may i know where is the plastic container?Originally posted by WhitePhantom:by right its a easy thing to do, but it wil dirty ur hands if not careful..
that time i went to motoshop n change..
the mech unscrew some part or wat, n then he take a plastic container n put below the 'hole' for the used engine oil black color one to flow out... finish oredi screw it back, n then open another cap n pour the new engine oil in...settle liao..
2b bike use normally less than 1 L of engine oil, coming close to 1 L like that lar...
so u go motoshop jus buy a bottle of 1L engine oil from them, they jus change for u, the remaining oil dunno wat they use for lar.. if u niao, then take back the remaining oil lor..
may i know where is the plastic container?Originally posted by daniuge:[QUOTE]Originally posted by WhitePhantom:
[b]by right its a easy thing to do, but it wil dirty ur hands if not careful..
that time i went to motoshop n change..
the mech unscrew some part or wat, n then he take a plastic container n put below the 'hole' for the used engine oil black color one to flow out... finish oredi screw it back, n then open another cap n pour the new engine oil in...settle liao..
2b bike use normally less than 1 L of engine oil, coming close to 1 L like that lar...
so u go motoshop jus buy a bottle of 1L engine oil from them, they jus change for u, the remaining oil dunno wat they use for lar.. if u niao, then take back the remaining oil lor..
Just open the hex screw and plastic cap. Be careful....once u open the hex screw...oil will start to srip. That is the engine oil.Originally posted by daniuge:izzit possible to do it? or must go motoshop? my one is phantom 200 leh, anybody with this bike done it before?
u rather i dispose it in the sewer or i dispose it on the grass, my friend dispose it on his enemies' bikeOriginally posted by owm:I don't think one should just dump the waste oil into the sewers. The used oil should be stored in a plastic container (those 1.25L soft drink bottles are suitable) and disposed off at either a workshop or petrol station for proper disposal.
Let's be more environmentally responsible if one is planning on DIYing.
Originally posted by ah_tee:u rather i dispose it in the sewer or i dispose it on the grass, my friend dispose it on his enemies' bike
[/B][/QUOTE]Originally posted by owm:Actually, I think the three options you stated are not acceptable at all but please, do what you like/wish. I am just stating a sensible and responsible opinion as I don't believe that our sewer system was designed to remove such waste products like oils, paints etc. that is why petrol stations and workshops have used oil drums to collect spent oils.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by ah_tee:
[b] u rather i dispose it in the sewer or i dispose it on the grass, my friend dispose it on his enemies' bike
yes i been into the sewers b4 and i always slip on the goddamn grime on the floor left there bcos inconsiderate ppl empty their used motoroil into the drains. the oil will only float and cause the rubbish to clog up at the surface and hence the whole sewage chokes up. throwing into the dustbin is better than that at least.Originally posted by ah_tee:guys, i would like to ask u all
u all been down to the sewers b4
nismosis, the water is going to the water plant n later to the sea la
but if u think properly, i doubt it will reach there anyway
If 10 bikers throw 650 ml each....it would come up to 6.5 l. If 100, 65 l. If there are 10,000 bikers in sg.... u do ur own calculations...Originally posted by ah_tee:if u been down to the sewers, u will know tat it is really no point lor
wad harm can 650ml of gear oil do?
i dun think i will even kill more than 2 roaches
since u so repsonsible, y not do some communnity service by cleanin up the sewers?
it may matter alot to u, but to me i dun believe how big a harm b doneOriginally posted by feng125:yes i been into the sewers b4 and i always slip on the goddamn grime on the floor left there bcos inconsiderate ppl empty their used motoroil into the drains. the oil will only float and cause the rubbish to clog up at the surface and hence the whole sewage chokes up. throwing into the dustbin is better than that at least.
by the way... de water in the sewers will be treated and the cleaned water will be reused for industry, but the sludge left behind is a big headache and if there is oil, it makes it tough to reuse as fertilizer.
*SPEECHLESS*Originally posted by ah_tee:it may matter alot to u, but to me i dun believe how big a harm b done
jus like pple think it does not do much harm to litter and dirty toilets, i think its alot of harmOriginally posted by feng125:*SPEECHLESS*
i hope not everyone thinks this way.
ah tee, relax, relax, dun get angry. din noe such a harmless thread can spark off so many things. thanks guys for all your help given.Originally posted by ah_tee:jus like pple think it does not do much harm to litter and dirty toilets, i think its alot of harm
Originally posted by ah_tee:jus like pple think it does not do much harm to litter and dirty toilets, i think its alot of harm
errr ok i tell u wat. how abt i restrain myself from littering toilets (not like i do anyway) and ah tee u restrain ur self from emptying oil into the sewers (which u wun have to do often too).Originally posted by ah_tee:jus like pple think it does not do much harm to litter and dirty toilets, i think its alot of harm
nowadays i do it at bike shop la..Originally posted by feng125:errr ok i tell u wat. how abt i restrain myself from littering toilets (not like i do anyway) and ah tee u restrain ur self from emptying oil into the sewers (which u wun have to do often too).