numbers...then better.
3.) Be relaxed, try very hard to psycho yourself to fail/fail oso nv mind. Usually you pass instead.
==> This is true. But this only works on certain ppl. For me...i created a die die situation that i must past....Most important..be confident.
4.) Plank , grab tight , look far ahead and never look down.
==> No comments....This is true as well..
5.) Figure 8 , swing with the bike ,it tilt you tilt. And cheat abit by starting across the line , start off fast and kick up to second gear very fast, fast release , then speed up whenever possible, but slow just before coming out.
==> Cheating is actually further away from the line. Juz in case you hit into neutral gear...so you will have time to react b4 going into the course. When your bike touches the exit line....clutch in and slow down a little. Let your bike roll slowly so that you will not move out of the course too fast then in return you get a wide turn. Same thing applies for the crank course. The criteria is in the clutching in.
6.) E-brake, keep practicing the motions. straigten arms, release throttle earlier , look far, pull in front brake hard, rear brake abit, then 5 seconds later, you clutch in.
==> True
7.) Exaggerate your motion abit, check back , check blindspot .
==> Do your motions smoothly. Not too slow coz there will be things like delay in moving off when you check too long. Look afar.
8.) on road, look far ahead and plan your positioning. Go slow near hazards or near too many cars.( trust me TP look alot into this) KEEP SAFE FOLLOWING DISTANCE. Go slower better than faster. I calculated that you lose less points going slow then not having enuf following distance and safety.
==> Going slow is 2pts. But this applies to one instructor. So....one instructor 2pts....on road got five....then you get 10pts...Hurray...you still got 8pts left. Go watever speed the road allows but minus 5-10.
9.) Start off fast , but check blindspot slowly and exaggeratedly. Change down to lower gears far ahead before you reach the junction for the right turn,
==> I repeat again....not too exaggerately...will delay in moving off..when you too concentrated on checking blindspot exaggerately while moving..you will not notice wat is in front of you. Then you can wobble your way true liao..
10.) U-turn , don't use rear brake. look far and aim where you go , maintain throttle AT A CONSTANT VELOCITY. START OFF doing the U-turn further away from the kerb. about 1.5 m-2m. Most likely you are always too near.
==> True
Totally agreed!!! Thosa who pass 1st time MAY get too complacent and not pay too much attention to the safety aspects when riding OTR.Originally posted by hello_fromjoel:But first time pass doesn't mean you are a good rider. usu , these are the ones who get into accidents.
Congrats!!! U took at SSDC rite???Originally posted by Ah^Huat:By the way...I juz passed my 2A today. Thats why i am still fresh about the tp test.
Actually I was beri 'kan chiong' during de test as well. (Was wobbling thru de fig. 8.)Originally posted by clockwise:wah.........
so heng..
haiz..
me also gan jiong abt my TP
dun wanna go for 2nd time..
Congrats Hornet... i want to take my Class 2a soon too!Originally posted by Hornet1939:Congrats!!! U took at SSDC rite???