Phantom 150 or Phantom 200?Originally posted by ChRiS TaY:i just bought a phantom and need help in run in and normal servicing... the shop i bought from told me to change engine oil every 500km during run in and after 3000km then change every 1000km... can some experienced phantom rider teach me on this as i feel that he's trying to conn my money... thanks in advance...
i tell you what I did hor, i ran in until 800km, went for an oil change, then went for another oil change at 1900km (p.s. i was riding a very rough engine at this time liao, drag myself back from SLE to the motor tiam) recommended is 1600km go change. Thereafter change every 4000km. If use fully-synthetic, can last until 10000km lorOriginally posted by ChRiS TaY:i just bought a phantom and need help in run in and normal servicing... the shop i bought from told me to change engine oil every 500km during run in and after 3000km then change every 1000km... can some experienced phantom rider teach me on this as i feel that he's trying to conn my money... thanks in advance...
Originally posted by ChRiS TaY:i just bought a phantom and need help in run in and normal servicing... the shop i bought from told me to change engine oil every 500km during run in and after 3000km then change every 1000km... can some experienced phantom rider teach me on this as i feel that he's trying to conn my money... thanks in advance...
Even full-syn also better dont use till 10000km. The engine oil for bike is use to lubricate the engine, gear and also the clutch plates. So it tends to dirty faster than cars which has seperate fuild for all of them.Originally posted by daniuge:i tell you what I did hor, i ran in until 800km, went for an oil change, then went for another oil change at 1900km (p.s. i was riding a very rough engine at this time liao, drag myself back from SLE to the motor tiam) recommended is 1600km go change. Thereafter change every 4000km. If use fully-synthetic, can last until 10000km lor
Originally posted by No_regret:Even full-syn also better dont use till 10000km. The engine oil for bike is use to lubricate the engine, gear and also the clutch plates. So it tends to dirty faster than cars which has seperate fuild for all of them.
i dont think ur bike can sell next timeOriginally posted by daniuge:i tell you what I did hor, i ran in until 800km, went for an oil change, then went for another oil change at 1900km (p.s. i was riding a very rough engine at this time liao, drag myself back from SLE to the motor tiam) recommended is 1600km go change. Thereafter change every 4000km. If use fully-synthetic, can last until 10000km lor
Only ur bike next time got many ppl want!Originally posted by De|usi0n:i dont think ur bike can sell next time
Originally posted by Rick:Then wat engine oil u recommend or sp?
Castrol TTS is 2T, not the so called "engine oil" 4T I believe, and it is not called TTS anymore, think it is called R2, correct me if I am wrong ....Originally posted by nick34:Castrol TTS
Actually... what we call by "2T oil" is actually engine oil, because it's used to lubricate the engine (piston, etc).Originally posted by PuRe-EviL:Castrol TTS is 2T, not the so called "engine oil" 4T I believe, and it is not called TTS anymore, think it is called R2, correct me if I am wrong ....
Issit? Engine oil in 2-stroke bikes also lubricates the pistons mah ... doesn't it? Only lubricate the gears meh? So you are saying the fuel/air/2T mix is the only thing protecting and lubricating your pistons, bearings? But those get burned up in the combustion process mah? Isn't it?? Hmm, I am not too clear myself too .....Originally posted by SnailRider:Actually... what we call by "2T oil" is actually engine oil, because it's used to lubricate the engine (piston, etc).
For 2-strokers, what we call by "engine oil" is actually transmission oil. It's used only to lubricate the gears, but it never reaches engine block. That's why "engine oil" in 2-strokers doesn't need to be changed as often as in 4-strokers.
So... in a sense, Nick is correct. TTS is engine oil (from a 2-stroker point of view).
Yes, that's the characteristic of 2-stroke engine. The oil used to lubricate piston, etc will be mixed with petrol and air, and get burnt in the combustion process. It never goes down to lubricate the gears, and the transmission oil (engine oil as you put it) never goes up to lubricate the piston.Originally posted by PuRe-EviL:Issit? Engine oil in 2-stroke bikes also lubricates the pistons mah ... doesn't it? Only lubricate the gears meh? So you are saying the fuel/air/2T mix is the only thing protecting and lubricating your pistons, bearings? But those get burned up in the combustion process mah? Isn't it??
I wouldn't agree engine oil in 2-strokes doesn't need to be changed as often as 4-strokers ... when it goes that mileage ... when it gets dirty and loses its function ... definitely have to change ...Well, if you had a 2-stroker and a 4-stroker, and you want to change the engine oil of both bikes at the same interval, it's entirely up to you. But a simple search on Google will show that most bikers agree that transmission oil in 2-stroke bikes has longer "lifetime" compared to its 4-stroke counterpart. This is because it has less task to do, and doesn't get dirty so fast. The task of lubricating the piston is done by 2T oil. Of course you still have to change, but at a longer interval.
I will only say 2-strokes no need to change that much as in the volume of engine oil .....That's because in 2-strokers it's only used to lubricate the gears. So the volume needed is less. But don't forget the oil needed to lubricate the piston is burnt and has to be topped-up. In my case, I burn 1 litre of 2T oil every 800+ km. So in total a 2-stroker might consume more oil than a 4-stroker does.
Can. But better check your manual book about running in. If it's in Thai, you can still try to figure out the numbersOriginally posted by j007:btw, after a 3rd run in engine, does it mean tt we can drag our gears a little before we change them??
anyone can comment?
sorry din read properly .....Originally posted by PuRe-EviL:Castrol TTS is 2T, not the so called "engine oil" 4T I believe, and it is not called TTS anymore, think it is called R2, correct me if I am wrong ....
Engine oil for SP most would recommend semi-synthetic ... thought have to change around 3-4k mileage ... but u wun experience problems like dropping of gear or difficulty in finding neutral if you were to use good engine oil like Motul 300V, Castrol R4 or Esso Gold ...
At the end of the day ... up to personal preference lor, if you find you dun have problems using good engine oil ... then carry on using ... but if you got the problems mentioned above ... then can maybe try changing??