Carb & air filter must wash one. Normally send to moto shop to wash carb & clean air filter....cost you ard $15 - $25(depend on bike). If you dun use ur bike alot....ard 6 mths wash once....ok liaoz....Originally posted by kaiQ:My bike, Virago 125, start normally. At neutral gear, I turn the accelerator to maximum, wanting a "vroom" sound, but the sound slowly gradually increasing. At gear 1, accelerator to maximum, the bike cannot move fast (jogging pace). My friend say it is the carburetor choke, anyone know how to repair?
If the prob is a dirty carb or filter, it will still come back one....Originally posted by kaiQ:Today just tried ridding the bike again. At first problem still there, so thinking to go to mototiam for repair. While going at about gear 2 (still at carpark), the choke suddenly disappear! Now everything become smooth like normal, so forget about going to mototiam for repair. Like that ok? Could it be because I put 3 days without running?
By the way, I'm thinking of going to Cycle World near Tampines ITE for servicing, got a lot of Malays there, seems experience. Is the place good?
i think he rides wit the choke on....Originally posted by operator:If the prob is a dirty carb or filter, it will still come back one....
I believe you may be right. Is it possible to not feel the choke but the choke is still there, just waiting for chance to "kill the bike"?Originally posted by ZecHs:i think he rides wit the choke on....![]()
I believe you may be right. Is it possible to not feel the choke but the choke is still there, just waiting for chance to "kill the bike"?Originally posted by kaiQ:[QUOTE]Originally posted by ZecHs:
[b]
i think he rides wit the choke on....![]()
I believe you may be right. Is it possible to not feel the choke but the choke is still there, just waiting for chance to "kill the bike"?Originally posted by kaiQ:[QUOTE]Originally posted by ZecHs:
[b]
i think he rides wit the choke on....![]()
no leh...i dat day rode wit my choke until expressway leh...den bike died off...den i tot piston jam...but after check check abit..den realised i did somthing stupid.......... 4got to on the fuel tap lolxOriginally posted by operator:Hahaha... cannot be ah.... u ride wif choke on, surely bike die when u stop at junction one.....haha...
maybe choke pipe??
I having the same prob leh... my experience was worse, I was riding on 6th gear when suddenly the combustion was like choking, so bike went back and forth, like coughing like that... then after that ok again... dunno wat happen... maybe its time to clean mmy carb... anyone has any suggestions?Originally posted by kaiQ:Went to bike shop again. The fellow say that this is due to the "black rubber" piece that cause this problem. It is located under that tank, near the piston. Went to another shop, he say this is due to carb. choke (need to wash carb.) and valve clearance. In the end both want $60+ to repair. Fed up, nothing but more money, so give up on them.
Anyway, this morning the problem still have, but later ok again, as usual like the previous times. Now ok.
I went for carb. wash + oil change + oil filter &air filter change. Personally, I feel a bit of difference between before and after. The throttle gives more "power" (rev goes up faster) and gear change seems more smoother. Overall, the bike feels "smoother" and a bit more powerful, but the max. speed achieved still the same (maybe that's because my bike is a slow bike)Originally posted by tzrr:I having the same prob leh... my experience was worse, I was riding on 6th gear when suddenly the combustion was like choking, so bike went back and forth, like coughing like that... then after that ok again... dunno wat happen... maybe its time to clean mmy carb... anyone has any suggestions?
bike kena flu???Originally posted by tzrr:I having the same prob leh... my experience was worse, I was riding on 6th gear when suddenly the combustion was like choking, so bike went back and forth, like coughing like that... then after that ok again... dunno wat happen... maybe its time to clean mmy carb... anyone has any suggestions?
I still tink its a choke pipe. When was the last time u clear ur pipe?Originally posted by tzrr:I having the same prob leh... my experience was worse, I was riding on 6th gear when suddenly the combustion was like choking, so bike went back and forth, like coughing like that... then after that ok again... dunno wat happen... maybe its time to clean mmy carb... anyone has any suggestions?
Dunno abt u, but at 5.5 - 6k rpm, my bike only traveling at about 80km/h. but so far nothing happen at this speed. I think my problem has something to do with the fuel intake... cos this only happen when I reach reserve, I think the mech didn't fit my tank properly then cannot use reserve... go back and let the tune liao... now have to wait until I reach reserve to see the results.Originally posted by ZecHs:bike kena flu???![]()
check ur valve c got choke or not
den mayb go for full service and ask the mech to check the bike for u la...
mine at 5.5 - 6k rmp will cough one...
i think i betta go bak to my motortiam to kan the ppl alreadi.....
like never... :p only got the bike for 3 months. but the previous owner had cut his pipe to get rid of carbon before. how often do u need to clear the pipe anyway?Originally posted by operator:I still tink its a choke pipe. When was the last time u clear ur pipe?
Not so sure how often. Mab some other members can help. Abt the choke pipe, I oso aga-aga coz u saud sometimes have, sometimes dun have. I used to face this prob but after I clean the pipe, ok liaoz....Originally posted by tzrr:like never... :p only got the bike for 3 months. but the previous owner had cut his pipe to get rid of carbon before. how often do u need to clear the pipe anyway?
if one day free den meet up lorz..den c if can help or not...but how come the fuel tank can never put bak properly one?? got 2 pipe one..one is the main and the other is the reserve one....Originally posted by tzrr:Dunno abt u, but at 5.5 - 6k rpm, my bike only traveling at about 80km/h. but so far nothing happen at this speed. I think my problem has something to do with the fuel intake... cos this only happen when I reach reserve, I think the mech didn't fit my tank properly then cannot use reserve... go back and let the tune liao... now have to wait until I reach reserve to see the results.
Carbs kena water liaoz.. go and service the carbs... i think ur tube for exiting water might be stuck. could be that reasonOriginally posted by kaiQ:My bike, Virago 125, start normally. At neutral gear, I turn the accelerator to maximum, wanting a "vroom" sound, but the sound slowly gradually increasing. At gear 1, accelerator to maximum, the bike cannot move fast (jogging pace). My friend say it is the carburetor choke, anyone know how to repair?
The bike went for carb. wash already. Immediately after leaving the shop problem comes back. I notice something - My bike is a V-Twin. When started, the front part (is it call piston?) give out more heat the the rear one (very significant difference). I suspect that the rear one is "eating snake", so might have affected the performance. In another words, the engine not balanced. As to what caused this, still figuring out. Might be spark plug, carb. choke, piping problem, or even piston not tune properly... who knows? I only beginner leh.Originally posted by fp2075r:Carbs kena water liaoz.. go and service the carbs... i think ur tube for exiting water might be stuck. could be that reason
The bike went for carb. wash already. Immediately after leaving the shop problem comes back. I notice something - My bike is a V-Twin. When started, the front part (is it call piston?) give out more heat the the rear one (very significant difference). I suspect that the rear one is "eating snake", so might have affected the performance. In another words, the engine not balanced. As to what caused this, still figuring out. Might be spark plug, carb. choke, piping problem, or even piston not tune properly... who knows? I only beginner leh.Originally posted by kaiQ:[QUOTE]Originally posted by fp2075r:
[b] Carbs kena water liaoz.. go and service the carbs... i think ur tube for exiting water might be stuck. could be that reason
U going for 27 Jan gathering?Originally posted by ZecHs:if one day free den meet up lorz..den c if can help or not...
anyways my problem is dua zong one...haiz~ dun wish to tok abt it alreadi la